> I just received a phone call scam from "bank", from +8898887978 Chat

TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 06:47 PM, updated 9y ago

Stark Industries
977 posts

A phone call from +8898887978 (spoofed number) with machine voice claiming i have a bank loan in HLB of RM50,000 and it's already outstanding for 3 months.
A guy named Desmond Leong (fake name mostly) tried to convince me that my ID has been stolen and will transfer to Polis to assist me.

I lost my patience while talking to the "Police" named Helmi due to i am about to finish my work and i want to go home lol..

Sorry for the some audio skipping in and out, not sure why.. recorded on my laptop while my phone puts on speaker.

Link to the audio here:

RM50K Bank Loan Scam

Posting here hoping someone can find this thread by Googling the phone number or certain keywords like my another thread about fake bank calls.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2856214&hl=

SUSlowya
post Nov 13 2017, 08:01 PM

4,821 posts

is your phone number ending with 7366?

This post has been edited by lowya: Nov 13 2017, 08:02 PM
TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 08:03 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 13 2017, 08:01 PM)
is your phone number ending with 7366?
Nope
SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 13 2017, 08:06 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

i got a call from a similar number just now also, after few seconds they hangup, usual scams i think
acbc
post Nov 13 2017, 08:09 PM

9,050 posts

Convincing scammer. Always check with bank if info is true. Many times, it is not.
malibuchong
post Nov 13 2017, 08:14 PM

124 posts

just hang up the phone and blocked.
TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 08:14 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 13 2017, 08:09 PM)
Convincing scammer. Always check with bank if info is true. Many times, it is not.
Not even convincing at all, broken English, shady number.
Even i gave him fake name and fake IC also he said i got owe bank 50k laugh.gif
rooney723
post Nov 13 2017, 08:15 PM

596 posts

nex time if receive dis kind of call, jz tell the 'polis' to meet inside balai, see he dare or not
Revamperz
post Nov 13 2017, 08:38 PM

im freaking IN! â„¢
5,164 posts

what ever call regarding bank i just say im driving call ke later

they never did

Ibrahimovic
post Nov 13 2017, 08:47 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Lol i laugh at your sarcastic voice laugh.gif the other guy don't seem to know

Very annoying one this call. I don't know why you so bored to talk to them
narf03
post Nov 13 2017, 08:50 PM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Nov 13 2017, 06:47 PM)
A phone call from +8898887978 (spoofed number) with machine voice claiming i have a bank loan in HLB of RM50,000 and it's already outstanding for 3 months.
A guy named Desmond Leong (fake name mostly) tried to convince me that my ID has been stolen and will transfer to Polis to assist me.

I lost my patience while talking to the "Police" named Helmi due to i am about to finish my work and i want to go home lol..

Sorry for the some audio skipping in and out, not sure why.. recorded on my laptop while my phone puts on speaker.

Link to the audio here:

RM50K Bank Loan Scam

Posting here hoping someone can find this thread by Googling the phone number or certain keywords like my another thread about fake bank calls.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2856214&hl=
U should pretend u don't know and keep him on the phone for as long as possible. Like telling him u searching for your wallet if he needs any id or number then leave the phone on charging and walk away.
shirohamada
post Nov 13 2017, 08:58 PM

944 posts

>+88
>taiwan
buat apa layan?

well, actually let him talk and rack up that phone bill.

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Nov 13 2017, 09:00 PM
TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 09:00 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Nov 13 2017, 08:47 PM)
Lol i laugh at your sarcastic voice laugh.gif the other guy don't seem to know

Very annoying one this call. I don't know why you so bored to talk to them
I was doing some reports while talking, about to go home as it's already 6pm+
TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 09:01 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 13 2017, 08:58 PM)
>+88
>taiwan
buat apa layan?

Highly doubt from Taiwan, they sounded local.
Al Puccino
post Nov 13 2017, 09:11 PM

346 posts

lmao. that sarjan helmi sounded like chinese.
SUSsdin3269
post Nov 13 2017, 09:13 PM

64 posts

I also received this similar scammer call and what surprise me it was from registered CIMB phone line, How it is possible they hijack the line?
TSFighteden
post Nov 13 2017, 09:14 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Nov 13 2017, 09:13 PM)
I also received this similar scammer call and what surprise me it was from registered CIMB phone line, How it is possible they hijack the line?
Phone number spoofing.
Never reveal anything over the phone.
-Aktan-
post Nov 13 2017, 09:21 PM

2.6b dah masuk bro
873 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Nov 13 2017, 09:13 PM)
Yes, can. Several banks line kena used
Hensem
post Nov 13 2017, 09:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 13 2017, 08:58 PM)
>+88
>taiwan
buat apa layan?

voip
acesdsi
post Nov 14 2017, 12:04 AM

131 posts

Got a call on Sunday afternoon from +8989788988
"Pelanggan yg dihormati, anda ada 1 tindakan mahkamah yg akan dikuatkuasakan pada hari ini. Jika hendak bercakap dengan pegawai kami sila tekan 9"

Just about to hit record call, the call dropped.

Baru je nak tengok macam mana permainan dia...

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0186sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:19 AM