DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

Joseph Hahn
post Jun 22 2007, 04:00 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Is this board better than 965P-DS3 ? (don't tembak me i'm noob >_>) Coz i was so unlucky lightning struck my board killing it's network adapter, so now i'm using PCI network adapter on it. I will send for RMA but i can't wait 2 weeks for replacement. Thinking of getting this board. Do you think i can reach 500FSB with this board or am i just getting another bad luck with a bad batch CPU? T.T How much is it btw and how many variety ?
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 22 2007, 04:12 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Ook then cool. I'll get this board lol. blush.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 23 2007, 07:40 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

I just ordered this DFI board and a L629F125 E6600. Anyone managed to crack 500FSB with this combo ? My current setting is at my siggie. I'm targetting 500x7 at most 1.5V. ._.
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 24 2007, 05:23 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jun 23 2007, 07:40 PM)
I just ordered this DFI board and a L629F125 E6600. Anyone managed to crack 500FSB with this combo ? My current setting is at my siggie. I'm targetting 500x7 at most 1.5V. ._.

Hm guys i should be getting this combo around next week (latest Wednesday hopefully), will i have any problem booting up my OS on this board since this board chipsed is ICH8R compared to ICH8 on this DS3... any ideas ? icon_question.gif Really lazy to reformat lol. doh.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 24 2007, 11:25 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 24 2007, 07:51 PM)
Joseph,
No idea la. But it should be fine kua.
Yea i think so too haha coz same P965 chipset... hopefully lol. sweat.gif

Joseph Hahn
post Jun 28 2007, 05:42 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Uhh i'm so noob with this board. Just got it yesterday with the CPU. What's a good BIOS and setting ? Help lol. doh.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 28 2007, 09:49 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

OK let me be more specific. I get the Vcore and Vdimm setting in the BIOS obviously, but i'm blur about the other 4. How will VTT, NB and the 2 SB voltage affect my OC ? How do i know when to start to push them up ?

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jun 28 2007, 09:50 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 29 2007, 12:29 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Uhh ok now... i'm at 333x9 now, memory at 500, all voltages default. Looks ok. sweat.gif

Problem is when i try 400 or 500 FSB, something else came up preventing me from getting into windows. It's the SATA AHCI BIOS thing. Even when i enable it, it detects the devices than it just stuck there. Why when FSB is lower this thing didn't even came up ? Any ideas ? icon_question.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 29 2007, 02:03 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Hm no luck. sad.gif Did it just pass by the AHCI mode when you up the NB Voltage ? Or are you using the AHCI mode ? I tried upping until 1.4V and enabling it but still windows won't load.
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 29 2007, 04:46 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

NB Strap at default or 266MHz makes no difference. sad.gif

If i don't enable the AHCI it will just stuck there saying that the AHCI bios is not installed. doh.gif How can you just bypass it ? ohmy.gif I tried increasing like all the voltages available. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jun 29 2007, 04:50 AM
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 29 2007, 12:02 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

I just updated to the modded beta bios. I'll try again later.

I'm just using IDE mode. At stock setting and current setting in my sig, the AHCI BIOS page don't appear at all. It only appears at higher FSB. rclxub.gif I wonder why. sweat.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 29 2007, 07:39 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Joseph Hahn
post Jun 30 2007, 01:07 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Er nope lol.

Ok here's a report. What i did just now is clear CMOS and load optimized default (as suggested by almostthere... thanks man). Then i tried your method of pumping up the NB voltage. Guess how much i need to enable me to type this post. 1.45V in BIOS. doh.gif At 1.40V load windows a bit then BSOD. Now running at 400x9 at 1.52V but Orthos fail straightaway i have no idea why but Windows Experience Index benchmark passed. Not enough VCore or what. shakehead.gif

What's been stopping me before is the CPU Thermal Management feature. When i disable it, i won't be able to boot into windows at all.

Added on June 30, 2007, 2:29 amOk 400x9 seems too much i keep getting BSOD when Orthosing even when VCore is at 1.55V mad.gif (isn't this batch supposed to be good... adoi... doh.gif... or is it the mobo...), now running at 400x8 at 1.42V. Orthos for a while seems ok. NB is at 1.5V. shocking.gif I will try to look for a sweet voltage spot at this CPU clock tomorrow.

About the BIOS, i seem to be able to change every other settings and made Windows boot EXCEPT the DRAM setting. If i touch any setting in that section i won't be able to boot at all. So i HAVE TO leave it at Auto. doh.gif It sets my memory at 5-4-4-12. shakehead.gif What's the use of the BIOS setting if i can't tweak it haih... doh.gif

Bah enough for tonight i'm tired. rclxub.gif

For good measures... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jun 30 2007, 02:34 AM
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 30 2007, 04:58 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 30 2007, 07:41 AM)
There is something wrong with your setting.
Most e6600 can run at 400x8 at stock vcore [1.325] like what i'm using now.

I've tested 3 x e6600 from different batches and one e6600 ES, all of them manage to pass orthos more than 24 hours @ stock vcore.

Like my setting, i run my e6600 @ stock vcore @ stock NB and manage to run orthos more than 12 hours.

There is something wrong with your setting that i don't know what it is.
Hmm... hmm.gif
I don't know whether to laugh or what now. doh.gif I'm running at default VCore now. Orthos failed in less than 1 minute, BUT, i play Test Drive Unlimited and NFS:Carbon for more than 2 hours and nothing happened! No hang no BSOD no reboot! doh.gif NB still at 1.5V. Maybe the error came out because the NB voltage is too high? I haven't try pulling it down maybe later, but i think if i go less than 1.4V i'll BSOD straightaway. doh.gif

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jun 30 2007, 07:51 AM)
hey why dont u try to set ur memory manually as 5-4-4-12... like that also got problem??? if that the case u suspect ur memory is holding u back....btw how much vdimm are u using???? try to increase it a bit... try like 1.9 - 2.0 smile.gif
Dunno bro. Maybe i'll try that later but i'm ok with this slightly loose timing now. My VDimm is 2.2V. It's the default voltage for my RAM at DDR1000 4-4-4-5 timing.
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 1 2007, 12:04 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Well did some experiments again regarding NB voltage. Here's my report:

1.25V : AHCI BIOS came up.
1.30V : Disk read error.
1.35V : Load Windows and then BSOD straightaway.
1.40V : Windows is perfectly fine but game will crash after a while.
1.45V : Windows is fine, gaming is fine. icon_rolleyes.gif

I don't care about Orthos anymore. rclxub.gif

Added on July 1, 2007, 1:48 amuser posted image
I really need a fan for the NB. Will a 40mm fan do ? I wonder how to stick it there lol, can't put it on top, CPU fan already blocking. I think i have to put the fan on the side. doh.gif

Added on July 1, 2007, 1:52 amOh yeah my NB Strap is at default.

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 1 2007, 01:52 AM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 1 2007, 02:13 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jul 1 2007, 11:26 AM)
Left's your's and right's mine. Compare LOL

Don't worry dude, mine' also pumped up that high too TBH.
3140RPM. Is that your NB fan?? Seems like your NB voltage is 1.5V but temp much lower than mine haha. doh.gif I can see that you VTT is not default too. Hmm... hmm.gif

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 1 2007, 12:02 PM)
Tried set NB strap to 266 and lower down your NB voltage. I don't think need over 1.4v. My FSB is 457Mhz and my NB voltage is at default.
Ok i'll give it a shot.

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Jul 1 2007, 12:20 PM)
i think ur NB is too high...
Change ur NB voltage and change VTT higher... VTT is the way to success high FSB
I see. Will try this.

Thanks for the suggestions. notworthy.gif

Added on July 1, 2007, 5:12 pmWell i tried pumping VTT and change NB Strap to 266MHz, doesn't make any difference at all to me sadly. sad.gif

Now trying 400x9 at a staggering 1.50V for both VCore and NB to get it stable. VTT and NB strap at default as in 400x8.

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 1 2007, 05:12 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 1 2007, 07:05 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Your mobo better batch ? >_> Stable game tapi takleh Orthos tu je. :/

Oh one more thing, why i can't set my CAS# Latency (tCL) to 4 using memset ? :/

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 1 2007, 07:08 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 1 2007, 09:03 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Yeah i guess luck really counts on this one... doh.gif cry.gif Time for me to do garage sales anyway haha. doh.gif

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jul 1 2007, 07:43 PM)
Later lah tonight, will try VTT. Post your results Joseph.
I already tried ler lol a few post earlier. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 1 2007, 09:13 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 5 2007, 12:04 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Latest Beta BIOS now 3 July. Using it, no difference, still can't set RAM timing in BIOS. :/

BTW, i put 2 4cm fans at my NB, it's much cooler now about 10 Celcius lower than before lol.

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 5 2007, 12:06 AM
Joseph Hahn
post Jul 9 2007, 01:04 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Nice one there. Really tight timing. brows.gif

I also finally read that guide at The Tech Repository, printed the whole damn thing except the pictures and go to BIOS and set it one by one but still i can't set my RAM timing manually. vmad.gif I really have no idea what's wrong. What i don't get is i can set the timing just fine when the FSB is at default 266FSB, i haven't tried setting the timing at any other FSB except 266 and 400, at 400 i simply can't set the timing at all. Any ideas ? rclxub.gif

Enough with that i give up with setting RAM timing, i set my DDR Configuration Mode to Mode 2, Enhanced Data Transmitting & Enhanced Addressing to Fast, DQ Calibration to 6 and somewhat managed to lower NB to 1.45 now without games crashing. VDimm now is at 2.3V and VTT at 1.425. SB remains default.

As for the RAM timing, i just set it in Windows but still can't set the damn tCL to 4. doh.gif The rest i just followed the guide except All Precharge to Activate. If i set it to 3 Windows will crash straightaway. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jul 9 2007, 04:54 AM

0.0333sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:47 AM