QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 21 2017, 10:37 PM)
Anyone tried this tyre before?
Pls share your review.
quite noisy..
Nuke
post Dec 26 2017, 04:20 PM

255 posts

Was quoted RM180/pc for 215/45/17 by Hin Leong, Klang (Kedai papan).

Still thinking whether to change all 4 to Falken ZE914 or just change 2 for Michelin Premacy 3ST/ Pilot PS3

hmm.gif
TSsg999
post Dec 26 2017, 07:34 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 26 2017, 05:20 PM)

Still thinking whether to change all 4 to Falken ZE914 or just change 2 for Michelin Premacy 3ST/ Pilot PS3

hmm.gif
yes
The price is quite cheap. biggrin.gif
SUSceo684
post Dec 27 2017, 06:12 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Using this on ACV30 camry - grip not as good as PS3 on mitsu mirage..PS3 seems to be able to handle anything I throw at it.

Dry braking 80-0 is quite scary, I stopped inches away from hitting a car who decided not to come out from junction when he was halway out already. Using this tyre macam discovered perpetual motion (doesnt want to stop even though ABS already activate).. dunno is my camry heavy or the tyre grip not good enough?

Cornering hard leh I can easily make this tyre scream and squeak.

If compared to other eco tyre I'd take the Toyo NEO3 instead.
If budget permits, and your tyre/rim size supports, PS3 is best
mmmm4
post Dec 28 2017, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 21 2017, 10:37 PM)
Anyone tried this tyre before?
Pls share your review.
currently using 4 of these in 195/55r15 size. has been for 40K km or 2 years. still have about 5-6mm of thread left (measure it). rotate the tyres every 10K km.

grip is adequate in wet n dry for normal driving. still hold its grip on fast cornering - dry. Wet? never attempted any fast cornering.

as quite as CC5 but not as soft nevertheless still comfortable

after 40K km noticed some chipping

will buy again? maybe not coz for 195/55R15 i can opt for something like Fleva v702
Imagination *-*
post Mar 3 2018, 09:08 PM

56 posts

I using this tyre for about a year now.

Quite noisy and poor grip. Sharp cornering at 50 kmh can hear tyre squeal.

Driving over pool of water can feel car slow down albeit.

Will buy again? No.
rodniel
post Mar 5 2018, 11:22 AM

48 posts

They are good tires for the money. The grip of these Falken tires are good in all weather conditions, but nothing really spectacular. They are comfortable yet not the quietest tires.
6UE5T
post Mar 6 2018, 10:03 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 27 2017, 06:12 PM)
Using this on ACV30 camry - grip not as good as PS3 on mitsu mirage..PS3 seems to be able to handle anything I throw at it.

Dry braking 80-0 is quite scary, I stopped inches away from hitting a car who decided not to come out from junction when he was halway out already. Using this tyre macam discovered perpetual motion (doesnt want to stop even though ABS already activate).. dunno is my camry heavy or the tyre grip not good enough?

Cornering hard leh I can easily make this tyre scream and squeak.

If compared to other eco tyre I'd take the Toyo NEO3 instead.
If budget permits, and your tyre/rim size supports, PS3 is best
Yes of course PS3 is much better coz it's higher performance category tires.

The poor braking and ABS behavior that you mentioned is largely due to the tires poor grip. ABS gets triggered when tire looses grip so the system tries to play rubber band by loosening and then clamping back the brakes in order for the car not to slide/skid. So if you have such poor grip tire, the ABS is working harder coz the tires loose grip too easily and therefore the ABS needs to loosen the brake more often. If you have a better performance tire, the ABS has a higher threshold before it needs to loosen the brakes, hence the car will be able to stop faster too. That's why even though the car has all the nice safety features like ABS and VSC or what not, tires is still the most important key aspect of the car because all those electronics work based on the available grip limit that the tires provide, and therefore I always recommend to buy the best performance tires you can afford that is available for your size and not be skimpy on tires.

QUOTE(rodniel @ Mar 5 2018, 11:22 AM)
They are good tires for the money. The grip of these Falken tires are good in all weather conditions, but nothing really spectacular. They are comfortable yet not the quietest tires.
The better Falken are the Azenis FK453, and new 510 models which is the replacement/improvement over the 453 (not sure though who sells the 510 here in Malaysia, or maybe even not yet brought over here). However compared to these Falken, I'd also suggest to check out Hankook V12 Evo 2 or S1 Evo 2 which are probably similar pricing or even cheaper but yet very much proven already against other top tires like Michelin PS/Goodyear F1/Continental CSC series etc2.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Mar 6 2018, 10:05 AM
SUSceo684
post Mar 7 2018, 05:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 6 2018, 10:03 AM)
Yes of course PS3 is much better coz it's higher performance category tires.

The poor braking and ABS behavior that you mentioned is largely due to the tires poor grip. ABS gets triggered when tire looses grip so the system tries to play rubber band by loosening and then clamping back the brakes in order for the car not to slide/skid. So if you have such poor grip tire, the ABS is working harder coz the tires loose grip too easily and therefore the ABS needs to loosen the brake more often. If you have a better performance tire, the ABS has a higher threshold before it needs to loosen the brakes, hence the car will be able to stop faster too. That's why even though the car has all the nice safety features like ABS and VSC or what not, tires is still the most important key aspect of the car because all those electronics work based on the available grip limit that the tires provide, and therefore I always recommend to buy the best performance tires you can afford that is available for your size and not be skimpy on tires.
The better Falken are the Azenis FK453, and new 510 models which is the replacement/improvement over the 453 (not sure though who sells the 510 here in Malaysia, or maybe even not yet brought over here). However compared to these Falken, I'd also suggest to check out Hankook V12 Evo 2 or S1 Evo 2 which are probably similar pricing or even cheaper but yet very much proven already against other top tires like Michelin PS/Goodyear F1/Continental CSC series etc2.
Thanks for the explanation. So now I tone down my driving style to 2k rpm cruising so not too bad. Nevertheless, braking grip of new falken tyres are of course much better than compared to the 50% 2012 hardened Yoko C drive I had on the car from previous owner.

Just digressing, will Michelin XM2 or Primacy3ST be much better as compared to the Falken ZE914 ecoruns? My tyre is the fatter 215/60/16 profile so I can't get those sticky tyres like PS3/PS4 in that size. Just wish to know if I should fork out that extra premium for Michelins instead, or its just purely branding.
6UE5T
post Mar 7 2018, 05:45 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 7 2018, 05:03 PM)
Thanks for the explanation. So now I tone down my driving style to 2k rpm cruising so not too bad. Nevertheless, braking grip of new falken tyres are of course much better than compared to the 50% 2012 hardened Yoko C drive I had on the car from previous owner.

Just digressing, will Michelin XM2 or Primacy3ST be much better as compared to the Falken ZE914 ecoruns? My tyre is the fatter 215/60/16 profile so I can't get those sticky tyres like PS3/PS4 in that size. Just wish to know if I should fork out that extra premium for Michelins instead, or its just purely branding.
Yeah for high profile tires unfortunately there's no option for higher performance models hence need to settle for mid range models.

XM2 IMHO is not worth the price coz it's Michelin's low end model yet the price is quite high. It's worth getting XM2 if for very small size like 14' coz then the price difference is minimal and it's also competing against other low end eco tires. Then the Primacy 3ST is a step above the XM2, very well known for being comfortable and silent tires with decent grip and of course reliable but the price point is again a bit on the high side (like practically all Michelin tires!). There are many competition in this mid- range models like BS Turanza, Goodyear Efficient Grip, Dunlop D05, Continental CPC series, Pirelli P7, some Hankook etc2. I used to recommend the Continental CPC series for this mid range models coz it seems to be the best and very close/borderline performance to UHP level (in fact the newest CPC6 is already classified as UHP level) but the price is also similar to Michelin, or even more.

As for this ZE914Ecorun, since you've tried it yourself and it's not so good, then better try something else for the next change. I always recommend to buy the best you can afford that is available for your size. Of course if got some value for money options then that's worth to try too but based on what you said the ZE914 might not be that. How much did you buy the ZE914 btw?
TSsg999
post Mar 8 2018, 05:57 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 7 2018, 06:45 PM)
Yeah for high profile tires unfortunately there's no option for higher performance models hence need to settle for mid range models.

XM2 IMHO is not worth the price coz it's Michelin's low end model yet the price is quite high. It's worth getting XM2 if for very small size like 14' coz then the price difference is minimal and it's also competing against other low end eco tires. Then the Primacy 3ST is a step above the XM2, very well known for being comfortable and silent tires with decent grip and of course reliable but the price point is again a bit on the high side (like practically all Michelin tires!). There are many competition in this mid- range models like BS Turanza, Goodyear Efficient Grip, Dunlop D05, Continental CPC series, Pirelli P7, some Hankook etc2. I used to recommend the Continental CPC series for this mid range models coz it seems to be the best and very close/borderline performance to UHP level (in fact the newest CPC6 is already classified as UHP level) but the price is also similar to Michelin, or even more.

As for this ZE914Ecorun, since you've tried it yourself and it's not so good, then better try something else for the next change. I always recommend to buy the best you can afford that is available for your size. Of course if got some value for money options then that's worth to try too but based on what you said the ZE914 might not be that. How much did you buy the ZE914 btw?
Been using CPC2 series,
Feel great
diadokmai
post Mar 12 2018, 06:07 AM

941 posts

this is cheap tires. dont expect high on its. but at least its done a job.
below RM200 for 17inch tires. this is a good deal.

and at least this tire grip better than bridgestone ecopia ep200
baocord
post Mar 21 2018, 09:34 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Mar 12 2018, 06:07 AM)
this is cheap tires. dont expect high on its. but at least its done a job.
below RM200 for 17inch tires. this is a good deal.

and at least this tire grip better than bridgestone ecopia ep200
May I know where to get cheap price for this tyre?
amad108
post Apr 18 2018, 02:24 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 26 2017, 04:20 PM)

hmm.gif
I can say really cheap.. similar performance as Achiles ATR Sport 2? Price also similar..
Imagination *-*
post May 9 2018, 07:46 AM

56 posts

After using it awhile more. Im changing my opinion. It has alright grip but u can't push it alot through sharp corners.

Good grip but noisy.
popopi
post May 17 2018, 12:57 PM

1,197 posts

I am thinking for the 914 as well.. this will replace my orignal dugong vios tyre... is this consider upgrade or downgrade?

ori tyre 185 60 R15
plan for 914 195/60R15 ... no plan for rim change..

please advice.
edit*

I constant travel highway and quite high speed. so, i need reliable tyre that will not terkupas like those lorry tyre...

This post has been edited by popopi: May 17 2018, 12:59 PM
therain01
post May 18 2018, 01:03 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ May 17 2018, 12:57 PM)
I am thinking for the 914 as well.. this will replace my orignal dugong vios tyre... is this consider upgrade or downgrade?

ori tyre 185 60 R15
plan for 914 195/60R15 ... no plan for rim change..

please advice.
edit*

I constant travel highway and quite high speed. so, i need reliable tyre that will not terkupas like those lorry tyre...
You should get 195 55 15 if you plan to switch from 185 60 15.
leehernandez
post May 18 2018, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 18 2018, 01:03 AM)
You should get 195 55 15 if you plan to switch from 185 60 15.
agree.55 would be a better fit than 60

popopi
post May 18 2018, 11:37 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ May 18 2018, 11:27 AM)
agree.55 would be a better fit than 60
Tested on the 195/55R15 with Falken912... the speedometer vs actual is much slower sweat.gif meaning I am travelling slower...
Like I said.. i travel highway alot.. bigger tyre better comfort and lower tyre rotation is better... yes, i know only 3% difference... but i want to give it a try. thumbup.gif

So, you have tried 914 in malaysia road? good? any adivce?
titan_kinyew
post Jun 3 2018, 03:18 PM

13 posts

225/40r18 ze914 on my car for 2years++ n 60k++ driving

pros
- very good wet grip, 130kmh on heavy raining without any problem
- more than enough dry grip for daily use and not too aggressive touge drive
- far smoother and quieter drive than before, compare to last set yokohama adrive r1
- better on fuel consumption
- good wear, around 30% left after 60k mileage
- very good price (RM300 included GST)

cons
- loud tire noise on rough road
- steering response not sharp but acceptable seem it not a UHP tire.
- notable dry n wet grip was drop after tire tread wear more than 50%

0.0273sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:28 AM