128 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

RPG -Fallout 3-, Fans... Fans never change...

dfcloud
post Nov 1 2008, 02:17 AM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

pls tell me thats just rumors...
if not, better buy from steam... but for usd50 mad.gif
more liek rm150 if u got lucky
Hitman66
post Nov 1 2008, 05:11 AM

Wow COD clone f**k blizzard
707 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Nov 1 2008, 12:32 AM)
you're right about the "What can fans do" part. Blizzard fans are fortunate on SC2 because Blizzard practically went to the fans for ideas. Not so with Diablo 3, but still not many were complaining after seeing the second round of gameplay footage. But at least they responded to fan requests properly and didn't try to change things into something completely foreign. Beth on the other hand, all along the development progress was patronizing and condenscending towards the old fallout communities, especially they way they treated NMA and DnC like they are nothing more but yapping rats to be swatted away. Such disrespect towards the oldest fan community and they had the balls to say that they designed FO3 with the old crowd in mind!

You see, sometimes it boils down to perception. Had Beth spent more time working with NMA and DnC in the process, or even give official invites to these two communities to previews, reviews and even integrate some of them into playtesting and feedback, the whole old fanbase would be appeased and more receptive to FO3 compared to now. And they really had nothing to lose - many in NMA were bitter that NMA were consistently used as a strawman in the beth forums like they were the loud minority, when in fact they represent some of the oldest and most loyal fans of the franchise, and was even a great catalyst for the fallout modding community.
Someone can cry just because of that sad.gif

Oh well sometimes changes has to be made.It's for the best (for the company that is) because mainly,money is everything as you said earlier.They can't just depend on small quantity of loyal fans to get back thier money that they spend lotsa on the development alone.

What I said maybe abit too obvious but yeah just to remind you what's all about at the first place.Just hope that something can be done to this (fallout 3) game.Modders,we're counting on you rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Hitman66: Nov 1 2008, 05:12 AM
soggie
post Nov 1 2008, 05:53 AM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Nov 1 2008, 05:11 AM)
Someone can cry just because of that sad.gif

Oh well sometimes changes has to be made.It's for the best (for the company that is) because mainly,money is everything as you said earlier.They can't just depend on small quantity of loyal fans to get back thier money that they spend lotsa on the development alone.

What I said maybe abit too obvious but yeah just to remind you what's all about at the first place.Just hope that something can be done to this (fallout 3) game.Modders,we're counting on you rolleyes.gif
I'm tempted to use my Hellgate London vs. Diablo 3 argument. But I won't. tongue.gif

Anyway, from the looks of the gameplay trailers, it pretty much looks like an Oblivion total conversion.

1) Wait menu in Fallout 3 is exactly the same thing as Oblivion with a new skin
2) Animations in Fallout 3 exactly the same as Oblivion
3) Clunky menus in Fallout 3 is the same as Oblivion with minor differences and a new skin
4) Compass in Fallout 3 is the same as Oblivion with a new skin
5) Jump sound exactly the same
6) Lots of useless junk items that have no purpose at all... same like Oblivion
7) Same AI AKA idiotic AI
8) Sneaking and pickpocketing system is the same (aka you can't pickpocket without going into sneak mode)
9) Can't crouch without going into sneak mode
10) Can loot everything from a corpse, from weapons to clothes (nice.. everybody wants a bullet proof suit that you've just put a few lethal holes in)

The resemblance is uncanny. Truthfully, I believe Oblivion fans would love this - this is everything they liked, except in a post apocalyptic world. Heck, even the death music sounds the same. Except that we've got guns and gore. And the same stupid enemies that you can exploit easily.

I'm watching a lot of gameplay videos right now, and seriously, if you take away the guns, the characters and all living beings in the game, it'll be an extremely great and nostalgic scenic view. The atmosphere of the wasteland is impressive.

And then the humans came in and broke the immersion. Sigh, why are humans always the scourge of everything? T.T
Fyonne
post Nov 1 2008, 08:14 AM

904 posts

character creation is like oblivion. u had to go thru ur childhood, buildin ur stat n skill etc...... just like oblivion, when u meet the king n escaped from prison. but in FO3, out of vault. annoyin especially the G.O.A.T. test, the tester ask u 1 question by 1, cant seem to skip that n had to wait for him to finished the question slowly b4 u could answer em.

its by far worse than temple of trial in FO2 when u can run all the way n done in 5 minutes. it gonna take u more than 20 minutes for all that trouble. ==
all i can suggest is save b4 u leave vault if u wan to replay em with different stat n tagged skill (like oblivion, b4 u exit the prison, it will prompt u wether u wanna keep ur stat or change em.)
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 1 2008, 09:36 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 08:14 AM)
character creation is like oblivion. u had to go thru ur childhood, buildin ur stat n skill etc...... just like oblivion, when u meet the king n escaped from prison. but in FO3, out of vault. annoyin especially the G.O.A.T. test, the tester ask u 1 question by 1, cant seem to skip that n had to wait for him to finished the question slowly b4 u could answer em.

its by far worse than temple of trial in FO2 when u can run all the way n done in 5 minutes. it gonna take u more than 20 minutes for all that trouble. ==
all i can suggest is save b4 u leave vault if u wan to replay em with different stat n tagged skill (like oblivion, b4 u exit the prison, it will prompt u wether u wanna keep ur stat or change em.)
Actually you CAN skip the G.O.A.T test by convincing the tester that you are sick. Apparently the tester is an admirer of the player character's dad.
Fyonne
post Nov 1 2008, 09:47 AM

904 posts

oh, didnt know that. i just had a quick test drive n play for an hour or more b4 uninstalling it.
yet, getting all that trouble for character creation? why cant they do Fallout 1/2 way of character creation, u dun need ur father to ask wat ur gender n wats ur name. best one would be fallout1, done creatin character, n u get kick out of vault straight away.

but some G.O.A.T test answer is really amusing.
grandma give u gun to shoot someone.
i choose: can u give me minigun, so i dun have to worry bout missing my target. tongue.gif
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 1 2008, 10:57 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 09:47 AM)
oh, didnt know that. i just had a quick test drive n play for an hour or more b4 uninstalling it.
yet, getting all that trouble for character creation? why cant they do Fallout 1/2 way of character creation, u dun need ur father to ask wat ur gender n wats ur name. best one would be fallout1, done creatin character, n u get kick out of vault straight away.

but some G.O.A.T test answer is really amusing.
grandma give u gun to shoot someone.
i choose: can u give me minigun, so i dun have to worry bout missing my target. tongue.gif
wah, uninstall so fast hehehe...

Anyway, the character creation process is tedious and silly to say the very least. Bethesda should have incorporated an option for players to bypass the tutorial (especially for those who are replaying the game). I skipped the GOAT questions since it was incredibly retarded and time consuming (just let me get out of the vault damnit!!). I even "killed" the overseer's daughter Amata a few times before leaving the vault haha. I shot her in the head a few times only to see her stand up again, unbelievable.

I'll be honest with you, the in-game scenery is terrific and a small percentage of the quests are decent (not great though), most notably the slavers quest. However, the game is still overshadowed by major design flaws, horrendous voice acting, poorly written dialogues and Oblivion-esque quirks (after 2 years and Bethsoft haven't learned anything).

It's an above average game in it's own right but an awful Fallout game (not a worthy successor to Fallout 2 and will be remembered as the game that tainted the entire franchise for years to come). Solely my opinion of course hehe. It'll be hard to mod this game to perfection if that's even possible.

P/S - I just found out that there's an option to aid the Enclave. It's a shame the West Coast Enclave Advanced Power Armor looks gay. When the CS comes out, I'm gonna make myself the good old Advanced Power Armor mod...

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Nov 1 2008, 11:11 AM
Fyonne
post Nov 1 2008, 11:25 AM

904 posts

yes, the scenery is really nice

i dun really get picklocking thingie (accidentally skip it). repair skill seem to have it use,

n in the game, drugs seem to be plentiful, n u can basically pick up lot of em.

few thing disappoint me bout the world. it seem small n goin next town seem few miles away from ur vault. n yes, u run like ppl walk, n u walk like ppl proning. we could use some sprinting here.

n is FO3 gonna to be like how Oblivion are, ur enemy u meet par with ur lvl?

edit: Advance power armor look cool, but seem unproportionate though whistling.gif
tactics' armor look more refine n proportion to be fit in. n FO3 armor i definately no-no. maybe some modding community will help. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Fyonne: Nov 1 2008, 11:28 AM
finecut
post Nov 1 2008, 11:26 AM

497 posts

it's better to take GOAT if you're a completionist, there's an achievement if you take it smile.gif

Added on November 1, 2008, 11:28 am
QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 11:25 AM)

er, i met a mutant brute on level 3, and he put bullet holes on me sad.gif

This post has been edited by finecut: Nov 1 2008, 11:28 AM
Enclave Recruit
post Nov 1 2008, 11:39 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Nov 1 2008, 11:25 AM)

edit: Advance power armor look cool, but seem unproportionate though whistling.gif
tactics' armor look more refine n proportion to be fit in. n FO3 armor i definately no-no. maybe some modding community will help. whistling.gif
Level scaling only in certain places. Thankfully. At least Bethsoft got that part right...

Yes, mods to the rescue!!! Although I'm getting kinda sick relying on mods to play Bethsoft's games.

QUOTE(finecut @ Nov 1 2008, 11:26 AM)
it's better to take GOAT if you're a completionist, there's an achievement if you take it smile.gif

Added on November 1, 2008, 11:28 am

er, i met a mutant brute on level 3, and he put bullet holes on me sad.gif
I'll take the GOAT when I replay the game. Reason why I skipped it was because I was so eager to get out of the vault and smell the ashes after installing the game hehe...

As for the mutant brute, well...once you've acquired some decent equipment, you'll eat them for breakfast.

This post has been edited by Enclave Recruit: Nov 1 2008, 11:40 AM
Savor_Savvy
post Nov 1 2008, 12:29 PM

2,776 posts

Anyone bought the CE edition? Pcgame.com.my got it liao...
Topace111
post Nov 1 2008, 12:40 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 31 2008, 11:32 PM)
Truthfully, like I've always maintained, Beth doing Fallout is new technologies isn't the biggest gripe most oldtime fallout fans have. The problem with Beth is they are PR machines first and game developers second. The change from isometric to FPS is painful, but could be palatable if Beth had credible and excellent writers. Dialogues especially were the weakest link in TES series since god knows when. The plot have degenerated into some Hollywood esque "sacrifice this sacrifice that" piece of crap, and that's the biggest problem most fans have.

Yes they might have retained their Oblivion fans and many new comers who have never played the older series before, but they'll have a hard time persuading fallout fans from enjoying the new one especially since the trademark black humor and clever writing in the predecessors are now gone, replaced with 11 year old quality dramatic scripts poorly stitched together with an over abundance of profanities and tough-guy talk that fails to capture the atmosphere.

you're right about the "What can fans do" part. Blizzard fans are fortunate on SC2 because Blizzard practically went to the fans for ideas. Not so with Diablo 3, but still not many were complaining after seeing the second round of gameplay footage. But at least they responded to fan requests properly and didn't try to change things into something completely foreign. Beth on the other hand, all along the development progress was patronizing and condenscending towards the old fallout communities, especially they way they treated NMA and DnC like they are nothing more but yapping rats to be swatted away. Such disrespect towards the oldest fan community and they had the balls to say that they designed FO3 with the old crowd in mind!

You see, sometimes it boils down to perception. Had Beth spent more time working with NMA and DnC in the process, or even give official invites to these two communities to previews, reviews and even integrate some of them into playtesting and feedback, the whole old fanbase would be appeased and more receptive to FO3 compared to now. And they really had nothing to lose - many in NMA were bitter that NMA were consistently used as a strawman in the beth forums like they were the loud minority, when in fact they represent some of the oldest and most loyal fans of the franchise, and was even a great catalyst for the fallout modding community.

Sigh. I better stop here.
Sequels made by different developer has many issues & history taught us well :
Far cry 2 (ubisoft) & far cry (crytek) = Ubisoft totally overhaul the game by performing re-engineering by creating dunia engine & set in different landscape. Possible explanation : a differentiation strategy to compete with crysis (quite ok actually but hated by some crysis fans)

Neverwinter nights 2 & Kotor 2 (obsidian) & NW & Kotor (bioware) = No need to explain further i don't know why on earth that obsidian crash so heavily since they always consult with bioware (as a result both sequel rank lower than original)

COD 4 (infinity ward) & COD 3 & world at war (treyarch) = Its quite obvious that infinity is the true "tai ko" while treyarch just follow & learn. When COD 3 crash they went to learn from COD 4 & then using the copied engine to develop COD 5.

It is obvious that bethesda don't care what black isle did by totally scraping the code used in van buren (even strory line as well). They have this instinct (kiasu) that they want 100% of profit & even more the reputation as the game success. They don't want any success to be affiliate with Black isle. Think of it like our Pak L & Dr M.

LWRNCH6550
post Nov 1 2008, 01:28 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Oct 31 2008, 06:11 PM)
they are good when they make morrowind last time.I still playing that darn game over and over again sweat.gif
Ive been monitoring this thread but.....
Oit ! off topic, who's that chick in ur sig ? or have any moar pict of her ? lolz

zioburosky13
post Nov 1 2008, 02:01 PM

554 posts

2 hours of gameplay experience as below (SPOILER ALERT) (after borrowing it from a rich ******* who orders everything online):

1. Skills. Gone are first aid and doctor, replace by Medicine. So you can now heal crippled arm/leg with STIMPACK. blink.gif
Speech is pretty much useless since the game's dialog is uninspiring and lack of creativity to read. Perhaps the most shocking skill is repair, which in previous FO game only works on certain place. In FO3 you have to maintain your weapon and armor, like System Shock series.

2. Perks. Judging from the selection of choice, 60% of the perks are gear toward for a combat-type character.

3. Encounter. Imagine the shock of finding missile launcher at level 3... blink.gif

4. Unkillable NPC! They DO exist in the game.

5. Annoying Intro. Seriously, Bethesda's trademark of lengthy character creation is a pain-in-the-arse but the combat is twitch based. Ironically, in previous Fallout game all you have is a brown paper (simulated) loaded with character details and customization with short intro but complex combat mechanic.

6. Spoon fed everything. In FO3 you are flooded with many information when trying to do something. Say when lockpicking a door, the game will tell you you need x amount of lockpick skill percentage to do it. Rather than letting you try it straight away. Todd and his gang should take a class of Design 101.

7. VAT is a joke. For the action sequence. Once you pick your target, the camera switch to action shot demonstrating the effect. It's fun to watch first time but after that it's getting annoying. When encounter an enemy I just run backward and shoot, just like every FPS game.
During my attempt of escaping Vault 101, I killed every NPC in there except for one(Unkillable NPC!) with ease and the game is set in VERY HARD mode. shocking.gif

8. FO3 should be rename to Fallout Tactics 2. There are numerous edible items in the game. From bloatfly meat to Squirrel meat! blink.gif

Fallout 3 is Oblivion with guns

This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Nov 1 2008, 02:18 PM
Savor_Savvy
post Nov 1 2008, 02:25 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Nov 1 2008, 02:01 PM)
2 hours of gameplay experience as below (SPOILER ALERT) (after borrowing it from a rich ******* who orders everything online):
1. Skills. Gone are first aid and doctor, replace by Medicine. So you can now heal crippled arm/leg with STIMPACK.  blink.gif
Speech is pretty much useless since the game's dialog is uninspiring and lack of creativity to read. Perhaps the most shocking skill is repair, which in previous FO game only works on certain place. In FO3 you have to maintain your weapon and armor, like System Shock series.

2. Perks. Judging from the selection of choice, 60% of the perks are gear toward for a combat-type character.   

3. Encounter. Imagine the shock of finding missile launcher at level 3... blink.gif

4. Unkillable NPC! They DO exist in the game.

5. Annoying Intro. Seriously, Bethesda's trademark of lengthy character creation is a pain-in-the-arse but the combat is twitch based. Ironically, in previous Fallout game all you have is a brown paper (simulated) loaded with character details and customization with short intro but complex combat mechanic.

6. Spoon fed everything. In FO3 you are flooded with many information when trying to do something. Say when lockpicking a door, the game will tell you you need x amount of lockpick skill percentage to do it. Rather than letting you try it straight away. Todd and his gang should take a class of Design 101.

7. VAT is a joke. For the action sequence. Once you pick your target, the camera switch to action shot demonstrating the effect. It's fun to watch first time but after that it's getting annoying. When encounter an enemy I just run backward and shoot, just like every FPS game.
During my attempt of escaping Vault 101, I killed every NPC in there except for one(Unkillable NPC!) with ease and the game is set in VERY HARD modeshocking.gif 

8. FO3 should be rename to Fallout Tactics 2. There are numerous edible items in the game. From bloatfly meat to Squirrel meat! blink.gif
Fallout 3 is Oblivion with guns
Good to hear that coz i LIKE oblivion!!!! thumbup.gif
Fyonne
post Nov 1 2008, 02:30 PM

904 posts

they shouldnt name the game fallout 3. look at tactics, they rename tactics rather than calling it Fallout # it coz it in same world but different game play. they should atleast retitle it as The Elder Scroll 5 : Fallout, n it would get less bashing from fallout fans.

This post has been edited by Fyonne: Nov 1 2008, 02:31 PM
soggie
post Nov 1 2008, 02:31 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Nov 1 2008, 02:25 PM)
Good to hear that coz i LIKE oblivion!!!!  thumbup.gif
Exactly. Oblivion's for ADHD + ADD kids. Fallout's for real men. biggrin.gif
Hitman66
post Nov 1 2008, 03:53 PM

Wow COD clone f**k blizzard
707 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Nov 1 2008, 06:53 AM)
I'm tempted to use my Hellgate London vs. Diablo 3 argument. But I won't. tongue.gif
It won't be that hard if you create another thread for this. tongue.gif

And don't let me started with Hellgate London.I just uninstalled the game after 2 hours of boring gameplay. yawn.gif

@LWRNCH6550

sorry pal DA (deviantART) universe is too wide for me to search for her (that's the only clue I get for finding her site).Besides,I just photoshop the whole thing from a wallpaper that I currently use right now. icon_idea.gif
KepalaRadio
post Nov 2 2008, 01:09 AM

389 posts

Okay, so i got the game and started playing it terus!

Finished it... sad.gif

Finished most of the side quests... i think. Anyways here's what i think.
Gameplay's awesome, ending sucked. That's all i can say about this game, still love it though.

*Edit* Decided not to add any spoilers to avoid uber flamage.

This post has been edited by KepalaRadio: Nov 2 2008, 01:10 AM
hilmiangah
post Nov 2 2008, 02:24 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

i just finished the game.

ending suck but gonna replay it soon.
want to be the president of the republic of dave.

128 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:23 AM