Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

How to choose 2nd hand tyre, Things to look out for

views

TSknwong
post Nov 17 2017, 08:56 AM, updated 7y ago

Look at all my stars!!
2,952 posts

Newbie here seeking advise

Passed by a tyre shop and discovered they sell 215/R17/50 PS4 at RM150 each.

What are the things I need to pay attention when purchasing resale tyre?
lucifah
post Nov 17 2017, 09:08 AM

St. Fu
Group Icon
Staff
7,932 posts

don't. just don't. unless they are almost brand new out from a brand new car

it's not worth your life to use 2nd hand tyre
danieln
post Nov 17 2017, 09:11 AM

Regular
1,249 posts

have you not seen enough videos of accidents caused by tyre failure?

if you want to suicide but please don't kill others along the way
raayeop
post Nov 17 2017, 11:03 AM

0 posts

buy new tyres unless the used tyres were just obtained from someone who upgrade to bigger rim.. But at RM150 for 215/50R17, i doubt that is the situation

dirtrun
post Nov 17 2017, 11:39 AM

Look at all my stars!!
3,136 posts

I'd

Look at tread - bunga manyak, tak? And manufactured date - try not to use past 5/6years = meaning tat if you take 3 years to finish a tyre add 3 years to de manufactured date = should not be more than 6 years..
Of cos de unseen parts are important too.. unfotunately
Darklorenzo
post Nov 17 2017, 11:43 AM

5 posts

ikut poket
magnesium
post Nov 17 2017, 11:45 AM

Regular
1,130 posts

i use once

less than 2 years than mfg date

at first ok but after 2 or 3 months can feel like the tyre didn't grip

after 6 months do balancing and allignment, foremen show tyre already hardened

not well bumpy like others when dropped from certain high

that is my first and last 2nd tyre
psyduck89
post Nov 17 2017, 11:45 AM

New Korean Member
818 posts

suicide attemp?
6UE5T
post Nov 17 2017, 04:37 PM

Regular
1,704 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 17 2017, 08:56 AM)
Newbie here seeking advise

Passed by a tyre shop and discovered they sell 215/R17/50 PS4 at RM150 each.