Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi 5/5 Plus Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 450/625.

raulxiver
post Dec 29 2017, 02:58 AM

348 posts

any sifu kindly enlighten me..

when its is available here, better to buy this phone online (eg. lazada) or at their klcc store? any difference in term of warranty & price?

raulxiver
post Jan 3 2018, 06:03 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 23 2017, 10:55 AM)
Can't wait for launching biggrin.gif
6inch lcd screen really useful, so I can let go my mi max 2 anytime
whats wrong with mi max2?

largest battery
usb -c
wider screen
gorilla glass 3
raulxiver
post Feb 5 2018, 10:04 PM

348 posts

hi, im planning to buy those cheap QC 3.0 charger at lazada for RM30+

is it reliable? will it roast my R5+ ?

This post has been edited by raulxiver: Feb 5 2018, 10:07 PM
raulxiver
post Feb 5 2018, 11:08 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(dark_winter1314 @ Feb 5 2018, 11:00 PM)
better check ur set carefully , I just return my set from wow phone...  vmad.gif
how u returned?

they refund to u ? or replace another unit?
raulxiver
post Feb 5 2018, 11:26 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(dark_winter1314 @ Feb 5 2018, 11:24 PM)
complaint thru lazada  mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif
I think they use test point method...can found a screw dented mark beside the screen  ranting.gif
in this case, will they honor the refund? coz its cheating already. the page also missing liao
raulxiver
post Feb 5 2018, 11:34 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 5 2018, 11:32 PM)
Really big waste of time. Crooked seller.
yes, im one of the victim lol. i want them to cover the return courier fee as well. how do i request for it?
raulxiver
post Feb 5 2018, 11:38 PM

348 posts

sorry this is my first time doing refund. previous order all fine

do i need to open the parcel & show them the defect for return/refund? or just simply return the unopened parcel to them? since i already know its refurbished unit.

This post has been edited by raulxiver: Feb 5 2018, 11:39 PM
raulxiver
post Feb 8 2018, 07:22 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Aerobrain @ Feb 8 2018, 11:35 AM)
Order same Redmi 5+ 4+64 from wow phone rm620-15.

Den see you guys report faulty phone. This morning lazada motor came. I reject it. He buat muka masam ask why reject ? Want reject awal awal reject la. I say the item got problem i want to return it. Den buat bodoh only.

At Frist i tot i lucky nia found cheap gem. Mana tau cheaper for few hundred bucks but risk for loads of headache.

1) lang fang unit ada chances get lemon unit is high
2) its a force flashed unit with unstable rom and bootloader locked. I have 0 knowledge in flashing. Ada chance brick, plus have to void warranty doing first doing test point. Then 15 days if want flash global itu pon kalau approve if reject wait again.
3) warranty status unknown for this unit coz wow phone took down the sale page.

Lesson learned : pay more if want peace of mind. Its cheap for a reason.

Sorry delivery guy~ hopefully you return the unit safely to lazada to initiate refund. Hehe
Same here, gonna black list this seller till kingdom come.

Thank him also for giving a lesson to not buy ex ordinarily cheap stuff in future.

raulxiver
post Feb 18 2018, 11:57 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Feb 18 2018, 10:49 AM)
Hi guys.

Just got my Redmi 5 Plus official Xiaomi Malaysia set few days back.
Have been using this device as a secondary phone to complement my daily driver iPhone X.

Snapped this photo while I was testing the camera at the shop.

First impressions: -

Packaging
First and foremost, I love the new box design! Also, its great that Xiaomi is even bundling a factory-fitted matte screen protector on the phone itself right out of the box. Even a nice black-translucent silicone case is included with embossed wordings 'Designed by Mi' on the case itself.

Screen
Very impressive for a sub-RM800 device. Great colours and sharpness. No complaints. I turn on Reading Mode permanently and set Contrast to 'Standard' for better colour-saturation. As this is one of the newer Xiaomi phones that use the 18:9 display ratio, it really gives a big difference compared to older Xiaomi 16:9 devices like the Redmi Note 4, and Mi Max 2. I mainly love how YouTube videos look in wide-screen mode. The curved cut-off corners also make it look very nice like many other recent 18:9 display ratio phones.

Battery Life
Totally awesome. I tested this on 4G outdoors on data-roaming (as I'm currently not in Malaysia) and I am still able to get 8-9 hours Screen-On-Time (SOT) before the battery hits 20%. Even though a fast-charger is not included, the phone does support fast charging with a QC2.0/3.0 charger. The cable supplied is also fast-charge compatible too. 

Performance
Even though the SnapDragon 625 SoC (System On Chip) is quite old, the performance is still really good on the Redmi 5 Plus running on MIUI version 9. The interface is pretty snappy and there are no lags or slowdowns while navigating. I noticed some slow loading times only when playing certain graphic-intensive games.

Design and Build Quality
The phone feels truly solid in the hand. The extra tall design (due to the new 18:9 ratio display) makes it look stunning and premium. Furthermore, since Xiaomi has ditched the capacitive navigation buttons at the bottom (which cheapens the look of previous Xiaomi phones) and went for on-screen buttons in the display itself, it gives the Redmi 5 Plus a more streamlined look.

Camera
Not having OIS is really a deal-breaker here. You need to keep your hands super steady if you want to capture photos indoors as the camera shutter itself is not very fast to compensate for the lack of OIS. However, aside from OIS, the camera produces some really nice photos with great colour output, and it is much better than many other previous Xiaomi devices (higher end ones included). I believe Xiaomi has did some vast improvement in the camera software processing algorithm recently.

Conclusion
Excellent value for money at RM749 with official Xiaomi Malaysia warranty. My experience with this phone has been enjoyable so far. Highly recommended!
Yours is 3gb/32gb or 4gb/64gb ?

raulxiver
post Mar 1 2018, 03:20 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ridzuan007 @ Mar 1 2018, 12:15 PM)
why much cheaper compared to mi store?
raulxiver
post Mar 1 2018, 05:50 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ridzuan007 @ Mar 1 2018, 05:27 PM)
maybe on sale, idk. but the seller is trusted
u sure? if u read this thread there is a case where he sells at rm620 for imported set..
raulxiver
post Mar 1 2018, 09:56 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(ridzuan007 @ Mar 1 2018, 09:26 PM)
title says ORI MY Set, and they send imported set?
wew should avoid then
no.. read from here

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87908828

0.0795sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:27 PM