RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

frags
post Jan 28 2009, 01:51 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Operation Anchorage Trailer

frags
post Feb 7 2009, 06:34 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 7 2009, 06:10 PM)
Really meh?..PC.Com magazine gaveĀ  Fallout 3 RPG of the yearler...FPS of the year went to Far Cry 2.
IGN and Gamespot also categories it as RPG.

You as a vault dweller should know better than meĀ  smile.gif
Naah they are still bitter about Beth doing Fallout 3. It's not what RPG's used to be. Seriously you guys should see the new Comic Con gampley videos of Dragon Age Origins...that looks like oldschool BG2 to me with the Mass Effect like cutscenes.

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/45229.html
http://www.gametrailers.com/player/45231.html

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 7 2009, 06:36 PM
frags
post Feb 8 2009, 12:52 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 8 2009, 12:43 AM)
Why you always call ppl retarded?

Anyway, I get it, Fallout 3 is not 'RPG' as you mention....its 'LIFE' for you.
Retards are people who choose not to learn. They prefer to be spoon fed and want instant gratification. That is why he calls them that. Retards expect games to be instantly playable as in no need for tutorial etc...pick up and play they say...

In American slang...we call them frat boys! They are the same to me as retards...

He really is not contemplating the fact that these people choose to be retards...but his main point was that way too many developers are making their games retard friendly laugh.gif

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 8 2009, 12:54 AM
frags
post Feb 8 2009, 02:07 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Feb 8 2009, 01:38 AM)
Wow, it's rare to find people with common sense like you nowadays. I feel very lucky. And I am not being sarcastic at all.

Seriously, games are beginning to look like our education system now. Getting dumber so that retards can feel good about themselves. Railroading, 10 hour long tutorials, level scalling, yada yada... that's how stupider games are getting nowadays.

Added on February 8, 2009, 1:39 am

LIFE? Ever tried going into a bookstore and asking?

Store Owner: What do you want?
You: [Intelligence] You want to know what I want.
Store Owner: You're a very smart person

Fallout 3 is not "life". It's called a hiking simulator with guns and retarded mannequins.
I can tell you that there are definetely people like us around. We are what big time devs/publishers call as a niche these days...

Western developers seem to be too preoccupied with streamlining(this is not bad), simplyfying their games simply because they believe that will allow them to maximise their sales. Gone are the days were you used to call an RPG a CRPG and literally they were computerised versions of these table top games(this is also the same with strategy games but wargames still survive...a very small niche).

Developers/publishers like Stardock are very much in the old school of thought. They make games hardcore fans of 4X games want to play.

Also the rise of Eastern European developers are something to keep your eye on. Their games are more inspired by really old school game mechanics and have that charm of old games.

Way off topic...this deserves a separate topic really...I think the strategy gamers would have their own opinion too...considering Relic is hellbent in thinking they need to 'revive' RTS by removing certain things...

PS : I don't think streamlining is a bad thing...It's just that some developers that use that term dumb down their game and say that is streamlining...That is bad streamlining...good streamlining is like what Civ 4 did...They don't remove the depth...they make it easier to manage different levels of information...

It can also be argued that dumbing down of depth is also more of a console centric development approach(I'm sure you know what I mean when they talk about attention span etc)...but as i said...way off topic...

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 8 2009, 02:19 AM
frags
post Feb 10 2009, 04:51 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 10 2009, 04:46 PM)
Any good RPG, FPS or RTS games to recommend?
Arcanum was the last proper RPG I played..of course it was a buggy mess...but patches made it a lot better...Or was it Wizardry 8?
frags
post Feb 12 2009, 01:51 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

LOL imagine if someone paid RM180 or worse still the Fallout 3 Collectors edition that cost a bomb...Now thats painful...But 10 bucks...come on...So pirates are not only cheap but totally unreasonable doh.gif

0.0684sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:50 PM