The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V4, Say hello to the future

666devil
post Dec 22 2017, 06:27 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 22 2017, 11:47 AM)
Call me paranoid but I trust Google less than Apple smile.gif
Ya, exactly that. In fact, just setting up a new phone also pretty troublesome coz you're worried if you restore from a backup something will go haywire.
Ya, but on the flip side, we're also seeing Android flagship phones getting priced higher each year.
Leave iOS???!! Well hell that is only possible when iTunes is required to sync stuff ages ago.
Now u r asking me to leave behind the dummy proof process of changing from iOS to newer iOS device, and the seedless way I can continue my work and browsing between my iPad and iPhone.
So no way I’m going back to android. Can’t imagine process of upgrading phone with it.
666devil
post Dec 25 2017, 12:40 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 24 2017, 07:50 AM)
Yeah, but I still need to get an iPhone soon. Family members complaining they can’t send me iMessage or FaceTime me liow, ha ha ha...
Only that 2 features? I’m using App Store and Album family sharing too. Oh ya. Almost forgot family calendar.
666devil
post Dec 31 2017, 04:54 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(moonsunlala @ Dec 31 2017, 02:10 PM)
Applied Hoda 0.33 Full Screen Coverage SP,  fits well with Apple Leather Case  :
[attachmentid=9471054]
[attachmentid=9471055]

Easier to have fingerprint smudge compare to Spigen glass sp.
But prefer to have full coverage, better looking biggrin.gif
Let us know if dust still accumulate at the top sensors few days later.
666devil
post Jan 5 2018, 11:13 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 5 2018, 08:53 AM)
Update for those following my battery usage:

Note 8 vs IPX

24 hours later...

IPX: 65% Battery left. (SOT=3hours+)
Note8: Battery died at about 22 hours mark. (SOR=2hours 30 minutes)

IPX surely wins.

Note8 has no games played. Only mainly standby and facebook at night before bed. No Always on Display. Bluetooth off.

IPX games, facebook, emails.
From the above, i'd give the  thumbup.gif  to IPX. Well done there. However the only difference is the screen resolution. Note 8 was running at WQHD+. Maybe FHD would help increase battery life though.
Not supposed at all.

Android is well known to leak data here, leak battery there. Will be even worse with all the battery pro doctor apps installed
666devil
post Jan 5 2018, 07:04 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jan 5 2018, 12:06 PM)
Actually stock Android now holds battery charge pretty well though. It's just all those manufacturers' UI and bloatware that causes the issues.
Samsung already allow u to delete bloatware, yet don’t see much improvement on battery.
666devil
post Jan 5 2018, 07:07 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 5 2018, 12:38 PM)
Looks like I made the right move upgrading from note5 to ipx instead of note8 thumbup.gif

Smaller form factor, more pocketable, longer standby time, snappy little fcuker, ticks most if not all my requirements.

Painful for the wallet, though.
U r doomed my friend. Once in the Apple ecosystem, cannot leave. Make sure u transfer all ur contacts, notes etc in iCloud. Photos and videos stick back to google photo. Remember to perform iCloud backups.
Next time when u buy a new iPad or upgrade to x+, u will see the magic of the ecosystem.
666devil
post Jan 6 2018, 01:28 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 5 2018, 07:14 PM)
No worries there, buddy. I've been on an ip6 for 2 years now (work phone) so I'm well prepared.

I don't need the full Apple 'seamless user' experience so am still keeping my stuff in my Google account. iCloud's only for phone and appdata backups.

No issues going back to Android if I have to, maybe one day when an iphone costs 10K ha ha.
If it hit that price, count me in lo.
I go back to my google account and 3 years of android experience.
666devil
post Jan 6 2018, 01:36 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jan 5 2018, 07:24 PM)
Ya, exactly. They just give you the illusion that there's less bloatware but the truth is a lot of hidden stuffs going on in the background. When I turned off data and WiFi on my S8 and S8+ previously, it still drains 5-6% overnight. Can't explain it. Ha ha.
Look at the bright side, at least u don’t have to root or go to app Mgmt to delete/disable apps. That really reminds me of windows control panel 😅
Worst part is need to keep repeating disable bloatware every time there are updates from Sammy. ‘Good’ old days of slave to the phone.
666devil
post Jan 8 2018, 07:44 AM

1,624 posts

Seriously so hard to detect? Just go to battery usage and see the last 24hrs usage. Press the clock button on the right will even show more details like on screen and background usage time.

666devil
post Jan 12 2018, 06:41 PM

1,624 posts

Just came back from Mac studio. They tell me the HODA v2 tempered glass still have some dust getting in the sensor. Can those using it now confirm?

I am using another thing which they claim no such dust trap issue - Zerone.

Will monitor.
666devil
post Jan 15 2018, 10:17 PM

1,624 posts

It’s just a rogue app. Sometimes need to completed removed and reinstalled.
New versions of Waze are getting suckier. Notice how sownthe reroute calculation is now? I thought it’s mobile data issue, but on WiFi same issue.
Also, once I login with my waze ID after changing to new iPhone, my recent destination locations all gone. No issue if I didn’t login.
If battery leak, just completely delete and reinstall. Especially true when u just restore setup a new iPhone with previous backups.
666devil
post Jan 21 2018, 09:37 AM

1,624 posts

Sometimes I wonder what is the fuss. Everyone know Apple slogan is “it just works”. No need to tamper with settings. Cannot customize without JB. Yet ppl still buy it. Why? Bcoz it just works. And most buy it just for that. If u r not, then u r buying it do the wrong reasons.

Rather then keep complaining here how boring it is , yet keep using since launch day, just sell it already and get another brand. iPhone prices don’t depreciate so much. U can even sell it and get a new Samsung phone without having to top up $$.

Then u can customize ur android for weeks to come. And complain about other “leaking and settings disobeying” issues on another thread. Been there done that.

This post has been edited by 666devil: Jan 21 2018, 09:41 AM
666devil
post Jan 23 2018, 07:23 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ Jan 23 2018, 02:04 AM)
Don't be so heartbroken yet..

Here's the clarification on the prediction:
https://www.macrumors.com/2018/01/22/kgi-ap...ginal-iphone-x/
New iPhone X plus estimated price usd 1099. Lol!
Suddenly I feel like keeping my iPhone X limited edition(EOL) for the next year.

• iPhone SE: $349
• iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus: $449 and $569
• iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus: $549 and $669
• 6.1-inch iPhone with Face ID: $649 or $749
• 5.8-inch second-generation iPhone X: $999
• 6.5-inch second-generation iPhone X Plus: $1,099

This post has been edited by 666devil: Jan 23 2018, 07:23 AM
666devil
post Jan 26 2018, 12:32 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 26 2018, 12:27 PM)
It's iOS problem. Hardware is good i guess. No laggy, all smooth, but buggy right.
Set ur orientation lock. Issues fixed
666devil
post Jan 26 2018, 10:48 PM

1,624 posts

https://www.macrumors.com/2018/01/26/homepod-early-reviews/

Meh....
666devil
post Jan 27 2018, 11:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jan 27 2018, 09:33 AM)
Not considering to get it at all biggrin.gif

Still waiting for AirPower.
I won’t bother with wireless charging. It’s a gimmick. Overpriced. Charge slow and heat up the battery more. In the end shorter battery lifespan. Then Apple throttle speed again. 😏
666devil
post Jan 28 2018, 08:24 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 27 2018, 11:04 PM)
Yea right tongue.gif but it is cool when you can charge 3 of your device ( phone, airpod, watch) in one wireless pad only..
Yep. So all 3 devices battery get heated up faster(especially with casing on) and Apple want Us to replace all of them faster. brows.gif

If u go to official Apple website on recommendations to preserver battery life, Apple even ask us to revive casing when charging with wired. But ironically with wireless charging, it relies on heat to charge a device.
https://www.apple.com/batteries/maximizing-performance/

Not against air power, but generally how the entire wireless charging technology works gimmicks.
666devil
post Jan 28 2018, 04:51 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 28 2018, 09:36 AM)
That is inaccurate. The charger is not generating heat to charge the phone's battery.

How Does Wireless Charging Work?
It generates more heat that is battery’s worst enemy. From the same howtogeek.com that u shared on why not to use wireless charging:
https://www.howtogeek.com/233205/why-you-do...our-smartphone/

Other points mentioned in the article:
- Less power efficiently.
- it’s not really wireless. U still need to plug it to nearby power point
- U need to keep bending down to use ur phone while charging. Don’t have to do this while charging with cable.
- damn slow especially when u wanna quickly charge and leave.
- pay so much more extra
- if placed a bit off position, it will not charge. Much faster to plug in a cable

So do the more reasonable thing, just buy a longer cable already.

This post has been edited by 666devil: Jan 28 2018, 04:58 PM
666devil
post Jan 28 2018, 05:49 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 28 2018, 05:04 PM)
Ok I get it. To each his own.

You mentioned previously wireless charging uses heat to charge the phone. That is wrong.

Anyway I am happy to have wireless charging on an iPhone, finally. I can use my existing Samsung wireless charger. Convenient.
Thanks for the correction though! Appreciate it 👍🏻

It doesn’t use heat to charge, but the heat generated from the inefficiency of the power transfer comes to the same result - more heat.
666devil
post Feb 4 2018, 09:00 AM

1,624 posts

Anyone wanna buy iPad charger for ur ipx, official Lazada Store 19% discount. Somemore can apply additional discount code for different banks credit card. Grab while u can.

https://www.lazada.com.my/apple-12w-usb-pow...-134138047.html

This post has been edited by 666devil: Feb 4 2018, 09:02 AM

0.0239sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:29 AM