Used: Optima, Cerato, Elantra, Mazda 3, Preve, D, C segment cars. Year's end promotions

SKYjack
post Dec 7 2017, 05:41 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 7 2017, 10:25 AM)
constant_weight
Can "enlighten" us on your elantra turbo ownership experience?
IMO the car is overpriced for C segment, no doubt may be most powerful in that segment. What's your take! Ya would like to hear from owner.
constant_weight
post Dec 7 2017, 06:56 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 7 2017, 10:25 AM)
constant_weight
Can "enlighten" us on your elantra turbo ownership experience?
Lol...why ask me lah...

NVH - very quiet cabin. You likely only start notice the wind noise past 150km/h. Stock Ventus Prime 2 tire is very very noisy.

Handling - very sharp initial turn in. However rear end feels slight hesitate to follow. You will get this feeling driving around tight parking lots or during aggressive turn at hairpin/chicane. Averaging 40-50km/h around Genting's hairpins apex during hill climb is easy. Seems like it is tuned for slight understeer. I read US forum, replace rear ARB to 19mm/22mm (stock rear ARB is 15mm) will make the car neutral, but likely dangerous for street use (lift off oversteer).

Power - linear power delivery, doesn't feel like a turbo. However it seems hesitate to rev after 5000rpm. Only get turbo lag when suddenly accelerate during constant speed cruising, other time no lag. But simply downshift one gear, you are good to go. Genting uphill in sport mode, I completely forgoten that this car is a turbo. I wish 2nd gear can be longer to top at 90km/h. Current 70'ish 2nd gear top speed get over very very fast.

DCT - too smooth to be a DCT, lol. Not jerk at stop-go traffic. Very quiet as well. If you drive normally, and hardly hit 2500rpm, there will be 0 shifting noise, 0 shifting jerk. If you drives around 70-80km/h, only thing you will notice is tire rolling noise as engine note is low at low rpm. But being said that, don't expect VW DSG shifting feels. This DCT is slow comparing to DSG. Still faster than normal AT thought. No rev hold, force upshift at redline even in manual mode.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Dec 7 2017, 08:30 PM
wkc5657
post Dec 8 2017, 11:27 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 7 2017, 06:56 PM)
Lol...why ask me lah...

NVH - very quiet cabin. You likely only start notice the wind noise past 150km/h. Stock Ventus Prime 2 tire is very very noisy.

Handling - very sharp initial turn in. However rear end feels slight hesitate to follow. You will get this feeling driving around tight parking lots or during aggressive turn at hairpin/chicane. Averaging 40-50km/h around Genting's hairpins apex during hill climb is easy. Seems like it is tuned for slight understeer. I read US forum, replace rear ARB to 19mm/22mm (stock rear ARB is 15mm) will make the car neutral, but likely dangerous for street use (lift off oversteer).

Power - linear power delivery, doesn't feel like a turbo. However it seems hesitate to rev after 5000rpm. Only get turbo lag when suddenly accelerate during constant speed cruising, other time no lag. But simply downshift one gear, you are good to go. Genting uphill in sport mode, I completely forgoten that this car is a turbo. I wish 2nd gear can be longer to top at 90km/h. Current 70'ish 2nd gear top speed get over very very fast.

DCT - too smooth to be a DCT, lol. Not jerk at stop-go traffic. Very quiet as well. If you drive normally, and hardly hit 2500rpm, there will be 0 shifting noise, 0 shifting jerk. If you drives around 70-80km/h, only thing you will notice is tire rolling noise as engine note is low at low rpm. But being said that, don't expect VW DSG shifting feels. This DCT is slow comparing to DSG. Still faster than normal AT thought. No rev hold, force upshift at redline even in manual mode.
Nice summary thumbsup.gif

You changed your tyres already?

2nd gear top out at 70km/h is kinda low...probably was done that way for the quick response feeling, instead of a really responsive engine. Mine can reach 100km/h at 2nd, but damn the engine din damn loud at redline sweat.gif . Nice to know that this car has such good refinement at high speeds. Consistent with my thoughts that the NVH of korean counterparts are usually half a step better than peer competition.

How was the fuel consumption?
TSali00
post Dec 8 2017, 12:21 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 8 2017, 11:27 AM)
Nice summary  thumbsup.gif

You changed your tyres already?

2nd gear top out at 70km/h is kinda low...probably was done that way for the quick response feeling, instead of a really responsive engine. Mine can reach 100km/h at 2nd, but damn the engine din damn loud at redline  sweat.gif  . Nice to know that this car has such good refinement at high speeds. Consistent with my thoughts that the NVH of korean counterparts are usually half a step better than peer competition.

How was the fuel consumption?
6.5L/100km on paper. Would be a bit higher on road I think.

CODE

[@wkc5657]

130k for a c-segment car. Now I start to think all of Hyundai's model is overpriced rclxub.gif
wkc5657
post Dec 8 2017, 01:32 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Dec 8 2017, 12:21 PM)
130k for a c-segment car. Now I start to think all of Hyundai's model is overpriced  rclxub.gif
Then which c-segment car is good value for you leh?? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Dec 8 2017, 01:33 PM
constant_weight
post Dec 8 2017, 01:34 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Dec 8 2017, 12:21 PM)
6.5L/100km on paper. Would be a bit higher on road I think.
CODE

[@wkc5657]

130k for a c-segment car. Now I start to think all of Hyundai's model is overpriced  rclxub.gif
Rated is 7.0l/100km.

My combined usage around 7.2l/100km from real refuel calculation. 6.9l/100km on trip computer. I think one of more accurate trip computer around. My average speed 32km/h, skewed due to traffic light and jam.

Highway around 5.7 - 5.8 if you drive 110km/h consistently.
6.5 if you drive 140 - 150km/h.
Zipping around traffic or aggressive hill climb, expect to see double digit l/100km.

wkc5657
post Dec 8 2017, 01:44 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 8 2017, 01:34 PM)
Rated is 7.0l/100km.

My combined usage around 7.2l/100km from real refuel calculation. 6.9l/100km on trip computer. I think one of more accurate trip computer around. My average speed 32km/h, skewed due to traffic light and jam.

Highway around 5.7 - 5.8 if you drive 110km/h consistently.
6.5 if you drive 140 - 150km/h.
Zipping around traffic or aggressive hill climb, expect to see double digit l/100km.
What is your estimated urban driving percentage?
constant_weight
post Dec 8 2017, 06:17 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 8 2017, 01:44 PM)
What is your estimated urban driving percentage?
I would put it this way.
- 50% at urban speed, including bumper to bumper traffic jam ranging from single digit to ~40km/h, and stop at red light.
- 25% at 70-80km/h.
- 25% highway speed where I can get past 100km/h.

Ironically, more than half of my urban speed happened at highway. Damn Malaysian traffic.

But, I think you should get others feedback. It is hard for typical drivers to achieve my fuel economy even they follow right behind me doing same trip at same time with same car traveling at same average speed.

- I tends to glide through corner fast. Lift off earlier and approaching corner with light touch of brake. Urban speed sometime no brake at all. I can't stand those people who still brake hard even they enter corner at 20-30km/h. Understand if it is a T or cross junction for safety and regulation. For Y junction that have converging lane, why on earth some people want to jump right into the main lane. There is an extra lane on the left!

- I spent few months training lift off gas paddle in order to perform minute lift of to drop speed from eg:. 80 to 70. Most drivers only lift of completely and then accelerate hard again. If you follows behind me, you will see less brake lights, and less drastic speed change. Shin muscles very tired at the beginning of the practice, but it worth the effort.

- I drive fast when nothing in front of me, but will just follow the slower car in front most of the time. I seldom switch lanes zipping past traffic, unless the car is too slow. I wasted my fuel most of the time overtaking lorry. They always send flying stones, damn annoying. Sometime if no good opportunity, I will slow down and give way to car behind me. rclxs0.gif

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Dec 8 2017, 06:18 PM
wkc5657
post Dec 10 2017, 02:10 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 8 2017, 06:17 PM)
I would put it this way.
- 50% at urban speed, including bumper to bumper traffic jam ranging from single digit to ~40km/h, and stop at red light.
- 25% at 70-80km/h.

Ironically, more than half of my urban speed happened at highway. Damn Malaysian traffic.

But, I think you should get others feedback. It is hard for typical drivers to achieve my fuel economy even they follow right behind me doing same trip at same time with same car traveling at same average speed.

- I tends to glide through corner fast. Lift off earlier and approaching corner with light touch of brake. Urban speed sometime no brake at all. I can't stand those people who still brake hard even they enter corner at 20-30km/h. Understand if it is a T or cross junction for safety and regulation. For Y junction that have converging lane, why on earth some people want to jump right into the main lane. There is an extra lane on the left!

- I spent few months training lift off gas paddle in order to perform minute lift of to drop speed from eg:. 80 to 70. Most drivers only lift of completely and then accelerate hard again. If you follows behind me, you will see less brake lights, and less drastic speed change. Shin muscles very tired at the beginning of the practice, but it worth the effort.

- I drive fast when nothing in front of me, but will just follow the slower car in front most of the time. I seldom switch lanes zipping past traffic, unless the car is too slow. I wasted my fuel most of the time overtaking lorry. They always send flying stones, damn annoying. Sometime if no good opportunity, I will slow down and give way to car behind me.  rclxs0.gif
With your driving environment, i can say your fuel consumption rate is pretty top notch, most likely due to shaving less speed/carrying enough speed through the corner.

Agree to the bolded part, these driver seems to think that anything more than a slight lean will cause the car to flip over. Rather irritating to slow down and reaccelerate, just a waste of petrol, time and brake pad....
TSali00
post Dec 10 2017, 04:39 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 8 2017, 01:32 PM)
Then which c-segment car is good value for you leh??  whistling.gif
Haha no idea.. mybe i should get driver's car eg: Mazda 3 right?
TSali00
post Dec 10 2017, 04:47 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 8 2017, 06:17 PM)
I would put it this way.
- 25% at 70-80km/h.

- I drive fast when nothing in front of me, but will just follow the slower car in front most of the time. I seldom switch lanes zipping past traffic, unless the car is too slow. I wasted my fuel most of the time overtaking lorry. They always send flying stones, damn annoying. Sometime if no good opportunity, I will slow down and give way to car behind me.  rclxs0.gif
How fast can you get with the turbo? tongue.gif
wkc5657
post Dec 10 2017, 09:06 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Dec 10 2017, 04:39 PM)
Haha no idea.. mybe i should get driver's car eg: Mazda 3 right?
oh wow...i'm surprised that you actually mentioned mazda3 when you think hyundai not value for money...

most malaysians think the new civic more value for money because more metal/space per ringgit.
TSali00
post Dec 11 2017, 11:56 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 10 2017, 09:06 PM)
oh wow...i'm surprised that you actually mentioned mazda3 when you think hyundai not value for money...

most malaysians think the new civic more value for money because more metal/space per ringgit.
Nah.. i just dont like elantra interior. Ioniq hybrid? Its hybrid system. I doubt it can survive a bit of flood at my hometown (east coast) eventhough i can get it for around 80k
Its a tough choice around b/c segments sweat.gif

Maybe i need to take 1 week off and test drive all of them at once puke.gif
wkc5657
post Dec 11 2017, 01:22 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(ali00 @ Dec 11 2017, 11:56 AM)
Nah..  i just dont like elantra interior. Ioniq hybrid? Its hybrid system. I doubt it can survive a bit of flood at my hometown (east coast) eventhough i can get it for around 80k
Its a tough choice around b/c segments  sweat.gif

Maybe i need to take 1 week off and test drive all of them at once  puke.gif
All cars 90% similar, it is just that 10% that make the most difference and that's where most of the emotional positioning are.

To be frank, if financially you can afford, just go with the car that your heart feels most drawn to. Otherwise, fully take out emotions, just go for a 2 year old Myvi 1.5. Solid enough to withstand >10 years of daily usage, nimble enough in parking and tight spots, engine is peppy, maintenance is reasonable, and interior space that can shame cars double the price.

0.0142sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:11 PM