<-LYN Propellerhead Reason thread->, MIDI freaks come in!!!

TSkernel
post Apr 20 2007, 11:36 PM, updated 19y ago

2,532 posts

Ok...since echobrain hasn't opened a Reason thread yet, I thought I'd open one...got bored of the preset patches and too lazy to create decent sounding ones rclxub.gif

I'm looking for Subtractor/Malstrom lead synth patches.

Btw please do share your own self-made patches, some description would be great. (Btw im a sucker for stupid/cheesy FX, share if you have them)

This post has been edited by kernel: Apr 21 2007, 01:12 AM
TSkernel
post Apr 20 2007, 11:39 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Apr 20 2007, 11:38 PM)
what version do you have?

Is combinator included?
3.0, comes with combinator
TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 12:20 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Apr 20 2007, 11:59 PM)
You guys use it on laptop or desktop? Ever play it live using a keyboard as midi controller? I experienced latency that prevents me from performing properly live with the patches. fyi, i use RomI/O USB to Midi adaptor. any tips and tricks for live performances? esp on the latency part...
Desktop here...using a M-Audio Axiom 61 connected via USB, almost no latency.

edit: Bassix, do you mean splitting a MIDI input signal into thousands of different subtractors/malstroms coupled with hundreds of thousands of delay units? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kernel: Apr 21 2007, 12:26 AM
TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 01:09 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 21 2007, 12:51 AM)
wooohooo! a reason thread.

using laptop. go dload asio4all. only problem would be when using rewire with certain programmes.

ive actually already collected about 500MB of refills (MODS: free legal ones ok!) but havent tried all yet. cant wait til my final exams are over.

any suggestions how we could trade refills?

kernel, is it hard to program the pads on the axiom on the spot? like to change which key it is? ive never tried but i heard its much harder and they still say the finger trigger is better.
Uh for solo Redrum mapping (means you select Redrum in the input box to the left) its quite easy...just go into Remote Override Edit Mode and map the pads to your liking.

The tricky part is when you wanna use a Subtractor synth and Redrum at the same time...it can be done, just need to config Bus 10 as "Redrum In" and you can use 1 hand to play a synth part and the other hand to press the trigger pads for drums

BUT

When you press a trigger pad in this config, it also triggers the lowest notes on the kb (low C until low A) for the Subtractor synth doh.gif sometimes sounds nice (gritty drum sound, especially with sawtooth waves) sometimes doesn't.

But I think drum notes are just better handled with a electronic drumset (for MIDI freaks only)

TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 01:31 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 21 2007, 01:27 AM)
sorry i know this is n00b question but what is reason?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reason_%28software%29
TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 01:45 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 21 2007, 01:37 AM)
i dont get ur fist sentence.

anyways, i saw some vids on youtube and they said u could set the pads and keyboard to seperate channels. wouldnt that solve your problem?

what i really wanted to ask actually was programming ur axiom on the hardware (without going into reason to set things). take for example the midi finger trigger where u can press a button(edit i think) then just hit the pads and itll change keys, u stop where it reaches the keys u want. having smth like that would make things alot easier live
What I meant for my 1st sentence was...you select Redrum as the active instrument, map the pads to your liking and that's it...

Programming the Axiom on hardware is a beach...the librarian software aka software that stores your hardware mappings is quite buggy, couldn't get my mappings properly done for Reason.

edit: ok I just tried out some stuff...apparently there are 4 kb channels available with each one having a configurable range...so yeah you can play 4 instruments at the same time.

Just found out how to stop a trigger pad triggering both Redrum and synth...just select Redrum as the main instrument while mapping channel 1 to the synth you want doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif so I guess it works perfectly now rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kernel: Apr 21 2007, 01:58 AM
TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 02:55 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Apr 21 2007, 02:30 AM)

kernel: No in the combinator patch you can control as many synths as you want with one controller. use the 14 track mixer to mix. That's the whole purpose of what it's there for. Have fun!  biggrin.gif

Added on April 21, 2007, 2:31 am

Does it work when you record? Because if u use the midi busses it doesnt record. Or do you have 2 master controllers?
Ah I see I see...

For recording Reason I use it as a ReWire slave to Ableton Live!...that way I can record the drums and synths together.

But if you're talking about the MIDI note recording on Reason's sequencer, then the answer is no...the drum notes don't get recorded, only the synth notes.

Btw I still haven't been able to completely solve the Redrum/synth clash...although the trigger pads don't trigger the synth now, the lowest 8 notes on the keyboard can't be used...as they now trigger Redrum ARGHHHHHHHHHHH doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 01:29 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Apr 21 2007, 05:01 AM)
why so complicated? You can use the combinator to split instruments on your controller. All you have to do is open an empty combinator and click "open Programmer" then there is a key mapping thingy that allows you to define which keys control what instruments in your combinator.
Oh...I didn't knew Combinator could be used that way blush.gif

Gathering? sure
TSkernel
post Apr 21 2007, 07:40 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Apr 21 2007, 05:18 PM)
You know what? We should all meet up at a certain, semi-crowded location, setup our stuff, and just do a live recording there.

Get someone to video tape us (Silver Isle? You there??) and then post our results up here.

I can bring my Laptop and UX2 along with my lightest guitar (RR3).... someone else brings a laptop hooked up to a keyboard..... then some speakers, someone bring a portable mixer.... a good dynamic microphone....... Voila! Instant music!
ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif

....speechless

But then, what songs to play if given a situation like that? unsure.gif
TSkernel
post Apr 28 2007, 02:53 AM

2,532 posts

Just thought of something to spice up things...

Anyone wanna try composing a piece by only using Reason? Something like a virtual jam lah.

Start off with something simple...electro-dance...120bpm, 4/4 steady drum beat...rest is up to your imagination.

0.0168sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:16 AM