Car number plate stolen

TSho1yday
post Nov 17 2017, 10:23 AM, updated 7y ago

13 posts

Hi there,

I just found my front car plate get stolen, is it better to report to police?
(I know not much thing they can do)

Thank you a lot!
joedpa82
post Nov 17 2017, 10:27 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(ho1yday @ Nov 17 2017, 11:23 AM)
Hi there,

I just found my front car plate get stolen, is it better to report to police?
(I know not much thing they can do)

Thank you a lot!
Yes. Just in case thieves does some hanky panky
Pain4UrsinZ
post Nov 17 2017, 10:29 AM

1,775 posts

must report, once my car got broke in and road tax get stolen. After that my registration number got replicated and get saman which is not belong to me.

i have my report and cancelled the summon at bukit aman.

my story:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3476404/all
sou12b810
post Nov 17 2017, 10:30 AM

147 posts

ayo..
in malaysia.. anyone can make the plastic plate.
since its not issued by goverment (as in metal plates)

once seen 2 grey myvi having the same number..

have fake number from another car..
traffic camera take picture, gets sent to registered owner..
its 2017... our system still from 1947 ...

SUSempstar
post Nov 17 2017, 10:42 AM

100 posts

TS car plate glue/stick not good droped in high wind.
TSho1yday
post Nov 17 2017, 10:43 AM

13 posts

Thank you everyone for the prompt reply!

Is it compulsory to report it through police station which nearby the incident area and must it be reported within 24hours?
Must it be reported through traffic police station or any police station will do?

This post has been edited by ho1yday: Nov 17 2017, 10:48 AM
kluseng
post Nov 17 2017, 11:11 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(ho1yday @ Nov 17 2017, 10:43 AM)
Thank you everyone for the prompt reply!

Is it compulsory to report it through police station which nearby the incident area and must it be reported within 24hours?
Must it be reported through traffic police station or any police station will do?
I don't think it must be reported within 24 hrs or even compulsory to report. The report is just to protect yourself in case your car no. plate is used for some illegal acts.

Normally it should be reported to the nearest police station where the incident happened.
dirtrun
post Nov 17 2017, 11:49 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Nov 17 2017, 11:11 AM)
I don't think it must be reported within 24 hrs or even compulsory to report. The report is just to protect yourself in case your car no. plate is used for some illegal acts.

Normally it should be reported to the nearest police station where the incident happened.
LOL,

Our man-in-blue whr got so efficient.. in d end oso saman will send to the registered owners address one.. then go repot lo..
Just go to any advertising shop n they shld be able to make a replacemnt.. wouldnt bother wif polis repot..
kluseng
post Nov 17 2017, 02:15 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Nov 17 2017, 11:49 AM)
LOL,

Our man-in-blue whr got so efficient.. in d end oso saman will send to the registered owners address one.. then go repot lo..
Just go to any advertising shop n they shld be able to make a replacemnt.. wouldnt bother wif polis repot..
If somebody steals your car plates and put them on a similar model car of the same colour and use it for robbery how would you like to explain to police that it is not your car?

amscouzach57
post Nov 17 2017, 02:23 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Nov 17 2017, 11:11 AM)

It is better to report it as soon as possible to protect yourself just in case. Always keep the hard copy & scanned copy for future reference.
19 Degree South
post Nov 17 2017, 02:32 PM

1,480 posts

What's the logic on reporting this petty issue? Just got it replace la! Unless you want to claim insurance policy against theft of parts la! laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Nov 17 2017, 02:35 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Nov 17 2017, 02:15 PM)
If somebody steals your car plates and put them on a similar model car of the same colour and use it for robbery how would you like to explain to police that it is not your car?
Hello, plates can be fabricated in any accessories shop in 10 mins la! Don't think the robber is that dumb lor, he might as well steal the whole car to commit the crime!
MsPopcorn
post Nov 17 2017, 02:36 PM

Popcorn..Yummy!
808 posts

car plate stolen, go replace

road tax stolen, please report
knwong
post Nov 17 2017, 05:10 PM

2,951 posts

In a China, recently I read that they’ll steal car plate number of rich people and demand “reasonable” ransom. Like RM200

Why the owner doesn’t bother to report police. It’s bureaucratic process to file report. Without their plate number, certain road they cannot drive

This post has been edited by knwong: Nov 17 2017, 05:11 PM
19 Degree South
post Nov 17 2017, 08:28 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 17 2017, 05:10 PM)
In a China, recently I read that they’ll steal car plate number of rich people and demand “reasonable” ransom. Like RM200

Why the owner doesn’t bother to report police. It’s bureaucratic process to file report. Without their plate number, certain road they cannot drive
China car plate is mounted with screw onto the front and rear bumper ! it can only be done in their 'JPJ'! They can't just buy another plate from the accessories shop like us to replace! In Shanghai, during peak hour, only Shanghai city registered car are allowed to drive within the cbd area! Others tak Boleh!

0.0134sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:51 PM