RM2k-3k Budget for video recording camera, DSLR,mirrorless, gopro, other?

which should i get?

DSLR [ 2 ] ** [10.53%]
Mirrorless [ 10 ] ** [52.63%]
GoPro hero 5/6? [ 4 ] ** [21.05%]
Others [ 3 ] ** [15.79%]
Total Votes: 19
Guests cannot vote 

TSscarlion
post Nov 20 2017, 11:55 PM, updated 7y ago

102 posts

hi guys, i am really blur about which type of camera i should get based on my budget...

the video i am recording will be like most probably travelling, sometimes indoor shooting at home(maybe?)

do i really need to get external mic for these type of camera?

mirrorless tend to get overheat? confused.gif

hmm icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by scarlion: Nov 21 2017, 12:08 PM
Loseeker
post Nov 21 2017, 12:50 AM

Apa Macam
872 posts

canon 70d, canon 77d or Even Canon 80d.
kingkingyyk
post Nov 21 2017, 07:39 AM

15,425 posts

QUOTE(scarlion @ Nov 20 2017, 11:55 PM)
hi guys, i am really blur about which type of camera i should get based on my budget...

the video i am recording will be like most probably travelling, sometimes indoor shooting at home(maybe?)

do i really need to get external mic for these type of camera?

hmm icon_question.gif
A6000? smile.gif Yes, external mic gives much better sound quality by cutting down the wind noise & provides higher dynamics.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 21 2017, 07:39 AM
TSscarlion
post Nov 21 2017, 12:07 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Nov 21 2017, 12:50 AM)
hmm..seems to be exceed for my budget anyway thanks rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 21 2017, 07:39 AM)
A6000?  smile.gif  Yes, external mic gives much better sound quality by cutting down the wind noise & provides higher dynamics.
i saw some comments about the overheat issues on this sony confused.gif

are mirrorless capable of mounting external mic like what dslr did? confused.gif
TSscarlion
post Nov 21 2017, 12:07 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Nov 21 2017, 12:50 AM)
hmm..seems to be exceed for my budget anyway thanks rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 21 2017, 07:39 AM)
A6000?  smile.gif  Yes, external mic gives much better sound quality by cutting down the wind noise & provides higher dynamics.
i saw some comments about the overheat issues on this sony confused.gif

are mirrorless capable of mounting external mic like what dslr did? confused.gif
Rice_Owl84
post Nov 21 2017, 03:13 PM

603 posts

If you're talking you need mic. You can get rode video micro or a takstar mic. And just check if the camera has a Mic Jack.

Probably a canon 200d will be best for you.

If you're doing selfies style video. A canon 200d,10-18mm lens and rode video micro. U should be good with these 3 items.
Loseeker
post Nov 21 2017, 05:13 PM

Apa Macam
872 posts

QUOTE(scarlion @ Nov 21 2017, 12:07 PM)
hmm..seems to be exceed for my budget  anyway thanks rclxms.gif
i saw some comments about the overheat issues on this sony  confused.gif

KLDSLR.com is selling a used canon 70d for RM2499, can check it out.
http://www.kldslr.com/Used-Canon-70D-Body-...tml-17102821750

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Nov 21 2017, 03:13 PM)
If you're talking you need mic.  You can get rode video micro or a takstar mic.  And just check if the camera has a Mic Jack.

Probably a canon 200d will be best for you.

If you're doing selfies style video.  A canon 200d,10-18mm lens and rode video micro.  U should be good with these 3 items.
Scarlion, see, even rice_owl said the same about canon 200d. thumbup.gif

kingkingyyk
post Nov 21 2017, 07:57 PM

15,425 posts

QUOTE(scarlion @ Nov 21 2017, 12:07 PM)
i saw some comments about the overheat issues on this sony  confused.gif

It will be fine ~15 minutes continuous recording per video. Yes, it can connect to external mic through the multi-purpose hotshoe interface.

Video quality wise, a6000 is better with it's XAVCS codec. 70D suffers from moire when you shoot high frequency texture, like shirt & roof.
The AVCHD 17Mbps already beat Canon 86Mbps codec, let alone the XAVCS that can provides up to 50Mbps bitrate. So the video from A6000 eats up less space while providing better details, in short, more efficient.

..... But, you might want to take a look at RX100 III, it has full sensor readout instead of line skipping, hence the video output can even beat full frame camera without full sensor readout. The downside is it doesn't have mic input. brows.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 21 2017, 08:08 PM
bjy8138
post Nov 21 2017, 08:00 PM

18 posts

Sony FDR-X3000V Action Camera
Yuva1790
post Jan 10 2018, 04:33 PM

101 posts

You can try for Sony A6300 too. Now the price has dropped to around RM3700 to RM3800. Can get kit lens, a 64GB card, an extra battery and even bag! 😁

Maybe this i found can help. https://youtu.be/nw0MPrGHgyo

This post has been edited by Yuva1790: Jan 10 2018, 04:36 PM
darrenwks
post Jan 15 2018, 03:02 PM

220 posts

a6000 is good but has no audio jack, thus very very limited external mic choices.

If you're planning to do vlog i suggest you get a camera that can flip the screen so that you know what you're recording
rEktOr
post Jan 15 2018, 03:27 PM

376 posts

for travelling? i would say go for those video/action camera with gimbal. like dji osmo (not the mobile version) or gopro with karma grip.

Comparison Review

DJI Osmo

GoPro Karma Grip + GoPro

0.0413sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:13 PM