The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V4, Say hello to the future

vickyrao
post Jan 3 2018, 04:34 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 3 2018, 04:32 PM)
thanks man, no worries as long as you keep us updated here..... im due to get it by mid jan... still doing research which one to get... otherwise will go for another ipx.. sweat.gif
honestly you would not go wrong with choosing IPX over anything else. whistling.gif whistling.gif
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 07:28 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jan 3 2018, 05:10 PM)
I have note 8, pixel 2 xl, razer phone and onePlus 5t to partner with iPhone X. I can say note 8 is the best because it is the only phone that can do something iPhone X cant do.
Galaxy note 8 (despite not so good battery life), allows u to have extra functionality like s-pen whenever u need it. It is also a perfect all rounder phone with ip rating (vs Oneplus 5t and razer), dual sim (vs pixel 2 xl), microSD slot (vs oneplus 5t and pixel 2 xl).

Plus both iPhone X and Note 8 support the same wireless charger.
agree on the S-Pen. The one thing i use alot especially when taking down screen off notes. very useful.

however it solely depends on the user... if the pen is a requirement or not. if it is not, then note 8 should not be the only choice out there. though i agree it is one hell of a good looking phone. except the battery part. sad.gif
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 09:42 AM

1,531 posts

Update for those following my battery usage:

Note 8 vs IPX
Bluetooth off on both devices as its unfair since my Note is connected to my GearS3.
IPX using WIFI at office but note 8 on Data

So far, after full charge it has been about 3 hours.

IPX: 45minutes screen time, 94% battery left. (Facebook + CoC + BoomBeach)
Note8: 15 Minutes screen time, 87% battery left. (Whatsapp + short facebook load and nothing else)

So far, IPX is surely winning....
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 11:35 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Jan 4 2018, 11:34 AM)
Why there is not ppl asking about dbrand grip? Macam underrated jer  biggrin.gif
feel mahal though... biggrin.gif
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 01:54 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Jan 4 2018, 01:12 PM)
Hi there,

My iphone x just got damaged with water and it cost me RM2940 at switch for replacement. Does anyone know can recommended me a 3rd party shop for fix it ?

(PS: Dont ever play your iphone x with water )  sad.gif

Thank you
What you can do is call Apple Care. Talk to them about your issue. if they also say that you need to pay and fix, then ask them to escalate your case to higher level which means they will escalate to australia. Then when that happens, talk to them nicely and talk to them to give you a replacement for free... be nice and talk nicely... it can be done. ive done it before for cracked screen. so good luck.
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 02:45 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(maserati @ Jan 4 2018, 02:01 PM)
How'd you even get them to give you a free replacement for a phone with a cracked screen? That's impressive.
QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 4 2018, 02:21 PM)
haha power of negotiation... + wayang wayang abit here and there I guess  tongue.gif
yes... negotiation and drama... dont use anger or negative remarks... be nice... but only will work if your call gets escalated. dont demand for escalation, try and see what can be done first before requesting that your case be escalated for further review.

apple support is really great. ive seen them doing wonders.. compared to samsung and other brands who wash their hands off...
vickyrao
post Jan 4 2018, 02:52 PM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 4 2018, 02:49 PM)
cool... good tips bro..thanks for sharing  thumbsup.gif
You're most welcome! happy to help!
vickyrao
post Jan 5 2018, 08:53 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 4 2018, 09:42 AM)

Note 8 vs IPX
Bluetooth off on both devices as its unfair since my Note is connected to my GearS3.
IPX using WIFI at office but note 8 on Data

So far, after full charge it has been about 3 hours.

IPX: 45minutes screen time, 94% battery left. (Facebook + CoC + BoomBeach)
Note8: 15 Minutes screen time, 87% battery left. (Whatsapp + short facebook load and nothing else)

So far, IPX is surely winning....

Note 8 vs IPX

24 hours later...

IPX: 65% Battery left. (SOT=3hours+)
Note8: Battery died at about 22 hours mark. (SOR=2hours 30 minutes)

IPX surely wins.

Note8 has no games played. Only mainly standby and facebook at night before bed. No Always on Display. Bluetooth off.

IPX games, facebook, emails.

From the above, i'd give the thumbup.gif to IPX. Well done there. However the only difference is the screen resolution. Note 8 was running at WQHD+. Maybe FHD would help increase battery life though.
vickyrao
post Jan 5 2018, 09:30 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jan 5 2018, 09:27 AM)
Woah bro, thanks the the review! Iphone X has really impressive battery life compared to Note 8. smile.gif
Welcome. And Agreed. I can be comfortable knowing i only have about 20% battery to even last me the day. Wouldn't need to rush to charge.
vickyrao
post Jan 5 2018, 10:13 AM

1,531 posts

Just ordered the dbrand Grip. Sharing with my friend so we bought the double set option. Hopefully its worth it. biggrin.gif
vickyrao
post Jan 5 2018, 10:55 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 5 2018, 10:39 AM)
Finally someone bought it...share with us the review, did it say how long will the delivery take?
nope. probably will reach in February. Will surely update you all about this.
vickyrao
post Jan 5 2018, 11:18 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jan 5 2018, 11:13 AM)
Not supposed at all.

Android is well known to leak data here, leak battery there. Will be even worse with all the battery pro doctor apps installed
true.. i dont have any of those types of apps installed... cause samsung already has built in device maintenance.
vickyrao
post Jan 9 2018, 08:29 AM

1,531 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ Jan 9 2018, 08:19 AM)
iOS 11.2.2 is now available for download. Addressing the spectre vulnerability in Safari
Thanks for letting us know! Downloading now!
vickyrao
post Jan 9 2018, 08:40 AM

1,531 posts

Finally had the time to fit my Whitestone Dome Glass.

REF: http://www.lazada.com.my/iphone-x-screen-p...3.881076dL58i9h

Fitting seems really excellent. It is easy to fix as long as you watch the video carefully and don't make mistakes. No doubt it is expensive. But the feel is really solid and very clear and gives me confidence in protection. Just in case you all are interested.

Below are some pictures after fitting it.

0.0942sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:53 AM