> Once broken considered sold rule

kecik_mieow
post Nov 19 2017, 12:17 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 19 2017, 12:12 AM)
What are the consequences if I walk out without paying because I think that the shop should bear some responsibility
For example putting fragile jars at the end of an aisle with no barrier to stop the items at the end to fall off

Usually racks are like this
|________________________________| (closed at the ends)
but this shop the racks are like this
_________________________________ (open at the ends) 

and the aisles are very narrow compared to other aisles, if you turn around and the trolley even slightly touches the rack, things can fall off

and I realise that the items placed at the end is particularly expensive
a bottle of chilli sauce at the middle is about 10-15% more expensive than hypermarket
The mayonnaise placed at the end of the shelf is like twice the price compared to hypermarket

What do I need to compensate ? The actual damages to the shop (i.e. the cost of the item and cleaning fees) or the price of the item, including profit? I have heard that many people kena something like this before , it appears that the owner didn't change the shelves or take any precaution , even after many such instances

If everyone pay doesn't this incentivise the owner to repeat the same thing, since they earn more?

Am I actually obliged under law to pay the full retail price and bear 100% of the responsibility ?

Mischief

Whoever, with intent to cause, or knowing that he is likely to cause, wrongful loss or damage to the public or any person, causes the destruction of any property, or any such change in any property, or in the situation thereof, as destroys or diminishes its value or utility, or affects it injuriously, commits “mischief”.

(in fact this is quite a common scam in some countries, where someone would drop something near you, and that something would turn out to be a mug, worth 50 USD with famous paintings on it)
If you really want to bring to court, you can argue contributory negligence. Then damages will be apportioned accordingly..

kecik_mieow
post Nov 19 2017, 12:24 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 19 2017, 12:19 AM)
I'm not the one bringing to court. The owner is. I just wanna walk away. I can go to the police station with the owner if that's what they want. Will not pay a single sen.
What did u break and how much was the item?
If they want to claim damages, usually will send u LOD, if you refuse to pay/try to settle, then go court

This post has been edited by kecik_mieow: Nov 19 2017, 12:27 AM
kecik_mieow
post Nov 19 2017, 12:33 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 19 2017, 12:27 AM)
A jar of mayo. Hypermarket sells it for 11-12, they sell for 19.99. Exact same item
Can they block me from leaving. Cos that's what they did. I say go to police office lodge report and let police handle  baru they let go and say forget it
I think I should counter sue them for wrongful confinement
It doesnt matter how much more expensive they sell in their store compare to another place. If you broke something because of your negligence, u ought to pay for it la.

Ps: Private person can actually arrest ppl for seizable offence and hand the person to police asap.
kecik_mieow
post Nov 19 2017, 12:42 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 19 2017, 12:38 AM)
I would argue it's not my fault - it's theirs
Plus I was the one who suggested that we let the police handle, and the backed off immediately after hearing that.
What is my "seizable offence" ?
Just a note la, dont think yours was a seizable offense.
U can argue anything u want actually laugh.gif
Why is it that u said it was their fault ya, u mean it fell of by its own.
kecik_mieow
post Nov 19 2017, 12:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 19 2017, 12:44 AM)
Their racks are open, their aisles are too narrow if you turn you will hit something
Plus this apparently happened many times before, but no action taken on their side to rectify the issue
I think both at fault la. It wouldnt have fall if you didnt hit it. But they did contribute to the incident to a certain extend
But dont need to be angry la, things like this happens. Chill man.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kecik_mieow: Nov 19 2017, 12:50 AM

0.0181sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:49 AM