Can I take potrait pictures in shopping center?, CHECK PAGE 2! something i DISCOVERED!

TSmiraged
post Apr 19 2007, 08:09 PM, updated 19y ago

405 posts

i'm doing a final year thesis, somethng along the lines of face recognition.
i need a face database to start with. hence i need to go out, into public areas to shoot portrait shots. i was thinking malls.... however, are taking pictures such those allowed in malls? it won't have any architecture of the building or anything of that sort

thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 22 2007, 07:30 PM
sarahho
post Apr 19 2007, 08:16 PM

105 posts

It depends.Some malls will stop u.Some wont.Depends on security too.Try to use PNS camera.Dont walk up in some DSLR camera.For sure kena halau.
TSmiraged
post Apr 19 2007, 08:50 PM

405 posts

oh crap... DSLR for sure.. hmmm.... do i need a permit?
sigh.
tkae pictures also cannot ar? then what about tourists? :/
snowmei
post Apr 19 2007, 11:44 PM

Skilless
632 posts

you can always ask permission from the management..
show your student card or some letter from your lecturer...
saying that you need to take some photo for your thesis...
MR.Syxo
post Apr 19 2007, 11:49 PM

367 posts

ok..u might see the management of the mall..get a black and white..then if something disturbed u just show ur 'permit''..dont forget to get student card and some latter from ur 'dekan'..it might look hard but noyhing easy in this world right..FYI..shopping mall is non gev building..so u have to follow their procedure..

This post has been edited by MR.Syxo: Apr 20 2007, 01:51 AM
clemong_888
post Apr 20 2007, 07:38 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

yep. get permission. u're doing it for your thesis, not personal use so it's better to get one.
TSmiraged
post Apr 20 2007, 11:20 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Apr 19 2007, 11:44 PM)
you can always ask permission from the management..
show your student card or some letter from your lecturer...
saying that you need to take some photo for your thesis...
i will try this... fingers crossed these ppl will let me do this smile.gif

QUOTE(MR.Syxo @ Apr 19 2007, 11:49 PM)
ok..u might see the management of the mall..get a black and white..then if something disturbed u just show ur 'permit''..dont forget to get student card and some latter from ur 'dekan'..it might look hard but noyhing easy in this world right..FYI..shopping mall is non gev building..so u have to follow their procedure..
dekan? dean ar? schoool dean isit? hmm... but u're right,a black and white from the correct ppl would save my butt smile.gif

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 20 2007, 07:38 AM)
yep. get permission. u're doing it for your thesis, not personal use so it's better to get one.
thanks ..... didn't think of it that way... jsut too many things on my mind... have to even prepare a slip for the subjects (ppl) i'm gonna take.... some of them atually mind being photoed in a thesis... *shurgs*
g88
post Apr 20 2007, 11:42 AM

1,631 posts

i think u need telephoto or super telephoto lens. aside from permission from manangement...you also need to respect individual right....so better u snap the photo from far far w/o ppl know it hehehe..as it will be alot "natural"
simmytan
post Apr 20 2007, 02:23 PM

115 posts

I thought sure can take photo inside shopping malls, but whenever you take picture of someone please ask them first?
ifer
post Apr 20 2007, 05:29 PM

4,637 posts

you have 2 main issues here.

1. permission from the shopping mall
2. permission from the owner of the face that you are gonna photograph

my advise, go to the KLCC park (outdoor) so the first issue is settled. concentrate on the 2nd issue, which is all about PR
kev da man
post Apr 20 2007, 05:36 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

just take pics in your uni or college and that would suffice tongue.gif
chilicandy
post Apr 20 2007, 05:39 PM

sweet and spicy
1,389 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 20 2007, 05:29 PM)
you have 2 main issues here.

1. permission from the shopping mall
2. permission from the owner of the face that you are gonna photograph

my advise, go to the KLCC park (outdoor) so the first issue is settled. concentrate on the 2nd issue, which is all about PR
yeah, on the street, bus stop, walkways...
there's many choices of places instead of the shopping mall.
Shopping mall has very strict rules, especially those holding DLSR or bigger chunky type camera.
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 20 2007, 05:46 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

So far, i took many pictures for personal usage around KL shopping Malls which is ok. Of cuz using compact size digicam nor DSLR.

Last time at one of the Orchard road's mall(SG).. A guard blocked me to take pic. I very upset of it. I dunno what the heck he was trying to explain. All i heard is a Terrorist thingy.. Lame excuse. After dat, he kept guarding me will sneak taking picture around the mall. I felt so uneasy to visit the mall. I was staring at him will staring at me or not. After a while he came to me 2nd times to explain again in manners. I am getting even upset bout it. It is like i am goin to take picture.

All shooting pic mood oredi spoilt at the first talk.

Well, i was using compact digicam dat moment too. I was happend to take others pic around Orchard Mall without any blocks by Guards.

well, my bro was being block when trying to take pic in SonyStyle, of their Xmas mini toy-train decoration.

Just make sure, u dun pandai-pandai shooting any pictures IN FRONT OF any guard. U should get rid of nagging ppl like dat. And wif many ppl doing shooting at the same while. They 'might' acting blindly too..
MR.Syxo
post Apr 20 2007, 11:39 PM

367 posts

hurmm..my friends from manchester said its fun to take a pic until some guard following u..but make shure u can't be caught or something u dont want to know happen..it a great experience he said..ANYONE DARE TO DO IT??
wKkaY
post Apr 21 2007, 10:59 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Why don't you start by taking photos of the people around your institution? It will be easier to approach them, I'm sure smile.gif
TSmiraged
post Apr 21 2007, 03:35 PM

405 posts

g88 and simmytan, YES i will need to ask permission. it won't be a paparazzi kinda thing where i hide behind a tree and try to snap a face. it's gonna be FORMALLY ASKING the person :/

i do agree with ifer, concentrate on issue 2 (asking subject's permission) rather than juggling between both.

kev da man, wkkay, my universtiy can't suffice. i need about 2k shots. and i need to model the malaysian popullous. meaning 70% malays, 15 chinese 7 indians and the rest of the other races.

there needs to be 3 expressions, happy, angry and natural (the face expression whilst reading a book, brushing teeth or watching TV)

Added on April 21, 2007, 3:36 pmthanks though for all ur replies. means a lot to me! smile.gif

This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 21 2007, 03:36 PM
porkchop
post Apr 21 2007, 04:13 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

it would be hard as u want people's face..........try gettign your friends
TSmiraged
post Apr 21 2007, 11:43 PM

405 posts

heh,.... it's not easy. that's why it's a thesis.
goldfries
post Apr 21 2007, 11:53 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

tell you what - i snapped photos are 1-U and KLCC with no issues.

The Curve on the other hand, there's a notice saying you are not allowed to snap pics.
snowmei
post Apr 21 2007, 11:55 PM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 21 2007, 11:53 PM)

The Curve on the other hand, there's a notice saying you are not allowed to snap pics.
KLCC are not allowed to take photo except the center court...

Added on April 21, 2007, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 21 2007, 11:53 PM)

KLCC are not allowed to take photo except the center court...
i am sure there also a notice at the side entrance (not the one with fountain)..

This post has been edited by snowmei: Apr 21 2007, 11:56 PM
goldfries
post Apr 21 2007, 11:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ok. wink.gif i was at the center there. shooting everything like silly, no one stop me.

point noted.
MR.Syxo
post Apr 22 2007, 01:37 AM

367 posts

summore..some ppl that think they are to beauty might charge u took thire pic for "bomoh"..LOL
TSmiraged
post Apr 22 2007, 08:29 AM

405 posts

yeh..... no matter, i'll still try to get official documents from them.
thanks yo.
sir_impesto
post Apr 22 2007, 09:19 AM

729 posts

I never thought taking shot at shopping center will be this hard. What's the problem if we want to take a shot at shopping center? If we shot at the bank, that's another story.....But this is just shopping center.
TSmiraged
post Apr 22 2007, 02:33 PM

405 posts

obviously u not reading the topic. authorities mind la. say we might... steal designs and what nots. also... imagine.... if it was 'okay' to take in shoping mall.... imagine the number of models and photographers going round klcc / midvalley to do photoshoot...

Added on April 22, 2007, 7:40 pmdo you know, we as asians, are so law abiding, that in actual fact, we don't even know which 'law' are we referring to. the malaysian law? or the shopping mall's law.

http://www.usatoday.com/tech/columnist/and...mera-laws_x.htm
http://www.cob.org/documents/features/lega...otographers.pdf

This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 22 2007, 07:40 PM
goldfries
post Apr 22 2007, 11:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

nice discovery but does it apply to Malaysia?
jasonlts
post Apr 23 2007, 10:18 AM

397 posts

Once, I was taking shots with my dslr in Cineleisure Damansara ground floor and got stopped by on of the guards. According to him, we are not allowed to take pics coz other ppl can copy the designs (shops, architecture, decorations etc).
TSmiraged
post Apr 23 2007, 10:22 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 22 2007, 11:13 PM)
nice discovery but does it apply to Malaysia?
asking my lawyers about it. will update u guys. was in a bit of a rush yesterday. :/
Saigo
post Apr 23 2007, 12:00 PM

Traveller
635 posts

Do update us - I'm interested to know too.. cause I was once in Bukit Bintang's Lecka Lecka, and I was at the entrance snapping Lecka Lecka at night with a PNS on a tripod, and a guard from Starhill Gallery came out and stopped me.

Suffice to say, I lost quite a bit of my mood. He mentioned something about 'private property' and some other stuffs I don't quite understand.
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 01:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i snapped KLIA. no problem. tried snapping at John Hancock building (Pusat Bandar Damansara area, the one with fitness center) but was told not to. smile.gif

i believe each building has it's own policy.
clemong_888
post Apr 23 2007, 06:13 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 01:06 PM)
i snapped KLIA. no problem. tried snapping at John Hancock building (Pusat Bandar Damansara area, the one with fitness center) but was told not to. smile.gif

i believe each building has it's own policy.
yep, thats why its always better to get written permission especially if you're publishing the pictures(in this case,his thesis). even if no one stopped you, there's always the possibility of getting sued later?
TSmiraged
post Apr 23 2007, 08:08 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(Saigo @ Apr 23 2007, 12:00 PM)
Do update us - I'm interested to know too.. cause I was once in Bukit Bintang's Lecka Lecka, and I was at the entrance snapping Lecka Lecka at night with a PNS on a tripod, and a guard from Starhill Gallery came out and stopped me.

Suffice to say, I lost quite a bit of my mood. He mentioned something about 'private property' and some other stuffs I don't quite understand.
i quote from http://www.usatoday.com/tech/columnist/and...mera-laws_x.htm

Let's say you're banned by the local mall for taking photos there, but you go back anyway and take more. Now you're trespassing. But unless the photos you take violate someone's expectation of privacy, your taking photos isn't illegal - only being there.

unquote

so, i think we can be gungho la... if they stop us, u pull out ur law scripts, then bombard them with the new found knoweldge regarding snapping photos in malls, and tell them it's illegal to take ur camera, but then.... if they ban you (refer above) , they have the right to do so smile.gif then u'll regret ur gungho-ness (or MINE rather - i'm famous for starting this kinda ruckus)

also, if u read that article, you could have a law case up urs. not a criminal case, but a civil case. and chances are, you'll win. but chances are, u'l get banned from entering mall. yea yea... then u say they can't be scanning teh cameras for ur face 24-7....

but oh well.. a bit of kindness and tact goes a long way. i guess if u wanna take photos of things in the mall, and there is a purpose try explaning to the mall's authorities. just know ur rights la. u dont' need to delete photos or hand in ur camera. they could ban you, that's the risk you take. after all, i guess the mall is protecting their own arses. if kena sue by patrons of the mall (prada or giordano) they suffer.

like myself, i guess it's wise to ask the "ppl up there" of the mall for clearance.

Added on April 23, 2007, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 23 2007, 06:13 PM)
yep, thats why its always better to get written permission especially if you're publishing the pictures(in this case,his thesis). even if no one stopped you, there's always the possibility of getting sued later?
written permission from the subjects i'm snapping. i don't need permission from anyone else. i do agree with you.

Added on April 23, 2007, 8:11 pmbtw, the pictures i take ain't mug shots. it has to be clear cut expresssions in which i have to explain to the subject. take it as a photo session smile.gif

This post has been edited by miraged: Apr 23 2007, 08:11 PM
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 08:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i think the malls should be fine if you're taking shots of people with people's permission.

the subject is not the mall (or whatever place) but the people you are taking, so it's no worse than tourists taking photos.
TSmiraged
post Apr 24 2007, 09:01 AM

405 posts

but u know how security guards kick a fuss.
i was in the US 2 months ago, and i was taking a potrait shot of my friend. security came and told us very politely not to take pics.

oh well, i guess it's the cascading of order from the management all the way down to security. i bet security doesn't even know the reason for that (prohibition)
AlamakLor
post Apr 24 2007, 10:48 AM

9,856 posts

dont worry...the worst case scenario is they will confiscate your camera laugh.gif as far as governmental building is concerned though
TSmiraged
post Apr 24 2007, 10:51 AM

405 posts

nah, they can't confiscate camera. that's one thing u can stand up for. (if u read post #32, and the link, u'll understand)
goldfries
post Apr 24 2007, 02:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(miraged @ Apr 24 2007, 09:01 AM)
but u know how security guards kick a fuss.
i was in the US 2 months ago, and i was taking  a potrait shot of my friend. security came and told us very politely not to take pics.

oh well, i guess it's the cascading of order from the management all the way down to security. i bet security doesn't even know the reason for that (prohibition)
biggrin.gif my family took flashed photo in a subway in france, we were warned too but i think it was more of the FLASH issue than the photography issue. well, that was more than a decade ago. hehe.
TSmiraged
post Apr 24 2007, 05:00 PM

405 posts

now with teh terrorists on the rise.... goodness knows what else reasons u can be banned for taking pics.

anwyays, i'll do my photo taking in malls soon.. will update u guys for sure.
sit tight
Saigo
post Apr 24 2007, 05:46 PM

Traveller
635 posts

Good luck with the thesis!
TSmiraged
post Apr 24 2007, 08:12 PM

405 posts

ouh thanks smile.gif
didn't expect well wishes smile.gif