RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

Topace111
post Oct 19 2008, 10:45 PM

2,102 posts

Pc gamer rank this game at 90%
Topace111
post Oct 21 2008, 12:06 PM

2,102 posts

IGN always gives good rating for "innovative" games : Bioshock as GOY 2007 (Charles Onyet is the toughest reviewer)
Gamespot normally check on the graphics & gameplay : Crysis as GOY 2007 (zero toleration on bugs but admiration for addictive game)
Gamespy as it said multiplayer was the core element : COD 4 as GOY 2007 (they always have something to criticise)

If you want a detailed review i always check worthplaying which normally available in metacritic after few weeks.
Topace111
post Oct 23 2008, 11:20 PM

2,102 posts

Well i think everybody here fears what happen to diablo (3) almost.
Previously the main production head of diablo series went to create hellgate london (spiritual successor to diablo series). Needless to say that it make big changes just like what bethesda did (isometric to first person). Then a new confirmed diablo 3 is really coming out to clear off this rubbish.

In its own, fallout 3 is a decent game (without comparison to its predecessor). But a deviation from its beloved series will off course turn most old fans off but generate new fans as well. Company in mocern era will always approach the "cannibalisation" where they want the new game to outscore the previous game.

If anyone hoping for a better company to acquire the fallout IP last time, it should be BIOWARE but bioware never continue others work. Their trend is pretty simple nowadays old school r & d (nws & dragonage), then space fantasy (Kotor, mass effect). Bioware always like D & D series and maybe due to some respect left for its fellow compatriot they left the IP acquisition.
Topace111
post Oct 28 2008, 11:07 PM

2,102 posts

So far in game ranking (90%) & metacritic (93%) is the highest ranking for a pc game this year. (X box 360 & PS3 got their GTA 4 & MGS).
Apparently reviewer founds that the flaws have been overshadowed by the game's innovation & ambition.
The only big 3 absentee review is from gamespot (few more days later, since they just review RA3).
For those still attacking the game rating please play the game first b4 review your comments (a fact outnumbers a hundred rumours)
Grab a pirated copy if you must.
But don't be misled by those F3 gameplay video you see in shops (caution note)
Topace111
post Oct 29 2008, 01:29 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 29 2008, 01:04 AM)
Sigh, another "play the game first" guy. Haven't we beaten that strawman enough now? Dude, do yourself a favor - read back at this thread.
I was just wondering if fallout 3 can be that bad what good games you can recommend me this year emm. Just a few bad eggs inside the game doesn't make the games s*** overall. I don't think many games can equal that proportion of F3 whether in production value or amount of detail thrown in. Those whom only know how to give bad reviews without balancing the good ones are considered without a "holistic" view who focus only on minor issues.
I think what the 1up review quotes the best line :
The review concluded that despite the game's shortcomings, Fallout 3 is a "hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often," and one would "be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it".

If you really dislike F3 you can wait for another unknown years for Fallout MMO while 99% gamer of the world are playing the fallout 3. Fallout 4 will come out after 3 years (by bethesda). Constructive criticsm is healthy but overboard is unethical.
Topace111
post Oct 29 2008, 11:32 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 29 2008, 04:40 AM)
I guess you don't really understand what really made fallout shine is completely different than what made oblivion shine (to their fans)? They are different genres - Oblivion tries to impose immersion on the player while fallout tries to stay true to its PnP roots. Both have different aims and what Bethesda is doing is taking all that fallout stands for, rip it apart, take the artwork and universe and slapped it onto a thinly disguised Oblivion. To call it Oblivion with guns is extremely accurate.

I'm playing Oblivion right now and I can tell you how much it sucks as a RPG. The plethora of bugs and "immersion" breakers are everywhere. I seriously don't get the FPS + RPG part - not that it's undoable, but rather in Beth's case of FO3 it's horribly implemented, judging from the gameplay footage.

Had they called it Oblivion Apocalypse or Fallout: East Coast, I wouldn't be that pissed off. That's like taking Hellgate: London and then renaming it to Diablo 3. See how the Diable 3 fans react.

Seriously, I would rather the fallout franchise stop at Fallout 2 and being remembered as a cult classic instead of being butchered by Bethsoft in a lame excuse to extend the series and milk the franchise dry of cash.

Like I said, how many times does one need to get f***ed in the arse to realize they're sodomized?

And the thing about constructive criticism is, Beth's not listening. They never do. Look what happened to Daggerfall, Morrowind and Oblivion. Enough evidences yet?
I understand the original Black isle studio fallout series fans concerns.
However one needs to understand that the pre 2000 era was all about RPG games (especially D & D)
However as time move on less & less RPG games was being developed as you need the very best team to develop it.
The ratios of games like FPS, RTS has outnumber RPG games greatly (that also apply to game developer as well)

If i am not mistaken there are only 1 good RPG released every year :
2007 : Witcher
2006 : Neverwinter nights 2 & Oblivion.

Well bcos of the fact that making MMO was far more profitable many developers are moving to that direction (WOW, Warhammer, LOTRO).
I understand that it should not named Fallout 3 but even the original fallout 3 was supposed to be called Van buren. However since i have not played the game yet i should be objective in giving my opinion.
Topace111
post Oct 29 2008, 02:35 PM

2,102 posts

The review from gamespot finally comes in with another 90.
I think bcos SEA will be released late since they developed & publish the game together unlike in the past relying on 3rd party publisher (2k games)
If publisher likes EA & ubisoft moves in the games will be released faster. (Maybe bethesda wants to reap all the profits themselves)
Topace111
post Oct 31 2008, 01:01 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Oct 31 2008, 12:22 AM)
I just read back a couple pages back and found out that some already got their hands on the pirated versions since they can't wait...or something like that. I see... I guess Dead Space for me in the mean time...Far Cry 2 is a waste of money... Seen lots of good & great reviews for Fallout 3... No bad reviews from website thus far. Some critical reviews by fans...but overall they still rated the game as good or great.
The fans at most can debate at tha game deviation from the original fallout series & uncanny resemblance to Oblivion.
Apart from that they cannot criticise further by drawing flaks on ther games as well.
The analogy can be like this : If you call your smartest classmate idiot what about others ?
If you give Fallout 3 a rating of 3 out of 10, then how about other games like hellgate london 0 perhaps ?

Topace111
post Oct 31 2008, 11:37 AM

2,102 posts

There are 2 possible reasons why F3 get high rating depends on your personal view :
1) If you hate the F****** s***** Beth :
Perhaps there are some reviewers which are already biased at the first place (they are ready to flame the game) but when they play they discovered that the game has more surprises in store & the flaws which was so evident doen't matter that anymore (There is no perfect game in the world theory). The analogy is pretty simple if you went to a restaurant & anticipate a bad service & lousy food but turns up its a lot better than predicted you cannot help but to give good opinion (with symphaty vote thrown in)

2) If you are a neutral gamer who just wants some good time :
There are vey few game which offer you 2 of this : Long playing time (> 60 hours) & high replayability value (different decision affect consequence)
The only game i have played more than 100 hours is Neverwinter nights diamond edition (3 expansion) by bioware. I have never played the 2nd NW series since obsidian is at the helm (that goes for KOTOR 2 as well).
The only high replayability game i have truly enjoyed is Witcher (enhanced edition). You always arrived at T-junction. I have no doubt that F3 will emerge in some website as GOY, if not at the very least in best RPG in PC version.

By the way i heard news that Blu ray pirated has already arrive in China selling as low as $1.5 each (Roughly Rm6). I wonder when the games will be blu ray version as well ?

Console for 100% for gaming (that's why more priority on games)
PC was for general purpose (internet, work station, then games)
However we do have MMOs like WOW which console will be dying to catch

This post has been edited by Topace111: Oct 31 2008, 11:40 AM
Topace111
post Oct 31 2008, 07:09 PM

2,102 posts

Speaking of possible great RPG game this year, there is still 2 contender (just less known only) :
1) Sacred 2 : fallen angel (very similar to diablo)
2) Rise of the argonauts (by liquid entertainment)

I personally think Bioware was above black isle studio in terms of developing RPG series. I know fallout & baldurs gate was 2 different setting & genre but no denying that baldurs gate was the better rpg. If you guys are waiting for the next big RPG (diablo 3 later) wait no longer for dragonage origins next mid year. Bioware has not dissapoint me with any of their games so far with exception when they prioritise on consoles in prior years.

For those wondering why oblivion was panned down here bcos fallout has a very loud fan base. Consider them as loud minority in gaming with the silent majority has move on with the time. Its been what 9 years since fallout 2 ?
Topace111
post Oct 31 2008, 11:16 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 31 2008, 09:16 PM)
Bioware and Black Isle studios are both great development studios. Fallout and Baldur's Gate are very different. BG's very linear, and the thing that makes it shine is the writing and plot. Fallout gives the player more freedom, and that's where it shines primarily. Writing wise, yeah BG's much better. But Fallout's the one with the replayability. biggrin.gif

As for Oblivion, coming from a BG, Planescape and Fallout background, I just can't bring myself to enjoy it. If I wanted mindless sandbox fun, there's GTA. My bone with Oblivion is that it tries to be too many things at the same time. Had it been a linear RPG FPS thingy, I might even enjoy it. But well, everybody's got their own tastes I guess.
Very true, different people have different taste & liking. Oblivion has enjoy sales of almost 3 million compared to witcher 1m. Gta 4 scores 10m. Spore can easily outstrip these 3 games but illegal download doesn't count isn't it ?
Games developer always stuck with 2 blatant choice when deciding on the game sequel :

1) To change the gameplay (bioware games mostly, dawn of war)
2) To change the graphics (normally will be released once every 4 - 10 years : Warcraft, Starcraft, Red alert, command & conquer)

Obviously changing both of them takes a very huge gamble & risk but there are successful ventures like COD 4 & the big loser hellgate. Any games trying to attempt both can be considered "ambitious" by any standards. Fallout 3 decided to take this approach obviously. This move will no doubt create some new fans but draws flak from the original fans.

I don't know about you guys but i use to play a very fantastic RTS + RPG hybrid called Majesty by micropose. If you check some websites many fans love the indirect gameplay but after 8-9 years like fallout it was not able to develop further but forced to sell its IP to 3rd party. What can fans do ? Hope for the best. The game coming up next year......
Topace111
post Nov 1 2008, 12:40 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 31 2008, 11:32 PM)
Truthfully, like I've always maintained, Beth doing Fallout is new technologies isn't the biggest gripe most oldtime fallout fans have. The problem with Beth is they are PR machines first and game developers second. The change from isometric to FPS is painful, but could be palatable if Beth had credible and excellent writers. Dialogues especially were the weakest link in TES series since god knows when. The plot have degenerated into some Hollywood esque "sacrifice this sacrifice that" piece of crap, and that's the biggest problem most fans have.

Yes they might have retained their Oblivion fans and many new comers who have never played the older series before, but they'll have a hard time persuading fallout fans from enjoying the new one especially since the trademark black humor and clever writing in the predecessors are now gone, replaced with 11 year old quality dramatic scripts poorly stitched together with an over abundance of profanities and tough-guy talk that fails to capture the atmosphere.

you're right about the "What can fans do" part. Blizzard fans are fortunate on SC2 because Blizzard practically went to the fans for ideas. Not so with Diablo 3, but still not many were complaining after seeing the second round of gameplay footage. But at least they responded to fan requests properly and didn't try to change things into something completely foreign. Beth on the other hand, all along the development progress was patronizing and condenscending towards the old fallout communities, especially they way they treated NMA and DnC like they are nothing more but yapping rats to be swatted away. Such disrespect towards the oldest fan community and they had the balls to say that they designed FO3 with the old crowd in mind!

You see, sometimes it boils down to perception. Had Beth spent more time working with NMA and DnC in the process, or even give official invites to these two communities to previews, reviews and even integrate some of them into playtesting and feedback, the whole old fanbase would be appeased and more receptive to FO3 compared to now. And they really had nothing to lose - many in NMA were bitter that NMA were consistently used as a strawman in the beth forums like they were the loud minority, when in fact they represent some of the oldest and most loyal fans of the franchise, and was even a great catalyst for the fallout modding community.

Sigh. I better stop here.
Sequels made by different developer has many issues & history taught us well :
Far cry 2 (ubisoft) & far cry (crytek) = Ubisoft totally overhaul the game by performing re-engineering by creating dunia engine & set in different landscape. Possible explanation : a differentiation strategy to compete with crysis (quite ok actually but hated by some crysis fans)

Neverwinter nights 2 & Kotor 2 (obsidian) & NW & Kotor (bioware) = No need to explain further i don't know why on earth that obsidian crash so heavily since they always consult with bioware (as a result both sequel rank lower than original)

COD 4 (infinity ward) & COD 3 & world at war (treyarch) = Its quite obvious that infinity is the true "tai ko" while treyarch just follow & learn. When COD 3 crash they went to learn from COD 4 & then using the copied engine to develop COD 5.

It is obvious that bethesda don't care what black isle did by totally scraping the code used in van buren (even strory line as well). They have this instinct (kiasu) that they want 100% of profit & even more the reputation as the game success. They don't want any success to be affiliate with Black isle. Think of it like our Pak L & Dr M.

Topace111
post Nov 4 2008, 12:51 AM

2,102 posts

I have read most post from readers in major websites, IGN, Gamespot & metacritic and few from gameranking (should be around > 1000 posts accumulated) The reaction to this game was a bit interesting compared to other games in the market currently.
There are 3 sides to the story:
1) 60% like the game high replayablity value, offer something different, a massive offline game & open world - sand box theme.
2) 25% hate the game (listed by all original fallout series, most of them over 30 years old)
3) 10 - 15% said these is a must buy but admit it does not justify its high rating (> 90%) but should be around 75% - 80%

Speaking about the game direction, i will quote some basic marketing strategy philosophies :
1) market penetration : they are offering same game (gameplay) but different packaging (graphic, ambience).
2) Market development : they develop a different genre (from RPG to something else : RTS, FPS.....).
3) product development : Ovehaul the structure by offering more goodies.
4) Diversification : they went for new fans / gamers : hardcore, casual, cost effective, oldies, professional.

Typically they went for all 4 (some of them) which surprises most professional reviewers which are more accustomed to one at a time. These amount of scale & scope deserves nothing less than 75% amid the potential flaws in designs (Stalker, mass effect, company of heroes & Spore merit these points). The good rating is for bethesda daring to try something new (not for its superiority). F3 was among the early pioneers for the leap of innovation, the reviewers are encouraging other firms do take risk & move forward with time (black isle did not practice innovation)

Games in oversaturated market : Red alert 3, WW2 shooters will no longer pleased these reviewers no matter how good they are. Crysis warhead is our prime example.

The prime reason i like this game is that the graphic slider is very scaleable (my rig is average for medium). Like oblivion my starting tips to levelling is always pick those you use less : intelligence, bomb, med kit, lock picking...etc. The gun thing can come later since you always use it.
Topace111
post Nov 5 2008, 10:08 AM

2,102 posts

Wonder when the expansion will come...... Bethesda always release expansion within 1.5 years time. They also stated Fallout 4 will be out in around 3 years time. Although oblivion on its own its kinda boring & meaningless but with mods like knights of the nine & expansion shivering isles overall the game is fine.

By the way if some people complain about game difficulty what level of difficulty you are playing ?
The only game i have not finished so far is devil may cry 3, in fact none i have heard of.
Topace111
post Nov 7 2008, 10:24 AM

2,102 posts

The best weapon & funniest weapon i had is the rock it launcher. Just stuff anything heavy the effect its kaboom. The best part is that the item will not be damaged everytime you shoot em. The problem is looking for it afterwards. One thing i realise is that the 3 most important skill is repair (if you onto weapons), lockpicking (can get you plenty of ammo) & science (ease the hassle). Medicine is fine but it can be upgraded simply since there is plenty of books around.

Looks like fallout 3 has garnered plenty of new fans as well since the sale has reached 4.7m unit. I think i will replay the game 3 times at the very least : 1) good karma 2) neutral 3) bad karma
Topace111
post Nov 12 2008, 10:53 PM

2,102 posts

Gothic was littered with bugs so bad without mods its not even playable. Thta's why the developer vanished already.
Too bad the looted equipment in bethesda was a little too generic compared to diablo / hellgate. I kinda like some weapon like the laser rifle of harkness. Works for all kind of enemies.
Topace111
post Nov 14 2008, 09:48 AM

2,102 posts

Those days RPG was basicly primed itself on 2 things : gameplay & story (maybe music too) & graphics was the most minor issue.
That's why the games doesn't need much innovation in graphics (which is the most difficult as it creates more bugs as well).
Black isel studio fall in this category, after fallout it emulates bioware in making D & D games (icewind dale series) The rest is history.

However 2 companies decided to make the bold leap forward by making radical changes :
1) Diablo by blizzard
They change all the gameplay for casual players to hop in, as a result they develop a very large fan base & spawn many mimics (titan quest, dungeon siege, sacred..... none came close except graphically)

2) Bioware for KOTOR & NW
They always innovate but the major change is always graphically, they turn from isometric to 3rd personj view then to first person view whil making improvements to graphics. Witcher was also spawned by this (by using aurora engine toolset : i like the sword chain combo & 2 ambiguous decsion at the end of each chapter)

3) Bethesda
Cant say they revolutionise the genre but looking at competitors they fared better by having better graphics & less buggy than usual.
Gothic, two worlds, dark messiah fallls on this buggy issue.

0.0628sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:29 AM