RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

Darkstalker
post Nov 3 2008, 09:46 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Hmmz213 @ Nov 3 2008, 08:42 PM)
OMG.. the main story is so dam short. Took me only 1 day of game play to finish it..WHHYYY.  The ending is so lame. SPOILERY STUFF
Spoilers man. Even if not for FO3, it might be for FO1 and 2.

Not that I've finished either, I have a bad attention span.
Darkstalker
post Nov 3 2008, 10:05 PM

214 posts

Question for the people playing. Someone on a private forum posted this in his experience of the game.

"VATS is only semi-useful when you don't have a shotgun, since it's not exactly easy to get a headshot against a ghoul or a dog. And the only type of damage that counts is a headshot, everything else is a waste of ammo.

Once you max out small guns (level 4 or so if you're doing it right), shots pretty much land where you're aiming and VATS becomes trivial. I've used it a grand total of 3 times in 6 hours of playtime.

So it depends. If you absolutely suck at first person shooters or don't max out a weapon skill (which is a mistake considering how much combat there is in this game), then VATS is useful."

Accurate?
Darkstalker
post Nov 3 2008, 10:36 PM

214 posts

^ The friend that told me that said he maxed out small guns quickly and hasn't used VATS since.

I haven't played the game, remember. I'm just posting impressions and trying to get people to verify the things I hear about the game. tongue.gif
Darkstalker
post Nov 4 2008, 08:29 PM

214 posts

How is the character progression in this game? Freeform? Fun, good to experiment with different skills?
Darkstalker
post Nov 4 2008, 09:39 PM

214 posts

Fallout 3 has not yet reached Malaysian shores officially.

Make of that what you will.
Darkstalker
post Nov 5 2008, 02:21 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Nov 5 2008, 11:58 AM)
Eh what I'm saying is the turn-based combat (FO1, FO2 and FOT) is kinda outdated liao, no need to bring them back. laugh.gif
So sad.
Darkstalker
post Nov 7 2008, 09:25 PM

214 posts

I've personally been staying away. Everything I hear hasn't been that appealing genuinely, except for three things:

1) Character customisation/leveling (but apparently not as good as more in depth systems)

2) Quest completion variety (offset by weird AI behaviour and generally poor script)

3) GTA-fun (which is great, as mucking about is an awesome, but short, diversion)

Darkstalker
post Nov 12 2008, 09:53 PM

214 posts

Oblivion is a step down from Morrowind is a step down from Daggerfall.

>_>

So assuming Fallout follows in these footsteps...

sad.gif

BETH BUCK UP YOU HAVE HUGE SALES MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR POTENTIAL
Darkstalker
post Nov 12 2008, 10:57 PM

214 posts

Which Gothic?

They made 3 games as far as I know, and only the third one was buggy as hell (apparently rushed out by publisher, but don't quote me on that as I didn't really follow its development).

I played Gothic 2 for a bit. That was dope. Then Avernum 5 came out and I have put it on hold since.
Darkstalker
post Nov 13 2008, 03:30 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Nov 13 2008, 03:38 AM)
Planescape Torment > all RPGs

For writing/scripting, I'm bound to agree.
Darkstalker
post Nov 14 2008, 12:37 AM

214 posts

^ You mean Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines.

Don't forget dungeon crawling goodness, we have the Wizardry series (number 8 and Tale of the Forsaken Land are highlights).

Action RPG, don't forget Arx Fatalis, the precursor to Dark Messiah of Might and Magic.

Can't think of more offhand, kinda sleepy.

0.0531sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:32 PM