7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

> CIMB loses data backups

SUSavatargod
post Nov 14 2017, 08:54 AM

32 posts

we use this to backup our imaging data...

Elvis85
post Nov 14 2017, 08:59 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Nov 13 2017, 11:34 PM)
Oh I received this sms too.
So that's the reason they sent this sms.
2 days already..
SUSlowya
post Nov 14 2017, 09:00 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 14 2017, 08:30 AM)
Include HSBC la

oh ya, don't forget OUB and OCBC also.
bigwolf
post Nov 14 2017, 09:01 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Nov 14 2017, 08:50 AM)
if it is back in the days of LTO2-3 i think the HDD size is no where that huge as well, but nonetheless i doubt banks will ever go on storing data on HDD, there is a reason why they need to go on tapes, because of a 7 years archival purposes, imagine if they needed to store 7 years of data on HDD, how much would it cost compare to cartridges..
You'll be surprised how common lto3 - lto5 are still used nowadays biggrin.gif

The other reason tapes are used is because of the infra. Its so much harder to extract info from tapes compared to hdd. Software aside, you just need a common usb port to access the hdd. But you need expensive specialized equipments to access the tape, hence the reason why tapes are considered "safer" compared to HDD

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Nov 14 2017, 09:03 AM
smallbug
post Nov 14 2017, 09:04 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Nov 14 2017, 09:01 AM)
You'll be surprised how common lto3 - lto5 are still used nowadays biggrin.gif

The other reason tapes are used is because of the infra. Its so much harder to extract info from tapes compared to hdd. Software aside, you just need a common usb port to access the hdd. But you need expensive specialized equipments to access the tape, hence the reason why tapes are considered "safer" compared to HDD
So this is the real reason lar.. devil.gif
haimirmaya
post Nov 14 2017, 09:05 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 13 2017, 10:51 PM)
Tapes? 20 years out of date.

Banks are known to use outdated tech like mainframes and ultra low capacity hard drives like the IBM 3390.
offsite backup is needed in term of any disaster recovery situation
policy that setup to prevent data lost.

but now, you can setup a DR and do the backup online too.
Depends on what solution that you want.

bigwolf
post Nov 14 2017, 09:12 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Nov 14 2017, 09:04 AM)
So this is the real reason lar..    devil.gif
ONE of the reasons. Cost is also another factor as pointed out by selinix nod.gif
MjMax15
post Nov 14 2017, 09:40 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Nov 13 2017, 10:22 PM)
Actually I asked that question before at another bank IT officer "Why banks still use magnetic tapes ah? Why don't you guys update a bit, like use hard drives? I mean, 1 external drive can easily store 1tb data, while tapes can only store like xxgb info"

He answered basically its the infra. You need to invest some serious $$$ on the infrastructure to extract info from the tape. You need to mount it to a tape server that uses proprietary software and other compilation programs plus other backup servers. External drives you only need a usb port, dah, cukup shocking.gif

Kinda makes sense what he said. Basically you can get your hands on the tapes but you can't extract the data so easily compared to usb ports  hmm.gif
this remind me at 'eraser' movie

cjlio1
post Nov 14 2017, 09:46 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 13 2017, 09:51 PM)

Banks are known to use outdated tech like mainframes and ultra low capacity hard drives like the IBM 3390.
LEL, please do some reading before you comment about tapes

urnicksux2
post Nov 14 2017, 09:47 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Buycheap0005 @ Nov 14 2017, 09:03 AM)
Yep. So many sohais.

The real IT experts here all laughing at them.
they think magnetic tape is this

cjlio1
post Nov 14 2017, 09:48 AM

223 posts

they lost it but IF and only fucking IF they encrypt it then still ok, else go and hamkaling the idiot who lost it.

hold him down while people beat his chun toi with chairs and baseball bats
unknown_2
post Nov 14 2017, 10:05 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(agus_eko @ Nov 14 2017, 09:35 AM)
Nothing can beat tapes for offline backup.

Price per capacity is way cheaper than backup to disk.

Some enterprise did use disk to disk backup but they will have another layer that make a copy to tapes.
yes, the cheapest form of offline backup.
it then will be transferred to another building (not within 50km radius) for safe keeping.
this will rotate usually on weekly basis.
reason for this remote backup is that even if company got nuke or got 911ed, still can rebuild from offsite backup tapes.
i suspect that is how it got lost, when moving tapes to remote site.

anyhow, nowadays got better solution, veeam for example, but definitely cost way more than tapes.
SUSazhan82
post Nov 14 2017, 11:26 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Nov 14 2017, 01:39 AM)
maybe LTO 5 tapes
QUOTE(yoshiki81 @ Nov 14 2017, 01:45 AM)
It use LTO1, LTO3 or LTO5 tape..

Using magnetic tape for long time already..but now bank use hard disk (Datawarehouse) for security purpose..No more using LTO3 tape

Can google about the tape...Not like cassette or vhs one (shape) but yes use magnetic tape

wow.. this tape ke?
first time seeing this
thanks thumbup.gif
3TB.. thats a lot of data.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(shikimori @ Nov 14 2017, 07:29 AM)
Seriously if you guys are in enterprise IT field I really will facepalm .
Ayam not in enterprise IT..
hence the japanese type of question "ka" ....
buncho89
post Nov 14 2017, 11:31 AM

282 posts

watching mr robot has helped me understand a bit all this backup backup...lel
khainiz94
post Nov 14 2017, 11:32 AM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 14 2017, 09:00 AM)
oh ya, don't forget OUB and OCBC also.
Include all international banks la. Their security is top level. I use Standard Chartered and they notify anything with what I do on my account. Deposit money, withdraw money, use debit card and so on. Always got SMS and email for all transaction. But one thing I did not like withdraw money at MEPS mahal gila.
MjMax15
post Nov 14 2017, 11:48 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

the last i use was MO disk
tehn all transformed to pendrive lel
junsheng
post Nov 14 2017, 01:44 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 13 2017, 09:51 PM)

lol hahaha
SUScrash123
post Nov 14 2017, 02:04 PM

271 posts

Habis la that tape guy. Kena buang. Sad case. Btw cimb infra is not that good. Already enter their server room at kl.
metalique
post Nov 14 2017, 02:57 PM

19 posts

normally on enterprise level even government sector, backup tape will be store at other places on routine backup (weekly/monthly etc).... what they mean lost?...

stolen?.... rob?..... misplaced?... wahhh.... very suspicious.... brows.gif

This post has been edited by metalique: Nov 14 2017, 03:04 PM
zhou.xingxing
post Nov 14 2017, 03:05 PM

:3
1,863 posts

pakar it pakar ekonomi..

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >

0.0190sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled