Kawasaki Z900 1-month review, & views after being a 9-month old biker

SUSskyblu3
post Dec 26 2018, 10:20 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 26 2018, 10:05 PM)
I use headlamp cover. Bulb is original from factory. Why? hmm.gif
Actually, not so heavy because the weight distribution design of the bike is good.
I seen one z900 on Duke with one side yellow headlamp. Very nice.

Heavy when you get off the bike and push it in tight parking areas.
SUSskyblu3
post Dec 27 2018, 05:34 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 27 2018, 01:55 PM)
all bikes with dual lamps/bulbs will only have 1 side light up for low beam....its law.
and factory bulbs mmg yellow
I don't mean the normal halogen bulb type of "yellowish"

I'm referring to fog light type of yellow. Pure yellow.

The z9 usually see on Duke is low beam white led, high beam led yellow.
SUSskyblu3
post Apr 15 2019, 09:37 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Prasad P @ Apr 15 2019, 08:32 PM)

My z900 SE is currently 5 months old with about 3000km's on it. Recently, i noticed that there is noise coming from the left hand side (sounds like metal rubbing against metal / plastic) above speeds of 60km/h. Also, some rattling noise can be heard when i depress and release the clutch w/o engaging the gear. Anyone else feel the same? Worried that something is wrong with the clutch / drivetrain assembly.
Slipper clutch issue?

Mine z900....about 2 times already, when I'm cruising at low rpm, the gear slipped out/disengaged by itself.
When this happened, there will be a loud clanking noise and it feels like I'm revving on neutral. The gear just jumped out into neutral.
Sent it to the workshop but couldn't detect any issues.

Happened twice.

anyone have this issue? I feel it could be something to do with the slipper system.

SUSskyblu3
post Apr 15 2019, 09:38 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Prasad P @ Apr 15 2019, 09:11 PM)
The bike is factory standard, nothing changed till date. I'd lubricate my chain every 2 weeks on average. Just done the second service last week with Kawasaki Full  Synthetic Engine Oil. The sound starts after the service. I'm thinking about bringing it to Kawasaki dealer here in Miri over the weekend, hoping they can sort it out. But then, anyone else face the same problem here?
Kawasaki full syn is 10w/40.

right?

SUSskyblu3
post Apr 16 2019, 12:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 16 2019, 08:51 AM)
Oh my, I never had this issue. How low was your rpm?

Below 4000. Just normal riding.

SUSskyblu3
post Apr 17 2019, 11:40 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(DeFaeco @ Apr 17 2019, 09:30 AM)
Pretty sure it's normal due to kawasaki's gearbox. Happens because of improper engagement of the gear. You need to shift gears more "engagingly" as in use some force with your foot when shifting.

Happened to me once in a while on both my Z800 and zx10 especially when I'm just lazily cruising around. I tend to get sloppy with my shifting during those kind of rides.

Oh, make sure your clutch is properly adjusted as well.
Could be true.
So your gear just jumped out to N on your z800 zx10?

But I didn't have this issue on my Vulcan though. 3 years.
SUSskyblu3
post Apr 18 2019, 10:48 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 18 2019, 10:18 AM)
By the way, was it hot when the gear suddenly change to N? And it went to N from 1 or 2? Or other gears? If it is the latter, scary weh... sweat.gif
My case was 4th kena one time... 6th also kena one time.

SUSskyblu3
post May 10 2023, 09:35 PM

157 posts

Z900 good bike?

0.0783sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:46 PM