Suggestion: Able to see IP address
TSJoshua_0718
Apr 17 2007, 01:35 PM, updated 19y ago
After saw a forumer talking about IP address. My mind came across that why not we would able to see every forumer IP address?
Why? We would able to see who is the one who using duplicate account, and quickly able to inform the MOD/Staff. Usually, it is hard to see people with duplicate account, we will usually suspect then only report, but result we won't know also.
What you guys think?
Anyway, why topic tag do not have 'Suggestion' ??
This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 17 2007, 01:36 PM
bysquashy
Apr 17 2007, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 17 2007, 01:35 PM) After saw a forumer talking about IP address. My mind came across that why not we would able to see every forumer IP address? Why? We would able to see who is the one who using duplicate account, and quickly able to inform the MOD/Staff. Usually, it is hard to see people with duplicate account, we will usually suspect then only report, but result we won't know also. What you guys think? Anyway, why topic tag do not have 'Suggestion' ?? Because hackers can take advantage of the IPs. I can imagine malayneum's PC port being scanned 100x a day. Unless the IP shows X.X.*.* X = undisclosed * = the IP This post has been edited by bysquashy: Apr 17 2007, 01:40 PM
TSJoshua_0718
Apr 17 2007, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Apr 17 2007, 01:39 PM) Because hackers can take advantage of the IPs. I can imagine malayneum's PC port being scanned 100x a day. LoL. That guy ar.... Yup, I can feel the heat of everyone on him Only IPs then can hack? There are still many ways to find people IP address right? There are too many software to scan.
SUSMalaysian
Apr 17 2007, 01:43 PM
yesler better not...
We can DDOS him easily....
if 100 people dun like him..1 ppl ddos him 20 kb/s...
he dun need to online in lyn d
This post has been edited by Malaysian: Apr 17 2007, 01:48 PM
TSJoshua_0718
Apr 17 2007, 01:51 PM
Mmmm... What about auto-detect suspected duplicate account like what MOD/ Staff having?
SUSMalaysian
Apr 17 2007, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 17 2007, 01:51 PM) Mmmm... What about auto-detect suspected duplicate account like what MOD/ Staff having? same ip doesnt means same ppl ler.... in college all same ip even my house got few pc connected ....different user of lyn but same ip mah
se7en
Apr 17 2007, 01:54 PM
resistance is futile
No to all of your suggestions.
Would you mind wearing your IC around your neck while walking around town? Or maybe a nametag with your address in bold? I don't think so.
TSJoshua_0718
Apr 17 2007, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(Malaysian @ Apr 17 2007, 01:52 PM) same ip doesnt means same ppl ler.... in college all same ip even my house got few pc connected ....different user of lyn but same ip mah I know also this 1. Just that maybe we see same IP, we can report to MOD easier mar. My main suggestion is to help to ease MOD/Staff work.  QUOTE(se7en @ Apr 17 2007, 01:54 PM) No to all of your suggestions. Would you mind wearing your IC around your neck while walking around town? Or maybe a nametag with your address in bold? I don't think so. Of course not. But, my main suggestion is to help to ease MOD/Staff work, easier.
kev da man
Apr 17 2007, 02:21 PM
that is why they are called admins. only a select few can have this power and use it wisely
RBR
Apr 17 2007, 03:38 PM
keeping calm..
It'll raise too many false alarms. We have enough moderators to monitor suspected duplicates. Besides, we don't take action on it if there isn't a very strong reason to.
expantyhoesthief
Apr 17 2007, 03:42 PM
wat both the admin n mod says i corect TS..wast the point ...bcoz sometimes..even staying at same condo the ip aso can be very near leh..like wat happen to me..
kev da man
Apr 17 2007, 03:45 PM
depends on the service provider, though  tmnuts ip goes to every one of your modems so it should be accurate