Gatherings Nikon D80 users report here!, Calling all Lord of Darth 80.....

Gadget_Freak
post Apr 23 2007, 01:03 AM

414 posts

wah, later comes out 350D, 400D and 30D threads as well sweat.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Apr 23 2007, 11:15 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Apr 23 2007, 10:33 PM)
why i so outcast?  rclxub.gif no thread for ppl like me  cry.gif
D200? or D2X? brows.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Apr 24 2007, 03:29 PM

414 posts

he using sony camera now.

sony w800 tongue.gif
Gadget_Freak
post May 2 2007, 11:36 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 2 2007, 10:56 PM)
a camera is not meant to be left from harm's way. i would take it anywhere. it's gonna spoil or get outdated one day so might as well just make full use of it.

and a lil sea water wont hurt it at all..
agreed, u could drop it from the top of the mountain too..haha..

QUOTE(wlcling @ May 2 2007, 10:59 PM)
that's what i thought too, but alot of ppl are advising me saying saltwater is a killer! thinking twice...
maybe cover ur camera body with plastic as external protection?
Gadget_Freak
post May 8 2007, 08:42 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(undazztood @ May 8 2007, 06:24 PM)
i will buy new lens soon and i'm looking for nikkor 18-200vr. is it ok if i use this lens with my D80?
if lazy to swap lens and wan VR badly, get this, else Tamron 18-250.

if ok to swap lens, better get Tamron 17-50 f2.8 and tele u choose
Gadget_Freak
post May 8 2007, 09:56 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ May 8 2007, 08:45 PM)
1.4 is way overbudget.

Would this lens be good for indoors like for family dinner shots and also maybe at small events/gatherings?

The only downside is that there isn't zoom isn't it?

If i want a prime with zoom, it'd cost a bomb right? like the 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR.
70-200 not a prime. And dun get 70-200 f2.8 if u dun need to.

50mm is the godlike lens for portrait.

If u want small events/gathering, family etc..get Tamron 17-50
Gadget_Freak
post May 8 2007, 11:23 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ May 8 2007, 10:48 PM)
I want to get a lens for that purpose, but I am on a budget.

I am stuck with my kit lens 18mm-135mm.
and seriously why ur kitlens can't do those kind of shooting?
Gadget_Freak
post May 8 2007, 11:43 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ May 8 2007, 11:33 PM)
they can :-p

i just wanna buy a new lens arnd rm300-400. Any recommendation?

I am eyeing on a 50mm F1.8 lens.
RM300-400, either 50mm prime or 70-300G only. lol

seems like everyone also interested in 18-200VR. I rather opt for Tamron 18-250.
Gadget_Freak
post May 9 2007, 03:29 PM

414 posts

to 18-200VR tongue.gif

i dam annoyed by the 18-200VR seriously
Gadget_Freak
post May 9 2007, 04:00 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 9 2007, 03:37 PM)
dun get 18-200mmVR

get 17-55mm f/2.8 + 28-70mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8
fully agreed..haha
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 13 2007, 09:30 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(rezzz @ Jun 13 2007, 09:16 PM)
what's with my gear la.. wink.gif my gear is even lower, its D70s, not D80...
I don't have superb lens.. I wanna get 17-55mm F2.8 (if got money whistling.gif ) I also don't have 70-20mm F2.8 lens.. I only have 70-300mm G type. I don't have any VR lens... cry.gif cheap cheap lens only i bought cry.gif not even external flash.. (but I don't plan to buy also. hehe.. tongue.gif )
But u have a Sigma 10-20 that i drool.gif of...

And SP90 for macro lovers
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 21 2007, 08:45 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(rezzz @ Jun 21 2007, 07:55 PM)
does anyone ever try Sigma 24-70mm F2.8? I was thinking of buying it, but I don't know is it good or not.

I wanna sell off my 18-125mm, & get something to cover between 20mm-70mm. (to cover between 10-20mm and 70-300mm)

my choice is sigma 24-70mm F2.8, tamron 28-75mm F2.8 or tokina 28-80mm F2.8.  But if I get starting from 28mm then it will be a huge gap between 20mm to 28mm..

hmm.. what you all think?
Just my opinion. Get the Tamron or Sigma 17-50. From the gears u have, u better end up with this. As u said, if u get 24-70, u will have a gap between 20-24, and gap at wide angle is more noticeable than tele end..

With 17-50, yes u will lose the gap between 50-70, but at tele, it really not noticeable, a few more steps in front would be able to compensate it.

Yes, 17-50 clash with ur Sigma 10-20 then, but u have a less chance to swap lens biggrin.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 23 2007, 11:03 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Jun 23 2007, 09:02 PM)
Interested in D80 but EOS400D very tempting le. CAN ANYONE CONVINCE me why to buy a Nikon? Canon has this dust cleaning thing, CMOS and is much more cheaper...

Why D80?
The dust cleaner in 400D is next to useless, it is proven. The most effective is in Olympus body. I just don't understand how hard it can be to use a god dam blower to do the blardy blow job

Seriously, i really won't consider 400D at all. The body built and grip just turn me off.
For me, if u got budget, go for D80 else i would rather spend my money on Sony A100 or Olympus E510 or even Pentax K100D whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Gadget_Freak: Jun 23 2007, 11:03 PM
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 24 2007, 04:48 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Jun 24 2007, 03:50 AM)
but spec wise 400D wins hands down
i want to know how 400D win hands down D80 in term of specs
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 24 2007, 04:18 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jun 23 2007, 10:25 AM)

I finally got my MB-D80, just in time for Japan GT in Sepang tomorrow. Anyone else going?

I got the MB-D80 for RM480 and another EN-EL3e for RM170. I think the battery was a lil more expensive.
I quoted RM440 only for battery grip biggrin.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 25 2007, 10:05 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jun 24 2007, 10:43 PM)
I get quote for Battery grip and extra battery at Rm595 only.
Got my D80 today at the Camera fair in lowyat. brows.gif
I'm quite sure the battery is 3rd party, as original alone cost around RM160-170.

For those who want to get battery grip, i can help to buy, just PM me.
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 29 2007, 09:55 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(rezzz @ Jun 29 2007, 09:04 PM)
the first 2 pic use tamron 90mm and the rest use 10-20mm.

tamron 90mm about rm1395, sigma 10-20mm about rm2375 now. (according to shashinki.com)

I bought the tamron 90mm Rm1350, & sigma 10-20mm about Rm1800. Dunno why the sigma 10-20mm price increase, same price as sigma 12-24mm.. doh.gif  luckly I have bought it..
not the sigma price increase, but there is high probability that ur sigma is import set with only shop warranty
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 29 2007, 10:26 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jun 29 2007, 10:03 PM)
Whoa , extremely expensive for the 90mm.
Could better get 18-200mm Vr top up another seven hundred bucks yea ?  brows.gif  tongue.gif
for me, getting a 18-200 VR for RM2.6k is a joke
Gadget_Freak
post Jul 5 2007, 10:11 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(mEoWsMArt^ @ Jul 5 2007, 08:06 AM)
I'm waiting for my battery packs to be charged. Last nite charged my Nikon pack, later after work will charge the aftermarket batt pack
Errr...actually I wanted to do the same thing...hold it while sleep. But due to my nature of sleep habits, I'm afraid the D80 will fall from my bed! hehehe
By the way, I got my D80 with accessories for RM5700. Package includes:

1 x D80 bodykit
1 x 18-135mm lens
1 x SB-800 speedlight (with Sanyo rechargeable battery)
1 x EN-EL3e Li-Ion battery
1 x after market battery
1 x original Nikon bag
1 x 2GB Nikon SD-Card
1 x tripod
1 x UV filter
1 x lens blower

What do u guys think about the price? Is the price ok?
kena potong kao kao by the shop
Gadget_Freak
post Jul 11 2007, 03:53 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(oracle @ Jul 11 2007, 03:49 PM)
Hi guys,

I just shot some photos in my friends wedding. I must say it's a good challenge. The lighting are difficult to catch the correct WB for the shots.
I have something that i don't quite understand. How can i get the correct WB for my shots? And about the shuttle speed, i read from DCM that if i'm using a 50mm lens, i have to set the shuttle speed to 1/50, then what about 135mm? If i set it to 1/135, it's too fast to capture any lights in the shot.
Please advice.

Use Kelvin temp to adjsut ur WB, test few shots and adjust correctly, or compensate ur Auto WB.

Else, shoot RAW to be safe.

The shutter speed is the rules of thumb to get not blur photo for equivalent focal length. But of course if ur hand can handle better than that, u can slower down the shutter or if ur hand shake too much, even 1/f also might not be enough.

In that case, boost ur ISO or use flash

0.0221sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:33 PM