Movies to look forward to 2018

TS6so
post Dec 25 2017, 05:15 PM, updated 8y ago

135 posts

1. Annihilation - Could this be the breakout for Alex Garland?
2. Early Man - It's Aardman, so automatic a must watch.
3. The Irishman - Scorsese, DeNiro, Pesci and Pacino.
4. The Predator - Simply because a Shane Black fanboy.
5. Ready Player One - Big fan of the book.
6. MI6 - A fanboy of MacQuarrie.
7. Isle of Dog - I'm a simpleton...you see Wes Anderson....you watch.
8. Soldado - Brooding Benicio and Slimy Brolin to stir the hornet's nest again.
9. Aquaman - Just love the comic book version too much.
10. Mortal Engines - Mad Max meets Steampunk. Peter Jackson godfathered it with LOTR people and a first time Director.
ThalaFan
post Dec 25 2017, 05:31 PM

Infinity War, Black Panther, Aquaman & yup Viswasam
geolee76
post Dec 25 2017, 10:14 PM

533 posts

Mulan.... oh wait
Mov_freak
post Dec 27 2017, 10:58 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 25 2017, 05:15 PM)
1. Annihilation - Could this be the breakout for Alex Garland?
2. Early Man - It's Aardman, so automatic a must watch.
4. The Predator - Simply because a Shane Black fanboy.
5. Ready Player One - Big fan of the book.
6. MI6 - A fanboy of MacQuarrie.
7. Isle of Dog - I'm a simpleton...you see Wes Anderson....you watch.
8. Soldado - Brooding Benicio and Slimy Brolin to stir the hornet's nest again.
9. Aquaman - Just love the comic book version too much.
10. Mortal Engines - Mad Max meets Steampunk. Peter Jackson godfathered it with LOTR people and a first time Director.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 27 2017, 11:12 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Here is my take for the next three months

Jan 2018

Insidious: The Last Key (2018) (Erm... Horror much?)

The Commuter (2018) (Liam Neeson, Taken, part 4??)

Proud Mary (2018) (Have anyone watched the trailers??)

Den of Thieves (2018) (Last chance, Gerard Butler)

Maze Runner: The Death Cure (2018) (Dylan O'Brien... The next action hero??)

Feb 2018

Cloverfield Movie (2018) (The last Cloverfield movie was pretty good)

Winchester (2018) (Will this uncover new stuff I do not know about the tragic Winchester family, or just Hollywood cashing is... Probably the latter)

Black Panther (2018) (Thought he was pretty good in Captain America. Interesting to see the most technologically advance society in the Marvel Universe. Or does Tony disagree...)

Mar 2018

Alpha (2018) (Looks feral... I am in)

Game Night (2018) (Am actually curious how John Francis Daley fares in this...)

A Wrinkle in Time (2018) (Classic or disaster.... We shall see...)

The Strangers: Prey at Night (2018) (Yeah, more horror... I need help....)

Tomb Raider (2018) (Alicia Vikander.... Nuff said)

Pacific Rim Uprising (2018) (Not really sure about this... But trailer looks swell at the Imax...)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 27 2017, 11:12 AM
iwant2
post Dec 27 2017, 05:29 PM

On My Way To Become A Great ...
987 posts

1. Black Panther hmm.gif (Feb)
2. Tomb Raider (March)
2.1 Game Night (March)
3. Infinity War (April)
4. New Mutants (What to do, X-Men fan) (April)
5. Han Solo (May)
6. Deadpool 2 (June)
7. Ocean 8 hmm.gif (June)
8. Jurassic World (June)
9. The Incredibles 2 (June)
10. MI6 (July)
11. Ant Man (July)
12. X-Men Dark Phoenix (Nov)
13. Fantastic Beast (Nov)
14. Aquaman (December)
15. Bumblebee (December)
16. The Expendables 4 ( ? )

TBD:
0. The Commuter (Jan)
1. Maze Runner (Jan)
2. Pacific Rim (March)
3. Ocean 8 (June)
4. The Purge: The Island (July)
5. Venom (Oct)
6. Holmes and WutFace (Nov)
7. Spider-Man Animated Inception (probably limited) (Dec)

Probably gonna sort to release date.

Edit: Sorting.

This post has been edited by iwant2: Jan 8 2018, 10:27 AM
defaultname365
post Dec 31 2017, 01:03 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

1. Avengers: Infinity War (May 4)
2. Black Panther (Feb. 16)
3. Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (June 22)
4. Deadpool 2 (June 1)
5. God Particle aka Cloverfield 3 (Feb 2)
6. Solo: A Star Wars Story (May 25)
7. Incredibles 2 (June 15)
8. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (Nov 16)
9. Ant-Man and the Wasp (July 6)
10. Marry Poppins Returns (Dec 25)
11. Aquaman (Dec 21)
12. Venom (Oct 5)
13. X-Men: Dark Phoenix (Nov. 2)

*By order of anticipation.

Who will be the shiners and the stinkers?

We'll find out!

A few others but not that hopeful, but you never know. 'New Mutants', 'MI6', 'Bumblebee' (no M Bay finally and.... John Cena!! *cue music*)

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 31 2017, 01:08 PM
skystrike
post Dec 31 2017, 02:23 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

black panther
avenger infinity war
ant man & wasp
deadpool 2
new mutant
xmen dark phoenix
aquaman
Millennium Falcon 888
post Jan 1 2018, 12:05 AM

112 posts

Solo: A Star Wars Story
Avengers: Infinity War
The Incredibles 2
Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
Tomb Raider
Deadpool 2
Mission Impossible 6
The Predator
Aquaman
OperaGhost
post Jan 2 2018, 10:13 AM

474 posts

The Irishman!!!!! Scorsese re-uniting De Niro, Pacino and Pesci!!!!!
Mov_freak
post Jan 2 2018, 05:20 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 31 2017, 01:03 PM)

10. Marry Poppins Returns (Dec 25)

Really?

Not concern it will destroy a cherish childhood memory?? laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jan 31 2018, 11:52 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Maze Runner: The Death Cure (2018)

Age... has caught up to me...

With Dylan O'Brien injuries in the initial shooting of the movie, delayed the launch of this latest installment of the trilogy, and frankly, whilst watching it, I really did not give a damn...

And to top it off, I still have NO idea, why they were originally put in the maze?

What the hell does the maze have to do with The Flare??? How does the Maze determine who is immune to The Flare!!!

WHAT!

THE!

HECK!

Again, it may boil down to me being old and cranky.

Seems to be doing well in the box office...

The most, I will give it a 5/10...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 1 2018, 10:15 AM
tictac88
post Feb 1 2018, 02:09 PM

191 posts

This post has been edited by tictac88: Feb 1 2018, 02:11 PM
TS6so
post Feb 2 2018, 08:10 AM

135 posts

The next high profile director shot a movie with iphone. So don't go thinking you can be a film director with your phone yet. Sorderberg basically driving a Ferrari to ride a public bus. Curious how will it stack up to Tangerine, the other Iphone movie that even got nominated for Oscars. This will be a good indication of Claire Foy capabilty to carry Girl with Dragon Tattoo reboot.
TS6so
post Feb 2 2018, 02:54 PM

135 posts

It looks like A24 will release their annual arthouse horror movie. Started with The Witch and last year's underrated It Comes At Night. This one gained good traction at Sundance again. Hope it will be more than what the trailer suggested. Glad another player in the mix and does thing differently from Blumhouse or the conventional studio releases.
shinchan^^
post Feb 2 2018, 04:25 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jan 31 2018, 11:52 PM)
Maze Runner: The Death Cure (2018)

Age... has caught up to me...

With Dylan O'Brien injuries in the initial shooting of the movie, delayed the launch of this latest installment of the trilogy, and frankly, whilst watching it, I really did not give a damn...

And to top it off, I still have NO idea, why they were originally put in the maze?

What the hell does the maze have to do with The Flare??? How does the Maze determine who is immune to The Flare!!!

WHAT!

THE!

HECK!

Again, it may boil down to me being old and cranky.

Seems to be doing well in the box office...

The most, I will give it a 5/10...

My Two Sen
only the first one was good
2nd one is like wth
ximaraka
post Feb 2 2018, 06:13 PM

Black Panther, Monster Hunt 2 and The Hurricane Heist
skylinelover
post Feb 5 2018, 05:13 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

This year movie so boring laugh.gif doh.gif except a few marvel/dc titles hahahaha
jishu
post Feb 5 2018, 06:10 AM

289 posts

Hitting our Cinema on 22 Feb 2018.

Last film by Daniel Day-Lewis before he announced his retirement.

Written & Directed by Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood, Inherent Vice, The Master..)

TS6so
post Feb 5 2018, 08:50 AM

135 posts

Now a concern trend is taking place in Hollywood. Paramount dumped their international rights of Annihilation and Cloverfield 3 to Netflix. Meaning there is a chance we will not watching it on big screen other than the countries that Paramount earmarked for release. This is bad news for mid budget movies that are challenging to market. With WB and Disney merging with other business consortium, the middle sized studios will resort to this practice. If Disney streaming service becomes a hit, more market shake-up abound given the ironclad corporate culture. RIP for risky movie projects in the future.

This post has been edited by 6so: Feb 5 2018, 09:27 AM
TS6so
post Feb 5 2018, 10:54 AM

135 posts

For the first time they continue storylines from previous movies. The action fittingly epic.
TS6so
post Feb 23 2018, 02:39 PM

135 posts

This is a nice surprise, by march 9th it will drop on Netflix which also around Annihilation release window. The director of Land of Mine whom is quite apt at delivering human emotion and drama. So wonder will this be any measure to his older accomplishment. Good to see Tadanobu Asano given a more meatier role to chew on as opposed to the token asian actor.
skylinelover
post Feb 27 2018, 09:12 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Feb 5 2018, 10:54 AM)

For the first time they continue storylines from previous movies. The action fittingly epic.
will it top the Dubai climb? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
TS6so
post Feb 27 2018, 09:48 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 27 2018, 10:12 AM)
will it top the Dubai climb? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

Think stunt wise already surpassed Dubai but not sure will it able to top it visually. Say what you will no one got the balls to top Cruise.
eggtart02
post Mar 2 2018, 09:03 AM

113 posts

1. Incredibles 2
2. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
3. Pacific Rim Uprising
4. Avengers: Infinity War

and Mulan .. waiting very patiently
hakimix
post Mar 4 2018, 07:08 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 25 2017, 05:15 PM)

QUOTE(OperaGhost @ Jan 2 2018, 10:13 AM)
The Irishman!!!!! Scorsese re-uniting De Niro, Pacino and Pesci!!!!!
These tbh fam. All the mob films regulars in one final hurrah directed by the guy who is synonymous with the genre and even kickstarted some of their careers.
skylinelover
post Mar 5 2018, 09:38 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(hakimix @ Mar 4 2018, 07:08 PM)
These tbh fam. All the mob films regulars in one final hurrah directed by the guy who is synonymous with the genre and even kickstarted some of their careers.
haha my favorite from the 3 regulars is still raging bull laugh.gif rclxms.gif

MaxyPower
post Mar 8 2018, 06:37 PM

70 posts

I am waiting for Deadpool 2

Mov_freak
post Mar 8 2018, 08:59 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Tomb Raider (2018)

Warner Brothers cannot get a break...

This movie's in NOT produced by Paramount, like it predecessor.

Warner made this and it is...

I am getting ahead of myself

I was never a fan of the game.

The first two movies starring Angelina Jolie, were decent.

Alicia Vikander, to me, is a better Lara Croft.

Her angst is more... palpably

The first two acts are good and the third...

I blame it on the mcguffin.

For adventure movies like this, the mcguffin is important (may I remind everyone about Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of Crystal Skull)

Daniel Wu is branching out to Hollywood??

First Geostorm now this??

My final verdict about this movie?

Good try, can be better

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Mar 8 2018, 10:03 PM
TS6so
post Mar 20 2018, 08:30 AM

135 posts

Think file this under misleading action packed trailer. Pretty sure it's that same anxiety inducing movie from the first one. On top of that the film director does not do Michael Bay's BS.

In case you're wondering why that "Time Crisis" move from PS1 era make it into that scene...well that's a legit hack to make pistol to fire full auto....lol.
hakimix
post Mar 21 2018, 04:55 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Mar 20 2018, 08:30 AM)
Think file this under misleading action packed trailer.

New trailer but only with a couple of new scenes. That girl is starting to get roles in big budget movies huh?

Also which movie should I bring my 8-year old nephews to? Mazinger Z or Pacific Rim 2? I'm thinking of going /m/ as they would appreciate anime more even though it's from a retro series. It is after all the granddaddy of mecha genre right? With del Toro not at the helm it will be less interesting too for the sequel.

But these Mazin-Girls will be an awkward situation for me to explain to their parents, wish they don't include those type of fanservice at all tbh. I'm used to stuff like Ashita no Joe or Planetes where there are no such things or kept at minimum level.

I actually want to bring them to Isle of Dogs but when is the release date for Malaysia? I googled it and no result.

This post has been edited by hakimix: Mar 21 2018, 05:48 AM
TS6so
post Mar 22 2018, 02:59 PM

135 posts

These 2 certainly peak my curiosity. The more Cuckoo the better.
TS6so
post Apr 4 2018, 07:56 AM

135 posts

Was labeled as 'Her' meets "Matrix - I know kungfu". It gained a bit of fanfare from SXSW. Since it's Blumhouse so the idea/concept worth a look but not for the expensive money shots.
skylinelover
post Apr 10 2018, 03:26 PM

11,251 posts

New appetite of hype

Avengers infinity
Deadpool 2
Jurassic World (new)

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TS6so
post Apr 18 2018, 01:41 PM

135 posts

That's some casting there. Looks like retrofitting John Wick's Continental Hotel with a different purpose.

That girl looking creepy AF.
skylinelover
post Apr 19 2018, 07:45 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 10 2018, 03:26 PM)
New appetite of hype

Avengers infinity
Deadpool 2
Jurassic World (new)

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
haha add one more

the new mission impossible

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TS6so
post Apr 19 2018, 09:38 PM

135 posts

Forgotten they made a sequel for this. Tony Scott still the ideal director for this type of movie. Cashing in on Kendrick Lamar for the trailer song.
geolee76
post Apr 19 2018, 10:33 PM

533 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Apr 19 2018, 09:38 PM)

Forgotten they made a sequel for this. Tony Scott still the ideal director for this type of movie. Cashing in on Kendrick Lamar for the trailer song.
Antoine Fuqua, the director for the IRonman?

This post has been edited by geolee76: Apr 19 2018, 10:35 PM
skylinelover
post Apr 21 2018, 08:15 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Apr 19 2018, 09:38 PM)

QUOTE(geolee76 @ Apr 19 2018, 10:33 PM)
Antoine Fuqua, the director for the IRonman?
Haha he ok what

My all time favorite of his is TRAINING DAY

😄😄👌👌
Mov_freak
post Apr 25 2018, 03:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Well....

Marvel pulled no punches!!

The movie starts with guns ablazing (metaphorically speaking) and really does not let up until the very end.

Because of the comic, I kinda guess the ending and also how the second movie ends, but as I had stated Marvel does not shy from... doing what needs doing!!!

People here would probably know how much I.... dislike Thor Ragnarok.

This movie really redeems that character for me in the Marcel Universal (Though truth to be told I still miss Mjornir).

This is a heavy HEAVY movie, and there maybe a stumbling block for Marvel.

I am really not sure how Spider-man Homecoming 2 is going to happen!!? (Does it take place before of after this movie??)

With it, not pulling it's punches, does that mean Fan of the movie... would be turned off?

Only the final block office will tell.

I like this movie

It is NOT perfect, and have to add, it is still pretty well made

Lets see what the box office says soon

Oh, I pet peeve, until date, WE STILL HAVE NOT HEARD AVENGERS ASSEMBLE.

My Two Sen
skylinelover
post Apr 25 2018, 04:15 PM

11,251 posts

Next deadpool 2 laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
graceinc
post May 2 2018, 10:34 PM

63 posts

There are some good flicks to be aired on Netflix this month of May, 2018.
Have a look people https://www.netflixdown.com/top-netflix-new-releases-may/
leonhang
post May 21 2018, 03:59 PM

248 posts

Ant-Man and the Wasp
skylinelover
post May 21 2018, 08:50 PM

11,251 posts

Solo

Just 3 more days 2 go

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
ThalaFan
post May 29 2018, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(Alastor @ May 29 2018, 04:35 PM)
If you are a comedy lover then Aquaman is really an amazing movie to watch in 2018. I bet you would not stop laughing while watching it as it is a highly rated comedy with a brilliant concept. What do you think guys in this regard?
I hope your not being sarcastic cuz Aquaman isnt like say, Spidey or Green Lantern to crack jokes all the time

Besides, the film's directed by James Wan, Sarawakian who made serious films like Conjuring, Furious 7 etc

On top of all, DC's really counting on this film post-JL

Based on few interviews, I think Aquaman film is gonna have different flavor according to Wan as he wants to subverse the expectations

On topic: My expectations are on MI6: Fallout, Race 3 & Viswasam lol
skylinelover
post May 30 2018, 08:16 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ May 29 2018, 11:02 PM)
I hope your not being sarcastic cuz Aquaman isnt like say, Spidey or Green Lantern to crack jokes all the time

Besides, the film's directed by James Wan, Sarawakian who made serious films like Conjuring, Furious 7 etc

On top of all, DC's really counting on this film post-JL

Based on few interviews, I think Aquaman film is gonna have different flavor according to Wan as he wants to subverse the expectations

On topic: My expectations are on MI6: Fallout, Race 3 & Viswasam lol
Hope he can answers the ryan coogler hype train aka DC answers 2 the black panther laugh.gif laugh.gif
aka_kepep
post May 31 2018, 02:15 PM

a r c h i t o r t u r e d
615 posts

QUOTE(Alastor @ May 29 2018, 04:35 PM)
If you are a comedy lover then Aquaman is really an amazing movie to watch in 2018. I bet you would not stop laughing while watching it as it is a highly rated comedy with a brilliant concept. What do you think guys in this regard?
The way ur saying this is as if u have seen this movie. Hahahaha
TS6so
post Jun 4 2018, 09:53 PM

135 posts

Powerhouse director with powder keg lead. Strangely the premise kinda similar to Vertigo's The Kitchen which also gonna be adapted into a movie next year.
skylinelover
post Jun 4 2018, 10:17 PM

11,251 posts

for old action times sake laugh.gif rclxms.gif

just watch for nostalgia sake without the 90s rewind in mind or else you be very disappointed laugh.gif bruce.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 6 2018, 10:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)

Watched this at IMAX 1Utama, and am glad to report, the Audion/Visual system there is still great!

I really want to like this.

The budget is there, the visual is there the sound is there.

First Act and Second Act are entertaining (not without flaws though)

They got rid of the two kids in the first movie, and the story starts with going back to the island to rescue... wait, did they not do THAT in Jurassic Park 2 already...

Oh, no no wait it is not like Jurassic Park 2. TO begin with this is Jurassic World 2.... really THAT'S the best comeback they have?

The script could have been much better.

I kinda remember the scripts of movies I had watch before, so, for me the movie had a shaky script to begin with

And most of the get out of difficult situation sequences.... had been done before...

Although the third act was really flawed (That is how they choose to end the movie?? Really??) the point they made is actually the gist that Michael Crichton tried to get acrossed in his first novel, should we go down the slippery slope of genetic study?

It is an entertaining movie.

Just seems a little repetitive in some places.

But what do I know, I enjoyed Solo and it is tanking at the box office!! tongue.gif

My Two Sen.
TS6so
post Jun 8 2018, 11:53 AM

135 posts

As much as I love Claire Foy...this one looks like a miscast and just don't see how is this an improvement over Noomi Rapace and Rooney Mara. Hope I'm wrong comes November.
TS6so
post Jun 9 2018, 10:20 AM

135 posts

All the cool people in one movie. Damien Chazelle, Claire Foy and Ryan Gosling. Oscar bait written all over this one....
skylinelover
post Jun 9 2018, 11:24 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 8 2018, 11:53 AM)

As much as I love Claire Foy...this one looks like a miscast and just don't see how is this an improvement over Noomi Rapace and Rooney Mara. Hope I'm wrong comes November.
Haha bloody heck laugh.gif I still have not watch the first one laugh.gif
littlejoe_mov
post Jun 12 2018, 05:37 PM

Waiting to catch Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom & Ant-Man & The Wasp!
Quang1819
post Jun 18 2018, 04:37 PM

2,604 posts

The Equalizer 2 and Sicario 2 brows.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2018, 10:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Incredibles 2 (2018)

So, how is it?

Incredible

Was it worth the wait (14 years)?

Most definitely

Did Brad Bird bring it?

Yes he did, bring it (Aunty Edna!!)

Should a person go to the cinema to watch this movie?

A person? No. In drove, YES!!!

My Two Sen.

P.S. Sorry, fatique....
NathanV0909
post Jun 19 2018, 10:16 AM

of course it's Mulan!
memoviesandi
post Jun 19 2018, 05:38 PM

Looking forward to the new Robin Hood. Trailer looks good!
TS6so
post Jun 21 2018, 08:45 AM

135 posts

Looks pretty dope and hope it lives up to the first one.
skylinelover
post Jun 23 2018, 11:16 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 21 2018, 08:45 AM)

Looks pretty dope and hope it lives up to the first one.
Haha isnt he the bad guy from wakanda laugh.gif laugh.gif

Dam this dude sound like wesley snipes hahahaha

But the heck he sure does can act great

Dam hope he can be the next denzel soon with an oscar win
skylinelover
post Jun 23 2018, 11:18 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Jun 18 2018, 04:37 PM)
The Equalizer 2 and Sicario 2 brows.gif
Fuh gila

Another action franchise 2 fight with john wick hahahaha
Quang1819
post Jun 24 2018, 12:24 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 23 2018, 11:18 PM)
Fuh gila

Another action franchise 2 fight with john wick hahahaha
Hell yeahhhhh can't wait for these three. Especially Sicario, the first one was the best movie I haven't seen for a long time.
neveah
post Jun 25 2018, 02:50 PM

Can't wait for Alita: Battle Angel!

This post has been edited by neveah: Jun 25 2018, 02:50 PM
TS6so
post Jul 10 2018, 12:02 PM

135 posts

Was not aware Lanthimos releasing a movie this year. Right up my alley.

This post has been edited by 6so: Jul 10 2018, 01:59 PM
TS6so
post Jul 13 2018, 08:52 AM

135 posts

Right after closing of last year's Oscars, Gold derby already buzzng this as next year's Best Actress hot ticket. Guess it look likely the frontrunner at the moment.
TS6so
post Jul 21 2018, 11:49 AM

135 posts

Can't help it but felt like MNS flogging a dead horse here.

This year's SDCC looking a little light on big announcement. Not sure any big reveal coming from D23 while WB only have Aquaman and Fantastic Beast 2 to show.
TS6so
post Aug 3 2018, 02:53 PM

135 posts

This one is looking good. Guess he is paying homage to WKW as the shots giving me the "In the mood of love" vibe. More excited on this than Damian Chazelle's First Man.
skylinelover
post Aug 8 2018, 08:58 PM

11,251 posts

anyone? laugh.gif just 2 more weeks 2 go. rclxms.gif

shoot in Singapore starring that Malaysia lead with Dato Michelle plus some Singapore cast. laugh.gif rclxms.gif

like watching new Jack Neo movie repackaged with Hollywood touch wrappers. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
SUSgogo2
post Aug 8 2018, 09:53 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 8 2018, 08:58 PM)
anyone? laugh.gif just 2 more weeks 2 go. rclxms.gif

shoot in Singapore starring that Malaysia lead with Dato Michelle plus some Singapore cast. laugh.gif  rclxms.gif

like watching new Jack Neo movie repackaged with Hollywood touch wrappers. laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
Whenever I see Michelle Yeoh, I think of Barisan Nasional. So no. Not going to watch any Michelle Yeoh movie. Star Trek is ok because I already subscribe to Netflix.
skylinelover
post Aug 9 2018, 11:35 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 8 2018, 09:53 PM)
Whenever I see Michelle Yeoh, I think of Barisan Nasional. So no. Not going to watch any Michelle Yeoh movie. Star Trek is ok because I already subscribe to Netflix.
Haha sure bo?

I never knew Dato MY is Najib butliker. laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSgogo2
post Aug 9 2018, 12:13 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 9 2018, 11:35 AM)
Haha sure bo?

I never knew Dato MY is Najib butliker. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Same as Lee Chong Wei movie. No support.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Aug 9 2018, 12:14 PM
TS6so
post Aug 16 2018, 01:11 PM

135 posts

This is looking good...very good indeed. For some dumb reason it's giving me the Michael Mann's Heat vibe. Enjoy it while it last cause Disney already made it official that they will cut down Fox's genre movies production slate to realign with the wholesome PG13 decree of mouse house.

Guess to MCU fanboys is worth destroying the whole forest to save a tree...lol....RIP to 20th Century Fox....
manfisto
post Aug 21 2018, 04:28 PM

76 posts

This could be good

This post has been edited by manfisto: Aug 21 2018, 04:30 PM
TS6so
post Aug 22 2018, 09:08 AM

135 posts

Jeffrey Wright, Riley Keough and Alexander Skarskarg.
Ok...no brainer, a day one watch. Jeremy Saulnier is the man!!! Next year he is headlining True Detective S3 which brings back hope it can be worthwhile as the S2 remains an abomination.
Mov_freak
post Aug 22 2018, 10:42 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Movies I may consider watching

September 2018

The Nun (2018)
Horror | Mystery | Thriller
Director: Corin Hardy
Stars: Taissa Farmiga, Bonnie Aarons, Jonny Coyne, Charlotte Hope
Comment: I am a sucker for horror...

The Predator (2018)
Action | Adventure | Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Shane Black
Stars: Yvonne Strahovski, Olivia Munn, Jacob Tremblay, Thomas Jane
Comment: Reboot, R rated! Yah!!

October 2018

Venom (2018)
Action | Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Ruben Fleischer
Stars: Tom Hardy, Michelle Williams, Woody Harrelson, Jenny Slate
Comment: Sony finally cashing in on their Spidey properties (outside of spidey himself)

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween (2018)
Adventure | Comedy | Family | Fantasy | Horror
Director: Ari Sandel
Stars: Madison Iseman, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Ken Jeong, Chris Parnell
Comment: Yes, will watch this. Liked the first one.

First Man (2018)
Biography | Drama | History
Director: Damien Chazelle
Stars: Ryan Gosling, Claire Foy, Jason Clarke, Kyle Chandler
Comment: Watching this because of the source material

Halloween (2018)
Horror | Thriller
Director: David Gordon Green
Stars: Judy Greer, Jamie Lee Curtis, Virginia Gardner, Nick Castle
Comment: Please show Michael Jackson Thriller 3D with this. PLEASE!

November 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
Adventure | Family | Fantasy
Director: David Yates
Stars: Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol
Comment: Watched the first part, so...

Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)
Animation | Adventure | Comedy | Family | Fantasy
Directors: Phil Johnston | Rich Moore
Stars: Gal Gadot, Kristen Bell, Mandy Moore, Kelly Macdonald
Comment: More Ralph, Yah

Robin Hood (2018)
Action | Adventure
Director: Otto Bathurst
Stars: Taron Egerton, Ben Mendelsohn, Jamie Dornan, Paul Anderson
Comment: Another Robin Hood? Okay...

December 2018

Mortal Engines (2018)
Action | Adventure | Fantasy | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Christian Rivers
Stars: Hugo Weaving, Stephen Lang, Leila George, Robert Sheehan

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018)
Animation | Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Directors: Bob Persichetti | Peter Ramsey | Rodney Rothman
Stars: Hailee Steinfeld, Nicolas Cage, Jake Johnson, Mahershala Ali
Comment: An animated Spidey movie...

Aquaman (2018)
Action | Adventure | Fantasy | Sci-Fi
Director: James Wan
Stars: Amber Heard, Jason Momoa, Nicole Kidman, Leigh Whannell
Cooment: You really need me to give you a reason to watch this?

Mary Poppins Returns (2018)
Family | Fantasy | Musical
Director: Rob Marshall
Stars: Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep, Colin Firth, Julie Walters
Comment: Sceptical... Watching this because of Emily Blunt

Holmes and Watson (2018)
Adventure | Comedy | Crime | Mystery
Director: Etan Cohen
Stars: Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly, Ralph Fiennes, Kelly Macdonald
Comment: Will Ferrell? Really???

Alita: Battle Angel (2018)
Action | Adventure | Romance | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Robert Rodriguez
Stars: Jennifer Connelly, Lana Condor, Eiza González, Rosa Salazar
Comment: Please don't suck! PLEASE DON'T SUCK!!

(List extracted from IMDB)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 22 2018, 10:45 PM
TS6so
post Aug 24 2018, 08:34 AM

135 posts

This has the potential to be cult hit of this year. Quentin Tarantino endorsed his seal of approval to this remake. Believe it is something of significance to be able to nab Tom Yorke as composer. Some even went out to say it is comparable to The Shining for relevance.
skylinelover
post Aug 24 2018, 09:10 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 22 2018, 10:42 PM)
Movies I may consider watching

September 2018

The Nun (2018)
Horror | Mystery | Thriller
Director: Corin Hardy
Stars: Taissa Farmiga, Bonnie Aarons, Jonny Coyne, Charlotte Hope
Comment: I am a sucker for horror...

The Predator (2018)
Action | Adventure | Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Shane Black
Stars: Yvonne Strahovski, Olivia Munn, Jacob Tremblay, Thomas Jane
Comment: Reboot, R rated! Yah!!

October 2018

Venom (2018)
Action | Horror | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Ruben Fleischer
Stars: Tom Hardy, Michelle Williams, Woody Harrelson, Jenny Slate
Comment: Sony finally cashing in on their Spidey properties (outside of spidey himself)

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween (2018)
Adventure | Comedy | Family | Fantasy | Horror
Director: Ari Sandel
Stars: Madison Iseman, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Ken Jeong, Chris Parnell
Comment: Yes, will watch this. Liked the first one.

First Man (2018)
Biography | Drama | History
Director: Damien Chazelle
Stars: Ryan Gosling, Claire Foy, Jason Clarke, Kyle Chandler
Comment: Watching this because of the source material

Halloween (2018)
Horror | Thriller
Director: David Gordon Green
Stars: Judy Greer, Jamie Lee Curtis, Virginia Gardner, Nick Castle
Comment: Please show Michael Jackson Thriller 3D with this. PLEASE!

November 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
Adventure | Family | Fantasy
Director: David Yates
Stars: Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol
Comment: Watched the first part, so...

Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)
Animation | Adventure | Comedy | Family | Fantasy
Directors: Phil Johnston | Rich Moore
Stars: Gal Gadot, Kristen Bell, Mandy Moore, Kelly Macdonald
Comment: More Ralph, Yah

Robin Hood (2018)
Action | Adventure
Director: Otto Bathurst
Stars: Taron Egerton, Ben Mendelsohn, Jamie Dornan, Paul Anderson
Comment: Another Robin Hood? Okay...

December 2018

Mortal Engines (2018)
Action | Adventure | Fantasy | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Christian Rivers
Stars: Hugo Weaving, Stephen Lang, Leila George, Robert Sheehan

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018)
Animation | Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Directors: Bob Persichetti | Peter Ramsey | Rodney Rothman
Stars: Hailee Steinfeld, Nicolas Cage, Jake Johnson, Mahershala Ali
Comment: An animated Spidey movie...

Aquaman (2018)
Action | Adventure | Fantasy | Sci-Fi
Director: James Wan
Stars: Amber Heard, Jason Momoa, Nicole Kidman, Leigh Whannell
Cooment: You really need me to give you a reason to watch this?

Mary Poppins Returns (2018)
Family | Fantasy | Musical
Director: Rob Marshall
Stars: Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep, Colin Firth, Julie Walters
Comment: Sceptical... Watching this because of Emily Blunt

Holmes and Watson (2018)
Adventure | Comedy | Crime | Mystery
Director: Etan Cohen
Stars: Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly, Ralph Fiennes, Kelly Macdonald
Comment: Will Ferrell? Really???

Alita: Battle Angel (2018)
Action | Adventure | Romance | Sci-Fi | Thriller
Director: Robert Rodriguez
Stars: Jennifer Connelly, Lana Condor, Eiza González, Rosa Salazar
Comment: Please don't suck! PLEASE DON'T SUCK!!

(List extracted from IMDB)
Sorry my movie appetite ended this year after MI6 laugh.gif laugh.gif

Dont think any other movies can top the broken ankle jump hahahaha
Mov_freak
post Aug 24 2018, 10:46 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 24 2018, 09:10 AM)
Sorry my movie appetite ended this year after MI6 laugh.gif laugh.gif

Dont think any other movies can top the broken ankle jump hahahaha
You sure?....

We shall see
maria portman
post Aug 27 2018, 06:31 PM

Waiting for Aquaman. Just watched the trailer and the movie is looking awesome!
skylinelover
post Sep 5 2018, 01:08 PM

11,251 posts

Haha no love for equalizer 2 here laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
TS6so
post Sep 12 2018, 11:18 AM

135 posts

Hope this is line with his older movies instead of the utter trash The Great Wall.
TS6so
post Sep 18 2018, 08:12 AM

135 posts

Really hate it when they put out the whole movie on a trailer....

His first full feature film out of The Raid franchise. Could be interesting...
TS6so
post Sep 18 2018, 08:13 AM

135 posts

Another high profile acquisition by Netflix but not sure why it didn't premier at TIFF. Either something wrong or they are not pushing for wide release at cinema.

This post has been edited by 6so: Sep 18 2018, 08:26 AM
TS6so
post Oct 3 2018, 12:13 PM

135 posts

Technically no longer a 2018 movie as there's a 3 way battle going on for the Christmas week box office. Dunno this movie felt like 15 years too late. Not sure newer audiences able to identify with this old manga property. It's not a modern classic essential.

With Venom being called out as disappointment....hopeful this is a fun ride. So far liking everything I've seen...
TS6so
post Oct 4 2018, 08:19 AM

135 posts

Eff me sideways....always thought this movie gonna be worthwhile but did not expect it to be this awesome. Really digging the stellar casting and how Bale would portrayed The Sith Lord of the Bush administration. Rockwell is amazing as the president.
EmoGuy91
post Oct 12 2018, 09:12 AM

126 posts

Another Oscar contender, getting decent review at this point and US box office was doing great if we ignored Venom. Release date for Malaysia on October 18 based from IMDb. Not sure it would perform well on here as well but we'll see.

This post has been edited by EmoGuy91: Oct 12 2018, 09:22 AM
d.ender5089
post Oct 12 2018, 01:42 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 5 2018, 01:08 PM)
Haha no love for equalizer 2 here laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
yeah agree people expectation really high about that show....in reality r u kidding me ..... can say so so so ...
skylinelover
post Oct 12 2018, 02:35 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(EmoGuy91 @ Oct 12 2018, 09:12 AM)

Another Oscar contender, getting decent review at this point and US box office was doing great if we ignored Venom. Release date for Malaysia on October 18 based from IMDb. Not sure it would perform well on here as well but we'll see.
Possible oscar contender haha
EmoGuy91
post Oct 12 2018, 05:10 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 12 2018, 02:35 PM)
Possible oscar contender haha
Yes I'm not bluffing. Many media outlet put A Star is Born (Bradley Cooper film directorial debut to boot) on the possible contender for Oscar 2019 along with First Man. Who would have thought Lady Gaga are in contender for Oscar awards.

https://www.esquire.com/uk/culture/film/a22...iction-winners/
skylinelover
post Oct 13 2018, 07:39 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(EmoGuy91 @ Oct 12 2018, 05:10 PM)
Yes I'm not bluffing. Many media outlet put A Star is Born (Bradley Cooper film directorial debut to boot) on the possible contender for Oscar 2019 along with First Man. Who would have thought Lady Gaga are in contender for Oscar awards.

https://www.esquire.com/uk/culture/film/a22...iction-winners/
Haha well i guess lady gaga is in great transition from singer 2 actress laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Have not catch it but i got a feeling it can match the original starring Judy Garland in the 50s laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Oct 13 2018, 07:40 AM
EmoGuy91
post Oct 14 2018, 11:52 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 13 2018, 07:39 AM)
Haha well i guess lady gaga is in great transition from singer 2 actress laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Have not catch it but i got a feeling it can match the original starring Judy Garland in the 50s laugh.gif rclxms.gif
FYI ASIB OG version was not Judy Garland, but lead by Janet Gaynor (check Wikipedia, forgot her name) on late 1930s. But yeah you're right many people feeling the 2018 version can match the 1930s and 1950s version.

This post has been edited by EmoGuy91: Oct 14 2018, 11:55 AM
skylinelover
post Oct 14 2018, 03:02 PM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(EmoGuy91 @ Oct 14 2018, 11:52 AM)
FYI ASIB OG version was not Judy Garland, but lead by Janet Gaynor (check Wikipedia, forgot her name) on late 1930s. But yeah you're right many people feeling the 2018 version can match the 1930s and 1950s version.
Haha oooo

Ya that was original

I knew only the 50s because it is the one that snagged a lot of oscars while the 30s got no oscars at all
TS6so
post Oct 18 2018, 07:54 AM

135 posts

Hollywood obsession with middle age performer in badass role continues. There were some rumbling at TIFF about Nicole Kidman unrecognisable strong acting. Shall see how it stacks up against the Oscar bait movies.

On another note Annapurna Pictures is downsizing significantly as announced today. Guess trust fund baby kena sounding from super rich papa. Hope it gets to turnaround and don't close shop cause that will be another nail in the coffin of cinema landscape.
defaultname365
post Oct 18 2018, 10:38 AM

1,098 posts

So here's how they panned out so far...

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 31 2017, 01:03 PM)
1. Avengers: Infinity War (May 4) - 9/10
2. Black Panther (Feb. 16) - 10/10
3. Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (June 22) - 5/10
4. Deadpool 2 (June 1) - skipped in cinema, 8/10
5. God Particle aka Cloverfield 3 (Feb 2) - "Cloverfield Paradox" ??? 2/10
6. Solo: A Star Wars Story  (May 25) - skipped in cinema, 7/10
7. Incredibles 2 (June 15) - skipped in cinema
8. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald  (Nov 16) - waiting!!
9. Ant-Man and the Wasp (July 6) - 8/10
10. Marry Poppins Returns (Dec 25) - waiting!!
11. Aquaman (Dec 21) - waiting!!
12. Venom (Oct 5) - skipped in cinema
13. X-Men: Dark Phoenix  (Nov. 2) - delayed

*By order of anticipation.

Who will be the shiners and the stinkers?

We'll find out!

A few others but not that hopeful, but you never know. 'New Mutants', 'MI6', 'Bumblebee' (no M Bay finally and.... John Cena!! *cue music*)
Also watched "Mamma Mia 2" rclxs0.gif at best 6/10, better than the first in many ways. Watched because friend was a fan of ABBA.

The worst film this year seen in cinema has to be "Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom" - watched it because a friend was longing so badly to see it.

"First Man" looks great, might catch it soon.
TS6so
post Oct 25 2018, 11:11 AM

135 posts

Whether coincidence or not, someone is going after "The Quiet Place" hype train...lol...
TS6so
post Oct 26 2018, 02:37 PM

135 posts

Lady Gaga trying to be a legit actress but Natalie Portman playing Lady Gaga in another movie...
Time really flies as Jude Law last partnered with Portman was 04 Closer.
Rebeccachong
post Oct 26 2018, 05:11 PM

71 posts

I'm waiting for X-Men: Dark Phoenix & Aquaman!!!!!!!!!!
lkm1989
post Oct 29 2018, 11:34 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Rebeccachong @ Oct 26 2018, 05:11 PM)
I'm waiting for X-Men: Dark Phoenix & Aquaman!!!!!!!!!!
Ya, Aquaman catch my eyes. Looking forward to it.
HiAwak
post Oct 29 2018, 12:13 PM

105 posts

I cant wait to watch fantastic beast 2 , captain marvel and of course the avengers infinity wars <3
sweet_pez
post Oct 29 2018, 04:06 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(HiAwak @ Oct 29 2018, 12:13 PM)
I cant wait to watch fantastic beast 2 , captain marvel and of course the avengers infinity wars <3
Captain Marvel is this year? And the part 2 of Infinity Wars will be next year right? Fantastic B. is coming out next month - can't wait to catch it too!
skylinelover
post Oct 30 2018, 11:42 AM

11,251 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 29 2018, 04:06 PM)
Captain Marvel is this year? And the part 2 of Infinity Wars will be next year right? Fantastic B. is coming out next month - can't wait to catch it too!
Haha same here laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TS6so
post Nov 14 2018, 01:13 PM

135 posts

Think this got a very good shot for nabbing Netflix an Oscar or two.
defaultname365
post Nov 14 2018, 03:33 PM

1,098 posts

Fantastic Beasts 2 turned out to be a dud. Unsurprisingly. Even Potter fans are screaming 'plot holes'... they really stretched 1 film into 3 films. laugh.gif

QUOTE(6so @ Nov 14 2018, 01:13 PM)

Think this got a very good shot for nabbing Netflix an Oscar or two.
Golden Globe and Oscar nominee without a doubt. Hope to watch it soon (since it will be streaming soon, dl should appear as well).

0.0437sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:27 AM