5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 17 2008, 04:25 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Oct 17 2008, 12:26 PM)
For those who never played the fallout series before like me, without all the Fallout purist thing ,is it going to introduce anything new to the table.?
I think you're gonna love Fallout 3 smile.gif

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 18 2008, 12:43 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(ameque @ Oct 17 2008, 07:40 PM)
i tot fallout was supposed to be RPG not FPS.
if i wanted a FPS game i'd play CRYSIS or COD.
Beth messed up big time.  mad.gif
According to Bethsoft's devs, Fallout 3 is supposed to be something like Deus Ex (FPS with deep RPG elements)....yeah right!

Bethsoft, you don't have Warren Spector on board...you have Todd Howard wink.gif
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 18 2008, 02:17 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 18 2008, 11:26 AM)
Perhaps I should change to sub-title to this one? tongue.gif
Hehe, I think you should...

If F3 allows the player character to join the Enclave, I'd say that will be pretty cool. In Fallout 1, the pc can either save the vault dwellers or join the master so I'm hoping that a similar option is available in F3. Wishful thinking...I know...I know...sigh

Oh ya, steel be with you brows.gif

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 18 2008, 11:15 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(RangerKarl @ Oct 18 2008, 10:49 PM)
They took out Traits. Merged them with Perks and removed negative aspects. No more Gifted characters for you.
I remember creating a character with the Gifted trait. Awesome stats coupled with severe skill deficit.

Damn, why did they remove it...

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 18 2008, 11:16 PM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 20 2008, 07:38 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Oct 20 2008, 07:33 PM)
yeah, but die hard fallout fans juz have to cope with it though.. smile.gif
I'm playing it just for the post-apocalyptic atmosphere. Don't know exactly how I'm gonna cope with all the flaws without modding tools hehehe

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 25 2008, 09:58 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Oct 25 2008, 08:39 AM)
To be fair, Bioware's only good game is Baldur's Gate series.

The rightful studio that should make Fallout 3 is Troika Games, ex-Interplay employee and original makers of Fallout - Tim Cain, Leonard Boyarsky and Jason Anderson.

Boyarsky expressed his thought when Bethesda acquired the rights of Fallout 3
" To be perfectly honest, I was extremely disappointed that we did not get the chance to make the next Fallout game. This has nothing to do with Bethesda, it's just that we've always felt that Fallout was ours and it was just a technicality that Interplay happened to own it. It sort of felt as if our child had been sold to the highest bidder, and we had to just sit by and watch. Since I have absolutely no idea what their plans are, I can't comment on whether I think they're going in the right direction with it or not."

Btw, Boyarsky is the lead world designer of Diablo 3, Tim Cain is working with NCsoft, Jason Anderson joined Interplay as creative director for an unannounced MMO.
Seconded. The BG series was their greatest achievement. NWN and Mass Effect were great but not comparable to the superb quality of the BG series.

If Troika had acquired the rights to make Fallout 3, it would be a spectacular RPG worthy of being a successor to the last installment (with numerous bugs of course, typical of all Troika games). Fallout 3 would still be TB with isometric view in full 3D glory and the main emphasis of the game would be on the storyline and choice and consequence and not VATS and BLOODY MESS. Most importantly, the game would only be made for the PC crowd. Unfortunately, that didn't materialize and we get Todd Howard and Bethesda in a nice little package instead.

A few days left before F3 (Bethesda Edition) comes out. I can envision the sight of console kiddies getting incredible excited at the VATS and the over the top gore of F3. Can't say the same for Fallout fans though...

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 27 2008, 09:21 PM

329 posts

So tomorrow's the day Fallout 3 is released. Anyone excited? laugh.gif

I'm gonna go to the nearest "retailer" to acquire my copy.
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 28 2008, 12:03 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Oct 27 2008, 11:48 PM)
I'm just hoping for good graphics...
From what I've heard, F3 doesn't have shadows for performance purposes. I sure hope the Gamebryo engine is properly optimized. When Oblivion came out, performance was terrible even on a 7800GT. The lack of trees and grass will definitely help in performance.

I'd be surprised if I can't play F3 at max settings with a 4850.

P/S - The graphics isn't exactly revolutionary (pssst...it has the same graphics engine as Oblivion)

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 28 2008, 12:08 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 28 2008, 09:21 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Oct 28 2008, 07:20 PM)
I get word from TSB saying that SEA will be delayed until 13 Nov...SOB shakehead.gif
You can always try the non-legit version if you're desperate just to look see look see brows.gif (I call it test driving the game)

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 28 2008, 08:06 PM)
what woot? all *professional* review site gave FO3 :

>9/10
>90/100
>4/5

and last but most ridiculous, OXM 10/11 score. wooooottttt!!!

even 3years old bloodline could've easily pawn this
[attachmentid=648154]
The high reviews are to be expected from mainstream reviewers. Gaming publications fear the might of Bethsoft's PR machinery. It's disappointing that many of these "professional reviews" didn't mention any of F3's flaws but instead endlessly praising the game from top to bottom. What about the stiff animation or the horrible voice acting? Comparing VTMB to F3 isn't exactly fair. F3 is an FPS pretending to be an RPG whereas VTMB is a true RPG (coming to 4 years btw tongue.gif )

P/S - Only one review lambasted the game (French publication if I'm not mistaken). Maybe Bethsoft forgot to bribe them hehehehe.

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 28 2008, 09:29 PM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 28 2008, 09:27 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Oct 28 2008, 09:24 PM)
starforce is russian edition, which wat u encounter with current pirated 1
western release use securerom...
And I'm guessing there's already a crack to bypass securom...

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 28 2008, 11:29 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 28 2008, 11:07 PM)
So far in game ranking (90%) & metacritic (93%) is the highest ranking for a pc game this year. (X box 360 & PS3 got their GTA 4 & MGS).
Apparently reviewer founds that the flaws have been overshadowed by the game's innovation & ambition.
The only big 3 absentee review is from gamespot (few more days later, since they just review RA3).
For those still attacking the game rating please play the game first b4 review your comments (a fact outnumbers a hundred rumours)
Grab a pirated copy if you must.
But don't be misled by those F3 gameplay video you see in shops (caution note)
According to a guy at NMA who played the game for 7 hours, F3 sucks as a shooter and sucks even more as an RPG shocking.gif

Oh well, I'll have to play the game myself to see how bad the game is.
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 29 2008, 12:44 AM

329 posts

Some newly uploaded F3 videos... biggrin.gif

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/usermovies/282542.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIEqcRtVVpk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iHjfVYbgIU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2V93k4mEprQ

The AI is very intelligent indeed (and super tough). Oh my God, so it must be true then, Fallout 3 is teh awesome!!!!! GAME OF THE YEAR!!!!

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 29 2008, 01:53 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 29 2008, 11:19 AM

329 posts

The game was only released yesterday and there are already a few bug videos appearing on You Tube and Gametrailers.

SPOILER ALERT...apparently F3's main storyline can be broken prematurely according to someone at F3 forum. It brought the player pretty close to the ending. Woot, now I can do speedruns...

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Oct 29 2008, 11:21 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 29 2008, 07:02 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(neo_sabbath @ Oct 29 2008, 06:44 PM)
yeap.preordered it from PlayAsia at RM335 including shipping...man it was a loooooong 1 month wait for it..
RM 335 for F3 CE....whoa, that's heavy

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 29 2008, 07:29 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 29 2008, 07:15 PM)
ahh .. arcanum. last real RPG in this retarded world of FPS-ard.
Great game but buggy as hell...typical of all Troika games...damn those publishers

Someone should acquire the rights to Arcanum and make a sequel...someone like Bioware or Obsidian

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 30 2008, 02:04 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 30 2008, 01:02 PM)
Its called VATS or Vault Tec Assist Targetting system. Very similiar to how u play kotor where you select and enemy and then queue up your attacks on each target in an succession order.
VATS also allows you to attack specific body parts like the head or torso. You'll get bored of it after a dozen times of using it.

It also looks incredibly ridiculous to shoot a mofo 32 times in the head for him to die. FPS RPG BAH!!!

P/S - And why the fark did Bethsoft removed the groin and eyes VATS option. Now I can't shoot rats in the groin...ass

Enclave Recruit
post Oct 30 2008, 11:26 PM

329 posts

Wah...you guys watched the ending liao...

Should I watch the ending as well? Is it worth it? Hmmmmm....

Anyway, I'm getting the game tomorrow. Will post some screenies soon
Enclave Recruit
post Oct 31 2008, 05:38 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 31 2008, 04:34 PM)
I never played any prequels of F3.

Just watch a few videos and i got put off by this game.
Do yourself a favour and go play Fallout 1 and Fallout 2. Both are phenomenal. I personally like Fallout 2 better since it has more content and an insane amount of pop culture references. Avoid Fallout 3 at all costs...

The Witcher's good too although the main storyline is slightly linear but at least CD Projekt got the choices and consequences part right.

Enclave Recruit
post Nov 1 2008, 09:36 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 08:14 AM)
character creation is like oblivion. u had to go thru ur childhood, buildin ur stat n skill etc...... just like oblivion, when u meet the king n escaped from prison. but in FO3, out of vault. annoyin especially the G.O.A.T. test, the tester ask u 1 question by 1, cant seem to skip that n had to wait for him to finished the question slowly b4 u could answer em.

its by far worse than temple of trial in FO2 when u can run all the way n done in 5 minutes. it gonna take u more than 20 minutes for all that trouble. ==
all i can suggest is save b4 u leave vault if u wan to replay em with different stat n tagged skill (like oblivion, b4 u exit the prison, it will prompt u wether u wanna keep ur stat or change em.)
Actually you CAN skip the G.O.A.T test by convincing the tester that you are sick. Apparently the tester is an admirer of the player character's dad.
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 1 2008, 10:57 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 09:47 AM)
oh, didnt know that. i just had a quick test drive n play for an hour or more b4 uninstalling it.
yet, getting all that trouble for character creation? why cant they do Fallout 1/2 way of character creation, u dun need ur father to ask wat ur gender n wats ur name. best one would be fallout1, done creatin character, n u get kick out of vault straight away.

but some G.O.A.T test answer is really amusing.
grandma give u gun to shoot someone.
i choose: can u give me minigun, so i dun have to worry bout missing my target. tongue.gif
wah, uninstall so fast hehehe...

Anyway, the character creation process is tedious and silly to say the very least. Bethesda should have incorporated an option for players to bypass the tutorial (especially for those who are replaying the game). I skipped the GOAT questions since it was incredibly retarded and time consuming (just let me get out of the vault damnit!!). I even "killed" the overseer's daughter Amata a few times before leaving the vault haha. I shot her in the head a few times only to see her stand up again, unbelievable.

I'll be honest with you, the in-game scenery is terrific and a small percentage of the quests are decent (not great though), most notably the slavers quest. However, the game is still overshadowed by major design flaws, horrendous voice acting, poorly written dialogues and Oblivion-esque quirks (after 2 years and Bethsoft haven't learned anything).

It's an above average game in it's own right but an awful Fallout game (not a worthy successor to Fallout 2 and will be remembered as the game that tainted the entire franchise for years to come). Solely my opinion of course hehe. It'll be hard to mod this game to perfection if that's even possible.

P/S - I just found out that there's an option to aid the Enclave. It's a shame the West Coast Enclave Advanced Power Armor looks gay. When the CS comes out, I'm gonna make myself the good old Advanced Power Armor mod...

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Nov 1 2008, 11:11 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0234sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:41 PM