Hardware When is the best time to purchase a Macbook Pro?

TSbarca96
post Nov 1 2017, 07:48 PM, updated 9y ago

980 posts

I am to purchase a Macbook Pro 13.
When is the best time to purchase it from a physical store such as Switch, Machinese, Mac City, Harvey Norman, etc.?
When will these items usually go on sale at those shops?

Also, is it better to buy a 2016 model MBP 13 or a used 2015 MBP 15?
I have always been using 15 inch laptops so going down to 13inch feels rather strange.
I spend a lot of hours behind the laptop for work thus I feel a bit uncomfortable at the thought of staring at a small screen for hours.

Not really looking for portability as I mainly work from home.
I use the laptop for surfing the web, watching videos and work which comprises of Excel spreadsheets, PDF files and also to store a lot of photos and videos taken on a DSLR.

jumpstat
post Nov 2 2017, 07:24 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 1 2017, 07:48 PM)

I am to purchase a Macbook Pro 13.
When is the best time to purchase it from a physical store such as Switch, Machinese, Mac City, Harvey Norman, etc.?
When will these items usually go on sale at those shops?

Also, is it better to buy a 2016 model MBP 13 or a used 2015 MBP 15?
I have always been using 15 inch laptops so going down to 13inch feels rather strange.
I spend a lot of hours behind the laptop for work thus I feel a bit uncomfortable at the thought of staring at a small screen for hours.

Not really looking for portability as I mainly work from home.
I use the laptop for surfing the web, watching videos and work which comprises of Excel spreadsheets, PDF files and also to store a lot of photos and videos taken on a DSLR.

Apple product where got sale?!? If they do have, most probably they provide other bundled stuff or interest free instalments payments etc. I have seen iphones having price reduction when new models comes out but for mac, yet to see one.

13" and 15" both different animals. Buy the one that fit your needs, and not the other way.
TSbarca96
post Nov 2 2017, 04:37 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Nov 2 2017, 07:24 AM)
Apple product where got sale?!? If they do have, most probably they provide other bundled stuff or interest free instalments payments etc. I have seen iphones having price reduction when new models comes out but for mac, yet to see one.

13" and 15" both different animals. Buy the one that fit your needs, and not the other way.
Thanks for the reply.

Hmmm if that is the case, when do they have that kind of offer for bundled stuff or interest free?
Sometimes I see promotion in Harvey Norman. Just last Saturday I saw they are running a promotion for an old model.

Yeah 13" and 15" are totally different beasts. I wish Apple would offer the same specs for 2 different screen sizes.
jumpstat
post Nov 2 2017, 05:02 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 2 2017, 04:37 PM)
Thanks for the reply.

Hmmm if that is the case, when do they have that kind of offer for bundled stuff or interest free?
Sometimes I see promotion in Harvey Norman. Just last Saturday I saw they are running a promotion for an old model.

Yeah 13" and 15" are totally different beasts. I wish Apple would offer the same specs for 2 different screen sizes.
There will always be pros and cons for each the 13" and 15" models. As you are more adapt with the 15", then it is the size that you should opt for. I'm having a 2014 rmbp 13" and it is about time for an upgrade, but looking at the prices nowadays, I'm still on the fence. Also if I do upgrade to the latest specs, I need to also have some spare money for the accessories too. So most probably I'll hang on to my existing unit.
TSbarca96
post Nov 2 2017, 05:35 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Nov 2 2017, 05:02 PM)
There will always be pros and cons for each the 13" and 15" models. As you are more adapt with the 15", then it is the size that you should opt for. I'm having a 2014 rmbp 13" and it is about time for an upgrade, but looking at the prices nowadays, I'm still on the fence. Also if I do upgrade to the latest specs, I need to also have some spare money for the accessories too. So most probably I'll hang on to my existing unit.
Hi. Why is it time for an upgrade already? I usually use my Windows laptops for 4-5 years. I would imagine a MBP laster much longer than that with the superior build quality, hardware specs plus the non-existent anti virus/malware problems.
darkmusses
post Nov 2 2017, 06:04 PM

595 posts

Bought 1 unit before GST kicks in for the sake of buying .. now collecting dust .. uses when I go travel only

BTW, you did nt say the purpose of getting one 0.o
mffa
post Nov 2 2017, 09:12 PM

374 posts

Get 15inch liao if u used to its size.
jumpstat
post Nov 2 2017, 10:03 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 2 2017, 05:35 PM)
Hi. Why is it time for an upgrade already? I usually use my Windows laptops for 4-5 years. I would imagine a MBP laster much longer than that with the superior build quality, hardware specs plus the non-existent anti virus/malware problems.
Ahh, I fail to mention that my company have staff facility to purchase it products up to RM5k, easy % instalment with company(24months instalments). So the 2014 model was just under RM5k and instalment completed. Now the price is no longer what it used to be cry.gif
TSbarca96
post Nov 6 2017, 04:26 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 2 2017, 06:04 PM)
Bought 1 unit before GST kicks in for the sake of buying .. now collecting dust .. uses when I go travel only

BTW, you did nt say the purpose of getting one 0.o
Hi, I did state it above in the first post;

Btw, why don't you make use of your laptop?
Is it Air?

TSbarca96
post Nov 6 2017, 04:28 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(mffa @ Nov 2 2017, 09:12 PM)
Get 15inch liao if u used to its size.
The thing is the price difference is too much. And I don't need so much power.
Why can't Apple just sell the same specs for different sizes cry.gif
ZenXL
post Nov 6 2017, 04:29 PM

Oh shi-
704 posts

Check for Machines clearance.
They let go of old stock/open box sets/demo units for slightly cheaper.
darkmusses
post Nov 6 2017, 05:20 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 6 2017, 04:26 PM)
Hi, I did state it above in the first post;
Btw, why don't you make use of your laptop?
Is it Air?
I did make use of the laptop when my partner is back for visiting for surfing web. do some minor excel work too (parallel) ...

It's an "Air"
TSbarca96
post Nov 8 2017, 06:34 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ZenXL @ Nov 6 2017, 04:29 PM)
Check for Machines clearance.
They let go of old stock/open box sets/demo units for slightly cheaper.
when do they usually have this?
I remember seeing this ad a couple of times in the past but can't recall which month they are having it
TSbarca96
post Nov 8 2017, 06:37 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 6 2017, 05:20 PM)
I did make use of the laptop when my partner is back for visiting for surfing web. do some minor excel work too (parallel) ...

It's an "Air"
Do you have trouble running Excel on Air/MBP?
Whenever I use my gf's Air for work which consists of thousands of columns on Excel, it is laggy as hell.
It gets worse whenever I try to search for a word on the spreadsheet. It'll take at least 5 mins.

darkmusses
post Nov 8 2017, 08:29 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 8 2017, 06:37 PM)
Do you have trouble running Excel on Air/MBP?
Whenever I use my gf's Air for work which consists of thousands of columns on Excel, it is laggy as hell.
It gets worse whenever I try to search for a word on the spreadsheet. It'll take at least 5 mins.
So far no issue .. perhaps I'm not having so much data sad.gif
firdausbhari
post Nov 8 2017, 10:11 PM

2,281 posts

15" 2015 is definitely faster than 13" 2016....

ZenXL
post Nov 8 2017, 10:51 PM

Oh shi-
704 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 8 2017, 06:34 PM)
when do they usually have this?
I remember seeing this ad a couple of times in the past but can't recall which month they are having it

try checking Machines website under Clearance.
TSbarca96
post Nov 9 2017, 12:02 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Nov 8 2017, 10:11 PM)
15" 2015 is definitely faster than 13" 2016....
Yup definitely with the much higher specs
TSbarca96
post Nov 9 2017, 12:02 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ZenXL @ Nov 8 2017, 10:51 PM)
try checking Machines website under Clearance.
Ya most websites have some sort of a clearance. But I know Machines have this yearly thing where it's really cheap.

0.0171sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:17 PM