Troubleshooting Should I sell or fix my New3dsXL, Ask your opinions

TScmonstar
post Dec 8 2017, 11:00 AM, updated 8y ago

132 posts

Hi all,

I got a New3dsXL, about 2 years plus with lots of eShop games. Recently it got a dead pixel area at the top screen, more than 10pixels I think and it is a bit distracting. I also just got myself a Switch and a 2DS for my kids.

Should I:
1. Get it fixed? I have been asking around and I could not find anybody in Klang Valley to fix the screen. Does anybody know a good fixer here?

2. Sell it off? However, if I sell it and my Nintendo NNID is still in this n3dsxl console. If I remove it, all the eShop games will be lost and that's a waste. I cannot transfer to the 2DS because it has a separate NNID with its own games.

Appreciate your advise, Nintendo sifus of LYN.
LegendLee
post Dec 8 2017, 11:58 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,716 posts

I recommend getting a 2dsXL.
Maybe get one from amazon for cheap. Like USD150.

The screen spare part itself is already USD40.
Include manpower and it's not going to be cheap.

Having said that. If you feel you won't be playing anymore 3ds games (end of lifecycle). Best to just sell it off.
kuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2017, 05:12 PM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

you can consider a 3rd option, which is slightly a better version of your 2nd option. (i think this is still possible, a bit unsure)
call up nintendo customer support, if the nnid is same region (both are us for example and not us + canada combo) you can try request them to merge nnid. make sure the one retained is the one on 2ds. then sell the n3dsxl once the process is done
save data will be lost btw
https://en-americas-support.nintendo.com/app/contact

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Dec 8 2017, 05:13 PM

0.0150sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:08 PM