i7-8700k Delidding, finding delidding service

TSkeithboon
post Nov 14 2017, 12:28 AM, updated 7y ago

Recently just got my i7-8700k and i want get it @5Ghz magical number but im using kraken x62 and when i stress test it ran up to 100c with 1.39 vcore and i thought its the kraken problem so i send it back to the seller ask for RMA but after test the seller refused RMA for me he said that its normal for the kraken running this temperature anyone have suggestions?
sai86
post Nov 14 2017, 11:51 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(keithboon @ Nov 14 2017, 12:28 AM)
Recently just got my i7-8700k and i want get it @5Ghz magical number but im using kraken x62 and when i stress test it ran up to 100c with 1.39 vcore and i thought its the kraken problem so i send it back to the seller ask for RMA but after test the seller refused RMA for me he said that its normal for the kraken running this temperature anyone have suggestions?
biasa i think. best if you ask at coffeelake thread. the sifus there will be able to help you.
some forumer test there report similiar temp. this chip is HOT!!!!
delid jer to get lower temp. tho i do it on my 4770k.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3700521/+320
sai86
post Nov 14 2017, 11:55 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4231294 @ sri kembangan

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3862849
not sure ace mei mei still providing the service anot - based at penang
crumpetss
post Nov 14 2017, 12:41 PM

dummie
523 posts

biasa temp, fucking intel using shit for their thermal paste, even no voltage overclock still hit 80c on my 8700k with the beefy cryorig h7 quad lumi
wongtheboy92
post Jan 29 2018, 04:53 PM

802 posts

If you are based in Northern region, you can always look for this OC sifu owikh84

He really knows a lot in CPU, RAM, GPU or anything.

https://forum.lowyat.net/user/owikh84
blur_goofy
post Apr 3 2018, 11:42 AM

354 posts

anyone knows a reputable service provider giving out deliding service at klang valley? and how much should i expect for the service?
Left4Dead2
post Apr 3 2018, 02:12 PM

1,085 posts

QUOTE(blur_goofy @ Apr 3 2018, 11:42 AM)
anyone knows a reputable service provider giving out deliding service at klang valley? and how much should i expect for the service?
Guys, dont dream lah

5Ghz is for very small population chance to reach at acceptable voltage. Mostly do 4.7-4.8Ghz only

Also deliding CPU is not worth for 24/7. You can ask idealtech to do for u though
CyrusWong
post Sep 24 2018, 01:51 AM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:12 PM)
Also deliding CPU is not worth for 24/7.
why? hmm.gif

I thought the only disadvantage of cpu delidding is the risk of spoil it when delidding

but you say it not worth for 24/7, can you elaborate more?
buyoq
post Sep 24 2018, 02:39 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,303 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Sep 24 2018, 01:51 AM)
why? hmm.gif

I thought the only disadvantage of cpu delidding is the risk of spoil it when delidding

interested to know also
i've delided & liquid metal-ed few 3770k,4770k,7700k before & it helps me a lot
would love to hear his thought on the "not worth 24/7"
ALeUNe
post Sep 25 2018, 12:08 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

After delidding, temperature will drop at least 40-50c under load.

My temp could hardly reach 60c under stress load.

It can do 24/7 for sure at low temperature.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Sep 25 2018, 12:11 PM
Verblassen
post Dec 9 2018, 09:41 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(keithboon @ Nov 14 2017, 12:28 AM)
1.39V is pretty high bro. Maybe that's why the kraken is getting to 100c. I have the same cooler, getting about max 95 degrees on the package with Prime 95 (non AVX). How is your current settings though. I realise your post is from a year ago haha.

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:12 PM)
Guys, dont dream lah

5Ghz is for very small population chance to reach at acceptable voltage. Mostly do 4.7-4.8Ghz only

Also deliding CPU is not worth for 24/7. You can ask idealtech to do for u though
Not true. A majority of the 8600k and 8700k users can reach 5.0GHz ezpz with 1.35 on the Vcore. Those with golden samples can reach with 1.28V. I can run my 8700k no issues at 5GHz 1.35V. 1.28V - 4.8GHz. Kraken x62 with stock NZXT AER fans on my rad.

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Sep 24 2018, 01:51 AM)
why? hmm.gif

QUOTE(buyoq @ Sep 24 2018, 02:39 PM)
interested to know also
i've delided & liquid metal-ed few 3770k,4770k,7700k before & it helps me a lot
would love to hear his thought on the "not worth 24/7"
I think he's trying to say that with delidding you effectively void your warranty. And to be honest most of us will not notice the difference between a 5GHz overclock and a 4.7GHz multicore enhancement. But for the MCU, better if you go into the BIOS and tweak the Vcore on your own. Sometimes the MCU creates an overshoot. I've seen mine go as high as 1.4V! Yikes!! unsure.gif

But that's the thing isn't it, you buy a top of the line processor and you're limited to that damn toothpaste Intel has provided as a TIM haha.Oh well at least the option to delid is there. Unlike the i9-9900k. Good luck getting that solder out without breaking something. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
CyrusWong
post Dec 9 2018, 10:56 AM

1,626 posts

QUOTE(Verblassen @ Dec 9 2018, 09:41 AM)
1.39V is pretty high bro. Maybe that's why the kraken is getting to 100c. I have the same cooler, getting about max 95 degrees on the package with Prime 95 (non AVX). How is your current settings though. I realise your post is from a year ago haha.
Not true. A majority of the 8600k and 8700k users can reach 5.0GHz ezpz with 1.35 on the Vcore. Those with golden samples can reach with 1.28V. I can run my 8700k no issues at 5GHz 1.35V. 1.28V - 4.8GHz. Kraken x62 with stock NZXT AER fans on my rad.
I think he's trying to say that with delidding you effectively void your warranty. And to be honest most of us will not notice the difference between a 5GHz overclock and a 4.7GHz multicore enhancement. But for the MCU, better if you go into the BIOS and tweak the Vcore on your own. Sometimes the MCU creates an overshoot. I've seen mine go as high as 1.4V! Yikes!!  unsure.gif

But that's the thing isn't it, you buy a top of the line processor and you're limited to that damn toothpaste Intel has provided as a TIM haha.Oh well at least the option to delid is there. Unlike the i9-9900k. Good luck getting that solder out without breaking something.  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
he say not worth for 24/7

definitely not mean warranty

i think he trying to say electric expensive

well, there is no free lunch
Verblassen
post Dec 9 2018, 12:22 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 9 2018, 10:56 AM)
he say not worth for 24/7

definitely not mean warranty

i think he trying to say electric expensive

well, there is no free lunch
Oh yeah true! I forgot the main thing haha. From 95W TDP it becomes like 200ish Watts if memory serves me correctly haha. My 650W can barely support my OC-ed CPU and GPU. Oh well. Waiting for Corsair to settle with their new distributor before I get one of their PSUs.

0.0139sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:43 PM