Moving a OS harddisk to a new computer, How to move a OS harddisk to a new PC?

TS3dwin014
post Nov 22 2017, 02:13 AM, updated 7y ago

246 posts

I am planning to change to a new PC but wanted to use back my old harddisk. Is it possible for me to reuse the current operating system harddisk on my new PC? If possible, how should I do it?
stormcloud
post Nov 22 2017, 02:22 AM

53 posts

Pain in the ass for Win OS, usually better to do a full re-install.
Doable, yes ... at least theoretically. I've never attempted it myself.

Can You Move a Windows Installation to Another Computer?

Transfer Installed Windows 7 To a New Computer

tsunade
post Nov 22 2017, 02:26 AM

2,046 posts

what is the OS of your current system?
CyrusWong
post Nov 22 2017, 02:31 AM

1,626 posts

windows 10 i think can

doing this between my i7-4790k desktop pc and hp 6450b notebook

1st time you switch the windows will auto install driver for you

but the windows activation will fark up, even you use command prompt to uninstall key and try to reinstall new 1, even offline activate refuse to accept the installation ID

maybe you can try uninstall the key 1st before detach it from old PC, I never try this before, lazy

but for older os, well.... it's recommended fresh install, maybe win8.1 can but need manual driver install (i guest hah) sweat.gif win7 and lower I highly recommend fresh os install, it's highly you will encounter BSOD.

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Nov 22 2017, 02:35 AM
WebWalker
post Nov 22 2017, 04:55 AM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Your new pc has a hard disk with OS?
Then yes, you can move your hard disk to your new pc as secondary hard disk (slave in old day).

If your new pc don't have a hard disk with OS, then you need to back up all your data from your old hard disk before moving to new pc as you need to format/reinstall Windows into it.

This post has been edited by WebWalker: Nov 22 2017, 04:56 AM
Left4Dead2
post Nov 22 2017, 08:55 AM

1,085 posts

Use clone HDD software the best
TS3dwin014
post Nov 22 2017, 10:29 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(tsunade @ Nov 22 2017, 02:26 AM)
what is the OS of your current system?
Hi, it's windows 7.
TS3dwin014
post Nov 22 2017, 10:32 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ Nov 22 2017, 04:55 AM)
Your new pc has a hard disk with OS?
Then yes,  you can move your hard disk to your new pc as secondary hard disk (slave in old day).

If your new pc don't have a hard disk with OS, then you need to back up all your data from your old hard disk before moving to new pc as you need to format/reinstall Windows into it.
Hi, my new PC don't have OS hard disk. So u mean format/reinstall windows into it, is it after I backup all my data then I move the old Hard disk to the new PC then only I format/reinstall it in new PC?
TS3dwin014
post Nov 22 2017, 10:32 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Nov 22 2017, 02:31 AM)
windows 10 i think can

doing this between my i7-4790k desktop pc and hp 6450b notebook

1st time you switch the windows will auto install driver for you

but the windows activation will fark up, even you use command prompt to uninstall key and try to reinstall new 1, even offline activate refuse to accept the installation ID

maybe you can try uninstall the key 1st before detach it from old PC, I never try this before, lazy

but for older os, well.... it's recommended fresh install, maybe win8.1 can but need manual driver install (i guest hah) sweat.gif win7 and lower I highly recommend fresh os install, it's highly you will encounter BSOD.
If fresh install, is it after I move the hard disk into the new PC? Then I do it in the new PC?
TS3dwin014
post Nov 22 2017, 10:33 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(stormcloud @ Nov 22 2017, 02:22 AM)
Pain in the ass for Win OS, usually better to do a full re-install.
Doable, yes ... at least theoretically. I've never attempted it myself.

Can You Move a Windows Installation to Another Computer?

Transfer Installed Windows 7 To a New Computer
I see, thanks for the link. I will read through it.
air_ed20
post Nov 22 2017, 10:35 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Nov 22 2017, 02:13 AM)

I am planning to change to a new PC but wanted to use back my old harddisk. Is it possible for me to reuse the current operating system harddisk on my new PC? If possible, how should I do it?
For security purposes of your integrity of your current data ensuring you had already back it up...for your information windows plug and play are supported however upon plug in onto a new hardware it will kept detecting it...some even corrupting windows files, occasionally u can still use it but u may notice your device manager comes up with a lot of !!! and some hardware can't be use...bios, usb, etc etc...

good luck
CyrusWong
post Nov 22 2017, 11:14 AM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Nov 22 2017, 10:32 AM)
If fresh install, is it after I move the hard disk into the new PC? Then I do it in the new PC?
yes

seems like you never done clean installation

unless got sifu sit beside teach you, else I suggest just send go PC shop.

dirty installation is much easy but of coz not the best

just my suggestion la, of coz if you want to try it you can do it yourself

there are simpler way for clean installation too, just insert the disc to pc, boot to the disc, then follow on screen instruction, when got into win10 desktop, it will auto download driver and install it for you, done.

(remember to backup every files you want from the hdd first)

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Nov 22 2017, 11:25 AM
omg7788
post Nov 22 2017, 11:16 AM

Kampung Style Information Technology
431 posts

Manual doing, from old pc backup all your important data to a external hdd, then now you can install your old hdd into your new pc and reformat/fresh install windows on it. After done, just transfer back all your data from the external hdd into it.
TS3dwin014
post Nov 23 2017, 09:45 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(air_ed20 @ Nov 22 2017, 10:35 AM)
For security purposes of your integrity of your current data ensuring you had already back it up...for your information windows plug and play are supported however upon plug in onto a new hardware it will kept detecting it...some even corrupting windows files, occasionally u can still use it but u may notice your device manager comes up with a lot of !!! and some hardware can't be use...bios, usb, etc etc...

good luck
Ok, thanks for the tips.
TS3dwin014
post Nov 23 2017, 09:48 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Nov 22 2017, 11:14 AM)
yes

seems like you never done clean installation

unless got sifu sit beside teach you, else I suggest just send go PC shop.

dirty installation is much easy but of coz not the best

just my suggestion la, of coz if you want to try it you can do it yourself

there are simpler way for clean installation too, just insert the disc to pc, boot to the disc, then follow on screen instruction, when got into win10 desktop, it will auto download driver and install it for you, done.

(remember to backup every files you want from the hdd first)
Alright. Thanks for the guide. Will try the clean installation method.
TS3dwin014
post Nov 23 2017, 09:48 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(omg7788 @ Nov 22 2017, 11:16 AM)
Manual doing, from old pc backup all your important data to a external hdd, then now you can install your old hdd into your new pc and reformat/fresh install windows on it. After done, just transfer back all your data from the external hdd into it.
Ok. Thanks for the guide. Got a better understanding on the steps now.

0.0120sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:34 PM