The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V3, Pick yours up now!

ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 03:36 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Nov 28 2017, 03:23 PM)
My friend and I tested this on my phone:-

1. The face id doesn't work if someone holds your phone and show it to your face.

2. The face id doesn't work with your eyes close, regardless who is holding your phone.

can anyone else confirm?

It's a good feature if really true.
Under FaceID there's an option to choose either Require Attention for FaceID to enhance security. You might wanna test that out too.

And of course with your eyes closed faceid wont work.
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 05:47 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(nickywan123 @ Nov 28 2017, 05:11 PM)
By the way, is the iphone X screen size really bigger than 8 plus? The overall size definitely 8 plus is bigger but it seems if X has a bigger screen size,since it stretches all the way to the top, then the fonts and words should be bigger as well. Can someone clarify this?
X is technically bigger, but just taller not wider. so it most closely resembles iphone size instead of the plus sized. fonts and words are not bigger, but you will find alot of additional vertical screen estate.

X does not have wider screen estate like the usual plus models do also.
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 06:59 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 28 2017, 06:54 PM)
Really? For the 256gb?
out of honest curiosity is 256GB really beneficial to most of you?

perhaps if given different use-cases and applications, but i think 64GB is more than enough for me given everything (like 90%) i need can be streamed or stored in the cloud.
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 08:38 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Nov 28 2017, 07:32 PM)
I got the 64gb. My storage usage is low. So it won’t really benefit me. I think it shouldn’t be an issue to get the 64gb in your case. As some have mentioned here, get more storage if you plan to keep the phone for a few years. But some of the forumers here change their phone yearly or less. tongue.gif
Oic. I thought there would be stock since the price is too high for most ppl to buy.
yeah rocking a 64GB now too, literally all of my music/photos/contacts/messages/notes/documents are stored in the cloud. the only space-taking app would be spotify i guess?

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 28 2017, 07:47 PM)
Yeah, either buy outright in Singapore for the experience of buying something at an Apple Store or sign another maxis contract. Might be the former, coz I’d like to keep the contract option open to see what happens in September next year. Actually it’s getting harder and harder to justify changing iPhones period. The price keeps getting steeper.
For me 256GB is overkill. 64GB is good enough. I don’t do games and prefer to consume media content on my iPad. As for photos, like you said, either iCloud or rajin transfer to PC.
Guilty as charged biggrin.gif
for photos i've been using Google Photos for quite awhile, their unlimited backup storage is pretty great, and their backup quality is quite good actually.
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 09:39 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 28 2017, 09:29 PM)
For photos/videos I normally backup to hdd once it reaches 10gb or so...  biggrin.gif
touch wood hdd might crash leh, better save both HDD and cloud for redundancy biggrin.gif
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 11:29 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(nickywan123 @ Nov 28 2017, 11:06 PM)
Is the X screen really that small? Or because its coming from iphone Plus users to X users? For me, i am changing from 5s to X so I am not sure if i will feel it's smaller for me or not lol
im sure there are many many show units out there for you to try. it's much better to get a feel yourself really.
ronaldlim91
post Nov 28 2017, 11:30 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 28 2017, 10:44 PM)
The time when i have the most problem with Face ID is when i just woke up in the morning lying down sideways face still on the pillow and i reach out for the X and try to get it to read my face... 100% fail even when i lift my head and look straight with my sleepy face... i miss touch id sad.gif
yep, never have i once successfully unlock faceid when waking up in bed. 100% fail rate so far
ronaldlim91
post Nov 29 2017, 08:51 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 29 2017, 08:31 AM)
The Otterbox Symmetry is slimmer and friendlier with SP I think.
You everyday wake up fresh Pokerface is it... mine failed today again lol
my eyes can barely open in the morning, faceid probably wont work with that haha
ronaldlim91
post Nov 29 2017, 09:35 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 29 2017, 09:27 AM)
Mine worked today  biggrin.gif
i tried unlocking with a mouth full of water, it didn't work.

haha
ronaldlim91
post Nov 30 2017, 01:55 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 30 2017, 12:23 PM)
Depends on user as well. As I am into photography, i prefer iPhone's accurate colour profile than Samsung's over contrast/saturated profile. So in my books, Samsung is not a winner lol
Trianium case have the clear type which doesn't have any bubble effect. It is slim with some minor drop protection, but not those super slim type like totallee or peel.
you bought any apps that shoots RAW like halide?
ronaldlim91
post Nov 30 2017, 03:17 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 30 2017, 02:29 PM)
I have my old Camera+ that shoots raw lol
is it any good? like beneficial shooting RAW on iphone instead of the usual format?
ronaldlim91
post Dec 1 2017, 10:28 AM

531 posts

Galado's canvas case arrived yesterday. looks alot nicer than apple's silicone case, but not as much grip. Still very minimalistic, i like!

ronaldlim91
post Dec 3 2017, 01:09 PM

531 posts

anyone experience the battery icon disappearing on home & lock screen? happened to mine on 11.1.2 and 11.2
ronaldlim91
post Dec 9 2017, 05:35 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Dec 9 2017, 05:33 PM)
Thank you for the recommendation. I’m ok with paid app. A good app is worth the support from the users.
how about halide? interface looks good

0.0662sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:25 PM