James Bond Char Koay Teow

empire
post Jul 31 2018, 06:58 PM

2,502 posts

Sigh...sad to say...this CKT is so-so only. TAstes good? NO. Tastes so s-o? YES. There is ZERO 'wok hei'. Thats the biggest weakness. When there is no wok hei, the CKT will taste weak and lame.

You can go try la if dont believe....but dont go with high expectation.
TShuislaw
post Jul 31 2018, 11:17 PM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jul 31 2018, 06:58 PM)
Sigh...sad to say...this CKT is so-so only. TAstes good? NO. Tastes so s-o? YES. There is ZERO 'wok hei'. Thats the biggest weakness. When there is no wok hei, the CKT will taste weak and lame.

Looking for nice ckt in pj. Any recommendation?
cablesguy
post Aug 22 2018, 07:49 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jul 31 2018, 06:58 PM)

There are 2 chefs there, the Uncle and the worker, The Uncle fry tastes much better.
empire
post Aug 23 2018, 02:38 AM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Aug 22 2018, 07:49 PM)
There are 2 chefs there, the Uncle and the worker, The Uncle fry tastes much better.
Tried the uncle's cooking twice d. Still not delicious to me. Maybe you find it very very delicious. Thats up to you.

cablesguy
post Aug 23 2018, 11:54 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Aug 23 2018, 02:38 AM)
Tried the uncle's cooking twice d. Still not delicious to me. Maybe you find it very very delicious. Thats up to you.
Of coz la, isn't taste an individual thing? Plus I didnt say its delicious, I just said it taste much better than the worker frying, to me it also taste slightly abv average only.
empire
post Aug 23 2018, 12:28 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Aug 23 2018, 11:54 AM)
Of coz la, isn't taste an individual thing? Plus I didnt say its delicious, I just said it taste much better than the worker frying, to me it also taste slightly abv average only.
I agree....but it very average to me only. Not above average. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by empire: Aug 23 2018, 12:35 PM
empire
post Aug 23 2018, 12:31 PM

2,502 posts

having tried d, i wont recommend anyone to try this stall la. There is ZERO 'wok hei'....which is the most crucial factor in any CKT stir fry dish. this james bond stall has No 'Wok Hei' ... how la? That Uncle doesnt know how to create wok hei.

There are way better CKT stalls in PJ.
cablesguy
post Aug 24 2018, 07:19 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Aug 23 2018, 12:31 PM)
having tried d, i wont recommend anyone to try this stall la. There is ZERO 'wok hei'....which is the most crucial factor in any CKT stir fry dish. this james bond stall has No 'Wok Hei' ... how la? That Uncle doesnt know how to create wok hei.

There are way better CKT stalls in PJ.
Like I said everyone taste vary, but if really want good CKT only 1 place, Penang, just like really good musang king, Raub, at least for me, cant speak for anyone else. Anyway if the place and food is clean and the service is not bad, plus the food is not lousy, I normally just gv an average, I alwys remember that what we write will be around for awhile and many might read, people hv to cari makan. smile.gif
empire
post Aug 25 2018, 02:25 AM

2,502 posts

naw... PENANG food is so bad since more than 20 years ago. Only less than 10% of the stalls there are good. More than 90% of penang stalls are lousy.
empire
post Aug 25 2018, 02:26 AM

2,502 posts

of course I know for sure. I am from Penang....and I am still in Penang. Lim Guan Eng also bising d why PENANG food is sooooo bad!
empire
post Aug 25 2018, 02:27 AM

2,502 posts

If you want really good hawker.... DONT go to Penang. You are wasting your time only...cos less than 10% of the stall are good.
cablesguy
post Aug 25 2018, 03:16 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Aug 25 2018, 02:27 AM)
If you want really good hawker.... DONT go to Penang. You are wasting your time only...cos less than 10% of the stall are good.
ok Thanks for the advice
empire
post Aug 25 2018, 04:02 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Aug 25 2018, 03:16 PM)
ok Thanks for the advice
You are welcome. Penang people also no longer dared to boast about how good penang food is anymore since more than 20 years ago. I dont mind if it tastes average ...but sadly... more than 90% of Penang street food are BAD now bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by empire: Aug 25 2018, 04:02 PM
hanhanhan
post Sep 3 2018, 04:42 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,142 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Jul 31 2018, 11:17 PM)
Looking for nice ckt in pj. Any recommendation?
robert ckt section 17.
TShuislaw
post Sep 3 2018, 08:50 PM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Sep 3 2018, 04:42 PM)
robert ckt section 17.
Thanks. Saw one at the new food courts near SS2 mall. Is that the one ?
hanhanhan
post Sep 4 2018, 02:58 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,142 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Sep 3 2018, 08:50 PM)
Thanks. Saw one at the new food courts near SS2 mall. Is that the one ?
nope..

it's near a new development in section 17 called "SEVENTEEN"

Robert's Fried Kuey Teow
1082, Jalan 17/29, Seksyen 17, 46400 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

https://goo.gl/maps/ntUN2kfL3a62

TShuislaw
post Sep 4 2018, 08:49 PM

1,343 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Sep 4 2018, 02:58 PM)