Guitars Guitar String Stories, Accidents while playing or restringing

sean392
post Apr 21 2007, 07:08 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Apr 21 2007, 11:34 AM)
there was period I was lazy to cut off my guitar's excess string, making it look like 'hair'.

after that thing nearly went into my eye (thank God for specs) during a mini-gig while I was moving about, I straight away made it a practice to trim off excess strings. tongue.gif
tsk tsk, who ask you not to trim
be like me brows.gif been trimming my strings since i started. see? im neat lol

anyway
worse thing happened was when my first time restringing my guitar bout a year ago
lol
i was winding the string without checking the tension, so i went on winding n wondering when to stop.
when i decided to stop n i plucked, the string snapped doh.gif
and it was a brand new pack o strings!!!!!! such a waste =/
was stuck with no 1st string till i went guitar collection to get a 1st string from another brand
lol

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 21 2007, 04:22 PM)
you mean you dump the string in hot boiling water?!?!?!?!?!?!

well if you play often you change strings like twice a month. . . which amounts  to the same for a bassist who change like 3 months once right?

i change once a month. . .  so yea. . . depending on how often i play lolz
sounds like how hendrix tech stretched the strings , by boiling it lol [read it somewhere nt sure how true is this tho]

This post has been edited by sean392: Apr 21 2007, 07:09 PM
sean392
post Apr 21 2007, 08:50 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

daddarios i used last time, the brightness only lasted a week on my electric
by the 2nd week its all black alr, guess i sweat too much
sean392
post Apr 22 2007, 12:47 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Apr 22 2007, 01:21 AM)
how do you restring it with the ball end at the tuners ?
where can buy individual strings?  ohmy.gif
i sweat a lot too when i play but these elixir strings are tough. more than 1 month liao i think still shiny  thumbup.gif

for me.... i restrung the wrong string  doh.gif
took the B string and strung it to the high E. then had to take it out and string to the B, too short so i thought it wont stay in tune but surprisingly its working like normal  rolleyes.gif
elixirs coated brows.gif the sound of mine was really bright till bout the 3rd month
6 month still abit shiny but sound got duller alr,
then i snapped it while playing, i went YARRRR STRUMMMMM
snap the ball end flew pretty far lol
sean392
post Apr 22 2007, 05:39 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

guitar collection sells single daddario
bentley sells single ernie balls

not so sure bout the rest =/
sean392
post Apr 23 2007, 10:30 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 23 2007, 10:21 PM)
Well the funniest thing that happened was when I just started Bass and it happend around 3-4 years back.

So I got my bass + amp + tuner + method book rclxms.gif

I thought that its wise to tune my bass first
So I attached the tuner (which picks up vibration) on the headstock
and started tuning to the bass standard tuning which is EADG

But at that time I knew nuts about the tunings and stuff... All I know is EADG (From the TABs In the Method Book)

And guess what? I read the TABs Upside Down..  doh.gif

You guessed it,
I tuned the strings Upside Down (GDAE) thumbup.gif

The E and A strings survived the extreme high tension, But when it was till the D string, I remembered that when I achieved a near perfect G (Just a step more towards A) the string just gave way and just sprang out violently shocking.gif   

And worst still, I still did not realise my mistake and thought that I tuned it An Octave too high. So I tuned the E A and G string (D String snapped) down an octave sill in the wrong tuning (Still tuned upside down)

But there is no tension. rclxub.gif So I concluded that there is a problem with the bloody tuner. So I got my Rant Speech ready and marched back to the music shop the next day. vmad.gif

It all ended when I explained what happened to my current ex-teacher and he just blew out laughing his ass off (Literally)

Me < unsure.gif

And when he explained my mistake

I changed from  hmm.gif to oops.gif

And because I "Brightened" his day, He gave me a new pack of D'addario free of charge and told me not to mess with anything until I know enough.
The moral of this true story is : Only mess with stuff if you know what you are doing sweat.gif
wow
ur teacher is quite nice isnt he ?
haha biggrin.gif

0.0168sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:35 AM