TScvshi515
post Apr 22 2007, 11:23 PM, updated 19y ago

1,188 posts

Sony DSC-T10
Sony DSC-T20

Casio EXILIM EX-Z75
Casio EXILIM EX-S770

Currently I'm looking for a good and slim =P camera as for business trip/vacation, these are some of the model playing on my mind. Or sifus here might have a better option?

Hence I would like to have some comments from all the sifus here on all these camera, and which one would be the most outstanding in term of:

1. Picture quality (also was the highest ISO mean the better the picture quality are?) And I kinda like to take nightshot, so hope to get a good nightshot camera.
2. Most reliable and tough
3. longest battery life
4. Users friendly as I'm not pro in photography... just play with K800i from time to time
5. Most worthy in term of what you get for what you paid...

Anyway my budget was around RM1200 +-10%.... sad.gif so not afford to get SonyDSC-T100.... oh anyway can anyone provide me the price list for the particular model mentioned? Thanks

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Apr 22 2007, 11:26 PM
leetplayer
post Apr 22 2007, 11:30 PM

O'le
984 posts

1. the higher the ISO the more noise the pic will have
2. u expect all camera will break easily?
3. depends on the battery..
4. lol.. handphone camera are soooo different from digicam..
5. yeah..

goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 12:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Apr 22 2007, 11:30 PM)
1. the higher the ISO the more noise the pic will have

ehh. let's not forget to mention that the main purpose of higher ISO setting is to allow it to capture more lights (used in low-light conditions)

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Apr 22 2007, 11:30 PM)
3. depends on the battery..

depends on usage also. on the LCD more often and you'll see the battery drain like silly.

phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2007, 08:49 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Apr 22 2007, 11:23 PM)
Sony DSC-T10
Sony DSC-T20

Casio EXILIM EX-Z75
Casio EXILIM EX-S770

Currently I'm looking for a good and slim =P camera as for business trip/vacation, these are some of the model playing on my mind. Or sifus here might have a better option?

Hence I would like to have some comments from all the sifus here on all these camera, and which one would be the most outstanding in term of:

1. Picture quality (also was the highest ISO mean the better the picture quality are?) And I kinda like to take nightshot, so hope to get a good nightshot camera.
2. Most reliable and tough
3. longest battery life
4. Users friendly as I'm not pro in photography... just play with K800i from time to time
5. Most worthy in term of what you get for what you paid...

Anyway my budget was around RM1200 +-10%....  sad.gif so not afford to get  SonyDSC-T100.... oh anyway can anyone provide me the price list for the particular model mentioned? Thanks
Ever considered a Canon?? biggrin.gif I was in your shoes 2 months back. Was searching high and low and everywhere for "the-most-worth-my-money" camera. Every different shop owner had different recommendations of different brands. But I finally settled for a Canon Ixus 850IS. User-friendly interface (I'm just as much as a noob as you would be in digital imaging). Battery life quite impressive. I could get more than 400 shots per charge (minimal viewing). Nightshots slightly poor (coz I refuse to lug around with a tripod) for my case, but day shots and indoor shots are quite impressive. Probably can get one at around RM1300 nowadays. Just a suggestion. thumbup.gif
nairud
post Apr 23 2007, 09:02 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Get the Fuji F31FD. It's within your budget bracket and it beats 850IS based on picture reviews.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 23 2007, 11:07 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 09:02 AM)
Get the Fuji F31FD. It's within your budget bracket and it beats 850IS based on picture reviews.
Agreed. You can check the review of F31fd here:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilmf31fd/

If only I had the money, I would've gotten that already.
phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2007, 12:11 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 09:02 AM)
But the Fuji F31fd sucks big time in terms of physical looks. Haha..... Looks to me more like a block of butter. And it does not have IS... Set back.... tongue.gif
mememe12
post Apr 23 2007, 12:32 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

=.=...
FUJI - f31fd
Canon - Ixus 850IS
Nikon - S8
Sony - dunno.. just dont like
Olympus - heard tat spoil easily..
greyPJ
post Apr 23 2007, 12:39 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Apr 23 2007, 12:11 PM)
But the Fuji F31fd sucks big time in terms of physical looks. Haha..... Looks to me more like a block of butter. And it does not have IS... Set back....  tongue.gif
if i want the best built cam, i buy lumix.
if i want the best look cam that looks like a piece of jewelry, i buy sony.
if i care about IS, i buy panny, OIS is the best.

if you want the best IQ, fuji is the king.

850IS is for the noobs.
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 12:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Apr 23 2007, 11:07 AM)
Agreed. You can check the review of F31fd here:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilmf31fd/

review is just 1 thing.

should check out the shots from Fuji F31fd. biggrin.gif they look great!!
nairud
post Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Apr 23 2007, 12:11 PM)
But the Fuji F31fd sucks big time in terms of physical looks. Haha..... Looks to me more like a block of butter. And it does not have IS... Set back....  tongue.gif
You want a camera that looks freaking good in your hands and get chick to drool at you or you want a camera that shoots great?

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 12:56 PM)
review is just 1 thing.
should check out the shots from Fuji F31fd. biggrin.gif they look great!!
that's the whole point a review is written. Comparison pics are inside the review
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 01:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM)
that's the whole point a review is written. Comparison pics are inside the review

i wasn't referring to the review and the accompanying picture comparisons la.

i'm referring to actual users who shot great shots with their F31fd. smile.gif it's found in one of the posts at F31fd (or was it Fuji) thread.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 23 2007, 01:21 PM
mememe12
post Apr 23 2007, 01:40 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 23 2007, 12:39 PM)
if i want the best built cam, i buy lumix.
if i want the best look cam that looks like a piece of jewelry, i buy sony.
if i care about IS, i buy panny, OIS is the best.

if you want the best IQ, fuji is the king.

850IS is for the noobs.
sweat.gif sweat.gif wah.. insult 850IS until so gai.. =.='' but i think someone here taking great shots with 850IS... dunno panasonic88 or dunno wat 88.. forgot liao..
phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2007, 02:57 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM)
You want a camera that looks freaking good in your hands and get chick to drool at you or you want a camera that shoots great?
Personally, most sub-compacts performances are almost the same when the pictures are being developed in 4R size. Not much differences can be spotted unless being viewed digitally and enlarged. So, I would get the best looking camera (physical outlook wise). rclxms.gif Sorry if I offended you (nairud) in any way because I prefer a camera that looks good in my hands. If you really want superb quality, go for DSLR la.
??!!
post Apr 23 2007, 03:43 PM

2,548 posts

Yes. Consumers are always right.
They decide which product fits their needs/wants best.
If Mr Consumer wants a camera that serves as a fashion statement, who is to say he is wrong?

goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 03:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Apr 23 2007, 02:57 PM)
If you really want superb quality, go for DSLR la.

if you browse our gallery, not all DSLR will produce good quality due to the cameraman la. haha. tongue.gif
phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2007, 04:21 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 03:55 PM)
if you browse our gallery, not all DSLR will produce good quality due to the cameraman la. haha. tongue.gif
I absolutely agree with you. biggrin.gif Great pictures are produced by talented cameramen. Having personally used a Canon 400D and a Nikon D40 owned by my cousins on several trips with my family, I have to admit. The photos that I took with them were crap (according to my cousins). Haha.... That's why I never thought of buying a DSLR coz I don't know how to use them, and they're huge. Small PnS are the best.... for me, at least.
TScvshi515
post Apr 23 2007, 08:05 PM

1,188 posts

Woh I'm totally lost.... any web site that I can see all camera comparisons?
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 08:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

have you tried http://www.dpreview.com ?
TScvshi515
post Apr 25 2007, 10:00 PM

1,188 posts

okok, sorry was kinda busy recently...

But just thinking to get something slim...

Do you guys think the Fuji FinePix Z5 vs Casio S770 vs Nikon S50 vs Sony T-100 (second though it has a weak flash problem).. in term of the characteristic that I mentioned which one was the champion??

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Apr 25 2007, 10:24 PM

0.0190sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:02 AM