Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Is it naive to want to buy a new manual car?

views

TSSKisaGooner
post Nov 8 2017, 03:31 PM, updated 7y ago

Getting Started
90 posts

I've been driving manual for several years now and I enjoy it despite what people might say about it (troublesome during jam, etc). Most of all, I enjoy the novelty of driving a manual.

My question is, is it naive to want to buy a new manual car? I've always rationalise driving manual by thinking that it's more fuel efficient compared to automatic. Is this still the case?

The cars that I'm considering is one of the new Myvis that's released today, and the 2016 Toyota Vios 1.5J MT.
THE CLASS OF 13
post Nov 8 2017, 03:33 PM

Getting Started
170 posts

QUOTE(SKisaGooner @ Nov 8 2017, 03:31 PM)
I've been driving manual for several years now and I enjoy it despite what people might say about it (troublesome during jam, etc). Most of all, I enjoy the novelty of driving a manual.

My question is, is it naive to want to buy a new manual car? I've always rationalise driving manual by thinking that it's more fuel efficient compared to automatic. Is this still the case?

The cars that I'm considering is one of the new Myvis that's released today, and the 2016 Toyota Vios 1.5J MT.
not sure la but isnt j mt variant use old engine? only the cvt one have 2nr engine
6UE5T
post Nov 8 2017, 03:37 PM

Regular
1,704 posts

No it's not naïve. I actually miss driving manual cars and feel kinda bored driving auto cars for over 5 yrs now. But manual it's not more fuel efficient anymore than auto, that's already very old story and nowadays auto car are already much more advanced and able to be even more efficient than manual drivers. The positive things about driving manual are only these now:
- more fun/involved as you're fully in control of the car.
- the car is simpler with manual transmission as it doesn't need as much electronics.