The Night Blade, gg

TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 09:11 AM, updated 19y ago

Riding couple
5,366 posts

The Night Blade

one of the game's best daggers, and i have it biggrin.gif
(bought for 1.8k gold, borrowed around 700g from guildies)

next patch getting nerfed significantly, but still capable of out dps'ing a gladiator's shanker... gg (and glad shanker > anything kara can offer

gladiator's shanker:
Gladiator's Shanker

MAYBE the dagger from SSC can outdps it... post patch
Fang of Vashj

also, it is mentioned that next patch all tier 5 and above raiding tiers' items will be buffed, mainly from the set gears but the other gears will be buff to reflect their worth in acquiring them. so this will probably get some buff, but then again, the glad shanker is supposed to be on par with fang of vashj, so its still hard to tell.

=editx2=
typo + info

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 19 2007, 09:15 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 09:57 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(limsk @ Apr 19 2007, 09:37 AM)
Grats. That rocks.

Cool looking thing - one of my guildies (a shaman) has one - we told him it looked like a glowing sex toy.
lol ty, and gg to ur sham that wasted 2-4k gold lol.
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 09:59 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 19 2007, 09:58 AM)
eh i thought you already have emerald ripper liao? you mh this dagger ?
this thing beats emerald ripper anytime mh'ing, and who needs to mainhand when you can offhand it? biggrin.gif

im a mutilate rogue, both main and offhand activates brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

=edit=
to further clarify, i mainhand the emerald and offhand this.

but im tempted to mainhand riftmaked over emerald because.... the icons are the same XD

riftmaked, the night blade, and felsteel war ripper (i think? its my thrown weapon) ALL share the same icon, looks cool rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 19 2007, 10:01 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 12:03 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Apr 19 2007, 10:07 AM)
Just wondering what would your views be.
Say a group consisting of a War, Rogue, Priest, Warlock, and Hunter killed a trash and it dropped this. Since this is a BOE world epic, should every member has a chance to roll on it? Rogue wants it for obvious reasons, War wants it because he wants to PVP, Priest wants it to sell it, Warlock wants it because he has a rogue alt, Hunter wants it because...well.. we all know that everything item is a Hunter item in their eyes (hehe!)

So should the group just let the rogue need or would you say every member should roll on it fair and square?
a general rule is everyone roll for it. later on the rogue could probably negotiate with the winner for it, be it buying for cheap or just take it for free.

if the group is kind, it is best to just give it to rogue.

warrior dont have much use for daggers since as ive mentioned before, daggers generaly have lower dps and lower min/max dmg. only reason people even use daggers is either stats, fast speed for procs, or rogues able to use their most powerful abilities.

in accordance to your question:
warrior wanting it to pvp = gimping himself. you pvp with 2hander, and even IF dualwield, you dont want to wield a dagger. debatably the armor proc can be useful, but lets be honest, relying on a proc in pvp? and at the same time offhanding it? (unless you wanna FURTHER gimp urself mainhanding it to get better procs from instants) so for the warrior, taking it is only gonna make him look like a retard and gimping him to oblivion.

for the warlock having an alt, usually what drops in the group, stays in the group, if you get what im saying. people rolling for alts is considered "unethical". a better solution is have the warlock to negotiate with the winner, like the rogue.

for hunter: in all seriousness though, the proc doesnt work on ranged tongue.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 12:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 19 2007, 12:06 PM)
need and discuss later  thumbup.gif
to further clarify my pug/guild runs are all need if need else greed. and that applies to boe too... so if rogue needs, he can need it.

but, of course be sensible, if hunter needs (be it ninja or even putting them on seriously), me or my whole group will immediately brand him as a ninja.

if the person ninja, immediately ninja branded. i know, the dmg has been done, but the ninja looter's rep is also ruined if anything.
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 01:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 19 2007, 01:06 PM)
Nah, not controversial. Just that people may not be open to new ideas or changing perceptions. Probably can't accept the idea that the world is totally flat. Although I did have a conversation with one of your colleagues the other day about a particular topic.

The only thing I don't quite like about the events is that majority of speakers that are invited to speak are apologetic in the beginning of the presentation. Very very very bad.
We had 2 BoE epics dropped from Kara last nite. 1 leather gloves + 1 plate boots. We limited the rolls to ppl who needed it, else pass. But as we're doing a suicide kings DKP system, the person who got an epic from raids are put at the bottom of that list.

I'm not really sure whether I want epics even. Repair bills > gold earning atm. ><
Don't you just luv networking? biggrin.gif
got boe from kara? shocking.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 02:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 19 2007, 02:09 PM)
Ya, world drops. These boots ( http://www.wowhead.com/?item=30641 ) and a pair of gloves. I have to check with my guildie on the name of the leather glove. It was either a tanking / DPS glove. Dropped from trash mobs to Attunmen.
the leather glove is bop, i used to wear it.

gloves of deftness if im not mistaken

boots of elusion is also bop

brows.gif FAIL brows.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 04:11 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 19 2007, 02:26 PM)
there's drama here already

the couples always arguing with each another  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
I KNO WHAT JOO DID THAR! brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 04:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 19 2007, 04:24 PM)
some days it's just not worth posting on LYN.  doh.gif
you just posted
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 04:45 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 19 2007, 04:42 PM)
What can I say? I'm a comedian. Here for amusement for the masses.  icon_rolleyes.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2007, 05:44 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 19 2007, 05:14 PM)
ohmy.gif  dry.gif  shakehead.gif  grumble.gif  doh.gif

seen, pure myth you know. There's nothing. tongue.gif

Added on April 19, 2007, 5:30 pm

good boy.  rclxms.gif
loolololollololoolololololloolololololololol rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 20 2007, 08:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 20 2007, 02:08 AM)
now what on earth did u edit?  hmm.gif
something awful

=edit=
oh yea, this blade OWNZ lol... im cutting through warriors as if im cutting through rogues/cloths... i can expose armor for 3075 and night blade ignores 1305 armor.... thats a whopping 4380 armor ignored... and avg pvp warriors only have maybe 8-9k ish armor.

in pve... omg lol im dps'ing in my pvp mutilate spec as if im in my pve mutilate spec... wtf lol

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 20 2007, 08:47 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 20 2007, 09:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(SpeedAlert @ Apr 20 2007, 09:18 AM)
Careful though. Warrior can put you in Bloodmoon icon_question.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif  biggrin.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
not gonna matter if said warr is getting stun/snared/mutilated for 3k+ then cb evis for almost 3k...

seen: yes the proc rate is insane, next patch nerfing though...

and yea price is about 2-4k, i bought for 1.8k, prolly due to the upcoming patch
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 20 2007, 02:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(limsk @ Apr 20 2007, 01:41 PM)
That shaman got lucky and won a need roll (no rogues were in the group, unfortunately).

But everyday kena bad-mouth by all of the guild rogues who are envious of his luck. Calling him "little dagger" (and not referring to the Night Blade) hahaha..
he could've sold for 2-4k gold, regardless. and use those gold and get a much MUCH better weapon
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 24 2007, 09:30 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Apr 24 2007, 08:47 AM)
And what weapon would you suggest? Only those BoP craftables and Raid weapons are at that standard. I use The Decapitator and Arena Offhand axe for the stats

I do no see much difference between rogue and shaman in using that dagger except for the MH/OH thing probably

You could say the same for yourself. Save the money and buy some other epics or consumables for raids since every rogue loves to compare their DPS with every other classes.

Btw do the night blade debuff stacks in PvE? I have not yet to seen someone use it in raid. Rogues i know prefer to dual wield Prince dagger and Searing Sunblade/Gladiator Shiv because of stamina bonus
your argument is very much invalid as we all know daggers have a generic lower dps, lower min-max, lower atk power speed mod. as ive always said, even ROGUES wouldnt use it if it werent for abilities such as ambush/backstab/mutilates.

and you argued that it can be said the same for rogues? no you are very wrong in this. this is basically one of, if not the BEST dagger in game, even better than the gladiator's shanker on dps comparison, mathematical charts run, LIVE statistical dps recording run. the ONLY thing that *MAY* be comparable to it is lady vashj's dagger... tell me, how many guilds in the world have that snake down? where this dagger is boe, so long you have the gold, and its on the AH/trade channel, you can get it.

i MYSELF is using it, it boosted by dps around 50-100++ and on shade of aran my dps went up close to around 800... that will not happen without the night blade. if you want to know, yes the debuff stacks with sunder armor or expose armor. and again, stamina is not a primary stat in pve especially for a dps class. so long you have enough stamina to survive things thrown at you, its better off you invest more in fullfilling your role better.

and again, there is also combat mutilate builds, they prefer heavy daggers offhand, so weapons such as the gladiator's shiv or searing sunblade is useless. if you wanna be ignorant and argue that combat daggers is the only raiding build, you're only gonna make yourself look stupid.

=edit=
a thing to note though, next patch its getting a proc rate nerf and imo a nerf is needed because a boe being on par if not better than the end game raiding or arena weapon is really, REALLY rediculous. totally distrupts the sense of achievement in the game and general itemization. (hence why they also buffing raiding level 2 and tier6 in general because spending effort in instances like SSC or the eye while only having sidegrades or even LOLDOWNGRADES isnt what i call fun.)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 24 2007, 09:45 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 24 2007, 07:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Apr 24 2007, 03:55 PM)
Sorry if i sound arrogant/ignorant but what i'm trying to tell you is that it is a good weapon for enha shamans too because as far as i know shaman out dps every other class atm with their WF bug as long as they are geared correctly. Dont simply assume others are stupid because of your assumption.I'm just trying to say if it goes to an enha shaman it isnt wasted. I do not know much about your rogue builds.

Of course it would be more suited for a rogue since its a dagger but you mentioned he could get a MUCH better weapon instead. If that certain enha shaman doesnt raid KZ cause enha shamans arent really wanted in KZ then what other weapons can he go for if he wasnt a weaponsmith?
and what ive been trying to point through that thick skull is that it isnt a good shaman weapon, yes, EVEN enhancement shamans.

a good portion of enh sham dmg also rely on spell dmg, night bane's armor proc would not help on that regard, and thats considering you can maintain the x3 proc w/o permanent slice n dice and occassional haste. flurry is not gonna cut it. unless perhaps you can get ~40-50% crit.

thottbot.com/allakhazam.com is your friend.
things like:
http://www.thottbot.com/i28392
or if you really want a dagger so bad...
http://www.thottbot.com/i28416

and thats just random 5man bluebies.

by far out pace tnb. its only this good for rogues due to the nature of their pure physical dmg, ultilization of daggers, and they can permanently maintain slice and dice.

shaman out dps every other class atm with their WF bug as long as they are geared correctly

ill just lol silently lolz rolleyes.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 25 2007, 12:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(tetsu @ Apr 24 2007, 08:30 PM)
well, there are alternative BOE epic weapons that can be crafted like runic hammer(if he insist on DW), felsteel reaper and etc ( on thottbot) would be better for an enhancement shaman. how much better, well, depends on the individual. an enhancement shaman trying to maximize his own dps certainly wouldn't use a dagger.

if enhancement shamans aren't welcomed in karazhan, maybe he should've respeced to restoration first. i know the resto shaman in my guild got a gorehowl from prince cos the warrior has it already.(whereas malchazeen hasn't dropped in 3 months and i'm already exalted rclxub.gif )

and lastly no lol, shamans( like druids before nerf) will/has never outdpsed me( a rogue 41/20 muti/combat for raid(pvp spec atm), 1580 ap 132 hit rating 25.71% crit unbuffed and no dagger specialization). not the best gear but mages(900+ bonus dmg, arcane+frost/fire ) in my guild(with t4 and tailoring epics) couldn't outdps me on prince even when i had to run back and forth cos of enfeeble+ amplify dmg and i raided with 800-1k ping.(guild already cleared karazhan and gruul) cool.gif

anyway, the night blade on my server has been in the AH for a month now (down to 1k starting bid, 1.5k buyout from 2k/2.5k lol). i think everyone's expecting a big nerf.
i see smartie man here... and yea i want malchazeen myself too... why? ITS THE SAME GRAPHIC AS MY TNB <3 <3 wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

and double high five on combat mut dee pee ess wub.gif

i have more hit raiting but less ap/crit though, trying to gear up to at least 20% hit since my main dmg source is my whites anyways.

and no, the nerf isnt THAT huge. tongue.gif

sets84: havent learn the skill reading yet? read my starting post in this thread, and the 2nd post on the thread you posted to share with all of us. way to make yourself look stupid. seriously, stop posting shits that bite you in the ass around.
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 25 2007, 08:35 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ Apr 25 2007, 05:18 AM)
nope? i didnt say anything yet fag... did i say anything? i jsut pasted a topic link about the nerf of the night blade. why get pissy all of a sudden... that's so unlike you eh, mr oh-so-great.
whos the one gettin pissy and calling names right here? rolleyes.gif

and ill take your last part as a compliment, ty smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 25 2007, 09:01 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Apr 25 2007, 08:52 AM)
And people say females are emos and the drama queens....
good one... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 25 2007, 09:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 25 2007, 09:30 AM)
When men get passionate, it's a hormone problem, just like females. Haha!

Although, when it comes to a question of flat out DPS in raid encounters, I do wonder whether it makes any point to argue flat out on the most DPSer when DPS players are always asked to watch the threatmeter. If their threat is higher than the MT/OT, they're required to stop DPSing, resulting in lower DPS output, hence lower on the DPS meter.

Or is it that to be a great DPSer, one has to teamed with a great tank and also spec for it as not to pull aggro? Unless we're just going flat out on PvP situations instead?

Too many scenarios ...  rclxub.gif
watched 300? rar brows.gif brows.gif

and threatmeter only makes it ez mode, so long you have a good tank, its not that big of a deal, at the same time, you can overtake the tank ANYWAYS especially with threatmeter because melees have a 10% buffer and rangers have additional 30%, basically, if tank have 100 threat, it takes a mage 130 threat to aggro, and when mage gets 101 threat he basically "overtook" the tank, but hes not gonna get aggro till it reaches 130.

to be a great dps'er, aside having a great tank, one basically have to be bold and brave to take risks, including the risk to wipe your group/raid. its not good at all, but risks are there for your choice to take and if you really wanna push the limits, risks will follow you, nothing is easy or safe anyways if ur pushing for more.

and no, theres no such spec as a low aggro dps spec, if there even is such spec, ur gonna be gimped on the dps charts and you're defeating the purpose of being a top dps'er.

rogues have the best advantage in regards to threat, having a permanent passive 29% threat reduction attached to the class, and vanish and of course lolfeint.

0.0221sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:54 AM