point noted.
Can I take potrait pictures in shopping center?, CHECK PAGE 2! something i DISCOVERED!
Apr 21 2007, 11:59 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ok.
point noted. |
Apr 22 2007, 01:37 AM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: kedah,ipoh,kl |
summore..some ppl that think they are to beauty might charge u took thire pic for "bomoh"..LOL
Apr 22 2007, 08:29 AM
405 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
yeh..... no matter, i'll still try to get official documents from them.
thanks yo. |
Apr 22 2007, 09:19 AM
729 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I never thought taking shot at shopping center will be this hard. What's the problem if we want to take a shot at shopping center? If we shot at the bank, that's another story.....But this is just shopping center. |
Apr 22 2007, 02:33 PM
obviously u not reading the topic. authorities mind la. say we might... steal designs and what nots. also... imagine.... if it was 'okay' to take in shoping mall.... imagine the number of models and photographers going round klcc / midvalley to do photoshoot...
Added on April 22, 2007, 7:40 pmdo you know, we as asians, are so law abiding, that in actual fact, we don't even know which 'law' are we referring to. the malaysian law? or the shopping mall's law. http://www.usatoday.com/tech/columnist/and...mera-laws_x.htm http://www.cob.org/documents/features/lega...otographers.pdf This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 22 2007, 07:40 PM |
Apr 22 2007, 11:13 PM
Forum Admin
nice discovery but does it apply to Malaysia?
Apr 23 2007, 10:18 AM
397 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Once, I was taking shots with my dslr in Cineleisure Damansara ground floor and got stopped by on of the guards. According to him, we are not allowed to take pics coz other ppl can copy the designs (shops, architecture, decorations etc).
Apr 23 2007, 10:22 AM
Apr 23 2007, 12:00 PM
635 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Do update us - I'm interested to know too.. cause I was once in Bukit Bintang's Lecka Lecka, and I was at the entrance snapping Lecka Lecka at night with a PNS on a tripod, and a guard from Starhill Gallery came out and stopped me.
Suffice to say, I lost quite a bit of my mood. He mentioned something about 'private property' and some other stuffs I don't quite understand. |
Apr 23 2007, 01:06 PM
Forum Admin
i snapped KLIA. no problem. tried snapping at John Hancock building (Pusat Bandar Damansara area, the one with fitness center) but was told not to.
i believe each building has it's own policy. |
Apr 23 2007, 06:13 PM
2,502 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuching,Kuala Lumpur, Gifu,Japan |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 01:06 PM) i snapped KLIA. no problem. tried snapping at John Hancock building (Pusat Bandar Damansara area, the one with fitness center) but was told not to. yep, thats why its always better to get written permission especially if you're publishing the pictures(in this case,his thesis). even if no one stopped you, there's always the possibility of getting sued later?i believe each building has it's own policy. |
Apr 23 2007, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(Saigo @ Apr 23 2007, 12:00 PM) Do update us - I'm interested to know too.. cause I was once in Bukit Bintang's Lecka Lecka, and I was at the entrance snapping Lecka Lecka at night with a PNS on a tripod, and a guard from Starhill Gallery came out and stopped me. i quote from http://www.usatoday.com/tech/columnist/and...mera-laws_x.htmSuffice to say, I lost quite a bit of my mood. He mentioned something about 'private property' and some other stuffs I don't quite understand. Let's say you're banned by the local mall for taking photos there, but you go back anyway and take more. Now you're trespassing. But unless the photos you take violate someone's expectation of privacy, your taking photos isn't illegal - only being there. unquote so, i think we can be gungho la... if they stop us, u pull out ur law scripts, then bombard them with the new found knoweldge regarding snapping photos in malls, and tell them it's illegal to take ur camera, but then.... if they ban you (refer above) , they have the right to do so also, if u read that article, you could have a law case up urs. not a criminal case, but a civil case. and chances are, you'll win. but chances are, u'l get banned from entering mall. yea yea... then u say they can't be scanning teh cameras for ur face 24-7.... but oh well.. a bit of kindness and tact goes a long way. i guess if u wanna take photos of things in the mall, and there is a purpose try explaning to the mall's authorities. just know ur rights la. u dont' need to delete photos or hand in ur camera. they could ban you, that's the risk you take. after all, i guess the mall is protecting their own arses. if kena sue by patrons of the mall (prada or giordano) they suffer. like myself, i guess it's wise to ask the "ppl up there" of the mall for clearance. Added on April 23, 2007, 8:11 pm QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 23 2007, 06:13 PM) yep, thats why its always better to get written permission especially if you're publishing the pictures(in this case,his thesis). even if no one stopped you, there's always the possibility of getting sued later? written permission from the subjects i'm snapping. i don't need permission from anyone else. i do agree with you.Added on April 23, 2007, 8:11 pmbtw, the pictures i take ain't mug shots. it has to be clear cut expresssions in which i have to explain to the subject. take it as a photo session This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 23 2007, 08:11 PM |
Apr 23 2007, 08:26 PM
Forum Admin
i think the malls should be fine if you're taking shots of people with people's permission.
the subject is not the mall (or whatever place) but the people you are taking, so it's no worse than tourists taking photos. |
Apr 24 2007, 09:01 AM
but u know how security guards kick a fuss.
i was in the US 2 months ago, and i was taking a potrait shot of my friend. security came and told us very politely not to take pics. oh well, i guess it's the cascading of order from the management all the way down to security. i bet security doesn't even know the reason for that (prohibition) |
Apr 24 2007, 10:48 AM
9,856 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, WP |
dont worry...the worst case scenario is they will confiscate your camera
Apr 24 2007, 10:51 AM
nah, they can't confiscate camera. that's one thing u can stand up for. (if u read post #32, and the link, u'll understand)
Apr 24 2007, 02:26 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(miraged @ Apr 24 2007, 09:01 AM) but u know how security guards kick a fuss. i was in the US 2 months ago, and i was taking a potrait shot of my friend. security came and told us very politely not to take pics. oh well, i guess it's the cascading of order from the management all the way down to security. i bet security doesn't even know the reason for that (prohibition) |
Apr 24 2007, 05:00 PM
now with teh terrorists on the rise.... goodness knows what else reasons u can be banned for taking pics.
anwyays, i'll do my photo taking in malls soon.. will update u guys for sure. sit tight |
Apr 24 2007, 05:46 PM
635 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Good luck with the thesis!
Apr 24 2007, 08:12 PM