23 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

> solid wood for your home renovation, using Balau sawn timber to look perfect!

amduser
post Jul 17 2019, 11:18 AM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 17 2019, 12:25 AM)
its possible to get someone to prepare those pieces to your requirement.
what would be the complication if the measurement is provided and you can cut according to size and send those pieces to me? or you only do it in large quantity?
ar188
post Jul 17 2019, 11:01 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 17 2019, 11:18 AM)
what would be the complication if the measurement is provided and you can cut according to size and send those pieces to me? or you only do it in large quantity?
we can do one off items, no problem.
ar188
post Jul 17 2019, 11:28 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 13 2019, 11:18 PM)

pic above turn into table top already biggrin.gif
tzuen
post Jul 30 2019, 04:38 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 17 2019, 11:28 PM)
pic above  turn into table top already  biggrin.gif
Looks clean and flat, using any biscuits joiner to join the woods?
ar188
post Jul 30 2019, 08:59 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Jul 30 2019, 04:38 PM)
Looks clean and flat, using any biscuits joiner to join the woods?
thanks!
yes sir we used 8-9pcs of lamello biscuit on each joint wood.. so each table of that size would have 80-100pcs. depend on the wood width and table width.

glue is titebond2.
tzuen
post Aug 4 2019, 01:49 PM

426 posts

got a list of items that I need to build by myself, let's start with shoes cabinet which will mount on wall. Materials that I have in mind is balau wood. The 6 black dots are where it mount on wall

My questions is:

1. 6 bolts will use to mount the 16mm plywood on wall, is it sufficient to hold on the weight?
3. Since it's outdoor and expose to a little bit high of temperature. Will the wood starts to warp ?

Thanks Guys

This post has been edited by tzuen: Aug 5 2019, 09:48 AM
ar188
post Aug 4 2019, 09:38 PM

9,188 posts

wrong thread to ask man.. panels/chipboard/mdf/blockboard in solid wood topic. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Aug 4 2019, 09:55 PM
tzuen
post Aug 5 2019, 09:07 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 4 2019, 09:38 PM)
wrong thread to ask man.. panels/chipboard/mdf/blockboard in solid wood topic.  biggrin.gif
lol, you're right. You know any thread for wood working related?
ar188
post Aug 5 2019, 09:23 AM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 5 2019, 09:07 AM)
lol, you're right. You know any thread for wood working related?
this is the right wood working thread

the thread you looking to ask would be in the kitchen cabinets subjects
tzuen
post Aug 5 2019, 09:46 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 5 2019, 09:23 AM)
this is the right wood working thread

the thread you looking to ask would be in the kitchen cabinets subjects
got it, will amend my questions.
alex_leo
post Aug 12 2019, 02:50 PM

76 posts

Guys, I'm looking for laminated table top
Size : 2.5ft X 5ft X 1 inch thick
I need around 10 pcs

ar188
post Aug 13 2019, 01:21 AM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Aug 12 2019, 02:50 PM)
I need around 10 pcs

chipboard right? normal is 18mm or so
ceo684
post Aug 13 2019, 10:00 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Aug 12 2019, 02:50 PM)
I need around 10 pcs

Ikea got chipboard tables. https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/rydebaeck-tabl...white-60281417/
alex_leo
post Aug 13 2019, 03:04 PM

76 posts

Ikea quite expensive sad.gif
ceo684
post Aug 13 2019, 03:19 PM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Aug 13 2019, 03:04 PM)
Ikea quite expensive sad.gif
Their material is quite thick, exceeds 1" thick.
I don't think its that exp if you compared with the finished tables - http://www.afiah.com.my/banquettable.htm
Else can buy this and chop to 5ft https://www.lazada.com.my/products/white-la....16389.126158.0

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 13 2019, 03:22 PM
alex_leo
post Aug 13 2019, 03:37 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 13 2019, 03:19 PM)
Their material is quite thick, exceeds 1" thick.
I don't think its that exp if you compared with the finished tables - http://www.afiah.com.my/banquettable.htm
Else can buy this and chop to 5ft https://www.lazada.com.my/products/white-la....16389.126158.0
Wow thanks!
tzuen
post Aug 13 2019, 04:02 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(alex_leo @ Aug 13 2019, 03:37 PM)
Wow thanks!
Or this as well https://www.woodpanel.com.my/
Dev96 P
post Aug 14 2019, 12:20 AM

Probation

Hi bro, how do i get in to7ch with you?

I have some wood work to be done.

Regards,

Dev69

quote=PowerPC,Nov 24 2017, 03:58 PM]
Hi all, if you are looking solid wood to make a part of your house renovation work, or a part of your yard, garden, or even living room, you will need to have a look for below.

I'm from a sawmill, and our timber business was established since 1988, and expanding our business to home user now.

(*to mod, i am not making an advertisement here, as i'm just trying to share some idea of my house by using the timber from my factory to all user here. But, if any of mod discovered that my topic has offended any rules out here, i will be very happy to remove this topic. Thank you.)

I believe many people love wood, because wood can be the closest relationship to mother nature if we use it right. Sometimes , just a simple peace of wood can make your living room feel warm and welcome. But because the tree is getting less, some of you may though the wood is pricey, and premium. Actually, it don't really expensive if you purchase directly from factory. Also, you can use B-Grade wood, it look natural and cost saving.
Few years ago, i am starting using rejected wood (B-Grade) as decoration in my house, you can see those picture below. We can share some idea, too.
This is my tea-pot rack, by using B-Grade 2x4, a lot of natural hole in the wood, it then turn colour to brown after time. Did you know how much it cost here ? Per wood is only RM12.50 (for 10 feet length) , picture shown are 8 feet (RM9.00), 7 feet (RM7.50), and 6 feet (RM6.50).

[attachmentid=9370946]

you will need only Wall-plug nail. Drill a hole in wood, depend on your load preference, usually needed only few nail, and "slot" in the wall-plug nail, voila, you have just make a nice rack.

This rack is using 4 feet 2x4 B-Grade wood, cost only RM3.00 per wood.
[attachmentid=9370948]

Close-look for hole in wood.
[attachmentid=9370951]
I am using steel fence before i make over all fencing to wood. Picture below shown are using 1x3x3ft wood (RM2.80 per pcs), as you can see, after 5 years, i am not even maintaining it, and it is all directly from bandsaw, without any touch-up (planning & paint) , it still stand.

To make it look better, i then nail some 1x4 (RM1.80/pcs) to make a flower-pot.
[attachmentid=9371032]
[attachmentid=9371059]
Here's the self-made letter-box, which only cost very few ringgit to make it. few pcs of 1x4x2ft (RM1.80/pcs) , and 1pcs of 4x4x5ft (RM58.60/pcs).
[attachmentid=9371137]
You may not like the original wood look without painting like my fence above, if you wish to make it more clean and smooth by painting it, you can refer the fencing of my other house below, this 1 using 1x4 , for just (RM3.70/pcs), the whole fencing cost about RM260 (for 30ft length).
[attachmentid=9371518]
[attachmentid=9371523]
There are many table-top-sized wood in my factory, which actually hole and crack, so we rated it the B-Grade wood, and it can't sell to our customer since the usage propose aren't same. The size of such table-top wood usually 3"x12", 3"x14", 3"x16", or 4"x16". Original proposed for this size are making bridge, fishing boat, or other heavy duty use, some how, some logs aren't perfect, it has some hole, so, i then use it to make tea table for guest welcoming in my 2nd living room.

There have different size thus has different price. As your reference, like picture below, i am using 3"x12"x18ft , the table-top alone cost (RM315.00/pcs) , and then, i using the same species of log as support, the log size is 12x12x10ft (RM270/pcs) , and cutting it to 3pcs to support whole

kabyss87
post Aug 23 2019, 08:50 AM

784 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Jul 23 2018, 05:20 PM)
Greetings to Sifu Kayu Sekalian,

Being fascinated with the beauty of wood, i would love to incorporate wood element into the kitchen through open shelf and on the worktop just like as below :

Before discover this thread, I've only found that Ikea had been selling these solid woods for the above project and choices are limited to either birch or pine.

So my questions are:-

1) Are there any better locally sourced wood that is better than what i can get in Ikea for the mentioned project?
2) is it the case that, the harder the wood, the better/long lasting it is?
3) Are there anymore alternatives to non toxic wood finishes other than bee wax, all the non rancid oils and shellac?

Thanks you for your patience to read through all these. Your insight is highly appreciated.  biggrin.gif
Hi PowerPC

Been following your thread since it was first open. Its really cool to see how wood was use and learn quite a lot through so many knowledge sharing by so many wood enthusiast rclxms.gif

I've recently took my keys to my new home and i'm happy to try out some diy wood project of my own. Albeit, its a simple wall shelf but still i'm quite exciting about it

Long story short, i'm trying replicate the wall shelf as per the picture above.

So far i think its either pine wood + varnish could achieve such effect. I'm not sure if there is any other type of wood would replicate that light color feel. My choice would be limited by budget itself. probably expecting it to cost 400+- for 3 planks. (150cm L, 40cm W, 2cm Thickness)

If it were to custom cut, will be any limitation in terms or size, thickness or etc etc? would really like to see if there is anything you recommend.

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.

ar188
post Aug 23 2019, 10:53 AM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Aug 23 2019, 08:50 AM)
Hi PowerPC

Been following your thread since it was first open. Its really cool to see how wood was use and learn quite a lot through so many knowledge sharing by so many wood enthusiast  rclxms.gif

I've recently took my keys to my new home and i'm happy to try out some diy wood project of my own. Albeit, its a simple wall shelf but still i'm quite exciting about it

Long story short, i'm trying replicate the wall shelf as per the picture above.

So far i think its either pine wood + varnish could achieve such effect. I'm not sure if there is any other type of wood would replicate that light color feel. My choice would be limited by budget itself. probably expecting it to cost 400+- for 3 planks. (150cm L, 40cm W, 2cm Thickness)

If it were to custom cut, will be any limitation in terms or size, thickness or etc etc? would really like to see if there is anything you recommend.

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.
yes we have gluedup pine panels which could be made to those size. no issue. 400 can do. thickness is 17-18 mm standard.
finishing, you can just buy rm10-20 clear lacquer spray.

23 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:13 AM