Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION?, Ver.5, Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Motorola...

tunertoobe
post Nov 8 2007, 05:19 PM

9,309 posts

Hey guys, I'm looking into buying a phone. My budget is 950-1100, Iwhat I need is:

1. Music capability.
2. Decent speaker to bang head with friends. laugh.gif
3. Bluetooth, Infrared.
4. Able to support 2GB or more.
5. Don't have to be 3G.
6. Camera is a must, at least 2.0 MP.

I am currentyly eyeing on a NK 5700, has a stereo ad from what I hear a decent soud quality and can support up to 4GB. It's a 3G phone but the price has dropped to RM1000, possibly lower by next year. But the SE's Walkman Series are very tempting as I am aware of their maturity and capability in Music. But most of them are way out of my budget and SE's are not quite as user friendly.

The Xpressmusic series from Nokia is quite attractive but with the new ones coming, I can't seem to decide, whether to buy those or the 5700. Then there's the build quality issue and stuff. I'm confused! rclxub.gif

Any other phones you guys can recommend, or should I just go for this one(5700)?
I am rather particular as this is quite a major purchase for me and there will be no turning back afterwards.
tunertoobe
post Nov 9 2007, 07:03 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(PasSIoN(tm) @ Nov 8 2007, 11:22 PM)
Tunertoobe.. if got the budget, I think Nokia 6110 will suit you. The speaker is : ) Plus it meets most of your requirements. n80 or n73 also will do. Get the music edition ones. Can lor.  OR add rm60 buy external speakers for whatever your choice of phones.
I think I don't have the budget for a 6110.
The N73 looks quite good, how much is it now?
And vip3r, How much is an N80? Wow, it can do video recording at 30fps. The N73 has quite a good camera though. How much is it for the N73 Music Edition?

Well now I'm convinced. It is either N73 Music Edition or the 5700. The 5700 can support more memory and has better screen colour. It is also newer and that twist feature is quite attractive and lets me choose between the phone, music player and camera, fast.

The N73 however has a better camera, larger screen and from the specs, longer standby time. Dunno if its speakers are better though. But there's always the external speakers accessory. But having a good speakers on its own can save me a lot of money. It doesn't have A2DP however. Overall I think the N73 ME is the better phone, but I need to know the price first.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 9 2007, 07:24 AM
tunertoobe
post Nov 9 2007, 02:03 PM

9,309 posts

The N73 is around RM100 only more expensive than the 5700.
And you're right about the twisty thing. laugh.gif
Let me get this straight.

Now the plusses of the N73 are:
Camera. (3.2 with Carl Zeiss 20x zoom vs 2.0 with no Carl Zeiss 4x zoom)
Larger display screen. (2.4 vs 2.2 inch)
According to spec, longer battery life.
"Software" goodies.

The 5700 on the other hand:
Seems more "youthful".
A bit more stylish
Handy twist feature(although slightly worrying).
More display screen colour(16 million vs 262k)
Slight advantage in size.
Those in-ear earphones.
Newer and cheaper than the N73(saw one at RM999 2 weeks ago I think).

With only RM100 more, I get quite a few extra features more than the 5700. Still a bit confused. I guess I need to see these 2 by myself. Thx guys!
tunertoobe
post Nov 9 2007, 07:56 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(phantom88 @ Nov 9 2007, 07:35 PM)
My budget is RM1000, i am wondering whether to choose between SE K800 or SE K810 or SE W580. Please help. 3G got much use or not? Pls recommend which one to choose and why? Thank you.
I can tell you about the K810 coz my mum uses it.
It has 3G, which is useful if you want to download something fast or make video calls, has Infrared, Bluetooth and stuff. It has a 3.2 MP camera with AF, and the pic quality aint bad either. Quite a fun phone to have but its not the best looking SE. But overall a good phone with good connectivity.
tunertoobe
post Nov 9 2007, 09:46 PM

9,309 posts

Dunno as I have never even touched them. Probably the others know best about that.
tunertoobe
post Nov 11 2007, 09:30 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Nov 11 2007, 08:33 PM)
I have always been using basic phones but I am now looking for something better.  Checked out some of the phone sites out there and came away totally overwhelmed by the hundreds of models out there.  rclxub.gif

I don't need anything very fancy, like high res camera and display, organizer, etc.  Something that allows me to check my emails on the go would be nice.  Don't really need a camera either come to think of it.

Any recommendations?  Thank you.   

Technologically Impaired Joe  biggrin.gif
Something with e-mail? Now that would be quite a fancy phone. biggrin.gif
tunertoobe
post Nov 11 2007, 09:48 PM

9,309 posts

You should state your budget. There are quite a few 3G phones that are around RM1000-RM1200 only.
And sorry, I can't say what model, others can tell you. I came across a few reasonably priced 3G phones while searching for my next phone. And I'm looking for a Music phone so the ones that are priced around that and have 3G right now is the Nokia 5610, 5310 and 5700. Sorry, all Xpressmusic. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 11 2007, 09:52 PM
tunertoobe
post Nov 11 2007, 09:57 PM

9,309 posts

Well, you can buy AP sets and they are priced much lower. Some models are 1 year old already and their price might have dropped to your price range(possibly the original set have dropped to those prices). All I can think of is the Sony Ericsson K600i/610i which has 3G.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 11 2007, 09:57 PM
tunertoobe
post Nov 14 2007, 09:38 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ahaha @ Nov 14 2007, 09:08 PM)
Yo guyz and gals... i am looking for either a Nokia or Sony-Erikson handphone... Budget~RM1500 prefer original not ap... At least have 3G, camera, good sound, good functions and stable... Only candy-bar... Thx... Btw what is this Symbian??
Symbian is an OS. I think only Nokias have a Symbian.
Also regarding your phone................SE's Walkman series have the best sound, forget Nokias.
tunertoobe
post Nov 14 2007, 09:47 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Nov 14 2007, 09:42 PM)
sony ericson n motorola also got symbian la...
Oh sorry bout that. biggrin.gif But out of the 2 choices he gave me, the Nokia is the more dominant user of Symbian.
There aren't many Symbian OS in the Walkman series is there? I think the W9......something has one??

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 14 2007, 09:48 PM
tunertoobe
post Nov 14 2007, 10:13 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Nov 14 2007, 10:06 PM)
can any1 recomend any phone by folowing the requirement below??
brand:prefer nokia..
price:rm800-rm1000
specs:3g,stereo speaker,2mp or 3.2mp,bluetooth
type:candy bar
OT sory for repost becos no 1 reply me..ty
I'm curretly looking at Nokia 5700. But since its a twist phone(and you're looking for a candy phone) then that is its only drawback. Other than that, all you want is on that phone. Including the price.

EDIT: I'll just edit this in, Nokia 6233, but pretty old, 2005.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 14 2007, 10:26 PM
tunertoobe
post Nov 16 2007, 10:34 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(jani13 @ Nov 16 2007, 10:11 PM)
I've been going through a few Nokia models and currently N73 looks to be the most appealing.

Firstly, what is the major difference between the normal and the Media Edition?

How much are they?

I've seen price ranging from RM1500 quoted here but also RM1100. Why the significant difference?

Thanks in advanced.

ps: too lazy to go thru the PS3 forums, so if anyone knows stuff about PS3, please PM me biggrin.gif
It's Music Edition I think you're referring to. And the major difference is advertised in the name itself, Music. biggrin.gif
Other than that, both are pretty much the same.
ANd what's with the PS3? laugh.gif Collectig gadgets with 3 at the end?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 16 2007, 10:35 PM
tunertoobe
post Nov 20 2007, 12:25 PM

9,309 posts

I'll rank it slightly different from you. I'll choose the k850i 1st, k770 second and k810i third(although a tiny bit of a girly accessory does make it look effortlessly girly tongue.gif ).

I'd find that colourful bit in the middle of the K850i kinda cute and classy. laugh.gif Although the K770 in the right colour can make it look more feminine.
tunertoobe
post Dec 10 2007, 02:18 PM

9,309 posts

Budget please.
And criteria, what you GF is like(does she like music, or is she a SMS freak?).

Thought I'd save the trouble of the sifus asking. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Dec 10 2007, 02:19 PM
tunertoobe
post Dec 15 2007, 09:54 PM

9,309 posts

The W810i, is pretty good, but I've see the scree, quite small, and it's kinda old.

There's the k550i, I'd say unisex styling. tongue.gif Has FM radio, 2.0 MP camera with AF and Cyber-Shot. I think it is within your price range for an original set. But the keypad is a tad small ad I used it for long SMS once and it wasn't comfortable.

0.0457sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:16 PM