Buying Advice [WTB] Nikon Coolpix P5000, I wonder if it's available in Malaysia

TSKagaya
post Apr 19 2007, 08:45 PM, updated 19y ago

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

smile.gif I used to plan to buy the Panasonic LX-2 for its feature and spec (a Leica brother)... but things didn't turn out right with the timing therefore I missed the chance.

Now, after reading about the press release of this NIKON Coolpix P5000 prosumer P&S pocket-rocket, I kinda like it, especially the price.

Somehow, it's April and I've seen the whole S-series and L-series of the new Coolpix series but not a sight on the P-5000. vmad.gif

Maybe the demand is low it's already available somewhere in Malaysia, precisely KL?

Hope fellow forummers could show some lead on this.

greyPJ
post Apr 19 2007, 08:49 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

i saw the pics at dpreview, the IQ not very good wor, alot of ppl think g7 is better.
harikumar001
post Apr 19 2007, 10:23 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 19 2007, 09:49 PM)
i saw the pics at dpreview, the IQ not very good wor, alot of ppl think g7 is better.
P5000 is out already. At the Pc fair I saw the price written as 1388.
calvinkli
post Apr 19 2007, 10:28 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(harikumar001 @ Apr 19 2007, 10:23 PM)
P5000 is out already. At the Pc fair I saw the price written as 1388.
i bought already last night only
...come with box no card/beg zzz
have to self go buy lolx

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=440664&hl=

TSKagaya
post Apr 20 2007, 03:19 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(calvinkli @ Apr 19 2007, 10:28 PM)
have to self go buy lolx
where did you bought it? Any known camera shop?

rclxm9.gif excited!

I donno if the IQ good or not, but stuffing the IQ of a DSLR in a minute P&S is something I drool on drool.gif nod.gif

RM1388 ehh?

What about those Teleconversion and Wideconversion lens? Izzit available as well?

Added on April 20, 2007, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 19 2007, 08:49 PM)
I'm still waiting for a complete Comparison review between P5000 vs G7 in dpreview...

Their test and conclusion sounded very professional and neutral at best...

Besides, it's either P5000, G7 or LX-2...

But P5000 is the cheapest

This post has been edited by Kagaya: Apr 20 2007, 03:21 PM
greyPJ
post Apr 20 2007, 03:59 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

this guy is selling rm1359.
http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=260109581583

outdoor iso200 compare to g7, cant see any diff but i prefer the p5k color.
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...q=p5000+g7&qf=m

iso800 is really grainy, but no serious lost of detail or blotches.
http://dc.watch.impress.co.jp/cda/review/2...04/11/6020.html

try compare to fuji f30 at iso800, big diff.
http://dc.watch.impress.co.jp/cda/review/2...04/25/3671.html

TSKagaya
post Apr 20 2007, 09:43 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 20 2007, 03:59 PM)
this guy is selling rm1359.
http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=260109581583

outdoor iso200 compare to g7, cant see any diff but i prefer the p5k color.
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...q=p5000+g7&qf=m

iso800 is really grainy, but no serious lost of detail or blotches.
http://dc.watch.impress.co.jp/cda/review/2...04/11/6020.html

try compare to fuji f30 at iso800, big diff.
http://dc.watch.impress.co.jp/cda/review/2...04/25/3671.html
Then it's even more obvious I should get this.

I'm always on the prowl for a feature-full P&S with good image quality. P5000 is one. Fuji's offering might be superior than what this P5K got to offer but hey, talk about the VR lens they have, i think Fuji is not for the Muhammad Ali shaky hands...

Actually, I would have favoured Panasonic MEGA OIS technology more than any other DSP or CCD-Shift vibration reducion technology, but Nikon VR lens can be considered equivalent to the MEGA OIS where not even the G7 or the Fuji F30 have.

Thanks for the review.

NOW WHERE CAN I GET IT?

laugh.gif notworthy.gif

Added on April 21, 2007, 2:25 pmNobody knows where to get it?

This post has been edited by Kagaya: Apr 21 2007, 02:25 PM
calvinkli
post Apr 21 2007, 11:01 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Kagaya @ Apr 20 2007, 09:43 PM)
Then it's even more obvious I should get this.

I'm always on the prowl for a feature-full P&S with good image quality. P5000 is one. Fuji's offering might be superior than what this P5K got to offer but hey, talk about the VR lens they have, i think Fuji is not for the Muhammad Ali shaky hands...

Actually, I would have favoured Panasonic MEGA OIS technology more than any other DSP or CCD-Shift vibration reducion technology, but Nikon VR lens can be considered equivalent to the MEGA OIS where not even the G7 or the Fuji F30 have.

Thanks for the review.

NOW WHERE CAN I GET IT?

laugh.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on April 21, 2007, 2:25 pmNobody knows where to get it?
i can help u buy , pm me , tell me what you want 1st... u live quite near to me so i can help you.

babyk
post Apr 21 2007, 11:10 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(calvinkli @ Apr 19 2007, 10:28 PM)
have to self go buy lolx
mine comes with original P5000 leather pouch...1GB SD card, memory card case, Genting Hotel vouchers, cap...bla bla bla....

how much? RM1200 brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TSKagaya
post Apr 22 2007, 01:00 AM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Apr 21 2007, 11:10 PM)
mine comes with original P5000 leather pouch...1GB SD card, memory card case, Genting Hotel vouchers, cap...bla bla bla....

how much? RM1200 brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Taiko notworthy.gif

Please, tell me where to get this sweet deal.

No need so secretive to PM here and there. I wanted to buy it from a retail store. Online or Bulk, sorry... the hassle and DEPOSIT to a person never seen before is TOO RISKY...

Added on April 22, 2007, 1:03 am
QUOTE(calvinkli @ Apr 21 2007, 11:01 PM)
i can help u buy , pm me , tell me what you want 1st... u live quite near to me so i can help you.
Since I'm living so close to you, just tell me where and I can buy it myself lah... laugh.gif

Added on April 22, 2007, 10:39 pmSince no sign of it sad.gif ???

I saw one counter-shop at Lowyat Plaza today selling at RM1399, which is more than RRP... some more show dulan face at me...

At least it exist in the vicinity, then i might as well try my luck at Key Color MV, Fotokem, Foto Shangri-La and Boeing...

This post has been edited by Kagaya: Apr 22 2007, 10:39 PM
mememe12
post Apr 23 2007, 12:38 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

in KL really tat hard to find P5000? hmm.gif i tot it suppose to be available everywhere already.. =.=''
TSKagaya
post Apr 23 2007, 07:54 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Apr 23 2007, 12:38 PM)
in KL really tat hard to find P5000? hmm.gif i tot it suppose to be available everywhere already.. =.=''
where? where? tell me please where u seen it and its price pls rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
april
post Apr 24 2007, 09:03 AM

358 posts

share ur experience on p5000...smile.gif
mememe12
post Apr 24 2007, 10:40 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

usually see it at RM1388 lor.. + 2GB(1pc or 2pcs) + Screen Protector + Tripod and Camera Case lor..
TSKagaya
post Apr 25 2007, 01:03 AM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Apr 24 2007, 10:40 AM)
usually see it at RM1388 lor.. + 2GB(1pc or 2pcs) + Screen Protector + Tripod and Camera Case lor..
Arghh..... usually see WHERE? rclxm9.gif Please tell lah....why suspence... laugh.gif
greyPJ
post Apr 25 2007, 08:37 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

TIPA 2007 Best Compact Digital Camera: Nikon P5000
http://www.tipa.com/awa_detail_2007.lasso?...7&-KeyValue=115
TSKagaya
post Apr 25 2007, 12:08 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

From 19th April to 25th April...

Of all the replies that comes in, everyone said they seen P5000 everywhere, but nobody tells me where... wtf...

Forget it... shouldn't have expected too much out of forummers here. They can talk about Nikon Camera from A-Z but no one gonna tell u where to get it or where they got it... trade secrets laugh.gif
nairud
post Apr 25 2007, 03:08 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(Kagaya @ Apr 25 2007, 12:08 PM)
From 19th April to 25th April...

Of all the replies that comes in, everyone said they seen P5000 everywhere, but nobody tells me where... wtf...

Forget it... shouldn't have expected too much out of forummers here. They can talk about Nikon Camera from A-Z but no one gonna tell u where to get it or where they got it... trade secrets laugh.gif
Fotokem Sg Wang.

0.0181sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:54 AM