Configuring Maxis Home Fibre Using Dlink DSL-G2452

TSvortex_kl
post Dec 14 2017, 02:41 PM, updated 8y ago

20 posts

I just bought the above router with intention to totally replace Maxis Technicolor router as I can't never get my dyndns to work with this device. I just tried running a quick setup but can't seem to get it to make a WAN connection. Have anybody tried this router before? If yes, can you share to properly setup this thing? TIA.

http://www.dlink.com.my/dsl-g2452dg/
TSvortex_kl
post Dec 14 2017, 04:55 PM

20 posts

Is there anything wrong with the setup here?

syk
post Dec 14 2017, 09:32 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(vortex_kl @ Dec 14 2017, 04:55 PM)
Is there anything wrong with the setup here?
Did you update to latest firmware 1.01?
Below is my setting.

TSvortex_kl
post Dec 14 2017, 09:47 PM

20 posts

Tq so much. I see that you're using ETH mode and not PTM. I will try that soonest. Really hope this will work.

Thanks again.

QUOTE(syk @ Dec 14 2017, 09:32 PM)
Did you update to latest firmware 1.01?
Below is my setting.

syk
post Dec 14 2017, 09:48 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(vortex_kl @ Dec 14 2017, 09:47 PM)
Tq so much. I see that you're using ETH mode and not PTM. I will try that soonest. Really hope this will work.

Thanks again.
This model is router + adsl modem.
For Maxis fibre, use ETH, VDSL is not for fibre.
TSvortex_kl
post Dec 14 2017, 10:29 PM

20 posts

Yeayyy... my internet connection is now working.

My VOIP still doesn't work but that's another story.

Thanks syk.
TSvortex_kl
post Dec 15 2017, 08:55 AM

20 posts

Thanks all, with you guys' help... I managed to get both the internet and VoiP running last night. Several things I learn :-

1. The quick setup offered by the router sucks, it won't works.
2. The default mode is PTM and it has 3 in-built settings based on this mode... VDSL_1_1, VDSL_2_1 & VDSL_3_1. We need to create a new connection based on ETH. Make sure you choose INTERNET&VOIP setting and not just INTERNET, otherwise your VOIP won't work.
3. Even when the above new setting is created, everytime I pressed "save", the router default back to VDSL_1_1. So I need to delete the 3 VDSL settings above to be able to use the newly created ETH setting I've created.

I will add more tips if required. So far, it's working fine and I can keep Maxis's Technicolor router in the closet.
syk
post Dec 15 2017, 03:54 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(vortex_kl @ Dec 15 2017, 08:55 AM)
Thanks all, with you guys' help... I managed to get both the internet and VoiP running last night. Several things I learn :-

2. The default mode is PTM and it has 3 in-built settings based on this mode... VDSL_1_1, VDSL_2_1 & VDSL_3_1. We need to create a new connection based on ETH. Make sure you choose INTERNET&VOIP setting and not just INTERNET, otherwise your VOIP won't work.
3. Even when the above new setting is created, everytime I pressed "save", the router default back to VDSL_1_1. So I need to delete the 3 VDSL settings above to be able to use the newly created ETH setting I've created.

I will add more tips if required. So far, it's working fine and I can keep Maxis's Technicolor router in the closet.
Yes, quick setup is not 100% working sometime. You need to try and error with the settings.

sitescope
post Jan 29 2018, 09:38 AM

4,490 posts

plan to buy this so can throw away my thomson
possible to post screenshot for all settings required ?
EdwinCodec
post Jan 29 2018, 12:15 PM

Anonymous
1,430 posts

Huh? This model comes with VOIP feature as well? I thought all the while, Maxis VOIP needs to rely on the Technicolor to work?
syk
post Jan 29 2018, 09:18 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 29 2018, 09:38 AM)
plan to buy this so can throw away my thomson
possible to post screenshot for all settings required ?
There is setup wizard assist you to setup for Maxis connection.
Only for VOIP you need to spend sometime to troubleshoot and fix it if not working.
abhipraaya
post Feb 3 2018, 10:17 PM

565 posts

Any feedback on this d-link router ? How is the WiFi performance, is it stable? I plan on getting one.
The useless Thomson router has to be restarted now and then to get a stable WiFi. I pity those who are not tech savvy, they continue using the useless Thomson thinking it's ok but realising they are getting slow unstable WiFi.
SilentVampire
post Feb 4 2018, 12:03 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Feb 3 2018, 10:17 PM)
Any feedback on this d-link router ? How is the WiFi performance, is it stable? I plan on getting one.
The useless Thomson router has to be restarted now and then to get a stable WiFi. I pity those who are not tech savvy, they continue using the useless Thomson thinking it's ok but realising they are getting slow unstable WiFi.
It is definitely better than the Thomson router and Maxis no longer issue the Thomson router by the way. It is now changed to the Technicolor router, which is better but still not as good as other third party router you can get.
abhipraaya
post Feb 4 2018, 02:54 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Feb 4 2018, 12:03 AM)
It is definitely better than the Thomson router and Maxis no longer issue the Thomson router by the way. It is now changed to the Technicolor router, which is better but still not as good as other third party router you can get.
My bad, yeah it’s technicolor. I installed maxis fiber just last month and they gave this useless TG784nv3
The WiFi radio becomes unstable after a few days of using it 24/7. You have to restart it now and then.
Too bad this router doesn’t have a scheduled reboot feature.
I need to use the VoIP function and that is the reason I switched from unifi to maxis is to enjoy the free unlimited VoIP calls. But I don’t want to maintain 2 devices, the maxis router and another better router. I prefer an all in one device. D-link has 2 models. Where is Asus, TP-link? Why is taking them so long to launch an all in one router which also allows a phone to be plugged in?
SilentVampire
post Feb 4 2018, 06:38 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Feb 4 2018, 02:54 PM)
My bad, yeah it’s technicolor. I installed maxis fiber just last month and they gave this useless TG784nv3
The WiFi radio becomes unstable after a few days of using it 24/7. You have to restart it now and then.
Too bad this router doesn’t have a scheduled reboot feature.
I need to use the VoIP function and that is the reason I switched from unifi to maxis is to enjoy the free unlimited VoIP calls. But I don’t want to maintain 2 devices, the maxis router and another better router. I prefer an all in one device. D-link has 2 models. Where is Asus, TP-link? Why is taking them so long to launch an all in one router which also allows a phone to be plugged in?
No worries bro. I dislike using the Technicolor when I was under Maxis Fibre, and never did use it at all. Unifi is good as the VoIP is configured from the modem, so you can change to any router that you want, without worrying about the VoIP function. Anyway, TP-Link is still configuring its firmware for Malaysia, and I don't think Asus have long term plans for the release of an all in one router that can use VoIP as well, so you are stuck with choosing between the two D-Link models.
alvinhky1
post Feb 26 2018, 09:24 AM

Just got the model Dlink DSL-G2452DG, managed to configure the wifi and internet successfully but the Voip is still not working
Do you have any idea? See my settings on the WAN and VOIP
abhipraaya
post Feb 26 2018, 02:17 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(alvinhky1 @ Feb 26 2018, 09:24 AM)
Just got the model Dlink DSL-G2452DG, managed to configure the wifi and internet successfully but the Voip is still not working
Do you have any idea? See my settings on the WAN and VOIP
Mine works fine and VoIP is working too.

For Connection 1, username and URI is your phone number, make sure you put the area code i.e. "03" etc as well e.g. 0312345678
Password is a long string of digits, you have to get it from Maxis and they will tell you.

This post has been edited by abhipraaya: Feb 26 2018, 02:19 PM
alvinhky1
post Feb 26 2018, 02:37 PM

That means to say the settings shown in the pictures should be correct, just need to get the phone number and password correct?

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Feb 26 2018, 02:17 PM)
Mine works fine and VoIP is working too.

For Connection 1, username and URI is your phone number, make sure you put the area code i.e. "03"  etc as well e.g. 0312345678
Password is a long string of digits, you have to get it from Maxis and they will tell you.
alvinhky1
post Mar 25 2018, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(alvinhky1 @ Feb 26 2018, 02:37 PM)
That means to say the settings shown in the pictures should be correct, just need to get the phone number and password correct?
i managed to get the router working on the internet and voice.

However, i realized some issues with the Dlink

1. After 48 hours of usage, the wireless router will lose connection to the maxis internet (no internet access after 48 hours). Need to reboot to fix
2. After each reboot, sometimes , the voice will not come up until you toggle the Service Type settings on Eth3_1 between TR069_VOIP and VOIP

Do you guys have these issues?

syk
post Mar 25 2018, 03:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(alvinhky1 @ Mar 25 2018, 09:55 AM)
i managed to get the router working on the internet and voice.

However, i realized some issues with the Dlink

1. After 48 hours of usage, the wireless router will lose connection to the maxis internet (no internet access after 48 hours). Need to reboot to fix
2. After each reboot, sometimes , the voice will not come up until you toggle the Service Type settings on Eth3_1 between TR069_VOIP and VOIP

Do you guys have these issues?

Yes. I notice of lost internet issue and have to reboot router every 2 days.
For voip, there is no connection issue for my case.
cibe
post Mar 26 2018, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Feb 3 2018, 11:17 PM)
I also plan to get one. And I totally agree, thomson router sucks. We all should complain to MCMC that maxis sold rotten routers. And I do very pity those who would face issues like us and gets very pissed. I had to use and TP link extender too as the router WIFI signal is not gud. But the real problem is still the main router.
kwangz
post Apr 6 2018, 01:05 AM

13 posts

anyone experience to make VOIP work with Maxis router connect back to 3rd party router ?

my connection like below:
[maxis router WAN port] ---> [DLINK router LAN1 with vlan821 assigned]
[DLINK router WAN port] --> [TM black box port 2]

MAXIS router WAN port configure with static IP, which gateway = DLINK router IP

The VOIP just doesnt work though.

Any help is appreciate.

===SOLVE===
> seems the multi VLAN tag doesnt pass through DLINK WAN port.
What I did was plug the TM black box port 2 to any DLINK router LAN port
then another cable from other (DLINK router) LAN port to WAN port
+ another cable from other (DLINK router) LAN port to Maxis WAN port

This post has been edited by kwangz: Apr 9 2018, 11:30 PM
Keeyx
post Apr 21 2018, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(vortex_kl @ Dec 15 2017, 09:55 AM)

Hi, I bought this router recently, i followed all the instructions above and the internet light is on but i still cannot connect to internet.
Please help, thank you.

This post has been edited by Keeyx: Apr 21 2018, 11:57 PM

saintsoul
post Apr 22 2018, 12:55 AM

sbobet
1,387 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Mar 25 2018, 03:41 PM)
Yes. I notice of lost internet issue and have to reboot router every 2 days.
For voip, there is no connection issue for my case.
Manually reboot the router every 2 days? So troublesome

Still no fix for this?
syk
post Apr 22 2018, 08:35 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(saintsoul @ Apr 22 2018, 12:55 AM)
Manually reboot the router every 2 days? So troublesome

Still no fix for this?
Yes, seem like is the wifi not stable.
No new firmware...
I will wait for new TP-Link model with same feature.
jackal75
post May 1 2018, 05:34 PM

473 posts

I am using this for UNIFI and just switch to Maxis Fibre yesterday.
To set this modem router for Maxis, just use the Maxis Fibre in Quick Setup.
Enter all the login details as given by Maxis.
Don't change any of the settings.
Last, follow abhipraaya instruction for VOIP Basic setting to enter the phone number (which is your VOIP username) at the URI.
Then everything should work for both Internet and VOIP.

scion
post May 1 2018, 07:53 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jackal75 @ May 1 2018, 05:34 PM)
I am using this for UNIFI and just switch to Maxis Fibre yesterday.
To set this modem router for Maxis, just use the Maxis Fibre in Quick Setup.
Enter all the login details as given by Maxis.
Don't change any of the settings.
Last, follow abhipraaya instruction for VOIP Basic setting to enter the phone number (which is your VOIP username) at the URI.
Then everything should work for both Internet and VOIP.
Hi, update us whether u facing lost internet issue and have to reboot router every 2 days hmm.gif
jackal75
post May 2 2018, 01:11 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(scion @ May 1 2018, 07:53 PM)
Hi, update us whether u facing lost internet issue and have to reboot router every 2 days hmm.gif
No need 2 days. Yesterday, already start facing the problem.
I switch back to Maxis router and TM modem, problem still persist.
So, is the line problem not the router.
I will check again today, if still facing the problem will lodge a complain with the Maxis.
jackal75
post May 4 2018, 11:06 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(scion @ May 1 2018, 07:53 PM)
New update: After terminate my Unifi last Wednesday, so far last 2 days no disconnection or line dropping that need me to reboot my router.
chelski81
post Jun 14 2018, 12:26 AM

20 posts

Hi all, I just bought my D-link DSL DSL-G2452, the internet is just work fine except the VOIP. I have been trying to called both dLink support and Maxis for help but couldn't get it work.
Can anyone of you share the correct settings?

My current settings as attached.

thanks a million!

ktek
post Jun 15 2018, 05:28 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

Same. I just bought one and half way doing voip
chelski81
post Jun 16 2018, 02:57 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 15 2018, 05:28 PM)
Same. I just bought one and half way doing voip
I'm still stuck, the VOIP status was just indicating registering after it configured then turned to disabled after awhile. i tried to ping the bvgw01.maxis.com.my looks like no responding. wonder if there's any other configuration need to be done.

i have reset the router to factory default, changed the WAN service type to INTERNET_VOIP then add URI in VOIP setting to my VOIP acct / phone number. but still no luck.

Any experts can give advise? appreciate the helps!

thanks.
ktek
post Jun 16 2018, 03:18 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 16 2018, 02:57 AM)
I'm still stuck, the VOIP status was just indicating registering after it configured then turned to disabled after awhile. i tried to ping the bvgw01.maxis.com.my looks like no responding. wonder if there's any other configuration need to be done.

i have reset the router to factory default, changed the WAN service type to INTERNET_VOIP then add URI in VOIP setting to my VOIP acct / phone number. but still no luck.

Any experts can give advise? appreciate the helps!
thanks.
ID is phone number while password is phone+1 rite?
i cant voip too. help desk not willing to help. just tell me install back ori router zzzz
chelski81
post Jun 16 2018, 11:12 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 16 2018, 03:18 AM)
ID is phone number while password is phone+1 rite?
i cant voip too. help desk not willing to help. just tell me install back ori router zzzz
The password you need to ask Maxis support to reset for you. they dont know your password, what they can do is just reset. you need to tell them you are changing the router.

please share if your configuration works for VOIP.

thanks.
ktek
post Jun 16 2018, 11:13 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 16 2018, 02:57 AM)
thanks.
im not at site, but i saw few person use 123456789@homesip@maxis.com.my as ID
can u try?
syk
post Jun 16 2018, 01:51 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 16 2018, 11:12 AM)
The password you need to ask Maxis support to reset for you. they dont know your password, what they can do is just reset. you need to tell them you are changing the router.

please share if your configuration works for VOIP.
thanks.
Can you try change bvgw01.maxis.com.my to bvgw03.maxis.com.my?

chelski81
post Jun 16 2018, 08:13 PM

20 posts

Thanks bro.

i tried, still not working.

after i configured, i went to the VOIP status it shown registering, and the tel is 031234567@homesip.com.my. after awhile it went to disable again.

i also try to ping the bvgw03.maxis.com.my it returned request timeout.

hmm... not really sure if any other additional configuration need to be done.

calling all the experts to help!! much appreciated.

this voip has not been working for 2 weeks now.
syk
post Jun 17 2018, 05:16 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 16 2018, 08:13 PM)
Thanks bro.

i tried, still not working.

after i configured, i went to the VOIP status it shown registering, and the tel is 031234567@homesip.com.my. after awhile it went to disable again.

i also try to ping the bvgw03.maxis.com.my it returned request timeout.

hmm... not really sure if any other additional configuration need to be done.

calling all the experts to help!! much appreciated.

this voip has not been working for 2 weeks now.
Yes. I have the same problem now.
But changed to Maxis router, VOIP is working.
Not sure is password or setting issue.
chelski81
post Jun 17 2018, 10:32 PM

20 posts

you changed back the maxis router? and the voip is working fine?

hmm, i dont think is the password problem. most likely is the setting problem. cuz i have asked to reset voip password twice.

syk
post Jun 18 2018, 08:01 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 17 2018, 10:32 PM)
you changed back the maxis router? and the voip is working fine?

hmm, i dont think is the password problem. most likely is the setting problem. cuz i have asked to reset voip password twice.
Yes. voip only works on maxis router.
Not sure what is the correct setting for Maxis VOIP.
chelski81
post Jun 18 2018, 09:15 PM

20 posts

have you try to check with the reseller? we purchase this router because it claimed it support maxis voip, thats why we bought it.

damn!
syk
post Jun 18 2018, 11:30 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Jun 18 2018, 09:15 PM)
have you try to check with the reseller? we purchase this router because it claimed it support maxis voip, thats why we bought it.

damn!
I bought it last year.
VOIP was working in the past, until recently Maxis change some setting.
ktek
post Jun 19 2018, 06:03 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Jun 18 2018, 11:30 PM)
I bought it last year.

do u see any voip setting from ori maxis router. i cant
syk
post Jun 19 2018, 06:56 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 19 2018, 06:03 PM)
Yes, I can. But maybe there is some other setting we don't notice.
chelski81
post Jun 19 2018, 09:49 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 19 2018, 06:03 PM)
the ori router cant see much settings, only can see the user name and password for voip. i tried to find those setting but no luck.
jpaul
post Jun 21 2018, 10:52 AM

486 posts

I am planning to buy this router for my maxis fiber and voip.

Hope you guys can figure out the VOIP problem.
abhipraaya
post Jun 21 2018, 08:52 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(jpaul @ Jun 21 2018, 10:52 AM)
I am planning to buy this router for my maxis fiber and voip.

Hope you guys can figure out the VOIP problem.
I have a brand new unit, still sealed in box, new stock.

If interested pm me.
kokifung88
post Jun 24 2018, 05:05 PM

Hi All,
i had just brought this modem intent to replace the maxis router modem.
i tried to connect to internet many times but failed.

trouble shooting mention that my DNS issue, but i am clueless finding this DNS in this modem..

can any sifu guide me thru?? i been sitting and looking here for hours..

tried to call maxis, but they say unable to assist.. so now i am here to finding for help...

i have my log in ID and password..

i tried key manually from the msg above, yet i cant get it on9...
syk
post Jun 24 2018, 06:19 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(kokifung88 @ Jun 24 2018, 05:05 PM)
Hi All,

trouble shooting mention that my DNS issue, but i am clueless finding this DNS in this modem..

tried to call maxis, but they say unable to assist.. so now i am here to finding for help...

You can read from page 1 for the setup of this router.
If you still no clue, you can attach your setup and let us have a look.
SilentVampire
post Jun 24 2018, 07:10 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(kokifung88 @ Jun 24 2018, 05:05 PM)
Hi All,

Do you have the right PPPoE username and password? You have to check if you do, and it has nothing to do with DNS. You need to connect to the internet before changing your DNS.
kokifung
post Jun 24 2018, 08:48 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

Hi there,

I still not able to configure the d link router..
I already follow the instructions on page 1Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kokifung88
post Jun 24 2018, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(kokifung @ Jun 24 2018, 08:48 PM)
Hi there,

I still not able to configure the d link router..
I already follow the instructions on page 1
the cable needed to connect from UniFi modem LAN to D Link WAN right ??

syk
post Jun 24 2018, 09:36 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(kokifung88 @ Jun 24 2018, 08:50 PM)
the cable needed to connect from UniFi modem LAN to D Link WAN right ??
IP Protocol type try change to IPV4
kokifung
post Jun 24 2018, 09:52 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Jun 24 2018, 09:36 PM)
IP Protocol type try change to IPV4
Same.. Unable to connect..
SilentVampire
post Jun 24 2018, 10:51 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(kokifung @ Jun 24 2018, 09:52 PM)
Same.. Unable to connect..
Try to connect from LAN2 of the modem to the D-Link router WAN, not LAN1, as LAN1 of the modem is for Unifi use, and enable VLAN tagging for LAN1 to LAN4, so tick all the boxes in your first picture. Enable IPv4 only, and disable IPv6.

If that all still doesn’t work, change MTU to 1480, and try to connect again.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Jun 24 2018, 10:53 PM
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 08:15 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jun 24 2018, 10:51 PM)
Try to connect from LAN2 of the modem to the D-Link router WAN, not LAN1, as LAN1 of the modem is for Unifi use, and enable VLAN tagging for LAN1 to LAN4, so tick all the boxes in your first picture. Enable IPv4 only, and disable IPv6.

If that all still doesn’t work, change MTU to 1480, and try to connect again.
Same.. I try this method.. Yet I can't get it to work..

I am using lan 2 port connect to d-link..
1480 mtu
Reboot..
Yet same, red light.. No Internet connection rclxub.gif
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 08:23 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

The above setting I just adjust..

But my d link can't connect to the Internet

Lan 2 port usage

SilentVampire
post Jun 25 2018, 09:55 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(kokifung @ Jun 25 2018, 08:23 AM)

The above setting I just adjust..

But my d link can't connect to the Internet

Lan 2 port usage
Are you sure about your PPPoE username and password? Please check both values and make sure that they are correct.
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 10:28 AM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jun 25 2018, 09:55 AM)
Are you sure about your PPPoE username and password? Please check both values and make sure that they are correct.
Yes I did.. I edi call maxis center helpline 2 times to ensure my username and password is right..

SilentVampire
post Jun 25 2018, 11:22 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(kokifung @ Jun 25 2018, 10:28 AM)
Yes I did.. I edi call maxis center helpline 2 times to ensure my username and password is right..
Okay, so now try to change Service Type from Internet to Internet_VoIP. MTU back to 1492. If that doesn’t work, try MTU 1480. If it still doesn’t work, I don’t know what is wrong.
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 01:13 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

Some how I manage to get it for green light.. But same thing no Internet connection..

Eth 2_1
Mtu 1942
Manage to get green light
Back to page one..

But unable to browse Internet.. Omg..
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 01:35 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jun 25 2018, 11:22 AM)
Okay, so now try to change Service Type from Internet to Internet_VoIP. MTU back to 1492. If that doesn’t work, try MTU 1480. If it still doesn’t work, I don’t know what is wrong.
kokifung
post Jun 25 2018, 02:01 PM

KnOw NoThInG...
2,682 posts

This is the current setting for my d link router
Green light for the moment.. But I unable to access to the Internet.. rclxub.gif cry.gif
syk
post Jun 25 2018, 09:17 PM

315 posts

Try change IP Protocol to IPv4, and Service Type to Internet_VOIP.
If you have friend using Maxis Fibre, bring the router over to test.
abhipraaya
post Jul 5 2018, 08:39 PM

565 posts

Is the VoIP issue resolved? If yes, what was the solution?
lwk523
post Jul 5 2018, 10:45 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Jun 18 2018, 11:30 PM)
I bought it last year.
Any idea to resolve this issue ? My voip still unable to use recently. Thank
syk
post Jul 6 2018, 10:00 PM

315 posts

No solution yet. If you need to use VOIP, you need to use back Maxis router.
lwk523
post Jul 8 2018, 12:32 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(syk @ Jul 6 2018, 10:00 PM)
No solution yet. If you need to use VOIP, you need to use back Maxis router.
Really sad for this, I just manage replaced maxis router with netcomm..

The ping is really improve alot for VDSL2

maxis
Kindly provided us the configuration for the latest VOIP setting. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Thank you

This post has been edited by lwk523: Jul 8 2018, 12:35 PM
patienceGNR
post Jul 14 2018, 12:07 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

For those who were facin issues with internet every 48 hours, yes its maxis settings server side they will somewht reboot your internet everybody 48 hours. But why your router didn't reconnect I can't confirm. My ASUS RT-N12HP ok with this.
AngryFood
post Jul 23 2018, 09:57 AM

Any news on how to configure VOIP with this router? I bought this router, and I want to still use the home phone.

This post has been edited by AngryFood: Jul 23 2018, 09:59 AM
imalmighty
post Jul 24 2018, 09:27 PM

mic test
729 posts

QUOTE(AngryFood @ Jul 23 2018, 09:57 AM)
Any news on how to configure VOIP with this router? I bought this router, and I want to still use the home phone.
I highly suspect u need both vlan 821 and 822 for the phone VOIP to work, as per blog using tomato router
Vlan 821 is for TR069, the so called remote management also serve as backdoor for hacking of your router...duno why maxis insists on enabling it,
jackal75
post Jul 27 2018, 08:47 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(kokifung @ Jun 25 2018, 02:01 PM)

This is the current setting for my d link router
Green light for the moment.. But I unable to access to the Internet..  rclxub.gif  cry.gif
if you still trying to use this router to connect the Maxis Fibre.
You don't need the TM BTU.
Just plug the phone line to the Dlink router.
Use quick setup and select Maxis Fibre.
Then just enter your username and password without changing anything.
Proceed until it reboot.
After that go to Status > WAN > Network.
If the VDSL_1_1 showing connected mean you can start using internet.
Do note that currently, the VOIP don't work on this dlink router.
Jianny
post Aug 2 2018, 11:46 AM

26 posts

Reached out to Maxis,
Server: homesip.maxis.com.my
Outbound: bvgw03.maxis.com.my

VOIP still doesn't work on this D-Link Router.

Based on D-Link Support, they are aware of this and do not have a solution yet.
I had bad experience with D-Link but still bought this just because it says it 'supports' Maxis VOIP. Hope to see good news here soon!

jackal75
post Aug 2 2018, 11:48 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Jianny @ Aug 2 2018, 11:46 AM)
Reached out to Maxis,
Server: homesip.maxis.com.my
Outbound: bvgw03.maxis.com.my

VOIP still doesn't work on this D-Link Router.

Based on D-Link Support, they are aware of this and do not have a solution yet.
I had bad experience with D-Link but still bought this just because it says it 'supports' Maxis VOIP. Hope to see good news here soon!
To me, although the VOIP not working, the internet is much more better than the TM BTU + Maxis Router using this.
Jianny
post Aug 2 2018, 01:44 PM

26 posts

Yes buddy, definitely less annoying than the default one which kept freezing.
The VoIP is required for an antique alarm system to work so I need that sad.gif

Anyways, I made some noise, and someone from D-Link just called up and said will 'test' some workaround in their lab. Will share if they give me something worth sharing here.
fsyap73
post Aug 6 2018, 04:31 PM

My one is even worse.
1. Voip not working.
2. DDNS not updating even public ip address changed.
3. The router is ok after setup, but few weeks later, it jammed after TNB power failure. And power cycles does not solve the problem. The symptoms are wifi connection failure, no login page at 192.168.1.1 on wired LAN.

The only solution i can found is to reset the router, and load back the configuration (which i saved during the router setup months ago.)

This post has been edited by fsyap73: Aug 6 2018, 04:58 PM
Jianny
post Aug 6 2018, 04:49 PM

26 posts

I guess it's safe to say that I got scammed by D-Link for a VoIP function that doesn't work mad.gif
Still, keeping my finger crossed if any of us manage to get it working...
- VoIP still not working for me.
- D-Link folks' so-called lab test hasn't even returned to me until today.
- DDNS is not working for me even after I called up Maxis to get public IP.
- WiFi crashes from time to time and requires a manual restart to get it working.

In my other house, I am running Maxis on EdgeRouter X + UAP, doesn't have VoIP but at least I don't remember having to reboot the router for 2 years+ and I have the uptime reports of constant disconnections by Maxis (will use them in case the disconnection gets annoying brows.gif )

erict68
post Aug 6 2018, 05:08 PM

85 posts

Hey guys,

Recently i also discover that my physical SIP phone which connect directly to maxis data vlan doesn't work anymore. I'm using pfsense as router which i can untagged the vlan 821 or vlan 822 to test on my laptop with X-lite sip client. I could get ip address starting with 10.x.x.x with vlan 822 and can ping to the proxy bvgw01.maxis.com.my, however could not get the sip client to register. Just fyi, if untagged vlan 821, i could not get any ip address at all on my laptop.

This post has been edited by erict68: Aug 6 2018, 05:08 PM
syk
post Aug 6 2018, 10:18 PM

315 posts

Believe Maxis only allowed VOIP connection thru it own router.
Any VOIP connection from 3rd party device is not working at the moment.

jackal75
post Aug 6 2018, 10:40 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Jianny @ Aug 6 2018, 04:49 PM)
I guess it's safe to say that I got scammed by D-Link for a VoIP function that doesn't work  mad.gif
- WiFi crashes from time to time and requires a manual restart to get it working.
In my other house, I am running Maxis on EdgeRouter X +  UAP, doesn't have VoIP but at least I don't remember having to reboot the router for 2 years+ and I have the uptime reports of constant disconnections by Maxis (will use them in case the disconnection gets annoying  brows.gif )

No. D-link does not scam you on the VoIP function.
It did work until recently. I believe first report that VoIP function not working anymore is in end of June.
Something that Maxis or possible that TM did to prevent 3rd party router using the VoIP.

The D-Link WiFi does sucks as usual. What I do, i didn't enable the WiFi nor attach the antenna on the D-Link.
Instead, I connect a TP-Link router to it just for WiFi and very happy with it.
jackal75
post Aug 6 2018, 10:49 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(erict68 @ Aug 6 2018, 05:08 PM)
Hey guys,

Recently i also discover that my physical SIP phone which connect directly to maxis data vlan doesn't work anymore. I'm using pfsense as router which i can untagged the vlan 821 or vlan 822 to test on my laptop with X-lite sip client. I could get ip address starting with 10.x.x.x with vlan 822 and can ping to the proxy bvgw01.maxis.com.my, however could not get the sip client to register. Just fyi, if untagged vlan 821, i could not get any ip address at all on my laptop.
yeah, if look in the Maxis router connect to TM BTU setup, it seems the VoIP need these 2 settings to work.

822 VLAN for VoIP connection
821 VLAN for TR-069 - showing eMGMT_TM (which i feel is the bridge control by TM for the VoIP).

abhipraaya
post Aug 11 2018, 05:59 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(Jianny @ Aug 6 2018, 04:49 PM)
I guess it's safe to say that I got scammed by D-Link for a VoIP function that doesn't work  mad.gif
In my other house, I am running Maxis on EdgeRouter X +  UAP, doesn't have VoIP but at least I don't remember having to reboot the router for 2 years+ and I have the uptime reports of constant disconnections by Maxis (will use them in case the disconnection gets annoying  brows.gif )

If you have an update from D-Link regarding the VoIP do update us mate.

I bought this router as it had VoIP support but to my dismay it doesn't work anymore...

To exercise our consumer right, we should all just return this product and request a refund.

P.S. I sent D-Link an e-mail threatening to go to tribunal if they don't release a firmware update as the product doesn't deliver what it is supposed to do.

This post has been edited by abhipraaya: Aug 11 2018, 06:08 PM
Jianny
post Aug 11 2018, 07:37 PM

26 posts

Folks, I have received an update from D-Link today with a new firmware on our DSL-G2452.
Unfortunately, I am 400km away from that house now, let me know if this helps anyone rclxms.gif

CODE
https://m.box.com/shared_item/https%3A%2F%2Fapp.box.com%2Fs%2Fnk10nmpaolfrsg4e7qpcbenq809o6vdg

josephtps
post Aug 12 2018, 04:32 PM

Just tried to update the firmware you share, it work perfectly now. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Jianny @ Aug 11 2018, 07:37 PM)
Folks, I have received an update from D-Link today with a new firmware on our DSL-G2452.
Unfortunately, I am 400km away from that house now, let me know if this helps anyone rclxms.gif

CODE
https://m.box.com/shared_item/https%3A%2F%2Fapp.box.com%2Fs%2Fnk10nmpaolfrsg4e7qpcbenq809o6vdg

Jianny
post Aug 12 2018, 06:35 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(josephtps @ Aug 12 2018, 04:32 PM)
Just tried to update the firmware you share, it work perfectly now. rclxms.gif
Awesome! Thank you for trying it out!
Guys, you know what to do now biggrin.gif
AngryFood
post Aug 13 2018, 01:22 PM

I update the router. But I'm still having issue connecting to the VOIP Phone. I need help with the setup.

In Voice Status, it shows "Disabled" and "Idle". The URI is my home phone number (03xxxxxxxx) and my password is given by Maxis for VOIP.

My setup is on the attached image. What should I do?

This post has been edited by AngryFood: Aug 13 2018, 01:23 PM

Jianny
post Aug 13 2018, 01:43 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AngryFood @ Aug 13 2018, 01:22 PM)
I update the router. But I'm still having issue connecting to the VOIP Phone. I need help with the setup.

In Voice Status, it shows "Disabled" and "Idle". The URI is my home phone number (03xxxxxxxx) and my password is given by Maxis for VOIP.

The VoIP password is a very long string and not your Maxis password.

You need to call Maxis to reset it otherwise you can use password viewer to check it on your old device.
AngryFood
post Aug 13 2018, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(Jianny @ Aug 13 2018, 01:43 PM)
The VoIP password is a very long string and not your Maxis password.

You need to call Maxis to reset it otherwise you can use password viewer to check it on your old device.
I did contact Maxis today. They sent me a 10 character long new VOIP password. I put it on "password".

This post has been edited by AngryFood: Aug 13 2018, 01:49 PM
Jianny
post Aug 13 2018, 01:53 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AngryFood @ Aug 13 2018, 01:49 PM)
I did contact Maxis today. They sent me a 10 character long new VOIP password. I put it on "password".
Sorry I missed the username, did u put your phone number into the username?

Maybe @josephtps can help to share his settings...
syk
post Aug 13 2018, 08:20 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(AngryFood @ Aug 13 2018, 01:22 PM)

Why your register server is ims.tm.com.my?
You can refer to post #16 on page 1 for VOIP setting for Maxis.
abhipraaya
post Aug 13 2018, 10:50 PM

565 posts

Good news, VoIP is now working with the latest firmware! I tested it.
fsyap73
post Aug 15 2018, 08:12 AM

After load the new firmware, the voip is working, but did not show the caller's number when receiving a call. And the voip failed after power cycle the router.
Does anybody has the same problem like my one ?
abhipraaya
post Aug 16 2018, 04:38 PM

565 posts

Anyone having DNS issues with this router? After using few days, cannot open websites.

I had to also manually enter the DNS server in the ipv4 section.

Seems ok now, need to test further to see if the problem recurs.
mhhee
post Aug 16 2018, 08:47 PM

1,310 posts

Just bought this router & updated to latest version TM1.04 but my VOIP voice register status still show registering. Any sifu can help? My VOIP username & oassword are correct.

Also, virtual server setting for my CCTV is not working.

Orginally was using Asus RT-AC66U (Internet) paired with Thomson TG784n v3 (VOIP) which is working fine.

This post has been edited by mhhee: Aug 17 2018, 07:21 AM
jackal75
post Aug 16 2018, 11:21 PM

473 posts

after update the new firmware version TM1.04, VOIP back alive.

thank you Jianny
AngryFood
post Aug 18 2018, 04:45 PM

Hello. I just wanna let you know the my Phone VOIP is working. Thank you. ^^
AngryFood
post Aug 18 2018, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(mhhee @ Aug 16 2018, 08:47 PM)
Just bought this router & updated to latest version TM1.04 but my VOIP voice register status still show registering. Any sifu can help? My VOIP username & oassword are correct.

Orginally was using Asus RT-AC66U (Internet) paired with Thomson TG784n v3 (VOIP) which is working fine.
It takes some time for them to complete registering. When I first input it, it also shows registering.
SilentVampire
post Aug 18 2018, 06:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ Aug 16 2018, 08:47 PM)

Virtual server setting failure could be caused by you getting private IP. Check and see if you are on private IP.
mhhee
post Aug 18 2018, 06:35 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(AngryFood @ Aug 18 2018, 04:46 PM)
It takes some time for them to complete registering. When I first input it, it also shows registering.
It's working now after I called Maxis to reset my VOIP & give me a new one.

Still have 1 problem which is virtual server didn't works on my CCTV. I din encounter any issue on Thompson & Asus router. Headache.
fsyap73
post Aug 18 2018, 10:23 PM

Below is the phone screen when receiving a call using Maxis original router :

And this is the screen when receiving a call using DSL-G2452DG :

For me, the TM1.04 is just a half-cooked solution. sad.gif
fsyap73
post Aug 18 2018, 10:27 PM

QUOTE(mhhee @ Aug 18 2018, 06:35 PM)
It's working now after I called Maxis to reset my VOIP & give me a new one.

Still have 1 problem which is virtual server didn't works on my CCTV. I din encounter any issue on Thompson & Asus router. Headache.
You mean no issue on Thompson & Asus router with Maxis home fiber ? or with other ISP ?
mhhee
post Aug 18 2018, 11:52 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Aug 18 2018, 10:27 PM)
You mean no issue on Thompson & Asus router with Maxis home fiber ? or with other ISP ?
Maxis Fiber. Thomson Tg748 v3 & Asus RT-AC66U no issue.

Now dunno how? Cannot view CCTV.

Updated: Still couldn't get it view, have checked & it's actually connected to the CCTV but dunno why cannot stream the video. The only way is using OpenVPN & view it as local. Sigh.

This post has been edited by mhhee: Aug 19 2018, 03:26 PM
mhhee
post Aug 18 2018, 11:54 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Aug 18 2018, 10:23 PM)
Below is the phone screen when receiving a call using Maxis original router :

And this is the screen when receiving a call using DSL-G2452DG :

For me, the TM1.04 is just a half-cooked solution.  sad.gif
I tested got show phone no. Using panasonic dect phone.

fsyap73
post Aug 19 2018, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(mhhee @ Aug 18 2018, 11:54 PM)
I tested got show phone no. Using panasonic dect phone.
I tried with another dect phone ... but no luck sad.gif

mhhee
post Aug 19 2018, 03:24 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Aug 19 2018, 12:35 AM)
I tried with another dect phone ... but no luck  sad.gif

This is mine. Got phone no when I call using my handphone.

fsyap73
post Aug 20 2018, 10:40 AM

The phone is able to show the caller number with maxis router. Probably is my dlink router settings incorrect.

This post has been edited by fsyap73: Aug 20 2018, 10:41 AM
mhhee
post Aug 20 2018, 11:12 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Aug 20 2018, 10:40 AM)
The phone is able to show the caller number with maxis router. Probably is my dlink router settings incorrect.
I'm using default VOIP setting in the quick setup with TM1.04 firmware. Possible u can reset & try redo setting again.
chelski81
post Aug 26 2018, 12:25 AM

20 posts

Hey all,
I also received call from the support that the new firmware will fix the voip issue. I updated the firmware, reset the router with default, quick setup, but the VOIP status still showing Registering instead of UP.

can anyone share your advanced settings for VOIP?

thanks.
fsyap73
post Aug 26 2018, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Aug 26 2018, 12:25 AM)
Hey all,
I also received call from the support that the new firmware will fix the voip issue. I updated the firmware, reset the router with default, quick setup, but the VOIP status still showing Registering instead of UP.

thanks.
My VoIP setup:

**The password for VoIP is different from PPPOE, you need to get the VoIP password from Maxis technical team.

And the WAN setup:

But I have no idea why my phone cannot see the caller's number.

This post has been edited by fsyap73: Aug 26 2018, 12:48 AM
fsyap73
post Aug 26 2018, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(mhhee @ Aug 20 2018, 11:12 AM)
I'm using default VOIP setting in the quick setup with TM1.04 firmware. Possible u can reset & try redo setting again.
I select TM Unifi on the quick setup.
Would you mind to share which one you select in the quick setup ?

mhhee
post Aug 26 2018, 09:21 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Aug 26 2018, 12:56 AM)
I select TM Unifi on the quick setup.
Would you mind to share which one you select in the quick setup ?

Maxis Fiber
mhhee
post Aug 26 2018, 09:23 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(chelski81 @ Aug 26 2018, 12:25 AM)
Hey all,

thanks.
Call or live chat Maxis CS to reset ur password. I checked my TG748n is phone no+1 behind but not working. After reset new password is ok.
chelski81
post Aug 26 2018, 09:27 PM

20 posts

thanks bro. useful! I'll test it out!
supervai
post Sep 3 2018, 04:40 PM

235 posts

Guys I'm actually using streamyx n bought this modem more for future use. If I update this firmware, any impact? Also do you think Maxis internet is the way to go?
enaleni
post Sep 11 2018, 06:03 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(supervai @ Sep 3 2018, 04:40 PM)
Guys I'm actually using streamyx n bought this modem more for future use. If I update this firmware, any impact? Also do you think Maxis internet is the way to go?
The main services provider will be Unifi.. If want fast update on services and also next Turbo upgrade definitely go for Unifi as maxis be other option vs unifi.. And I choose Maxis cause free call to all mobile and no need Turbo speed upgrade hehe
ahtsong
post Oct 2 2018, 10:49 AM

1,106 posts

I have no problem with internet and voip, but i have problem with NAT Loopback, does anyone get it working?

p/s : NAT Loopback = which allow u to access ur Nas storage / cctv / anything using dynamic domain name / public IP within the LAN
silverhawk
post Nov 29 2018, 02:58 PM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

Anyone having problems with VOIP? Mine suddenly stopped working recently
fsyap73
post Dec 13 2018, 12:01 AM

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 29 2018, 02:58 PM)
Anyone having problems with VOIP? Mine suddenly stopped working recently
Me too.
I tried to change the configuration, but got no luck.
VOIP LED does not light up.
kazai
post Dec 18 2018, 11:13 AM

168 posts

Can anyone help me? How to get my PPP username and password? Called maxis and they don't know. Damn. I already reset my router.
poh880
post Dec 23 2018, 09:04 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(kazai @ Dec 18 2018, 11:13 AM)
Can anyone help me? How to get my PPP username and password? Called maxis and they don't know. Damn. I already reset my router.
On MyMaxis app check for a 6 digits number with your package details on it. Your password will be your 6 digits number + 1. Eg 680123, password will be 6801231.
Username normally is 680123@home.maxis.com.my or 680123@public.maxis.com.my
Good luck biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by poh880: Dec 23 2018, 09:04 PM
silverhawk
post Jan 26 2019, 05:09 PM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

QUOTE(fsyap73 @ Dec 13 2018, 12:01 AM)
Me too.
I tried to change the configuration, but got no luck.
VOIP LED does not light up.
any luck with your VOIP?
ktek
post May 2 2019, 12:10 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

im going to install 2452dg to new client. voip run well after new firmware right?
AngryFood
post May 26 2019, 06:20 AM

Hello. I got my internet to work, but my VOIP doesn't work. I test by calling my phone number, and I noticed that the Phone Line at the router doesn't light up. How should I fix it?
Connexiionz
post Oct 17 2019, 12:52 AM

29 posts

Maxis has changed their proxy address from bvgw01 to homegw01.maxis.com.my

While SME customers can use 202.75.146.26

Also is your phone number is 0312345678 the password will be a 10digit number xxxxxxxxx5678

This post has been edited by Connexiionz: Oct 17 2019, 12:55 AM
virnon
post Nov 29 2019, 08:20 AM

QUOTE(Connexiionz @ Oct 17 2019, 12:52 AM)

Also is your phone number is 0312345678 the password will be a 10digit number xxxxxxxxx5678
What is the x? Need to call maxis center?
enaleni
post Apr 21 2020, 09:00 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(virnon @ Nov 29 2019, 08:20 AM)
What is the x? Need to call maxis center?
repeat again your phone number sir.

How your router? Can access VOIP?
lwk523
post Apr 22 2020, 02:52 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Connexiionz @ Oct 17 2019, 12:52 AM)

Does this work for any other modem or SIP device ?

CHIP CN
post Jun 15 2020, 11:51 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

Mcm mana nak masuk kalo dah ada org login. Nak logoutkan other user.

0.0713sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:05 AM