RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

hfi
post Jul 23 2008, 06:57 PM

598 posts

Cant believe ppl already judging the game from nothing but a trailer! Are people still wanting to play a 2D game ? We're at a stage where technology allows developers to produce an immersive game world and introduce better game play.

So the game looks like Oblivion, so is that a bad thing ? Oblivion is wicked and has put single player rpg into another level. It worked and proven successful. Its a benchmark hence why people already comparing games to it.

Wait for the release, play the game and judge it. Otherwise its just a premature ejaculation of unnecessary rant.
hfi
post Jul 23 2008, 09:26 PM

598 posts

Fair enough bro. Everyone have their preferences but as long as the control and game play are not lame, i really do not mind what view theme the developers decide to go with. I too love my classic games, just yesterday i was going through my stash for Syndicate Wars, a game i dont mind seeing in Oblivion environment. Anyway, we see what happens.

hfi
post Jul 24 2008, 02:30 PM

598 posts

All fair comments, but i still feel its way to early to judge the game. Yes ive seen the gameplay footage and cinematics.

Look i can understand that some people have preference to wanting things to stay generic. But its been 10 years since the last title, obviously developers will tend to create a whole new gameplay and settings. What is everyone expecting? An expansion pack of the old F series ? Its what good developers do, push and implement new ideas. This may upset the Fallout loyalists, but they do need consider the current market situation where the younger generation whom never played the previous games. This and the fact the current developers are not the same as the previous developers, so obviously they come in with their own signature designs. Like in movies, different directors will provide different 'look and feel'.

Oblivion may not be the greatest game ever developed but it was indeed successful. Why should the developer abandon a proven working formula ? Imo what was lacking with Oblivion is the rpg rules and depth like some of you mentioned. Maybe the fallout 'rules of engagement' is the kind of ingredient needed to complete a game like Oblivion. What remain to be seen is how well the theme synergies with the concept of fall out rpg.

To be honest i havent read much or seen much about the new F3, just snippets of it as i dun like to dwell on things and then get overly dissapointed. Maybe some of you have seen enough of it to have made up your mind, but seriously can you really capture the entire game core and concepts from those snippets ? Be honest here.

Now in regards to d3, do you really expect Blizzard to design the new sequel in an immersive game world that will end up competing with their current mmo title WoW? Having said this, will you complain if you see Diablo in an impressive and luscious 3D world ?
hfi
post Jul 24 2008, 03:00 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jul 24 2008, 02:35 PM)
Given, D3 irked some fans with its "different" environment and brighter colors, but at least Blizzard had the brains to keep the general feel of D3 intact. Imagine D3 turning into an FPS, a totally different genre that would cause a problem with those who for various reasons are unable to play and enjoy FPS as much as the others do. Motion sickness anybody? Took me quite some time to play Gears of War on a controller after spending my life on a WASD+Mouse control scheme.

Imagine if Beth bought over starcraft. SC3 in first person... C&C Renegade anybody?
Why in god's name would anyone turn RTS into FPS ? The whole point of RTS is to manage your army and viewing the battleground. You cant do that running around in first person view. Absurd analogy.

Diablo is a hack n slash game, its silly to turn it into a FPS. Spamming skill x through a wall of monsters, thats not fun at all. It will turn out to be something like Serious Sams but with swords and magic.
hfi
post Jul 24 2008, 06:05 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jul 24 2008, 05:28 PM)
Same thing with turning RPGs into FPS.

Don't buy pirated Diablo 3 if you don't want Blizzard to head down the same road as Black Isle. biggrin.gif
Ahh but the concept of RPG can easily be ported into FPS without having the entire concept and gameplay falls apart. F3 allows you to switch between first person and 3rd person view, if you despise the FPS concept then stick to 3rd person view smile.gif

To me RPG is a concept of taking the role of a character and having the ability to alter the characteristic of him or her, and the ability to interact with the game world. Whether its an isometric view or 3rd person or first person view, it is really irrelevant. Its a matter of preference. But view theme does not break the concept of RPG.
hfi
post Jul 24 2008, 08:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Jul 24 2008, 07:51 PM)
Thing is, the transistion of RPG to FPS, especially a turn-based one, will mean you gotta change or sacrifice some of the core systems. If Agility only affect action points from now on, why would you care to put points into it if you are confident that you don't need VATS? Or, how do you calculate sequence? WHat's the role of perception beyond VATS? This, to me, is where everything falls apart.

BTW, 3rd person view means you gotta rely 100% on VATS.

Your definition of RPG is correct, but that is only for pencil-and-papers. Besides, what we loved in Fallout wasn't just the system. Granted, that was part of the fun, but most of the fun comes from the other stuff that Beth discarded - mainly the turn-based combat. Also, the quirky characters, the funny easter eggs, the black humor, and the freedom to run around the wasteland the way you see fit. It was the general theme that made it special.

The thing about isometric view is that the less details you see, the more forgiving you are, and ironically, the easier it is to immerse yourself into the game world. Current technologies are not up to the - real immersion level that Beth claimed they had yet, and to change to FP view is just opening a big can of worms that shows more of the defects than the gems.

Or it might just be me hating the animations and Beth's arrogance and ignorance.
Fair post, and i get where you coming from. I think the answer to your questions is dependent on the person playing the game. Whether he wants to rely on Vats or spontaneous real time combat. This is where the game seems a little interesting to me. Besides having a character i can tweak and upgrade, the game allows you to play 2 separate modes; real time or Vats. I really do not know how the other skills gonna work out and i doubt anyone would know for certain.

Well VATS is kinda hybrid of turn based and rtc so maybe that will keep the original fall out concepts. I havent played the game and i think 30 mins demo is what available atm and really, you cant derive any conclusions from a 30 min demo. It might have a better story, interesting characters etc.

Fully understand what you saying in regards to isometric view. Tho im not the kinda person to get so worked out on little defects. Its the gameplay and controls that matters to me. I wouldnt mind F3 in isometric view or any other views, as im quite open minded when it comes to games. Maybe i have been spoiled with years of playing mmo and fps that i have gotten so used to the idea of 3rd and first person perspective.

0.0504sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:13 PM