Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

callmevil
post Aug 19 2008, 10:30 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 19 2008, 08:36 PM)
Simplicity...the reason I'm so lazy to compare coaxial and hdmi. Hdmi to amp then hdmi to TV...abis cerita.
rclxms.gif support this~ digital all the way.. if only my speakers have hdmi in.. then no more hassle of getting out-of-this world priced analogue wires for them.. id rather pay for speakers with built in soundcard+hdmi ins than wires....
callmevil
post Sep 1 2008, 11:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Sep 1 2008, 08:54 PM)
Ha.....I get my answer myself already.....

Cannot use HDMI conection if just audio....when TV is off....

doh.gif  Read the HDMI warning from the manual..... icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm nvr faced this problem before with my ps3 hdmi to v663 hdmi to tv.. like i just 'pure direct' the sound still on with the tv off.. or when i just turn of tv, the sound still on..
callmevil
post Sep 3 2008, 01:42 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Vistatic @ Sep 3 2008, 01:24 AM)

ah if u rajin go through avs and avforums or any other reputable av forums, u will find a mutual sentiment that they all frown upon monster cables.. selling hype more more than functionality. there is no difference in performance of a monster cable and a cheap hdmi cable even up to 15ft cable length.

now about hdmi 1.2/3/a/b. this has nothing to do with the cables.. its all to with the reciever n transmitter being able to give and take the 1.2/3/a/b signal or not.. AND 1.3a is not 1080i btw.. infact even hdmi 1.0 supports 1080p.. haha. and for ure 'high quality hdmi cable' well as long as construction of the cable is proper, then no point in paying more for the same result.
callmevil
post Sep 3 2008, 08:02 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Vistatic @ Sep 3 2008, 02:22 AM)

aisehh another goat with skirt comment.. lol ok
1. fyi, its not my opinion. its science. ur theory on hdmi cables applies to analogue cables. not on hdmi cable which does not convert anything into anything else to be converted into something else again. hdmi just takes information as it is 'raw' and pass it over to the other side 'raw'. so material used makes no difference as long as its properly constructed

2. proper construction = wire isnt damage and bot ends are properly terminated

3. as i have not read the statement from 'SimPlay' myself, i will not comment whether its right or wrong smile.gif. but about ur comment after that, ever heard of someone changing their rj45 cable when they upgrade their internet speed from say 128kbits to 2mbps? or.. everheard of any telco worker telling u that they needed to change the fiber optics laid in the ground to FTTX to accomodate faster bandwidth?? hehe of curz u havnt. because its not about the cables. its about the source and the receiving end able to take and give that speed.. another example, if uve been around long enough, u would know that our network card now is already in gigabit as appose to the 100mbps cap before.. did u have to buy a new rj45 cable? hehe of curz u didnt

4. next year's panel will be 2160P? 200hz refresh rate plasma/lcd ?? hehe funny.. next step up is on hdmi 1.3 is 1600P, not 2160P.. and it will only be done over 60frames MINIMUM. but again this has nothing to do with the cable smile.gif. Did u know that dvi and hdmi works the same way? if u do then lemme tell u that, over the years, ive been upping my screen reso from 1024x, to 1280x, to 1440x, to 1600x, to 2kx.. did u know that all i had to change to attain this NEW resolutions (aka same thing as those 1080) was that i need to make sure my Monitor and my GPU supports feeding and displaying those reso.. i never once had to change my DVI cable. neither did i ever hear anyone making a big deal over it smile.gif

5. Sorry Ive never heard of Master of Bitstream standard yet.. and currently MOST panels/receivers can only do 10bit.. and fyi hdmis can do up to 48bit.. but thts only for 1080P.. but again this as i mentioned prior to this sentence dependant on the panels/receivers. not the hdmi cable. it dont matter if its cheap or expensive, as long as its constructed properly (see 2) itll perform the same even up to 15ft distance smile.gif

just a heads up, commercial reviews and comments are usually skewed to benefit those reviewed.. did u know that some companies would give special discounts and 'gifts' for a good review? i advise u to read no 4 clearly before u shoot ur next

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 3 2008, 08:14 AM
callmevil
post Sep 3 2008, 02:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(Vistatic @ Sep 3 2008, 11:27 AM)

Epic! lol. ok ill try keep the reply short and sum it up icon_rolleyes.gif

1. Noted and agree with the first 3 sentences from 1st Para. disagree with the last 2 sentences (ill get to it, relax smile.gif) on the 2nd para, i shouldve been more clear with my definition of proper constructed cables.. lemme add in 1 more line to it.. "obeys basic hdmi standards"

2. if they do damage, then they fall from my definition of proper constructed cables smile.gif so point 2 is moot

3. if the hdmi cables follow those basic standards, it WILL be able to accommodate those 4 cars. unless the feeder if sending a non-standard bandwidth, then its not the cables fault now is it?

4. noted first para, and i never said dvi sends audio wink.gif. for the 2nd para, zoom out, turn left, then zoom in.. u were focusing on the wrong point.. my point was simply, with increased resolution (i.e. increased bandwidth) one didnt have to change dvi cables. n yes like uve pointed out that its a matter of media (bluray/hdtv/etc) but if u look at the cable and what its doing ull see that its essentially doing the same thing, sending signals. eventhough dvi only contains video and not audio, IT still pushes more resolution than the current 1.3 hdmi can support. and sigh, even then u dont hear anyone changing their dvi cable do u?

5. noted ur typo. But i never said all HDMI are the same. I am talking about HDMI Cables. not the HDMI standard. lol pointless angst in between there, now on ur last sentence, as long as it follows a proper construction then u will not be compromising anything but waste smile.gif

6. noted. but we're talking about the cables. not the standards.

now, sorry for my short reply for 1-6, dont worry, theres more to come smile.gif . firstly i do understand what ur saying. u seem like u understand mine. but as i said in no.4, u gotta zoom out and turn left then zoom in again. If you digg my first 2 replies to u, im sure u will fine this line
itll perform the same even up to 15ft distance
comparing monsters to the masses..

now i will post a test done by audioholics.com for different HDMI cables transmitting various signals over various length in their HDMI cables test
hehe notice that all of them performed the same under short distance?? hehe

A test done by Popularmechanics.com yielded the following link
The Results
None of our editors could tell the difference. The fact is, HDMI is digital, meaning you either get the feed or you don’t. High prices and gimmicks like gold-plating don’t affect 1s and 0s. Our advice: Purchase your wiring online for cheap, and use the saved money to upgrade to a larger flat screen

go to the link and read what other engineers, tv broadcasters, and other experienced technical guys have to say about it smile.gif. real world > test labs ftw

now for another real world test from Gizmodo. link
where they conlcluded the following:
• It never pays to buy a Monster cable first. It doesn't even make sense to buy the "marked down" $50 cable you can buy if you don't want Monster. Go online, order your cables, and wait.
• Even if you're going for the long haul, try a cheaper cable from a reliable vendor first. Monoprice isn't the only one. During this process I've spoken with good people at FireFold, DataPro International, and others, and tested an assortment of discount products, with no noticeable problems. I am confident that, if a vendor has a solid return policy and satisfaction guarantee, you should feel free to buy even a super-long cable from a discount house. In the case of my 50-footer noise, a quick return would have been all that was required.
• Monster has a point about future-proofing. I have no doubt, given our testing, that Monster cables can outperform other cables in video formats that are not yet in use. What does this mean for a consumer? Does it make sense to spend $300 now on a 50-foot cable, assuming you will spend thousands to upgrade all of your video equipment around it in the next few years? Logic dictates that the answer is no.
• The only people who should buy Monster cable are people who light cigars with Benjamins. Fortunately for Monster, there are plenty of those people. They're not even suckers, they are just rich as hell, and want the best. This testing did not prove that Monster is not the best. It just proved that the best is, for the most part, unnecessary.
-----
now.. As an engineer, I'm not against spending good money on cables.. in fact, i just bought bettercables interconnect cable for my sub, and a silly VDH cables for my astro needs... but at least the science makes sense (i.e. cable structure has a impact on signal strength/quality/RFI etc), even if the end result is questionable to some people.

Unfortunately, when you go digital its just not as relevant -'unless' you are going long distances.... So, for your bluray, ps3 etc to a screen <15ft away, please dont spend upwards of 200rm on a cable... bottom line, if ur cheap hdmi cable dont work, then it is merely faulty, just go back and change for a new one smile.gif i shall repeat, the premise of my 1st reply was and still is that at distance of < 15ft away, then it does not pay to buy EXPENSIVE MONSTERS smile.gif

-- Pong

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 3 2008, 02:28 PM
callmevil
post Sep 3 2008, 03:47 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 3 2008, 02:31 PM)
Dude...that is not short sweat.gif
aa blush.gif sorry!! lol i tried too~~ i used the simplest sentence structure i could think off edi to keep it as short as possible.. lol fogip me puhleezz

--more from audioholics about hdmi cable structure
Here is an example of how one particular geometry of HDMI cable would look if you sliced it open:

Looking at the image above you will see that there are 4 primary paired connections which represent the TDMS (Transition Minimized Differential Signaling) channels plus a drain wire. This can be thought of as the red, green, and blue color information (note that the colors are presented solely for illustrative purposes), multi-channel audio information and also the clock. The multi-channel audio is "easy" to pass along the line and is therefore interspersed among the much denser video information carried across these cables. Because of this, there are no dedicated wires for audio. While the three color/audio TDMS channels run at very high speed, the clock channel has much less demands put on it.

The central pair, in this particular cable configuration, are for DDC (Display Data Channel) clock/data which reads EDID (Extended Display IDentification) information from the display and which also handles the HDCP handshaking. EDID essentially tells the HDMI transmitter what type of signal and display it is dealing with. These wires are absolutely critical since without this information the entire signal is compromised. If HDCP isn't happy - there simply isn't going to be a signal.

The four single wires are a +5V line, a DDC ground, a hot plug detect wire (a signal that is used to monitor hot plug events so that a new HDCP negotiation can be made), and one for CEC. CEC (Consumer Electronics Control) is the two-way single wire control system which allows all the devices connected on an HDMI chain to communicate and automate settings and control functions, reducing the amount of controls and remotes needed to operate the components. In theory this is one of the coolest aspects of HDMI. In reality it is an underutilized, disappointing, buggy feature set that is mostly limited to intra-company products. The 5th solo wire is unused.

--- edit: another read from HDGuru - http://hdguru.com/?p=12

This post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 3 2008, 04:08 PM
callmevil
post Nov 7 2008, 01:22 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Nov 7 2008, 10:04 AM)
Try Nordost Wyrewizard or Nordost Silver Screen. Both have very good review. Wyrewizard is ard RM500 while Silver Screen is abt double of it..Significant increase in PQ anf AQ
hehe i call bs on this..
callmevil
post Nov 8 2008, 08:41 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(honda6831 @ Nov 7 2008, 10:55 PM)
hi sifu sifu here...

seeking for pro advice...

my friend was quoted a set of projector system for his coming new house home theater room...

one of the item is the HDMI cable which is cost around RM1800++ (supra 10M cable)....

is it worth to buy....???

please advice...

thanks...

rgds,
jack

10m? does he need 10m??? measure properly and buy accordingly.. (1m = 3feet)
callmevil
post Dec 7 2008, 11:59 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

or.. if u guys bother to just read the earlier pages.. i entered into a debate explaining this...
callmevil
post Dec 8 2008, 07:27 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 8 2008, 11:59 AM)
Callmevil, we've been discussing this over and over again all through the pages. Nobody even bothered to read them, hence the same discussion keep coming back. I think we can close this thread, everybody can always refer through the pages. biggrin.gif
LOL thats what u call 'FAIL' bro!

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 8 2008, 03:15 PM)
hehe,sorry sorry boss  tongue.gif  juz read the previous posts till page 7,most answers are "digital is digital,as long as the signal can get through properly,there's no diff in PQ "  smile.gif .
lol my answer went well above and beyond 'digital is digital' though myqd smile.gif haha

--
so bored man.. dunno what movie to watch next :\

0.0210sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:39 PM