Kawasaki Z900 1-month review, & views after being a 9-month old biker

apamise
post Oct 17 2018, 10:23 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Oct 16 2018, 08:33 PM)
How much is the price for z900rs? Any big differences between those two bikes?
Z900RS is around RM 72k. So 20k more expensive than Z900.

I'd rather get Ducati Scrambler at that price. 😁

This post has been edited by apamise: Oct 17 2018, 10:30 AM
mADmAN
post Oct 17 2018, 03:53 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Oct 16 2018, 08:33 PM)
How much is the price for z900rs? Any big differences between those two bikes?
u can check on mudah for the price... but its definitely more expensive than the Z900.

mostly the same except changes like the frame and addition of rider modes.

not too sure about specs diff... but im sure google will have this info.
abz
post Oct 17 2018, 05:50 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 15 2018, 04:11 PM)
Have you gotten your fork and shock sag settings set? You can try to tweak it yourself by adjusting the preload and rebound. Not sure how to set, you need to google for guides. Or send it to a shop and set it.
Nope havent done it yet and dont think have the necessary skill to do it lol.

I was hoping if someone had done it and can give feedback here.
Cyphereza
post Oct 18 2018, 09:51 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 16 2018, 03:52 PM)
huh? the battery can last that long? is that continuous non-stop recording?
Hmmm... 2 hours++ kot instead of 3... sorry, my bad tongue.gif
I don't use any stabilisation nor GPS/Bluetooth/Wifi, and shot at 1080p25 (usually).

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 18 2018, 09:52 AM
nabelon
post Oct 18 2018, 07:39 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 18 2018, 09:51 AM)
Hmmm... 2 hours++ kot instead of 3... sorry, my bad tongue.gif
I don't use any stabilisation nor GPS/Bluetooth/Wifi, and shot at 1080p25 (usually).
When you purchased z900 was there bo consideration for the mt09?
Cyphereza
post Oct 19 2018, 09:05 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 18 2018, 07:39 PM)
When you purchased z900 was there bo consideration for the mt09?
Yup. MT09 and the Tracer 900.

MT09:
- I kinda like all the ride modes, traction control (on the newer version only IINM), QS, etc.
- I was waiting for the double headlamp (2018). But it took a looonnnnggg time.
- Why I got the Z900 instead:
1. Kenot tahan dy (waiting too long).
2. Yamaha is like snail with their big bikes compared to their mopeds in Malaysia.
3. You can find a LOT of Kawa service center (in KL at least).
4. At that time, not sure what is the price for the newer MT09 (price could be higher due to a lot of tech stuffs).
5. A lot of people (online) said it was jerky, like an on-off throttle. I don't ride fast ALL the time.
6. No regrets purchasing Z900 even tho no high tech stuffs (which I can add on later, especially the QS).
7. The community seems friendly/family-like enough. Mostly are newcomers and upgraders from 250 like me. So, no one person with the mindset of "I am in the scene for 30 years, you MUST heed my advise or you'll die riding."

Tracer 900:
- Felt way too big for me when I sat on it. I thought to myself, how am I gonna cilok thru jam with this huge handlebar. sweat.gif
nabelon
post Oct 19 2018, 04:10 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 19 2018, 09:05 AM)

MT09:
- I kinda like all the ride modes, traction control (on the newer version only IINM), QS, etc.
2. Yamaha is like snail with their big bikes compared to their mopeds in Malaysia.
4. At that time, not sure what is the price for the newer MT09 (price could be higher due to a lot of tech stuffs).
5. A lot of people (online) said it was jerky, like an on-off throttle. I don't ride fast ALL the time.
6. No regrets purchasing Z900 even tho no high tech stuffs (which I can add on later, especially the QS).
7. The community seems friendly/family-like enough. Mostly are newcomers and upgraders from 250 like me. So, no one person with the mindset of "I am in the scene for 30 years, you MUST heed my advise or you'll die riding."

Tracer 900:
- Felt way too big for me when I sat on it. I thought to myself, how am I gonna cilok thru jam with this huge handlebar. sweat.gif
Would def love to get z900 the only deal breaker is the lack of traction control
nabelon
post Oct 19 2018, 04:52 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

MT09:

Tracer 900:
Btw, had a look at gsx s 750. Was that considered as well ?
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 19 2018, 10:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 19 2018, 04:52 PM)
Btw, had a look at gsx s 750. Was that considered as well ?
I was considering this also, but I end up getting z9
Quazacolt
post Oct 19 2018, 10:36 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

That's great thumbup.gif
nabelon
post Oct 19 2018, 10:37 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 19 2018, 10:06 PM)
I was considering this also, but I end up getting z9
I love the z9 but traction control on the gsx is tempting. Does the z9 slip ?
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 19 2018, 10:40 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 19 2018, 10:37 PM)
Slipped a bit once on a wet road when I accelerated over the the white arrow on the road. Too much tork. Must be cautious on wet road. Didn't slipped sideways, but just wheel spinned faster over the white line. Lol.
Cyphereza
post Oct 20 2018, 02:42 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 19 2018, 10:37 PM)
It CAN slip, only if you crack it open on slippery road (like from 10% throttle to full throttle). I also had thought previously, oh my, how am I able to control the 125 horses on slippery road without traction control. So far, no problemo. The throttle is sooooo smooth that it does not need TC. icon_idea.gif

Actually, if you want TC, you can get the Z900RS. It is equipped with KTRC.

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 20 2018, 02:44 PM
nabelon
post Oct 20 2018, 04:00 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 20 2018, 02:42 PM)
It CAN slip, only if you crack it open on slippery road (like from 10% throttle to full throttle). I also had thought previously, oh my, how am I able to control the 125 horses on slippery road without traction control. So far, no problemo. The throttle is sooooo smooth that it does not need TC. icon_idea.gif

The z900rs is doable but the price is crazy at 70k otr
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 20 2018, 10:01 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 20 2018, 02:42 PM)

I even ter-wheely once. Scared me.
TSTheOnly
post Oct 27 2018, 04:48 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 3 2018, 10:39 PM)
has it arrived?
yes arrived weeks ago, however just as i adjust adjust (without unscrewing anything), the new windshield is too long - fitting not ngam with my accessories, i will lose my ram mount + bottle water holder spot if i choose to install it. So that windshield lives in some dark storeroom never to see the light again.

Also guys, i have just installed a LED flasher relay wired to the brake light. Comments from my friends who followed me says that it's very attention catching and will definitely alert people that you ARE pressing the brakes. Never can be too safe, basically i have 2 blue running lights at the back + 1 licence plate light(3 low powered white led) purposely angled into driver's eye level, so in total i have a combination of red, white, blue lights as my rear running light, while the brakelights will flash 4 times rapidly, then 4 times slower, then remain constant ON - until i release and press the brakes again.

[attachmentid=10088659]

Here's a short demo video of how it looks like, hyperlink included as it seems video does not play while embedded
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLBhcaElkQI

A very good safety device for bikes, but i will not recommend this for car.
TSTheOnly
post Oct 27 2018, 05:00 PM

87 posts

some additional notes about z900 and it's lack of TC;

i don't think it's even needed for the z900 given it's linear and smooth throttle response. Infact i'm glad i got a z900 as my first bike due to it's bone stock no-elecs-nanny's helping you, giving you false confidence thinking you're a better rider then you really are.

I've slipped on z900 one too many times to count, but because of that - i got a very good "feel" when the rear is going to slide, and no longer panic and actually let it slide a little instead of closing the throttle immediatelly.

Even if next year when i buy a modern full-on sports bike with the latest electronics and technologies, i will still keep the z900 simply due to how bulletproof and how it represent the pure mechanical motorcycling experience.

TC is a good safety net when you're pushing really hard into corners, but i much rather NOT going into a corner too hot thinking "meh my electronics will save me, infact... my friends who rides litrebikes all have experienced or seen a SBK crashed due to highside, lowside, tank slappers even with dampers, e-suspensions, 99 level TC's.
PedangGila
post Nov 7 2018, 10:33 AM

918 posts

This prolly the thing that I should be riding. Nothing is cruiser world that would satisfy my criteria. The closet one is Suzuki M90 but it's rare, very that it could be the only bike in Malaysia. Has any of you guys put sideboxes on it and how it affects the bike stability?
Cyphereza
post Nov 7 2018, 10:59 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Nov 7 2018, 10:33 AM)
This prolly the thing that I should be riding. Nothing is cruiser world that would satisfy my criteria. The closet one is Suzuki M90 but it's rare, very that it could be the only bike in Malaysia. Has any of you guys put sideboxes on it and how it affects the bike stability?
I believe RuFusS has SHAD side boxes. Can ask him bout it.
mADmAN
post Nov 7 2018, 11:37 AM

10,530 posts

soalan cepumas...

anyone discovered any info on fitting a center stand into the Z900?

coz the Z900RS has an optional center stand from kawa... wondering if its possible to fit into the Z900

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:12 PM