the vibe here is so down and discouraging hahaha, im outta here seriously tongue.gif bye guys
This post has been edited by Gmruleme: Jan 10 2018, 01:06 AM
Art scene in Malaysia, Just like this section? Feels half dead
Dec 2 2017, 02:07 AM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,468 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
the vibe here is so down and discouraging hahaha, im outta here seriously tongue.gif bye guys
This post has been edited by Gmruleme: Jan 10 2018, 01:06 AM |
Dec 2 2017, 09:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,723 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
yeah it has always been borderline non-existant.
Dec 3 2017, 01:05 AM
oh finally a reply. Yay! haha that's kinda true
Dec 3 2017, 01:06 AM
542 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Problem is the good ones are mostly oversea, the moderate ones struggling with life too busy to work on it, the bottom line lost its will and don't see them as an option to be a life line.
Many are just looking at each other and hope something happen, I'm guilty of it too. |
Dec 3 2017, 10:27 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,723 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
i think it has something to do with our lack of identity. i spent a whole semester studying about malaysian architecture during my degree and in the end i still cannot answer what the heck malaysian architecture is.
Dec 3 2017, 10:49 PM
613 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Oh TS I remember you, with the awesome PS skills. Graduate from XXX right? How's design life. Must've hit a low for you to start this thread. Cause I myself am approaching last sem soon, feeling the jitters already.. |
Dec 4 2017, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(mowlous @ Dec 3 2017, 02:06 AM) Problem is the good ones are mostly oversea, the moderate ones struggling with life too busy to work on it, the bottom line lost its will and don't see them as an option to be a life line. that's trueMany are just looking at each other and hope something happen, I'm guilty of it too. in malaysia it's more like a survival game I've been to oversea twice Madrid n London- attended some international exhibition and conference & I can say that even the mentality of the public there towards art is like completely opposite comparing to malaysian haha QUOTE(janisu @ Dec 3 2017, 11:49 PM) Oh TS I remember you, with the awesome PS skills. Graduate from XXX right? How's design life. Must've hit a low for you to start this thread. Cause I myself am approaching last sem soon, feeling the jitters already.. btw I just had my own solo exhibition months ago sponsored by nandos. Reason for me to start this thread? I just feel that this section is kinda queit, more like a Q&A section HAHA in fact it has always been since 2012/2013 Graduating? as long as you know what u want or what you're doing u shud be fine.. just go with the flow lah |
Dec 4 2017, 01:02 AM
289 posts Joined: Apr 2016 |
Even klpac is dying....
So you know how Malaysians treat art |
Dec 4 2017, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Dec 3 2017, 11:27 AM) i think it has something to do with our lack of identity. i spent a whole semester studying about malaysian architecture during my degree and in the end i still cannot answer what the heck malaysian architecture is. lol... i have no idea abt architecture but if u are paying attention in class and still duno the heck is malaysian architecture perhaps prob because malaysia is still 'young'? 54 years- of history n comapring to like europe etc is not enuf |
Dec 4 2017, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(jishu @ Dec 4 2017, 02:02 AM) kan.. i know right.. non profit organisation is tough t osurvive la in malaysia. plus need to have connection here and there with government agency etc somemore.. if f up then gone case sometimes i feel like art in local scene is more like a method for company to fulfil their CSR. just like those art annd photo competitions.. i dont think their main motive or aim is to like push or discover talent etc haha maybe its a balance la but weird feels like corporate world r sustainign the art scene here, if one day no money comes in from those big corps then the art scene dead? can't the art scene here survive or stand on their own..? maybe its more tough because of public perception twoards art (crowd funding etc. hard. ppl dun wanna spend on art/design. thinking they r always cheap). lacking of proper channels/funding . btw im not the expert here- feels free to correct me if im wrong |
Dec 4 2017, 03:11 AM
QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Dec 4 2017, 01:10 AM) kan.. i know right.. non profit organisation is tough t osurvive la in malaysia. plus need to have connection here and there with government agency etc somemore.. if f up then gone case Our level of given respect is like football, when you say "manchester united" everyone cheer ........ when you say "malaysia national" ...... everyone is just full of question mark. Its pretty sad cause actually our own country's artist had won quite a lot of competition outside. But you barely ever heard of any news in relation to anything art.sometimes i feel like art in local scene is more like a method for company to fulfil their CSR. just like those art annd photo competitions.. i dont think their main motive or aim is to like push or discover talent etc haha maybe its a balance la but weird feels like corporate world r sustainign the art scene here, if one day no money comes in from those big corps then the art scene dead? can't the art scene here survive or stand on their own..? maybe its more tough because of public perception twoards art (crowd funding etc. hard. ppl dun wanna spend on art/design. thinking they r always cheap). lacking of proper channels/funding . btw im not the expert here- feels free to correct me if im wrong At oversea they have magazine monthly to identify artist of the month, local and international. Nothing here, sometimes the star do try to promote by writing a page or two highlighting success story, other then that its pure silence. Also local here hard to make a buzz, if you do most likely moral police will come knocking on your door for whatever controversy they think suitable to pin you on. |
Dec 4 2017, 03:18 AM
704 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: Chinatown |
The mentality here is not up to par with overseas.
Even in schools also they look down on art students. Parents wants their children to be in science stream. No freedom for kids to decide. End up, art students forced to take science related courses in college and most of the times science students are in business & accounting. Art is not truly appreciated here in Malaysia. |
Dec 4 2017, 03:59 AM
81 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
rempiting, songlaping, littering, vandalism & shitposting is a form of art and highly appreciated in our cuntry. Open your eyes and see la
Dec 15 2017, 05:25 PM
123 posts Joined: Jan 2016 |
Art as in fine arts is probably still under appreciated in our community. They don't understand the abstract approach artists are doing.
Commercial design on the other hand, it's in demand albeit not as highly sought after like core professions (e.g. Engineers, accountants, sales rep.) They still gotta get people to print stuff, come up with prints and designs for ads or else how are they gonna sell their merc. and products? |
Dec 15 2017, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(ZenXL @ Dec 4 2017, 04:18 AM) The mentality here is not up to par with overseas. i guess im lucky with my decision n choice then.Even in schools also they look down on art students. Parents wants their children to be in science stream. No freedom for kids to decide. End up, art students forced to take science related courses in college and most of the times science students are in business & accounting. Art is not truly appreciated here in Malaysia. I was in science stream during high school, suffered but aced then i got myself a scholarship and went to do art related stuff instead in my uni, all relative say im crazy but i have no regerts up until now. but you're right, parents mentality and school education system mentality r really like this in malaysia. sucks v |
Dec 15 2017, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(vinnyming @ Dec 15 2017, 06:25 PM) Commercial design on the other hand, it's in demand albeit not as highly sought after like core professions (e.g. Engineers, accountants, sales rep.) They still gotta get people to print stuff, come up with prints and designs for ads or else how are they gonna sell their merc. and products? but sad thing is that the clients always opt for chepeast option and some designer or students out there are like killing the market too. but what to say, ppl can say its competitive pricing.. but in the end for client is u get what u pay la haha |
Dec 17 2017, 02:39 AM
QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Dec 15 2017, 10:53 PM) haha that's true. Problem is they kill the shi*t out of you for begger's price. And this aren't small companies, they are actual big companies who hire 3rd party that sub all those work to inexperience freelancers who wanted to try their hand for mere bucks. I stray away from those kind of commission simply because its not sustainable, you get better pay with less stress working as a helper for food stall then to work for local. Either that or sell your work online to global market that would appreciate and cannot undercut you.but sad thing is that the clients always opt for chepeast option and some designer or students out there are like killing the market too. but what to say, ppl can say its competitive pricing.. but in the end for client is u get what u pay la haha |
Dec 18 2017, 06:55 AM
146 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Borneo / Kanto |
Art and Creative Scene in Malaysia is going backward to be honest.
Dec 21 2017, 09:36 AM
428 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: In your drive, stealing your internutz |
Basically creative scene in Malaysia is pretty much non-existent. Malaysian's appreciation for art of any kind is really pretty much non-existent as well.
Don't say modern art, even traditional art which is supposed to be part of Malaysia culture, not much Malaysians know about it. (I am partly guilty as well) Mentality of Malaysia or SEA in general is only Science stream is useful. Any other non-related to Science will get bashed and called stupid despite its actually same tier as Science stream. Now you see, Malaysians nowadays really can't get creative or promote creativity hence I find Malaysians to be one of the most boring people I know. (No offense, as this is my personal opinion and I include myself as one of the boring Malaysians) I mainly blame the education system and the mentality introduced by Dr. M. Sure, we have some local artists who made it out like Abam Apam, Ernest Ng (Bro, don't be like that la), Peach Artworks and some other artists of other mediums, but let's be honest, how many of them actually become artist full time as a career? If you're an artist, I recommend you to appeal to global market rather than limiting yourself to local market because I can assure you, local market is pretty much dead. |
Dec 30 2017, 01:41 AM
755 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
It is the art itself which distant itself from the masses. In a world where everything is measured against monetary value, art has no place in the masses.
1. The middle class downwards are busy trying to make ends meet, there is simply no time for any kind of art. 2. Artworks are being 'goreng' but people buy it. This projects an image that "if the artwork is being auctioned at high price, it is art; otherwise, it is trash." So you see there is a gap here. Because only the 1% elites within a society have the money to afford, and time to appreciate art, so it is basically non-existent in the eyes of the 99% of the population. And art being art, if it needs to earn respect, it has to boast originality, unique, fine execution, provocative messages, influential, or sometimes only because the artist died. Otherwise, it could just be the same as something coming out of a art factory like those in China. |
| Change to: | 0.0333sec
5 queries
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:17 PM |