Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi 5/5 Plus Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 450/625.

clement5949
post Mar 2 2018, 03:32 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 2 2018, 07:50 AM)
My conclusion for this Redmi 5 plus.

You will buy this phone is probably due to their battery life with quick charger for after market 3.0A charger.
The standard charger is 2.0A without any QC.
This phone for more into bigger screen and better grabbing on hand.
Better screen resolution with color, doesn't give you eye side pain due to usage in longer period.
Camera is good , but not built in image stabilization also same as Mi A1/5X, not as good in low light for hand shakes.
Music sound is awesome, loud and clear, much better than my Mi Mix 2.
Overall is cheap and good phone for late 2017 model.
Software Miui design for user friendly, unlike pure Google on A1, overall is less features than the miui 9.
This phone more worthy and what you pay for. biggrin.gif

Anyway mine is come with Chinese rom laugh.gif
i am thinking to buy from taobao

since u said urs is chinese rom, r u able to install google framework, google service, google account manager and google playstore? this is my main concern that stop me from buying
clement5949
post Mar 2 2018, 03:51 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 2 2018, 03:35 PM)
can install. but you are stuck with some chinese apps that cannot be uninstalled (not that you's use it either). if you can live with that then go ahead.
May i know which type of chinese app?

i actually just wanna use it as my backup phone

i recently had flashed a pure android to my old s5 but it seems like it may not last too long

so wanna consider get redmi 5 plus
clement5949
post Mar 2 2018, 04:42 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Mar 2 2018, 04:08 PM)
Can install google app.

Step 1.

Thanks for the guide biggrin.gif
clement5949
post Mar 2 2018, 04:45 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Mar 2 2018, 04:42 PM)
Lol you welcome
if i buy from this
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Global-Vers...addresstype=600

it already comes with google framework right?
clement5949
post Mar 5 2018, 04:13 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Mar 5 2018, 02:49 PM)
Just decided to order the 3/32 local set from igadget at lazada.

Is there any way to check whether It is really MY set?
did u got any discount from that?
clement5949
post Mar 13 2018, 09:32 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 13 2018, 06:50 AM)
Haha, yeah, thinking of that, but it's just a secondary phone so keeping it for now smile.gif
bro, i also thinking to use it as secondary phone.

the spec u having now, didnt realize lag when opening any app?

let me give u one scenario and see whether u face lag or not

1. u will have fb, instagram and fb messenger in this phone
2. u will turn off the wifi in the night before sleep
3. morning u wake up, u turn on the wifi or data
4. all notification blasted to u

because my 4y old galaxy s5 (secondary phone that flashed with pure android rom) got damn lag with the scenario above bangwall.gif
clement5949
post Mar 16 2018, 05:21 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Mar 15 2018, 05:35 PM)
Buy from 11street. Rm809 - Rm80 coupon
ya, this one worth so much
clement5949
post Mar 17 2018, 03:45 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

This price look like the cheapest in town 👍🏻

https://shopee.com.my/etronics/798432944

clement5949
post Mar 17 2018, 12:02 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 17 2018, 08:57 AM)
Grab lor smile.gif
They said it’s global rom, I also dunno which one to pick! So confusing because got international rom, global rom and China rom 😵
clement5949
post Mar 18 2018, 08:03 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Mar 17 2018, 02:23 PM)
Only 2. China rom n global rom. If you chk the rom version code, the last 4th and 3rd character shows either "CN" or "MI" to indicate either china or global.

[attachmentid=9666552]

Both china or global stable rom works fine. Only that china rom you need to install Google playservice, and manually remove unwanted china app. As long it is official rom, no need to worry.

And if you unlock the bootloader, you can switch to any official or custom rom.
Then how come sometime I still see ppl mention about there is fake rom?

clement5949
post Mar 18 2018, 08:06 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Mar 17 2018, 08:54 PM)
mine 1 is china bought in Jan..
May I know how u ship to Malaysia ?
clement5949
post Mar 18 2018, 10:09 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Mar 18 2018, 09:13 PM)
Fake is neither china nor global. From what i see, reseller modify china rom to become fake global rom. This happen before xiaomi launch rn5 & rn5pro in india. Meaning that before that time, no official global rom yet, but reseller take the 'initiative' to make their own 'global' rom to sell outside china.

I reckon that v 9.2.0.2 is the fake rom.
Does this fake rom affect anything? I can read Chinese btw
clement5949
post Mar 18 2018, 10:21 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

End up I bought mine for rm730 after App cart coupon

Link if anyone need
http://m.11street.my/productdetail/product...No=61693073&t=a
clement5949
post Mar 19 2018, 10:33 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(lazyman@home @ Mar 19 2018, 03:55 PM)
yeah, lazyman  to study all those biggrin.gif
main concern is warranty
i bought at lazada gstore, rm808-rm38
now still rm 808 i guess
bro, ytd i just bought mine from 11street with rm730.05 (MY set)
clement5949
post Mar 19 2018, 11:42 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 19 2018, 11:21 PM)
where? redmi 5 plus 3gb RAM/64gb storage?
redmi 5plus 4gb+64gb bro
clement5949
post Mar 20 2018, 08:09 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 20 2018, 07:50 AM)
Good deal! Mind sharing which seller bro?  notworthy.gif
Just want to make sure it's MY set.
Here u go bro

http://m.11street.my/productdetail/product...No=61693073&t=a
clement5949
post Mar 20 2018, 04:42 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 20 2018, 11:11 AM)
but it's 795 per your link? some credit card cash back?  hmm.gif
It was 785 during the hot deal period then now back to their normal price
clement5949
post Mar 20 2018, 05:26 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Mar 20 2018, 04:29 PM)
Very interesting seller.
Why want to limit to Peninsular only? Not like they ship the item by their own transport.

So this 730 means coupon with 10 or 15 percent? original xiaomi malaysia 64GB on 11str now is 795 right?
It's the 7% cart coupon

Yes 64gb on 795
clement5949
post Mar 20 2018, 05:27 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 20 2018, 04:46 PM)
Congratz on getting a good deal!  drool.gif

So, you got a genuine Malaysian set and not a re-flashed AP set?
I'll keep note of this seller and hopefully it comes on offer again in the future.
I think it's MY set because the box original come together with 3pin plug
clement5949
post Mar 20 2018, 07:09 PM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 20 2018, 05:28 PM)
So long as you don't have problems when updating your ROM, should be Malaysian set. Heard a lot of problems with AP set, when updating the ROM.
No problem at all, straight get update after done setup the phone

0.0952sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:53 AM