Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Router Recommendation, Stable and reliable router

arrsoo
post Oct 20 2017, 05:59 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 502

Joined: Oct 2004
guys, need to ask, say now i am using TP link ac1200 (supplied by TM unifi) and I would like to change it to an asus. It is merely unplug from TPlink and plug in to asus will do? or do i have to set up the asus configuration?
SilentVampire
post Oct 20 2017, 06:33 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 589

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(arrsoo @ Oct 20 2017, 05:59 PM)
guys, need to ask, say now i am using TP link ac1200 (supplied by TM unifi) and I would like to change it to an asus.  It is merely unplug from TPlink and plug in to asus will do? or do i have to set up the asus configuration?
*
Just get your PPPoE username and password from TM and unplug your TP-Link router and connect to the Asus router and enter both the username and password in the quick setup of the Asus router and you will be done.
calvinlaw510
post Oct 20 2017, 06:40 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 715

Joined: Oct 2007
From: Penang Island


QUOTE(arrsoo @ Oct 20 2017, 05:59 PM)
guys, need to ask, say now i am using TP link ac1200 (supplied by TM unifi) and I would like to change it to an asus.  It is merely unplug from TPlink and plug in to asus will do? or do i have to set up the asus configuration?
*
Dont forget to select unifi profile too...

http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/setup-asus-router-for-unifi/
techm
post Oct 20 2017, 06:47 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 24

Joined: Nov 2007
Haven't tested the Asus ones.

But my favourite go-to router is the Tp-link Archer C7 AC1750 because of it's gigabit ethernet, and low power consumption. When running it's only slightly warm. Consumes about 4W with 2.4ghz and 5ghz band, tested.

I've also tried the super cheap Tenda AC1200. That works well too. Initial setup a bit wonky to me, but once that's done it's so far stable as a rock. Power consumption just slightly (~1W) higher than the Tp link Archer C7 when both 2.4Ghz and 5ghz bands are on. Only has fast ethernet (100mbps). But good enough if you have a 50mbps line.


arrsoo
post Oct 20 2017, 06:53 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 502

Joined: Oct 2004
QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Oct 20 2017, 06:40 PM)
Dont forget to select unifi profile too...

http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/setup-asus-router-for-unifi/
*
Thanks guys, that is very clear and loud nod.gif
zzzhhhzzz
post Nov 8 2017, 08:18 AM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,454

Joined: Apr 2012
so guys.. AC86U vs AC88U.. which will be the better bet ?

sHawTY
post Nov 8 2017, 10:20 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,194

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Nov 8 2017, 08:18 AM)
so guys.. AC86U vs AC88U.. which will be the better bet ?
If you need more than 4 ports, get AC88U. Else stay with AC86U
hafizhans
post Nov 11 2017, 10:24 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,232

Joined: Feb 2012


QUOTE(arrsoo @ Oct 20 2017, 05:59 PM)
guys, need to ask, say now i am using TP link ac1200 (supplied by TM unifi) and I would like to change it to an asus.  It is merely unplug from TPlink and plug in to asus will do? or do i have to set up the asus configuration?
*
hi, still using ur TP link ac1200 or plan to sell it?
ldragon
post Nov 12 2017, 01:55 AM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 615

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
you won't go wrong with ubiquity & mikrotik products if you don't mind the learning curve to setup & maintain the equipments.
arrsoo
post Nov 12 2017, 08:41 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 502

Joined: Oct 2004
QUOTE(hafizhans @ Nov 11 2017, 10:24 PM)
hi, still using ur TP link ac1200 or plan to sell it?
*
I'm still using, almost bought an Asus ac88 till i managed to tweak the tp link C5 to get full speed. Still observing the C5 stability, have been quite stable over the weekend though....
soonwai
post Nov 12 2017, 10:05 PM


*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,904

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(ldragon @ Nov 12 2017, 01:55 AM)
you won't go wrong with ubiquity & mikrotik products if you don't mind the learning curve to setup & maintain the equipments.
*
Definitely agree with this. Mikrotik highly recomended. Currently using RB2011 and soon RB750Gr3.
island
post Nov 14 2017, 04:05 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,553

Joined: Jan 2007


linksys 54g with dd-wrt firmware, very good Wi-Fi coverage just it's a G.
chingyee79
post Nov 15 2017, 12:11 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 108

Joined: Nov 2013


Can recommend what router support multi ssid to vlan tagging for Hyyptv via wifi? Low budget, so pls don recommend those expensive router. Tq
soonwai
post Nov 15 2017, 02:25 AM


*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,904

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(chingyee79 @ Nov 15 2017, 12:11 AM)
Can recommend what router support multi ssid to vlan tagging for Hyyptv via wifi? Low budget, so pls don recommend those expensive router. Tq
*
Mikrotik hAP Lite around RM130. That’s the cheapest I know.
zzzhhhzzz
post Nov 15 2017, 08:09 AM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,454

Joined: Apr 2012
QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 15 2017, 02:25 AM)
Mikrotik hAP Lite around RM130. That’s the cheapest I know.
*
where you find RM130.. i saw RM220 from lelong .....
soonwai
post Nov 15 2017, 08:19 AM


*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,904

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Nov 15 2017, 08:09 AM)
where you find RM130.. i saw RM220 from lelong .....
*
Also from Lelong. Sorry it's not RM130 but here's the link. biggrin.gif
https://www.lelong.com.my/rb941-2nd-mikroti...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0639sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 04:25 AM