Can someone tell me the difference of..., Parallels and boot camp?
TSsamus_ng
Apr 22 2007, 02:49 PM, updated 19y ago

First, I know what these two do, run windows. BUT, how come Parallels is so expensive(man RM400+++for something that I can actually get for free???) and boot camp is a free software. I do not see any difference between the two of them at all. The only thing about Parallels to me is you don't have to reboot your computer to run Windows(oh that doesn't bother me I mean rebooting is cool!)....er that's it? Well I'd like to know more about both of them to and do please tell me the good features of Parallels. Thanks
wei
Apr 22 2007, 03:09 PM
Imagine if you only wanna to check a website that required IE6 while you're working on something in Mac OSX. Rebooting into windows and then rebooting back to OSX is just time-wasting. And this happen to me alot. If not because I wanna play game i will not boot into bootcamp. I even do my video encoding with parallel (because the decoder only work in windows) then quickly copy back to OSX and do my convertion.
TSsamus_ng
Apr 22 2007, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 22 2007, 03:09 PM) Imagine if you only wanna to check a website that required IE6 while you're working on something in Mac OSX. Rebooting into windows and then rebooting back to OSX is just time-wasting. And this happen to me alot. If not because I wanna play game i will not boot into bootcamp. I even do my video encoding with parallel (because the decoder only work in windows) then quickly copy back to OSX and do my convertion. Hmm ok sounds good(but still not worth 400+++ no freakin' way should be RM20 or less) I'd like to know also, When I play windows games(eg GTA San Adreas), Will it work better on Boot Camp or Parallels??? Thanks
lailaikatong
Apr 22 2007, 03:31 PM
Well, you basically pay for what you get... I don't think it was as much as RM400 when I bought it... I use parallels because i find it much more convenient...No hassle of having to re-boot all the time... The coherence feature is neat as well, you can use Windows apps alongside Mac apps (the windows desktop is rendered invisible)... I don't play much games, I only use windows for applications that I have to use in my course that are only compatible with windows, especially for my accounting & maths subjects... For the time being, I do my Photoshopping on XP via parallels as well (adobe cs2 for windows *ehem* version), and I don't find any performance problems...I'm waiting for Adobe CS3 (education version) for mac to be released, the education pricing for software in aussie is quite reasonable...
I don't know much about gaming, but from what I've read apparently it's better to use bootcamp... Use google and search "parallels bootcamp gaming".... You'll find plenty of answers...
youngkies
Apr 22 2007, 03:56 PM
Monday <--> Friday
The big difference is the features in Parallel, and hence its price.
With parallel you can simultaneously operates both OS while you can only operates either one of the OS at a time in bootcamp.
It depends on what you need though, if gaming is your main concern to boot into windows, bootcamp is a good choice. And good thing is it is free.
Else if you need versatility, parallel is the choice here.
This post has been edited by youngkies: Apr 22 2007, 03:57 PM
SEP910
Apr 22 2007, 04:00 PM
It's price is about RM250 only.
allvin
Apr 22 2007, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 22 2007, 04:13 PM) Hmm ok sounds good(but still not worth 400+++ no freakin' way should be RM20 or less) I'd like to know also, When I play windows games(eg GTA San Adreas), Will it work better on Boot Camp or Parallels??? Thanks Stop bashing, and please respect those developers who made parallels. It is not an "easy" job to emulate the whole system. Btw, parallels is an emulator, whereas bootcamp is not. Basically, parallels havn't implement 3D acceleration. So don't think about 3D games, except 2D games but performance sux man.. What do you expect of emulator? Sure got performance hit.
TSsamus_ng
Apr 22 2007, 04:23 PM

One more question(sorry for being stupid), is it possible to put the files on my Macintosh HD to the windows XP with boot camp?
SUSMike3300
Apr 22 2007, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 22 2007, 04:23 PM) One more question(sorry for being stupid), is it possible to put the files on my Macintosh HD to the windows XP with boot camp? Yes, but you can run 1 OS at a time. It means that if you run Windows, open Macintosh HD and copy and same goes other way round.
TSsamus_ng
Apr 22 2007, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Apr 22 2007, 08:41 PM) Yes, but you can run 1 OS at a time. It means that if you run Windows, open Macintosh HD and copy and same goes other way round. Ok then I have no need to buy Parallels already(boot camp is seriously fine for me plus games run better) Thanks for the help everyone!
Onso
Apr 23 2007, 11:31 AM
You should try VMWare Fusion 3. Half Life 2 averages @ 28fps on my MBP. And it doesn't run HL2 on an emulated windows OS, but rather HL2 on MacOSX almost natively. Iirc, it's still in public beta so it should be free.
kevler
Apr 23 2007, 11:46 AM
huhu..for this matter ..i need to upgrade my memory module to 2 gig currently 1 gig for my MBP
lailaikatong
Jun 1 2007, 09:09 AM
wei
Jun 1 2007, 09:22 AM
 it's about time! something to play with while wait for WWDC
groucho
Jun 1 2007, 11:30 AM

yo samus http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?...ersus+Parallelsthere is an excellent guide with the pros/cons of each and what to chooose !!!! enjoy... and please do read it
allvin
Jun 1 2007, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jun 1 2007, 10:09 AM) newly released parallels 3.0 now supports 3d acceleration... http://www.parallels.com/en/products/desktop/upgradeomg.. goin' try it out soon..
lailaikatong
Jun 2 2007, 08:52 PM
wei/allvin, hv u guys purchased the upgrade?? i paid for mine yesterday but i've yet to receive the download link...
allvin
Jun 2 2007, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jun 2 2007, 09:52 PM) wei/allvin, hv u guys purchased the upgrade?? i paid for mine yesterday but i've yet to receive the download link... i post my previous reply w/o actual reading it..  Actually the 3.0version haven't release yet. It will release in july or sth late. Right now you go to that site, it's actually PRE-order for Version 3.o
wei
Jun 2 2007, 10:08 PM
Aww, july? another long wait.
lailaikatong
Jun 2 2007, 11:22 PM
ahaa... gotta wait i guess...just hope that the "secret features" of leopard that's yet to be announced does not include virtualization... if not the $40 upgrade would only be worth it for a few months... ouch! LOL