Review Xiaomi 70Mai Dashcam, Super budget dashcam with Sony IMX323

Quazacolt
post Jan 19 2018, 01:26 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

didn't realize there's a review on this, thanks bro!
thumbup.gif

looking to get one for the kancil/sentra biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 29 2018, 03:45 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

blurjoey
oh ya, the demo/promo video doesn't make this clear, but do you have to always manually activate (voice or button) the camera for it to record?
(say, cold/fresh starting your vehicle and going to work, it does not record until you tell it to)

would be a total retarded hassle if so.
Quazacolt
post Jan 29 2018, 04:47 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 29 2018, 04:12 PM)
Nowadays all modern dashcam auto starts recording when you start your engine laugh.gif

And it will stop recording when you stop your engine too in case you were wondering biggrin.gif

Total confusion when they advertising a user starting recording rofl
Quazacolt
post Jan 30 2018, 09:50 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 29 2018, 10:23 PM)
That's the emergency recording feature. Means the loop file will be kept in a separate folder that doesn't overwrite when full.

All dashcam have a button to press to do that. 70 mai uses voice command instead of a button
huge thanks for your clarification.

just submitted purchase for 5 units lol
(my car front back, kancil, sentra, gf hrv)
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/70mai-sm...g-voice-control
Quazacolt
post May 15 2018, 03:19 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(pentium6 @ Feb 2 2018, 07:26 PM)
hi, plz recommend me car DVR that support front and rear recording and serve as reverse cam too.

thanks alot
QUOTE(siong612 @ Apr 12 2018, 10:56 AM)
Wow, Im looking a dashcam for rear windscreen...
QUOTE(tkng4 @ Apr 28 2018, 10:22 PM)
I installed one in my wife's car which will auto record when ignition started. The other unit I installed in my car as rear cam (use yi cam at front). I setup and connect to 70mai app like my wife's cam. But every time I start the car, it always ask me to use my phone to connect and start the cam.Is there any other way to reset the cam besides poking the reset pin hole and in the app restore tab?

FYI, I tried extending the power supply cable with other cables so as to install it at the rear. The memory card in 70mai will failed and ask you to reformat it over and over again. The moment I removed the cables, it appears normal again. Not sure why.
for those interested in rear camera, i did a video overlaying front and rear together, high speed run during night time:

very poor quality, however do remember it is a rather cheap dashcam and i think it is still acceptable.
Quazacolt
post May 15 2018, 03:20 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(heartsdales @ May 14 2018, 02:10 PM)
Doesn't work. No idea why.
Maybe my phone problem.
had same problem, but solved by installing VLC app for android and use that to play downloaded videos.
Quazacolt
post May 21 2018, 02:04 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ May 18 2018, 08:31 PM)
so it means we can use 2 cam(front and rear) in one single app?
I have 4 cameras in my household vehicles registered in my account in one app.

However, you can only access one camera at one time.
Quazacolt
post May 27 2018, 09:52 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ May 26 2018, 01:37 PM)
rear camera to plug is quite far.stock cable sufficient for u?
Yes cuz my 86 small car
Quazacolt
post May 31 2018, 02:07 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ May 27 2018, 11:13 PM)
installed the 70Mai earlier today afternoon and thankfully, a thunderstorm came a while ago, allowing me to make a recording of a scene of worst possible condition.

at the end of the day, don't expect it to be a CSI quality camera. it's just a general video recorder for security purposes to prevent false/assist genuine insurance claim and also for safety purpose (in the event of road bullies).
wow your quality much better than mine maybe cuz my stupidly dark tint LOL
Quazacolt
post May 31 2018, 04:21 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ May 31 2018, 04:00 PM)
nice driving  brows.gif

btw, can the 70mai do motion recording? like records when there is motion present in parking situation?
Thanks!

no parking mode at all
Quazacolt
post Jul 13 2018, 02:01 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 5 2018, 11:14 AM)
Clear meh ?
[attachmentid=9841579]
try to take a guess on the speeds i was going? lol