MacOS X Sleep the display

TSkwekeugene
post Apr 23 2007, 12:01 AM, updated 18y ago

1,479 posts

Hey all,

I found this niffy little tool while surfing on Digg.com

This application enables you to completely TURN OFF the display without shutting the lid of your Macbook. (note: this is not dimming the display.. it's completely OFF ). You don't have to wait 1 minte for the display to sleep anymore biggrin.gif

Here's the link. Comes in an application or widget form.

http://linestreet.googlepages.com/sleepdisplaywidget

enjoy!
lokgotz
post Apr 23 2007, 02:14 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

nice....but i am looking for something totally the opposite.....

the laptop remains running instead of going into sleep when the lid is closed.....heheh...

been looking for it for some time but cant find it.....
hellojeffo
post Apr 25 2007, 08:25 AM

349 posts

why in the world would you want that? ur laptop's gonna get really hot if ya do so, coz the ventilation fan is at the joint between the screen and the main body...
TSkwekeugene
post Apr 25 2007, 02:50 PM

1,479 posts

Because sometimes you want to keep the download running (maybe porn movies ) while working. Not something nice that you would like your boss to see.. tongue.gif
civic98
post Apr 25 2007, 03:01 PM

1,255 posts

But you CAN do that, well at least when connected to external display, by waking up the notebook with a bluetooth keyboard after closing the lid.

Not sure if it works the same when NOT connected to external display.
wei
post Apr 25 2007, 03:53 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Apr 25 2007, 03:01 PM)
But you CAN do that, well at least when connected to external display, by waking up the notebook with a bluetooth keyboard after closing the lid.

Not sure if it works the same when NOT connected to external display.
it works the same. just that you dun "see" your mac. it's good if you use ur mac as file server.
prasys
post Apr 26 2007, 05:04 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Apr 23 2007, 02:14 AM)
nice....but i am looking for something totally the opposite.....

the laptop remains running instead of going into sleep when the lid is closed.....heheh...

been looking for it for some time but cant find it.....
http://binaervarianz.de/projekte/programmieren/meltmac/

it prevents that

WARNING : The laptop might overheat...I am not responsible for anything...So if it goes kaboomie....Its just to bad...use it at your own risk !
samus_ng
post Apr 27 2007, 08:27 PM

258 posts

Woah any app that allows my iMac's display to turn off but makes the downloads still run would be neat...I'm looking high and low for such an App...

Added on April 27, 2007, 8:27 pmWoah any app that allows my iMac's display to turn off but makes the downloads still run would be neat...I'm looking high and low for such an App...

This post has been edited by samus_ng: Apr 27 2007, 08:27 PM
TSkwekeugene
post Apr 27 2007, 08:52 PM

1,479 posts

samus_ng, I think the Sleep Display app on the 1st post of this thread would also work. Give it a try!
civic98
post Apr 27 2007, 09:08 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 27 2007, 08:27 PM)
Woah any app that allows my iMac's display to turn off but makes the downloads still run would be neat...I'm looking high and low for such an App...

Added on April 27, 2007, 8:27 pmWoah any app that allows my iMac's display to turn off but makes the downloads still run would be neat...I'm looking high and low for such an App...
Just set your display to go to sleep, provided that you didn't set your system to sleep.
samus_ng
post Apr 27 2007, 10:13 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Apr 27 2007, 08:52 PM)
samus_ng, I think the Sleep Display app on the 1st post of this thread would also work. Give it a try!
That app is weird... I made it go to sleep with that app and in less than a sec it comes back on no matter what.
TSkwekeugene
post Apr 28 2007, 12:19 AM

1,479 posts

There's a bug on the software. Just make sure you DON'T set your display to sleep settings at "never". Set it to 5 mins or whatever.

Then you display wouldn't turn off and come on again..
d@odao
post Apr 28 2007, 12:21 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

for me to make the display on all the time...i use an app called doze...
TSkwekeugene
post Apr 28 2007, 12:40 AM

1,479 posts

Just set the display to "never" sleep. Need extra app meh?
samus_ng
post Apr 28 2007, 05:26 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Apr 28 2007, 12:19 AM)
There's a bug on the software. Just make sure you DON'T set your display to sleep settings at "never". Set it to 5 mins or whatever.

Then you display wouldn't turn off and come on again..
haha thanks you fixed my problem tongue.gif I like the people here, they really help alot.
Blairas
post Mar 9 2008, 06:52 PM

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Apr 23 2007, 12:01 AM)
Hey all,

I found this niffy little tool while surfing on Digg.com

This application enables you to completely TURN OFF the display without shutting the lid of your Macbook. (note: this is not dimming the display.. it's completely OFF ). You don't have to wait 1 minte for the display to sleep anymore biggrin.gif

Here's the link. Comes in an application or widget form.

http://linestreet.googlepages.com/sleepdisplaywidget

enjoy!
apparently the software doesn't work for OS Leopard. I'd like to contribute this alternative . Hope this helps.

http://www.imalc.com/Site/SleepDisplay.html

TSkwekeugene
post Mar 9 2008, 10:45 PM

1,479 posts

In Leopard, you dont need any 3rd party software.

You can set a "Hot Corner" to sleep the display...
Blairas
post Mar 10 2008, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Mar 9 2008, 10:45 PM)
In Leopard, you dont need any 3rd party software.

You can set a "Hot Corner" to sleep the display...
ohh.. many thanks

0.0179sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:40 PM