Credit Cards CIMB Bank Credit Cards V7, Cash Rebate Platinum, up to 5%
darkdevilrey
Jun 8 2018, 11:23 AM
Dear all,
need your savvy advise on financial charges calculation.
recently being charged financial charge, but i felt cheated due to the dishonest way of calculations, so please advise me if this is only CIMB or all bank using the same formula ?
In summary
Apr2018 Debit - rm18,121.66 Credit - rm18,020.07 Statement Balance - rm101.59
say interest rate applied @ 15% per annum.
can sifu illustrate to me the financial charge for the following senario:
1. i dint pay a cent at all upon payment due date on May2018 2. i pay partial payment before payment due date on May 2018
darkdevilrey
Jun 22 2018, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 21 2018, 03:12 PM) There is not saperate fee. When i using old card, red card with no debit function, My annual fee is RM8, after now change to new pin card Annual fee become RM15, same saving account yes, cilaka. why suddenly become so expensive from rm8 to rm15 p.a
darkdevilrey
Jun 22 2018, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 8 2018, 11:34 AM) clarified with cimb. as long you did not settle full amount of your statement balance, hence all transaction will be charge interest, not outstanding. in summary Spent rm10,000.00 paid rm 9,900.00 ( before statement ) Statement balance = rm100. paid rm 60 cash, hutang rm40. interest charge is daily interest x rm10,000.00 x no. of days untils the ( rm40 ) fully paid. crazy
darkdevilrey
Jun 23 2018, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 22 2018, 06:42 PM) that's is why always pay full by due date. simple. infact, i settle full payment before due date. reason being the hutang rm40 is because it's reflected in the statement cash back, so i assume outstanding i owe is only rm60. but this bank win, because cash back cannot consider part of the payment. its for ultilisation for next month bill. wtf
darkdevilrey
Jun 23 2018, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 22 2018, 07:14 PM) Does other bank practise similarly? my encouter with other bank is outstanding amount x interest only say rm40 x 15% p.a
darkdevilrey
Jun 23 2018, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 23 2018, 10:36 AM) that's not full, in terms of cimb*. it was current outstanding that u referred to. what I was referring is the statement balance, which is fixed regardless of any payment or cb credited later (where current outstanding would fluctuate). always pay according to statement balance is easier and less headache to manage/remember. *yes, cimb is the odd one that doesnt treat cb as payment. probably because it was system-triggered, not actual payment from user.  that why cash back not consider payment, im ok. but interest charge based on total transaction instead of outstanding balance, i totally disagree and not ok. in simple logic, u borrow me rm10,000, i pay you back rm9,900, so i only owe u rm100. interest should be based on the rm100, not rm10,000 ma this is already consider legal along lo think im stupid or wat
darkdevilrey
Jun 23 2018, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 23 2018, 10:44 AM) This is from April 1st, 2017 TnC: QUOTE 13. Financial Charge (iv) Any unpaid balance arising from the purchase of goods and/or services and/or cash advances as at the Due Date shall be subject to the finance charges until full repayment of the outstanding amounts. (v) The finance charges shall be chargeable on the balance that remains outstanding in the account from the preceding monthly billing statement date arising from the purchase of goods and/or services and/or cash advances, which shall be calculated on a daily rest basis.
14. Late Payment Fee Notwithstanding Clause 13(a)(iii), if the Cardholder fails to make the minimum payment due on the due date, a late payment charge of 1% on the total outstanding balance (subject to a minimum of RM10.00 and a maximum of RM100.00 or such other limit which the Bank may decide provided that such limits decided by the Bank do not exceed those prescribed by the Applicable Laws and Regulations) will be charged for each month that the minimum payment due is not paid. This late payment charge is imposed by way of liquidated damages and not as a penalty and shall be payable before, as well as after any court order or judgement. The Bank shall however grant the Cardholder a grace period of four (4) calendar days after the payment due date where the payment due dates fall on a weekend or a public holiday. yala , my case no late payment, so clause 14 not applicable. my unpaid is rm40, how can they charge daily interest based on my rm10,000 transaction  , further more i already pay almost 99% before due date. this is scam already lo crazy man
darkdevilrey
Jun 25 2018, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 23 2018, 02:58 PM) are you sure the interest was charge based on the RM10k transaction? yes. they email me the breakdown calculation on the financial charges in excel file in few working days after i called to clarify. that's how it calculate how ridiculous it is
darkdevilrey
Jun 25 2018, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Jun 23 2018, 08:11 PM) dont think they will calculate at this way are you sure about that ? never see any bank in msia runing this way ,even foreign or local how did you get the calculation ? like you say lo, not suppose calculate in this way. but CIMB did. i also never heard of this kind of calculation before. i already kena here, so take this as a warning for all of you lo.
darkdevilrey
Jun 26 2018, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Jun 25 2018, 07:55 PM) From cimb website Finance Charges Free Period Full payment on previous statement balance: Enjoy an interest-free period of 20 days for all new retail transactions from statement date. Partial or minimum payment on previous statement balance: No interest-free period. A finance charge will be levied on your unpaid outstanding balance and all new transactions from the date the transactions are posted. Mind to share ur statement for study ?  maybe they updated new clause ? or maybe the clause is there since day 1 ?
darkdevilrey
Jun 26 2018, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 25 2018, 08:25 PM) do share the excel file here, but remove your info and card number 1st  this is how they tabulate the daily interest on all transaction, not only on outstanding balance.
darkdevilrey
Jun 27 2018, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 26 2018, 10:20 PM) So all banks have changed or adopted a new way of charging interest? And it is slightly unfair or disadvantage to consumers even though you have made some partial payment before statement date. im not quite sure on this, but other bank i encounter is interest charge on outstanding balance only. say swipe rm1000 paid rm900 outstanding rm100 x 15% p.a interest = rm 1.25 interest