DDR3 RAM Thread, Discussion, previews and reviews here!

TSkmarc
post Apr 26 2007, 10:39 PM, updated 19y ago

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Hot news. DDR3 memory modules is out!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Reviews so far:

Super talent DDR3 - working modules
Buffalo DDR3 - already for sale!
Anandtech : DDR3 vs DDR2
Kingston DDR3 vs DDR2
AnandTech: Intel P35
First low-latency DDR3 - Kingston
---DDR3-1066 (6-6-6)
---DDR3-1333 (7-7-7)
Corsair Dominator at 1600 Mhz (and preview at 2000Mhz)!!
X-bitlabs - DDR3 SDRAM
OCZ DDR3-1800
OCZ platinum vs Corsair Dominator DDR3-1800

More info on DDR3:
Samsung's DDR3 info

Facts up to now:

90 nm process
40% lower power consumption (compared to DDR2)
1.5V (DDR2 1.8v, DDR 2.5v)
800-1600 Mhz effective clock rate (DDR2 : 400-1066 Mhz) (DDR 200-600 Mhz)
CAS 7 (Rated at 5 - 10) (DDR2 3-6)
8-bit pre-fetch architecture (DDR2 4-bit)

Mainstream in 2009 (Probably..... maybe..... don't get your hopes up to much!!!)

And the last part:

240-pin DIMM interface - allowing DDR3-compatible chipsets to host DDR2 modules !!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Update : Misleading - DDR3 has different notch compared to DDR2! vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

This means that by that time, when we upgrade, we can still use our DDR2-1200 Mhz CL 3 Corsair dominator water-cooled RAMS !!! rclxm9.gif

Attached is the DDR3 speeds as compared to DDR2. Due to no speed advantage, it is said that AMD would not transition to DDR3 until at least DDR3-1333.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 31 2007, 11:44 AM

TSkmarc
post Apr 27 2007, 07:22 AM

14,576 posts

Isn't super talent a good U.S brand?

Frankly speaking, I've never heard of this brand until I saw our nice LYN traders selling it individually or in bulk.
TSkmarc
post Apr 27 2007, 07:31 PM

14,576 posts

I don't think DDR2 will be discontinued anytime soon. Same thing happened last time when DDR2-533 and DDR2-667 came out and reviews showed that DDR2 did not have much speed advantage compared to low latency DDR400 rams.

Facts on DDR3 from Wiki:

90 nm process
40% lower power consumption (compared to DDR2)
1.5V (DDR2 1.8v, DDR 2.5v)
Effective clock rate 800-1600 Mhz (DDR2 : 400-1066 Mhz) (DDR 200-600 Mhz)

And the last part:

240-pin DIMM interface - allowing DDR3-compatible chipsets to host DDR2 modules !!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This means that by that time, when we upgrade, we can still use our DDR2-1200 Mhz CL 3 Corsair dominator water-cooled RAMS !!! rclxm9.gif
TSkmarc
post Apr 27 2007, 10:24 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 27 2007, 08:04 PM)
hopes DDR3 don't lose the memory timing anymore
Err.... the hyperlink above on Buffalo DDR3 indicates that its DDR3 will be CAS 7!!! doh.gif
(DDR3 CAS 5 to 10) (DDR2 CAS 3-6)

But even CL7, supposed to be faster..... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Apr 27 2007, 10:25 PM
TSkmarc
post Apr 28 2007, 10:20 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(himmler @ Apr 28 2007, 01:13 PM)
This is gonna burn another hole in my wallet...  cry.gif  icon_question.gif
Probably burn 8 holes, rather, as it is reported that initial DDR3 memory modules will be 8x more expensive!!! rclxub.gif
TSkmarc
post Apr 29 2007, 03:52 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Apr 29 2007, 12:51 PM)

anyway,CL7..........kinda loose ya?
Ya lo. I guess it will slowly come down to CL6 then CL5. Like DDR2......

Going to miss those days where CL2.0 was such a thrill to aim for!!!! cry.gif
TSkmarc
post Apr 29 2007, 09:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(alhardy @ Apr 29 2007, 11:30 AM)
Soon it wil be the end of DDR2 mobos ...  whistling.gif
I also don't think so as DDR3 mobos is supposed to be able to support DDR2. A lot of people would probably use the DDR2 rams when they upgrade (especially those with good DDR2 modules e.g. corsair dominator rclxm9.gif )
TSkmarc
post Apr 29 2007, 11:05 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 29 2007, 10:41 PM)
Anyone of you guys dare to estimate when will DDR3 ram become mainstream?I am still on my DDR ram and hopefully it can still last me another year..lol..
Some reports indicate that it will become mainstream in 2009 (probably not, considering the track records of new computer hardware/software).

I'm also using DDR, hmmmmm..... wonder whether we can streeeeettccchhhhh the life of our current rig, wait a bit longer, and jump straight into DDR3 and skip DDR2 altogether!!!! LOL whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
TSkmarc
post Apr 30 2007, 10:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Apr 30 2007, 09:07 PM)
oppss... forgot that amd hv memory controller in the cpu, but so fat still no news for AM3, but i think DDR3 still along way, even it not relase in market yet..
DDR3 RAM has been released! Read the hyperlink on the first page on "Buffalo RAMs".

Wonder who would buy it......
TSkmarc
post May 1 2007, 11:12 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ May 1 2007, 10:46 PM)
FYI

"A DDR3 DIMM will not fit into a standard DDR2. The notch in a 240-pin DDR3 DIMM is in a different location than the notch for regular 240-pin DDR2"
Oh no! I didn't believe that until I googled it. It seems that it is true the notch is in a different place. shocking.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif

How misleading this phrase is - "240-pin DIMM interface - allowing DDR3-compatible chipsets to host DDR2 modules !!!"

Note the word "chipset". It actually (cleverly) didn't mention anything about DIMM compatibility!!! Only chipset compatible! vmad.gif vmad.gif

Hopefully, there will be DDR3 mobo that have slots for DDR2 DIMM???!!??!?
TSkmarc
post May 2 2007, 07:50 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 2 2007, 05:23 PM)
So, the question is, would there be any Hybrid board that is going to have both DDR2 & DDR3 Dimm slots?
Hopefully there is. However, some people might not like it as they won't be able to use the full 4 slots if they decide to later upgrade totally to DDR3.

As for me, I don't mind using only 2 slots as I still want dual-channel!

Unless DDR3 mobo can have quad-channel???? whistling.gif
TSkmarc
post May 16 2007, 10:13 PM

14,576 posts

Here's a comparison between DDR3 vs DDR2.

Just look at the DDR3 timings!! shocking.gif shocking.gif sweat.gif

http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2989

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 16 2007, 10:20 PM
TSkmarc
post May 20 2007, 06:15 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ May 20 2007, 03:18 PM)
Written off as diminishing return. Or maybe to royally screw AMD in the nuts.

Anyways, this is more of selling Bearlake than DDR3 itself. Would anyone care about how "good" the new specs are if Barcelona struts its stuff and RD700 gets more coverage than the new P/Gs, simply because of better performance?
Wei, no ranting here. Can go to "Kopitiam" to rant. doh.gif
TSkmarc
post May 21 2007, 07:01 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ May 21 2007, 06:11 AM)
That was a comment, thank you. +1. smile.gif

Remember the times where DDR2 underperformed compared to DDR performance modules? Deja vu. Latency values are nuts, and the final blow being everything priced so high and requiring total changes (LGA+PCIE+DDR2+New Components).

Higher performance in current benchies is attributed to Bearlake's memory controllers, which themselves probably became Intel's focus on the new chipsets. Alas, they (Bearlake) accept DDR2 too. And they run faster currently on performance DDR2 modules that cost cheaper. Oh?

If you want to pay 700 Euro for bragging rights on 2007's overclocker with a paltry 2Gigs go for it. But seriously, there's practically no meaning to roll this out *THIS* early- Penryn would be perfect and modules would be more mature. You know, besides being able to clock better.

Core 2 Refresh? You gotta be kidding me. It makes the tech look ugly.
OIC. +1 whistling.gif

Well, I guess companies are competing to get their DDR3 modules out. You know how competition is. It is true that the industry is not ready for DDR3 yet but I guess you have to start sometime!!!

The good news is that at least DDR3 outperforms DDR2 on intro!! If you compare this to the time when DDR2 initially came out, recall that reviews showed DDR2 inferior to DDR!!!

Nobody in his/her right mind would buy DDR3 + DDR3 mobo now (unless you have money to throw away!). It is possible/probable that the technology is rolled out now so that tech ethusiasts can test them and iron out all the bugs. Remember that labs testing and real-world testing are two complete different scenario. Their modules can be 100% compliant in the lab but when used in real-world condition, found to have many bugs. This is the time for DDR3 to mature!!!!

The same can be said about Vista. Who needs vista now? So many bugs and problems...... doh.gif

DDR3 has arrived and won't be mainstream probably until late 2008 or early 2009. Until then, more companies would have rolled out their products and definitely prices will drop. As for myself, I wait for DDR3 + Quad-core (8-core???) + "matured" vista with open arms!!! rclxms.gif

TSkmarc
post May 22 2007, 10:28 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 22 2007, 08:08 AM)
forget bout all those benchmarks. here the real retail benchmarks for both DDR3 and DDR2
http://www.matbe.com/articles/lire/384/cor...ddr3/page14.php

ddr3 slot not the same with ddr2 but ddr3 mobo like intel P35 (bearlake) can support ddr2 if it has ddr2 slot, so called hybrid board.
Ya, and their conclusion is "Cette dernière en DDR2-1066 parvient même à se placer devant la DDR3-1333". ???? hmm.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

Sorry la, I only speak English! LOL! Better wait for the English version.

What language is this anyway?

TSkmarc
post May 22 2007, 02:13 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 22 2007, 11:35 AM)
it's in French

"The latter DDR2-1066 even manages to be placed in front of the DDR3-1333"
Eh, I thought in previous reviews, DDR3 ram did beat DDR2? Any new reviews in English to confirm this?
TSkmarc
post May 23 2007, 06:28 PM

14,576 posts

I did see the review on TomsHardware. However, halfway thru I was already getting a heache as there were so much information! Not to mention new product names like P35, G33, X38.....

For example "First of all, Intel releases the P35 (mainstream) and the G33 (mainstream with integrated GMA 3100 graphics). The faster G35 and the enthusiast version X38 (PCI Express 2.0) will follow in Q3. Both P35 and G33 carry a DDR3 as well as a DDR2 memory controller." I'm sure this has to be read a couple of times before it is understood!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on May 24, 2007, 7:05 pmHere's another review on DDR3 : http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2995&p=5

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 24 2007, 07:05 PM
TSkmarc
post May 25 2007, 02:39 PM

14,576 posts

Low-latency DDR3 from Kingston has arrived!!!

Current DDR3-1333 (9-9-9) : Kingstons DDR3-1333 (7-7-7)
Current DDR3-1066 (7-7-7) : Kingstons DDR3-1066 (6-6-6)

Read the review here!

http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2996&p=1
TSkmarc
post Jun 5 2007, 04:59 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ May 27 2007, 06:48 PM)
lol, im thinking of getting a high perf ddr2 rams end of this year to replace my cikai ddr2 ram. and now ddr3? yeah, i'ma wait til it matures, like maybe 2-3yrs from now. Then i'll get it. it's too early to think of getting one now.

but it's good to know what's up in sleeves in the coming years hey?
Yup. Still have to wait for it to mature and the prices to come down.

However, it is exciting to know that even now, DDR3 RAMs can go up to 2000 Mhz!!! Courtesy of Corsair!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif (Hyperlinks in the first page....)
TSkmarc
post Jul 10 2007, 04:15 PM

14,576 posts

Here a new review on DDR3 : http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/di...r3_2.html#sect0

Answers a lot of questions including projected lifespan of DDR2 and DDR3!!

Yeah, that's right! Because DDR4 is projected to arrive in 2011!

0.0255sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:40 AM