8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5

chongkiatz
post Dec 23 2017, 11:43 PM

6,793 posts

hi guys , gonna grab the note8 soon , now shopping about case and screen protector

gonna grab SPIGEN LIQUID AIR ARMOR Galaxy Note 8 , but not sure which Screen Protector to go icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
chongkiatz
post Dec 24 2017, 08:05 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(KiddTkl @ Dec 24 2017, 01:04 AM)
I'll make a very detailed review for the whitestone dome tgsp, but as the tldr/summarised version:

Pros- this in my opiniom is the best Tempered Glass screen protector u can get. Full sensitivity, clear, smooth and feels almost as good as the phone's actual glass (without screen protector)!! If it's just for the feeling and usability of the sp, I'll give a 4.5 star rating (5 star is reserved for a sp which can replicate the feeling of using the phone without any sp). However, as an overall score considering the price, installation and issues, I'll rate it 3.5 stars. Read on for the full review~~

Cons- installation is not difficult, but messy. Price is expensive, and I'm not sure if it's worth the RM199 price (I jz noticed it's RM159.20 when I'm writing this, which is much reasonable price after using some voucher/discount code). I was expecting full coverage, up till the edge, but it's mostly covering the viewable area only, especially on the sides (about 2mm top bottom, and 3~4mm considering the curved circumference on the sides.

A few items to highlight:
1) make sure during installatiom your work surface is flat.
2) do not move the phone after the glue is poured and before curing using uv light.
3) be careful when using the alcohol wipe. I think it will cause light leak (or maybe it's called light refraction) issue between the aluminium frame and the glass. It may have dissolved the black paint of the original glass.. read on for details.
4) if you use this, consider getting a good protective casing.

So now lets start with my whole experience and review. The above is a summary so imagine what I'm going to say for the detailed review.. it will be my experience of doing the installation and some tips that I learned and wished i knew before I did the install..

Anyway some history, bought 1 unit with the uv light (RM199-12%) and 1 unit without (RM169-12%) during the 11.11 and 12.12 event. Wanted to have a spare in hand just in case if I cracked the screen protector, and sure enough, my 1st screen protector cracked within 2 hours after installation. It's my own fault as I accidentally dropped it from my sofa (about 1.5~2 ft height).

Delivery was swift, both came faster than the estimated arrival date. Properly packed in a box, and I'm confident that it's very unlikely to break during transport. From the looks of the box when my goods arrived, it seems to have taken quite a beating.

So, on the installation, please look for a few YouTube videos before you do it yourself, try to put the jig and glass together and do a few dry trial fit before you actually install, and look for a dust free and flat surface to work on.

When you pour the glue on, remember to do a quick check and make sure no dust is on before you place the glass. Also, the plastic protector on the glass should only be removed when you are about to put the glass on the jig.

To avoid bubbles:
1) let the glue sit for a day prior to installation. There might be small/micro bubbles in the glue tube, due to shaking/any shock during delivery, which will show after u install the glass.
2) make sure the glue spot is centered before releasing the pin.
3) do not rush the pin release. Let the glue drop to the middle, and it's a proper circle. If you release the pin too early, and the glue splash and creates a bubble in the centre, Godspeed..

For my 1st glass, after the pin release, all hell broke loose.. it started flowing everywhere, on the sides, the top, frame, jig. This was when I removed the top jig to clean the jig and try to absorb the overflowing glue. During then, I moved and tilted the phone, and the glass moved accordingly. Very important to take note: REMEMBER TO USE THE MASKING TAPE FOR THE EARPIECE!! Luckily I had the masking tape on. Due to the glass movement and overflow, without the masking tape, the glue would have covered the earpiece grill, which will be hell to clean, if it was even possible..

Anyway, basically due to this movement, glue spread all over the place and when I put the top jig on to realign, the glue spread between top and bottom jig. Anyway everything was a mess, I finally decided to remove and clean the glue from the glass and phone, and use my second bottle. Basically wiped the whole phone like crazy using the alcohol swab and even ran it thru water..

So, 2nd time, again, after the pin is released, all hell broke loose... same issue the glue overflow like crazy.  This time i jz let it be, let it sit for a while, and cured it using the UV light without removing the top jig. After curing, due to the glue overflowing to the jig, I had trouble removing the top jig as it sticked together..

Anyway after some prying, it came off. Whack it with the uv again, then did a thorough cleaning with the alcohol swab and cloth. It isn't easy to remove, after the uv curing. It becomes sticky globs when wiping, and I was worried it might even peel off the glue at the edges..

After about 2 hrs, was about to go to sleep when I accidentally shoved the phone off my sofa, and the screen cracked at the top right and bottom left edge.. I know it's my fault, but I didn't expect it to break at a 2ft drop.. so guys pls remember: THIS SP MIGHT BREAK EASILY. PLS CONSIDER USING A PROPER PROTECTIVE CASING. For me, it was only with a dbrand skin, and I've dropped my phone before from table level without any mark/dent/scratch or issues, even on the metal frame. So I guess durability wise it's weaker than the phone's glass..

Anyway, as I had a 2nd unit, did the installation again the next day. 3rd time is the same on the overflowing glue, this time, after the glue spread, there was an air bubble/gap on the edge, which scared me, but after about 1 mins, and some slight tap with my finger, it disappeared. I then removed the top jig (be careful not to move the phone), and used the cloth to absorb some of the overflow from the edge (DO NOT WIPE! Jz touch the tip of the microfiber cloth on the edge of the glass/overflowing glue). Then blast with the uv light, and only did it for 30 secs top and 30 secs bottom. (Previously I let it off itself, which is 60 secs, and blasted top, middle and bottom).

After that, removed the phone from the jig, and started cleaning the body of the phone. This is when I realised that my phone has some light leaking/light refraction issue which was highlighted before by some users here. I know for sure my phone didn't have this issue previously as I've been an active reader and checked on this when I got the phone, but now it appeared. I think it was due to the alcohol wipes that I used to clean up the access glue, and I really wiped over the whole phone including the frame.. This is a real let down, although not an issue, but once you see it, it cannot be unseen.. note that I only used the supplied alcohol wipes..

Anyway, due to this, I just did a quick wipe, and a quick cleaning using the microfiber cloth. This time, it's much easier, which I think is because i only cured for 30 secs, and only for top and bottom. After clean up, uv cured for 60 secs, top, bottom and middle.

Now it's day 2, the whitestone dome glass seems is the best I've ever used. No sensitivity issue, clear and bright, smooth, basically feels like using the phone without any sp.

Fyi, I've tried 3 types of glass protector, and 2 types (5 pcs) of plastic sp, and the issues that I noticed is:

For glass SP:
i) rainbow effect due to no full adhesive
ii) easily peel off
iii) sensitivity issue, which all 3 types I used, from RM20 to RM60 has it, but different severity, which I think is very dependant on installation. The worse
iv) blocked some of the viewing area due to the black painting to cover the adhesive
v) dot matrix makes the screen less clear.

For plastic sp:
i) it scratches. Basically after 1 week you will see plenty of scratches.. i changes 1 unit every week..
ii) bubble. Even after a perfect install, it will eventually pop up
iii) spen will leave a mark.
iv) not smooth, or feel like dragging your finger.

Note that for this whitestone dome glass, it doesn't cause any of this issue.

So overall, for rm199, I don't think it's worth it. For rm129 which someone has recommended on qoo10 Singapore, I think it's worth the price. Even at Lazada at 140 now (with voucher), it's worth it. If u think you won't spend so much on a sp, or if you found a pasar malam RM15 sp which u think is ok, or if u think u want to rock your note 8 naked, or if u want to use your phone for 11 months 29 days, and break your screen so you can claim your screen protection plus package, then please don't buy this.

But if you think you need a good sp, the best money can buy, you don't have screen protection plus, you want to experience your phone as close as a naked as possible without risking scratching your screen, then this is the best option you can try.

For me, whatever phone I have, I'll always put on a sp, as sp will help mitigate cracking your phone screen, and prevent scratches which not only is unpleasant, but also make your phone glass weaker can prone to crack.

2 things which may be a deal breaker, for me, is:
1) how easy it cracked, which I guess I'll eventually find out on my 2nd screen; and
2) the light refraction issue that I noticed when I was installing my 2nd glass..

If possible, can anybody that has installed the whitestone dome have a check if you have the light refraction issue? Please remember tho, what's been seen cannot be unseen..

Edit: FYI I bought another unit of whitestone dome at RM140.. This is as spare, as I'm worried I might crack this again..
With the whitestone do we stil able to plug in the phone into spigen air liquid case?
chongkiatz
post Dec 24 2017, 06:08 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(KiddTkl @ Dec 24 2017, 09:08 AM)
This is the list of compatible case, from GravX. Try to Google for his YouTube and have a look at his review. He has an installation review guide also.
https://goo.gl/Cp1pzs
Thank bro for the help, look like whitestone is the only SP that doing great job

Really no more other choice of SP that is more to middle price??

Thinking get the spigen invisible shield, it not cheap rm60++ , if it scratched or not durable , have to replace after several time then it will be rm60++x2 = rm120-130 , around whitestone price too
chongkiatz
post Dec 24 2017, 11:40 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(KiddTkl @ Dec 24 2017, 08:29 PM)
Spigen neoflex? Or zagg invisible shield? Don't get of those plastic sheet sp. It will protect from scratching your phone glass, but what's the point when the sp will scratch like crazy and you need to change like every other week..

For other tgsp, it really depends on the installation and even slightest misalignment will cause touch sensitivity loss. Anyway any screen protector will protect the screen. It's up to u if u want to pay super expensive for good experience or go for a cheaper option for a lesser experience.. If u found one cheap sp which u think is ok, then jz stick with it.
QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Dec 24 2017, 08:46 PM)
After wasted over rm300++ on hao 5d. I am currently using a rm40 sp slightly less sensitive than hao but still no crack or damage
Might share which cheapo TG ? I just found some video saying that whitestone might not fit the Spigen Air Liquiq case T_T , that sad as i really love this case

I found quite a good rating about this TG but not sure it will fit the case im using

chongkiatz
post Dec 25 2017, 08:28 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Dec 25 2017, 05:28 AM)
Just have to be extra careful with Whitestone. Although it offers protection against cracks to original screen, it is not really scratch resistant. So you may be having a scratched tg over your screen. Mine had scratches one week after installation. I had to replace the tg bcos tak boleh tahan. Now I add xtremeguard over the Whitestone to prevent scratches. Seems to be the best solution.
I don mind it will be scratch, i just don wan my screen crack if accident fall it down , my TG on note5 save me few time already, using nilkin TG only , if using normal SP i think have to change screen already

By the way already place order this morning with the voucher, never expect the voucher can be use, buy first if not ngam maybe will letgo here

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Dec 25 2017, 08:36 AM

chongkiatz
post Dec 25 2017, 11:11 PM

6,793 posts

how many of u using spigen neo hybrid case here?
chongkiatz
post Dec 31 2017, 10:11 PM

6,793 posts

Anyone have experience buy thru celcom Online store? Because i really bruce.gif bruce.gif , place my waiting list for black Note 8 almost 2 week , i order the whitestone dome glass from lazada korea + neo hybrid spigen , both item already received today and yet the celcom branch stil telling me there is no stock for Black Note 8 , i checked at celcom website , there only GOLD note8 out of stock but other colour have plenty of stock mad.gif mad.gif

Fire up and order from Celcom.com.my , normally it take how many day to process the item ya guys?

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Dec 31 2017, 10:12 PM

chongkiatz
post Jan 1 2018, 08:19 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Dec 31 2017, 10:44 PM)
Most of us buy from Qoo10 or Lazada because it's much cheaper.
Because i using celcom first plus RM98 , so buying from celcom is the best choice for me , summore the RM300 upfront will be deduct to our first 3 bill billing , so i'm paying RM3k for the phone only stil a good deal , hope it will be faster to arrived my hand T_T , casing and TG also come le , phone havent come sad
chongkiatz
post Jan 4 2018, 10:18 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Jan 3 2018, 05:29 PM)
Why on earth not read your post before buy new dome glass  bangwall.gif  Arghhh stress  cry.gif
By the way, share link for ........  sweat.gif

Bro u sure u want go for the replacement? The price at lazada now rm169 LOL , u buy the full set at rm139 only lol
chongkiatz
post Jan 5 2018, 12:43 PM

6,793 posts

Note8 black is on my way from Celcom , hope Gdex dont delay my phone T_T

chongkiatz
post Jan 7 2018, 03:34 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 5 2018, 01:31 PM)
I love GDex, they usually reach next day. Poslambat very slow recently, I have a parcel sent out by the seller 3 days ago still hasn't reach.
Finally get my note8 from gdex , do i need to register the warranty??
chongkiatz
post Jan 7 2018, 11:36 PM

6,793 posts

Done apply Dome Glass on Note8 black , Perfectly fit with Spigen Neo Hybrid , leave it overnight and only use on tomorrow , quite nervous first time apply , lucky everything go smooth biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 12:35 AM

6,793 posts

Anyway note8 selfie cant do bokeh effect ya?
chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 08:18 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jan 8 2018, 08:05 AM)
So expensive for a note 8.

Bought mine rm3180 with 1 year extend warranty + 1 year glass insurance + free power bank 10k so your offer still consider very expensive. Make sure you also buy the glass insurance
I believe u bought 3180 with voucher discount right
chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 09:07 AM

6,793 posts

I think its a little bit better to state that u buy with the price of original then apply the voucher = exactly price , else it will be mislead someone here, for example i get the phone rm3590 , then apply voucher rm400 become rm3190, but not I buy only at rm3190, u guys phone expensive,

here the example :
I could say i buy the note8 with price rm2.5k only , u guys note8 is totally overprice......

At the end the reason is because
**rm1k sponsor by dad

Some people even funny, everyone buy with original price for an item rm2999, then he shouting loud say got it for only rm2580, when asking only know is display unit LOL !!!

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Jan 8 2018, 09:08 AM
chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 10:56 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Jan 8 2018, 09:21 AM)
That is nothing wrong, the fact is they actually only paying cheaper amount, ur 2nd example doesnt valid... lol
QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 8 2018, 09:46 AM)
not a valid point. The RM400 voucher is a common voucher that everyone can get it daily, and we don't pay for RM3590 and get RM400 rebate.
If the phone price is getting on special occasions like father sponsor, credit card special and etc, then the guy should mention it.
Ooooo , so u mean that i buy from celcom the note8 with rm2858+6%gst = rm3029.48 , so seen like u guys buy from Qoo even more expensive with the price of RM3190 ???

u don't say not valid , u have ur voucher code , i have my contract promotion smile.gif

So later on when someone asking How much is the Note 8 now , i telling ppl I BUY RM3029.48 ONLY

end up , u mislead people

I BEAT HIM won't ever FOUND RM3190 price for note8 even he run whole malaysia retailer shop , phone shop , so when someone asking for the price , we must telling the standard market price , voucher/promotion is an extra discount but not the FINAL PRICE = exactly the device price bro , who on earth know u buying the rm3190 from pre-order/from qoo / from lazada / from anywhere with voucher CODE? LOL ,

chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 11:01 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jan 8 2018, 06:29 AM)
Front camera can use selective focus, it has similar effect.
did u try to selfie with selective focus before? it seen keep fail sad.gif

chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 11:13 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Jan 8 2018, 11:04 AM)
yes, the "clear object" must be within 20 inches to phone, have depth to the background, then you will have your blur effect, you may adjust blur level afterwards too.
okey , i try to snap with depth background

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:10 AM)
As long as u dont purposely upgrade ur plan or pay more monthly commitment for it, then 2858+gst u win... lol
haha , actually my point just don't mislead people , when someone buying with special discount or voucher , must state it out , else people will thinking to get the phone at normal shop with the price of RM3190

must telling that is RM3999 price , but with pre-order, special voucher apply become the final price , but not telling people ur price is so expensive , i buy at RM blah blah blah only biggrin.gif
chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 11:56 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:24 AM)
Hi bro mafioso! Good to see another Note 5 owner in here (me as well)! Finally decided to switch over to Note 8 ya? You won't regret it! I switched from Note 5 to S8+ to Note 8, all in 2017. Quite a long journey! LOL. thumbsup.gif

Btw, save your energy on explain why you purchase it with retail price. Some people in here tend to look down, or make fun of the people who have bought the device with higher price. Then they keep showing off and said how cheap are their device, what kind of gift they have received.

Mine was purchased during roadshow, had to go early, had to queue up, wasted about 2 -3 hours, paid with retail price. So what? I could say that I got a free VR headset (RM499), a clear view standing flip cover (RM249) with signature from Korean star (priceless?), screen protection 1 year (RM149), and also a selfie with Korean star (again, priceless). After round it up I could say my device is only RM3102 + a selfie with Korean star which is priceless. Should I be proud of it and keep showing off?

The answer is definitely no. Everyone has their own interpretation about how worthy of the price when they were getting their devices. As long as you, the owner is happy, then there's nothing to worry/regret about. And nobody should judge you on what price you have paid for. thumbup.gif

Hope to see you more often in here bro! Just ask question if you have any doubts on the device. We are gladly to help. biggrin.gif
Totally Agree !! sorry if abit out of topic ,i hate mislead because when i buying civic ,Retail price at 135k , and i get the discount of rm3k end up have to pay rm132k , but someone say they got 5k-6k discount , and when i telling the honda sales man i say why other people can get get 6k discount, i only get 3k, they say impossible can get 6k discount blah2 , i argue with them say ppl can get until 6k u give me 3k LOL

Get back to forum , continue read up only know , they stil paying the rm132k , but with V-Cool tinted voucher which worth 1k , then either choose for free 5 year service or cash rebate rm2k ...... zzzzz , that totally mislead

chongkiatz
post Jan 8 2018, 12:46 PM

6,793 posts

Why do samsung take off the ACTION MEMO , Pin to Home screen !!! bangwall.gif bangwall.gif doh.gif doh.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1623sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:23 PM